Kia Optima GT Malaysian price – RM180k for 242 hp!

Well, well, what do we have here? The official pricing of the new Kia Optima GT for Malaysia has been revealed ahead on its launch tomorrow, courtesy of an image posted on the brand’s Facebook page – the upcoming D-segment sedan will carry a price tag of RM179,888 (on-the-road with insurance). Not bad for a large car with 242 hp.

The Optima GT packs a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged T-GDI petrol engine with 242 hp and 353 Nm of torque. That’s more than what is offered by Japanese makes like the Toyota Camry 2.5L Hybrid (202 hp total system output), Mazda 6 2.5L (185 hp/250 Nm) and Honda Accord 2.4L (173 hp/225 Nm).

The engine is mated to a six-speed automatic transmission (with paddle shifters) that sends drive to the front wheels. According to Kia, the Optima GT will accelerate from zero to 100 km/h in 7.4 seconds, before hitting a top speed of 240 km/h.

The car is already on display in certain showrooms. We will know more when it is officially launched tomorrow, so stay tuned to paultan.org!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• gti owner on May 23, 2017 at 7:27 pm

Wah, cepat ya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 23, 2017 at 7:43 pm

How Kia can give this kind of price for such high bhp D segment car? And our Perdana Pondana 2.4 is about RM140k?

I thought Barang Buatan Malaysia should be far cheaper. I thought Proton was created to give Malaysians cheap cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 17
      • Proton was NOT created to give Malaysian cheap cars. Proton CAUSED Malaysians to be forced to buy expensive cars

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 6
        • Ahmadjr on May 23, 2017 at 9:38 pm

RM140k Premium price equates to perceived Premium quality.

• Henry on May 23, 2017 at 10:17 pm

Yes, perception and reality are two different things.

• In that case, blame honda for the perception.

• Operation Manager on May 24, 2017 at 7:41 am

The Honda Civic body structure platform design have limitation on absorb the power come from a little 1.5 turbo, you can feel the body rooling when >180 same when u brake from that speed, even already added a rear side steel bar across the rear seat (that’s why make the rear seat can’t fold down). This gen Kia Optima GT is designed & developed at Germany by formal VW & BMW M series specialist; we msian yet tested & not sure its performance. On stability & body rigidity performance, for sure Honda Civic very far behind VW or Ford, even Mazda 3 seem a little bit better than Honda Civic. For this price tag comparison, its would tell VW Passat by original already extra 20k. Even worst compared UMW Toyo Camry 2.0 kosong at 160k. In general, the C-segment & above in bokehland already priced higher than it should be, we could see Altis & Civic selling even expensive then previous generation. Is this price under EEV Incentives tax break … this is totally ridiculous from the car maker over bolehland !!!

• Ask umw 1st for their hybrid camry. Eev incentive konon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Bobby on May 23, 2017 at 8:27 pm

RM180K = S$58,196. Just hilariously cheap Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • There is price to pay when it is rebadged

• My 2012 Mondeo produces 240hp/340Nm accelerate from 160km/h to 240km/h without breathless and neglectable body roll, no sure Optima GT could demonstrate the same, I doubt whether its 6AT could react seamless to the high torque and its chassis could withstand the thrust. Running with 240km/h, not many cars able to manage it well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 63
      • Fenix on May 23, 2017 at 10:23 pm

Typing crap. 240kmhr without being breathless haha. Even my Renault Megane RS Cup takes time and strains to achieve 240kmhr and that one with low profile tyres Michellin PS . Neglectable body roll of course la if you travel in a straight line . You talk as if you drove an Aventador. Lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
        • I feel so sorry for your Renault Megane, if it is the case , then send your Renault Magane FOR REPAIR !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 53
          • Marak Singh on May 24, 2017 at 8:16 am

I feel more sorry for your mondeo. Your lies are just as bad as its second hand value. LOL.

• stasta on May 25, 2017 at 10:39 am

actually, i suspect mondeo Cd (drag coefficient) could be better than the megane RS . this makes the mondeo easier to accelerate at speeds above 200 kmph. of course the upside is megane has more downforce which is useful for track driving.

