New Daihatsu Mira e:S launched in Japan, from RM32k

The new Daihatsu Mira e:S has been launched in Japan – the frugal kei car has been revised with added convenience and safety features that lift it slightly above its bargain basement status, as well as an even lighter body and more efficient powertrain.

A new, more angular look can be seen on the outside, with the front end featuring new headlights and a large trapezoidal grille with upper and lower openings. Along the sides, there are larger wheel arch bulges, a deeper surface cut along the lower surface of the doors as well as squared-off side window openings, while the rear features bolder three-dimensional LED tail lights. Air resistance has also been reduced by 3%.

The interior has remained largely the same as before, with a Myvi-style high-mounted gearlever sited next to the air-conditioning controls. There have been a few additions that were made, however, including a storage shelf on the dashboard and cupholders under the side air-con vents – handy for keeping drinks chilled.

As before, the new Mira e:S is powered by a KF 658 cc naturally-aspirated three-cylinder petrol engine, although outputs have dropped 3 PS and 3 Nm to 49 PS at 6,800 rpm and 57 Nm of torque at 5,200 rpm. However, the mill has been optimised for better efficiency with the adoption of a cooled ion-controlled exhaust gas recirculation system, along with a delayed closing of the intake port to reduce compression pressure.

Other additions include twin injectors per cylinder for better fuel atomisation and a more stable combustion, as well as individual ignition timing control on each cylinder to optimise combustion. The standard-fit CVT has been improved too, with low-viscosity CVT fluid and a thermal controller that uses the CVT fluid to cool the engine coolant – this increases the efficiency of both engine combustion and the transmission.

Elsewhere, rolling resistance has been reduced through improvements on the drive components, including low-viscosity oil in the rear differential on all-wheel drive models. The Eco Idle auto engine start/stop system also now shuts the mill off at 11 km/h rather than 7 km/h on the original Mira e:S, while a scroll-type air-con compressor saps less power from the engine.

Under the skin, the monocoque has been made lighter and stiffer, and resin is now used on the front fenders, tailgate and fuel tank (on two-wheel drive models) to save even more weight. The outgoing model wasn’t exactly porky to begin with, weighing as little as 730 kg in 2WD form, but the new model now slips under the 700 kg mark with a frankly astonishing kerb weight of just 650 kg (720 kg with AWD).

As such, the Mira e:S is now capable of achieving an impressive fuel consumption figure of 34.2 km per litre on the Japanese JC08 cycle, or 32.2 km per litre with AWD. The base B and L variants receive smaller 13-inch steel wheels and score even higher, travelling as far as 35.2 km per litre of fuel.

Safety-wise, the Smart Assist III package, standard on G and X models and optional on others, features autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian detection (utilising the world’s smallest stereo camera), lane departure warning, false start suppression control front and rear, automatic high beam and vehicle start warning to alert drivers when the vehicle in front is leaving from a traffic light stop.

Pricing for two-wheel drive models start at 842,400 yen (RM32,200), and for that you get halogen headlights, manual air-conditioning, a digital instrument cluster, dual airbags, ABS and stability control. Opting for Smart Assist III bumps the price up to 907,200 yen (RM34,600). The L variant, which costs 874,800 yen (RM33,400) as standard and 939,600 yen (RM35,900) with Smart Assist III throws in hubcaps and rear power windows.

The 1,080,000 yen (RM41,200) X variant adds LED headlights, larger 14-inch steel wheels and power-adjustable body-coloured door mirrors. The range-topping 1,209,600 yen (RM46,200) G trim gains 14-inch alloys, keyless entry, auto air-con, seat heating, auto-folding door mirrors and automatic headlights. All-wheel drive models cost an extra 129,600 yen (RM5,000) across the board.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 09, 2017 at 8:43 pm

its actually a wonderful car….if its driven the way its meant to be…in the city and not going over its limits on the highway

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 09, 2017 at 9:22 pm

I cannot understand. In Japan, Daihatsu aka Toyota give all their cars VSC and ABS. Even this cheapo MIRA got VSC and ABS.

But when they sell in Malaysia, cars like Axia, got NO ABS and NO VSC.

In Japan, no matter how cheap the car is, wajib to have VSC and ABS.

My question is this….is Daihatsu Japan and Toyota Japan making Malaysia their dumping ground to sell unsafe cars?
      Cause in Japan, they CANNOT sell cars without VSC and ABS.

And what happened to our Government also? Government owns UMW which eventually also owns Perodua. Why isn’t our Government wanting the rakyat to have cars with VSC and ABS in all their cars?

Government themselves announced last year that if cars had VSC, 45% of all deaths and accidents can be PREVENTED.

So, in a year, if we had 10,000 deaths, if all cars had VSC, we can save 4500 lives

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 277 Thumb down 271
      • wayang on May 09, 2017 at 9:45 pm

Because your Jepunis overload more classy than the average Malaysian.
        You see in Malaysia you got 100 airbags, 100 star Ancap, ABS, VSC, EBD, BA all also no use when people drive against the road, then you also got people who are drunk and claim the police harassed them, and also you have lorry drivers bang cars from behind and opposite the road.
        Best of all most dont even wear seatbelts or use babyseats.

You are also the best example of average Malaysian, even the best VSC supplier in the world dare not say their VSC can save 45% of accident victims life, while “experts’ like you just pulled out numbers out of thin air and claim it as fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • No need VSC cause we can make cars cheaper. Our Government cares for us and gives us free hospital in case we get accident.

I hope all cars can take out VSC to reduce cost and give us cheaper prices.

• If only Saga Premium got VSC, it means VSC is premium

• Albert on May 09, 2017 at 9:46 pm

Have u heard a certain country bought a submarine from Europe,n got problem DIVING?
        A submarine is engineered to dive n not for dudes to give a grand display.
        So cars here r given just bare TULANG specs.Of course it has 4 roda n can move but safe or not,u see for yourself.
        Whether u die or get serious spinal injuries,who bothers? As long as the duties r collected for new cars,no one gives a damn.
        But spanco maintained cars…must have top premium specs with abs,airbags,etc,right?
        Just look at the latest viva accident at melaka-jasin road.I dont think I can see airbags deployed.The student was drying like Michael schumacher.In this case,even with airbags, all 3 still perish at such high speed in rainy conditions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • If someone bought brand new BMW and it somehow breaks down after 1000km, wud u laff him why buy Beemer instead of ur crappy Camry? No, right?
          Then why begrudge something as highly sophisticated as a submarine and expect it to work perfectly fine from Day1 until its end of life? Whats the point of having warranty, then?

If u dunno anything about mil-tech, machines, cars, automotive sector, or even manufactured products in general but what to rant, then this is not the place for u.

• Here a simple bodykit like TuneD cost RM5k while in Japan u can get all wheel drive for additional RM5k, u say leh?

• david kam on May 09, 2017 at 11:32 pm

Because Malaysian live is cheap, bro.

• Redidiot on May 10, 2017 at 12:35 am

As if all cars on the roads are brand new…

• Becoz ini semua salah jepunis overlords thats why. Sack the jepunis overlords!

• Why ask Gov, when u shud ask ur employer why take ur ASEAN lives as cheaps?

• RavenAii (Member) on May 10, 2017 at 1:08 am

The real question is, will fellow Malaysian buy a more expensive option if there was a car with no safety equipment but cheap and a car with safety equipment which is expensive. Even if the safety equipment is standard across the range, people still complaining. Thus, Japanese, Koreans or even Caucasian doesn’t really understand what Malaysian really want. Everything wants to complain because Malaysian want more thing for a very cheap price tag, in which quite literally is impossible by today’s economy.

• muzaffar shah on May 10, 2017 at 7:46 am

Dumb lazy gomen and MAI. Plan Plan Plan but no safety in our cars.

• Nancy Nurliyana on May 10, 2017 at 11:07 am

Mr, why you keep posting same and fake own invented story. Please uncle warrior, find a life and go on.

• Mati jugak, salah be end on May 10, 2017 at 11:34 am

Even give you ABS,VSC, 10 airbag, anti,-collision system but non of the driver or passenger buck up their seat belt.

• kakaka on May 10, 2017 at 3:07 pm

Real bodoh to compare 2017 car with much older cars here. In 1970 volvo 240 got airbgas kah? Kahkahkah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 241 Thumb down 73
      • Club kunta thumb up own post as usuL on May 10, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Nice looking practical car

• Bash Basher on May 11, 2017 at 9:04 am

To answer YB Kinte’s question…
        Toyota/Daihatsu JPN is not dumping unsafe cars to us.
        It is mainly due to the “exorbitant” duties and taxes charged in Malaysia that drive up the price sky high.
        Our dealer/manufacturer have no choice but to strip off a few safety features and accessories to make the price of the car competitive.

This proves our G is more interested in collecting duties and taxes from us rather than caring for the nation’s road safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
        • Then pls answer why toyota need to wait 2 gen of H City and coupled with disastrous sales, only then they gip ESC in vios?