• Fenix on May 25, 2017 at 5:01 pm

Ford Mondeo
            240 bhp /345Nm
            Kerb Weight 1562kg Auto transmision ( heavier)
            0-100km hr takes 7.8 secs
            Megane Cup
            250 bhp /340Nm
            Kerb Weight 1387 kg
            Manual transmisison ( lighter)
            0-100kmhr takes 6.1 secs

On paper alone Megane RS trumps Ford Mondeo which is a sedan haha . That’s why i said CS typed crap .

• Without breathless? What English is that? You think your 240hp very big in today’s automotive world? Most of the German cars can just smoke you without much efforts

• Aiyo, what so big deal with my broken english, I have never said that I was good in english..I was just telling you all that I owned a cheapo Mondeo which could speed up to 240kmh effortlessly. Yea, maybe BMW , Audi could smoke me anytime, but I am just a cheapo Mondeo, 246kmh is the limit I could reach. They could smoke me if they want to, just like BMW will bow before Ferrari. AMG, maybe you are excellent in english but there is something wrong with your logical thinking, may need a teacher to guide you.

• Bang, mana you pandu kereta sampai 240km/h. Nak bagi saman ni, tolong bagi IC dan no. plat

• penang playboy on May 24, 2017 at 9:53 am

hahaha, even my S5 cannot reach 240kmph without breathless.Funny dude

• Lcians on May 23, 2017 at 7:28 pm

Kia > toyota n honda…..both brands suck so much when compared to the price and specs. The performance also far better than those 2.4 in both brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 23, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Amazing how Korean engineers can squeeze so much from a 2.0. Both our local brands doing what? The engineers in Proton just goyang kaki. Do nothing.

Proton has one of the largest pool of engineers of any car company. Yet, totally no invention or research.

I hope Proton engineers learn from the Koreans how to do research and invent stuff!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 23
      • Alfadana on May 23, 2017 at 8:29 pm

Kia Optima was on same par with Proton Perdana V6 not too long ago. Sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • turboed on May 23, 2017 at 8:37 pm

Lol kid , go ask your teacher what is turbo ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Went into cave pre-tebo era. Came out of cave straight away bash. Yup. What a kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • karam singh on May 23, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Do you wanna invest 180k for this car or other than Jap’s car, go for it. after 5 years sell it, buy newer model. DONE. Finish the warranty , SELL IT.

READ CLEARLY THE SPEC 242HP just numbers to blind you.
      0-100kmh only 7.4s

Passat B8 2.0 220hp only , but can do
      0-100kmh 6.7s #Efficiency

ALMOST 1 secs faster.

CIVIC FC 173HP , 0-100 8.2s
      RaceChip 215hp 7.2s in a CVT !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
      • Hugh Tan on May 23, 2017 at 9:13 pm

That’s because the Optima is heavier dum dum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
        • Smartie on May 23, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Heavier and less Fuel efficient too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • karam singh on May 24, 2017 at 4:36 am

Weight both of them about the same,
          still very slow compared,

Korean car not that efficient,
          Optima GT score 7.5l/100km
          Passat B8 2.0 score 6.2l/100km ,
          Passat B8 2.0 280HP got 7.2l/100km it even got 4motion 5.7s 0-100kmh.

Please read those review overseas, lots of thumbs down on Kia Optima regarding the performance on the road. Don’t only judge on paper.
          Unresponsive steering, Slow throttle response
          some tested on youtube only get 8s 0-100kmh LOL, abit inconsistent.
          Also in youtube , the artificial engine sound made by the speaker are lame. so lame.

• waters on May 23, 2017 at 9:32 pm

So?

• Marak Singer on May 23, 2017 at 9:51 pm

Flaw! Such a poor argument.

VW’s track record, probably lying about their numbers. Hence cannot trust and super low resale value. Probably need to sell after all wheels drop off which is just after warranty expire.