This proves most jepunis overlords is more interested in collecting more money from herd buyers rather than caring for ASEAN pipu’s road safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • otak batu on May 11, 2017 at 1:11 pm

Saga 2017 not all equipped with VSC, some even missing ABS!

So bumilord is more interested in collecting money from sheep buyers than caring for Malaysian pipu?

• Bash Basher on May 11, 2017 at 1:52 pm

That is because our local UMW is greedy. Want higher profit margin. Until a point Toyota sales is real bad they have no choice but to intro the ESC to the public in hope to bring back the sales.

• P1 brought ESC & 6 airbags b4 others jepunis overlords, what say u?

And if bad sales can up specs, then whats it got to do with excise duties? It means we get poor specs, not cuz of Gov, but cuz we herd buy w/o persoal the lousy specs!

• Bash Basher on May 11, 2017 at 2:53 pm

Mind you UMW is backed by who?
            Who are the ones who tax us on car in order to protect P1?

P1 have to giv all those because they need those to be competitive.

Our Gov should make it compulsory to have ESC, not UMW not Honda, they are not our Gov, making profit is their main concern. Gov shouldn’t make profit as their No.1 priority, the nations safety and wellbeing should be their No.1 priority.
            “Rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan”

• john otak udang on May 11, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Since john can’t understand, let me help;

Gov implements NAP/excise/tax
            > non-national car prices increase > Car vendor no choice but to reduce “other” cost of vehicles
            > Safety features reduce
            > Fancy car accessories reduce
            > overall price reduce
            > result : lousy feature car

• Then pls elaborate why in 2014, city has ESC & 6 airbags while same priced vios has 2 airbags and no ESC? Still think ini salah Gov?

• Bash Basher on May 11, 2017 at 4:06 pm

Yes John.

Our Gov should make it compulsory to have ESC, not UMW not Honda, they are not our Gov, making profit is their main concern. Gov shouldn’t make profit as their No.1 priority, the nations safety and wellbeing should be their No.1 priority.
          “Rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan”

It doesn’t matter who give and who don’t give regardless of car brand,segment and variant. The gov is responsible to make it compulsory to have ESC in all new vehicles.
          And since you keep whining about UMW Honda. In this case UMW is taking advantage of the loophole that our gov didn’t enforce.

• Where were u when Gov announced ESC is mandatory in 2018? But importantly do u think jepunis lords will gip 6 airbags + ESC if P1 din do it 1st? Big fat NO!

And while UMW took advantage of the loophole to enable low spec cars, toyota took advantage of zombie consumers who buys based on badge & hearsays. All this means customers had a choice but they choose moving deathtraps instead of safer cars.

Still think is salah Gov?

• Bolehaahaha on May 09, 2017 at 8:53 pm

According to many otakmobill enthusiast here a brand new Toyota Corolla only cost RM40k in Japan, how come this brixbox with 660cc enjin can cost RM32k??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 376 Thumb down 149
    • Jeremy Anak Clarkson on May 09, 2017 at 9:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 238
      • cakap lebat on May 10, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Basher will compare US price with bolehland price then blame gomen blame plotektion blame p1 oh wait!!

• Andrekua on May 10, 2017 at 9:53 am

Not sure who you are referring to when you posted the RM40K figures.

What I can tell from the AP form that my mom had when Altis used to be imported from Thai based on the declared value is around RM7xK. I put an X because I cant remember the exact value but it is definitely below RM80K.

Go on and tell me that they under-declare the car value and why our government lets them off doing so for years.

• If u the only manufacturer of that altis and no one else can make and sell another altis, then u can declare whatever price u want. Just like KIA can declare Forte prices at vios level. Theres no right or wrong, thats how free market goes.

And Gov have to accept it, cuz they not manufacturers of both cars. Gov din tell KIA jack up Forte price cuz too cheap to compete with altis, right?

• Mikey on May 11, 2017 at 9:50 pm

john, what “free market” U are talking?! The gov has retained undue influence in setting car prices in the country through the use of a complex & opaque system of tax rebates couple with financial incentives with arbitrary terms/conditions. U call this “Free Market”?!

• Name me a free market country thats w/o barriers & tariffs, hmm?

• Zamri on May 10, 2017 at 12:44 pm

ha ha ha fake news spreader thumbs up himself 134 times at 8am to 8.30am today

• Otaku.com on May 10, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Because our currenct tanked so hard and now its 100 yen to RM3.80?

• And yet City has so much more kit for same price than vios. Care to explain how exchange rate made toyota gips us crappy specs?