Racechip Civic… warranty??? Hah… what warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Jolly_idiot on May 24, 2017 at 1:38 am

Could the passat dsg make the difference?

• karam singh on May 24, 2017 at 4:50 am

So the Kia got resale value ?
          resale value diff not so much between those two.

Warranty on Civic 140k vs Kia 180k ?
          yes I will take the civic , put in racechip.
          I got 40k more to cover if there is no warranty,
          Japs car got lots of halfcut, good news is all of them from Japan itself.
          lets say – engine problem? 5k, gearbox ? 5k .
          others 5k. still lots of money left.

If KIA depleted its warranty , engine problem ? turbo problem? gearbox problem ?
          throw in compactor machine only.

• Boy Boy on May 24, 2017 at 10:42 am

Karam talks and thinks like a teen in puberty. LOL

• Acceleration is about torque not HP…

• Lance on May 24, 2017 at 10:51 am

I believe we should not be blinded just on HP figures alone. Is not all about power. Its the complete package of harmony between an efficient engine with transmission plus good light sharp handling chassis.

• AverageJoe on May 23, 2017 at 7:29 pm

With the petrol being unstable every week, doubt that people will be into horsepower than fuel efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Henry on May 23, 2017 at 7:30 pm

A reasonable price for a 2.0L Turbo with 242 hp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Kangkung with Cheese on May 23, 2017 at 8:06 pm

Kimchi depreciates 60% in 1st year. Gud Luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
      • Kevin on Jun 26, 2017 at 9:43 pm

Please find me a kimchi car, any model which I can buy for 40% of its value after 1 year and I will give you rm5K commission.

• Samurai sword and axe on May 24, 2017 at 8:28 am

Very value for money .Lets wait some user comment then only decide soon later to get in garage.

• bolehlah on May 23, 2017 at 7:39 pm

No 0-100km/h data yet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • JasonT on May 23, 2017 at 7:50 pm

Engine downsizing is the way to go. It’s not the horsepower that counts but rather its efficiency. Small capacity to produce high output. In Japan and Europe, 1.2L & 1.4L and hybrid will be the norm. With lower fuel consumption at least M’sia will foot a lower fuel subsidy. That is why Merc and BMW are using 2.0L engine. Pricing wise, will be good for us Msians as the Japs had been monopolising our market for way too long. Remember, Camry & Honda with 4 airbags, no VSC

• taknaktoyota on May 23, 2017 at 8:41 pm

CHR 1.2L turbo 185Nm torque morevthan 1.4 tonne. It is UNDERPOWER hence bad FC more if full load

• Engine downsizing is NOT the way to go NOW. Even VW mentioned they will go back to N/A due to new European regulation. By 2018, the new standard of accessing fuel consumption is based on actual driving condition. Small turbo charged engine excel when you drive at very low speed and when turbo was not kicked in. This is unrealistic as on actual driving condition turbo will kicks in most of the time. Manufacturers go into downsizing because of the outdated rules on controlled environment test. Efficient N/A engine is still the best on actual driving condition.

• Holofanboi on May 23, 2017 at 8:05 pm

WELL WELL WELL!!!

I am certainly surprised at the pricing! So Naza Kia IS serious about moving the K5GT!

A surprisingly affordable AND attractive price! All of a sudden this is something worth considering instead of a 320i. (Yes I know the BMW is superior but thats a discussion for another time!)

Hmmm… not a bad move at all Naza, not bad at all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • sure boh? on May 24, 2017 at 12:05 pm

You sure you are considering this or 320i? If you are serious, you would know that 320i is no more in BMW Malaysia Menu for quite some time.

• holofanboi on May 24, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Of course I am. The current 330e is likely to be temporary unless they fully intend for it to replace the 240k pricetag.

In which case, even better! 330e is a whole lot better than 320i anyways :)

• Holofanboi on May 23, 2017 at 8:08 pm

@Hafriz Shah

Off-topic, but are midsize sedans really considered ‘large’ over here? I thought Americans consider most of the Camry-sized sedans to be ‘standard’…

• Yes Americans drive much bigger cars. A Hummer H3 here is impractical like hell when parking. H2 is unparkable in most basement lots. Also, Americans are… fatter, I mean.. bigger

• Aaron on May 23, 2017 at 8:20 pm

The price, the output, Oh yes. The only setback is the lack of active safety features (i.e. Lane departure warning and Blind spot detection) If not, great car!