• otak batu on May 11, 2017 at 1:24 pm

And Corolla give much more kit for same price than Preve in Labuan. Care to explain why Proton gave us crappy specs?

• Preve gave ESC in all specs @2014, and even have 6 airbags in topkek spec. Did corolla have more kit back in 2014? A big fat NO!

And even until pre-FC civic, toyota gips lousy spec for same price. Care to explain why? Two words: market demand. Not cuz of excise duties.

• otak batu 2 on May 11, 2017 at 3:22 pm

P1 gave not only crappy specs,
            they gave Malaysia crappy cars too.

Recently give crappy TuneD bodykits

• Elaborate how 6 airbags & ESC r crappy spec.

• Kancil Hybrid on May 09, 2017 at 9:01 pm

New Kancil. But still no hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • lolbrid on May 10, 2017 at 12:20 am

650kg, 660cc, eco idle, CVT, 35.2km/l still need hybrid? Already reach hybrid fuel consumption and way cheaper.

• 30+km/L fuel consumption. I wouldn’t even need a hybrid anymore. Perhaps putting in a hybrid drivetrain might increase the fuel consumption due to current weight only 650kg. The hybrid battery and motor easily add another 100+kg .

• Hamid on May 10, 2017 at 8:02 am

gomen got no vision. NAP and NEP are failures.

• Common Sense on May 11, 2017 at 10:05 am

Batteries to power the hybrid will make the car heavier.
      Not worth to sacrifice cabin space to house motor and battery.
      The engine power and the kerb weight of the car will be far more economical than using a hybrid system for this car.

• Mikey on May 09, 2017 at 11:11 pm

Oh M’sian. We were so happy when we were introduced to a small car like the Mini, Daihatsu, Kancil. Even the Toyota KE, Datsun 120Y & our 1st Saga were a joy to ride in.

Those days, we don’t have power windows, no power steering, no air-con & no stereo too. These are classified as luxuries. I can’t imagine asking some young guys 2 drive a FWD car without a power steering & without air-con.

Fast Forward to 2017, M’sian are now demanding for top safety feature like ABS, VSC, Airbags, ventilated discs, & comfortable features like climatic air-con, power boot, remote starter, push button, one touch up/down window, fold-able mirrors & even the seats are electric too.

There is a reason why there are small, medium & large cars for the masses just like we have Managing Director, General manager & junior exec in a company.

The world does NOT owe us a leaving. We have to study & work harder than the next guy if U want 2 succeed. Your destiny is in your own hand. If U are born poor, its not your fault BUT if U die poor, blame no one.

In short, a Daihatsu or a Viva is a good starter for your motoring journey. Take care of the car & in return the car will take U 2 your destiny. Shalom & cheers

• Ollie on May 11, 2017 at 2:55 pm

“If U are born poor, its not your fault BUT if U die poor, blame no one.”

PLease reduce the ignorance. Would DOnald Trump be US pres now if his dad wasn’t a rich man? When you’re poor you have much much lower opportunities and many many more hurdles. Get the facts right.

• Mikey on May 11, 2017 at 4:18 pm

Dear Ollie, I’m compel to reply to you as I “Feel” your bitterness. Many people are not born rich but we DO make it in life maybe we have to work harder.

Like you said – “When you’re poor you have much much lower opportunities and many many more hurdles”. I believe a POSITIVE Attitude/thinking does help & surrounding yourself with positive people will enhance your chances.

I can give you living examples of my classmates where many comes from poor families including me. What they did was really admirable & remarkable where we work part time as waiter whenever the Hotel need our services so that we can work & study at the same time.

Today, most if not all my classmates are Charted Accountants, Finance Managers or Bankers. Did we blame our parents, certainly not. Maybe because our parents sent us to Chinese schools & our maths happen to be good does help. Once again, Cheers mate.

PS:- May I suggest you read a book – How to Make Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

• Kancilcomel on May 10, 2017 at 2:00 am

Love this kancil with 5star safety features

• The video above show the car on highway lol

• Lighter , simpler than hybrid
    Remove the extra gubbins to make it even lighter and more fuel efficient….

Previous miras has been rebadged into kancils, kelisas, and viva….

I wonder what the new one will be called…

• KeiKar on May 11, 2017 at 9:14 am

YES..!!!! once arrive sini di Malaysia will be d top seller car against P2 Axia!! oh Wait…. D Mira cost 60k+?

• wonderful car, cant imagine if they can hybrided this car, how the fuel consumption would be.

• New Axia perhaps? Hopefully the safety features are retained.