• Chowzz on May 23, 2017 at 8:28 pm

So what about the Passat? Does it stand a chance against its Asian competitors?

• paparadzi (Member) on May 23, 2017 at 8:29 pm

Road tax for 2 liter Kia is RM 380 per year. Road tax for the 2.5 liter Camry is RM 874 per year. That is a difference of RM 494 per year.

• stasta on May 25, 2017 at 10:42 am

“difference of RM 494 per year.” so what ? if you drive more than 3000km monthly, chances are your monthly fuel bill will exceed rm 500 already.

• wandy on May 23, 2017 at 9:01 pm

Quite nice for the exterior..but omg the interior..look at the dashboard especially lcd area..hurts my eyes so much

• Lucky Gong on May 23, 2017 at 11:05 pm

Have the same feeling, need a nice big screen heat unit to overcome it!

• Just saying on May 23, 2017 at 9:02 pm

I heard Camry Hybrid SA say Camry Hybrid has 400nm torque. Is that true paultan? If so which is more beneficial in everyday driving, torque or HP? Just curious. Thank you

• JasonT on May 23, 2017 at 11:29 pm

Torque is more important. Hp for straight line but torque very relevant when climbing. But still u need to know when maximum torque or Hp is achieved. NA normally max at 6k to 7k rpm but turbo can max from 4K onwards and diesel even better at 2k, it means you get high torque at low speed. Honda use to achieve max at 7-8k rpm, your consumption will be high. If at low rpm, power already max and linear then drivability will be good and fuel consumption low.

• lolpanda on May 24, 2017 at 3:41 am

not sure what turbos you’re referring to, as mostly reach peak torque at 1.5-2k RPM and start tapering off at 4K+ RPM…I’ve not seen a modern day turbo that peaks at 4K RPM, lol.

• thepolygonal on May 24, 2017 at 9:47 am

The electric motor max torque when start. Might want to consider that in town driving.

• Maria on May 23, 2017 at 9:23 pm

Nyehhh, I’m wrong for betting the price…Well done Kia.Finally we can buy a 242 hp D segment sedan for about the nearly same price as japanese D segment price.Just dissapointed with no such active safety feature like ioniq..

• Should have included a photo of the panoramic roof open for that extra wow factor in d gallery

its a good looking car, with the power and specs to match

• So its more expensive than offerings from Honda, Toyota and Nissan. Right. Let’s wait and see how many thousand RM rebates will be thrown for this Kia next month to move it out from showrooms. As if people really want to buy it at that price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Rooney on May 23, 2017 at 10:49 pm

Is this the same as Kia Stinger?

• All2Insane on May 23, 2017 at 11:31 pm

Anyone find the center stack is very similar to BMW? Although the LCD screen area sucks big time like low spec beemer.

• Shamgti on May 23, 2017 at 11:48 pm

Put rm 160k la..sure tapau la..

• Gracke on May 24, 2017 at 12:36 am

Good job KIA!!! Bringing the GT performance with good price too, and let others to compete back!

• Samurai sword and axe on May 24, 2017 at 8:26 am

jz my spot, how can 242hp without paddle shift? Honestly, i predict next stinger will be surprising us with a price at RM…. perhap…. RM 223k. if stinger price low, i pretty sure stinger fans could be potentially huge.

• BowArrow on May 24, 2017 at 11:28 am

“…The engine is mated to a six-speed automatic transmission (with paddle shifters)” read the whole article ya…

• Samurai sword and axe on May 24, 2017 at 3:21 pm

F U, from the foto taken, no paddle shift behind steering, do u know the meaning of steering wheel paddle shift?not at gear knob one, u know?u sound like stay at Proton technology still

• BowArrow on May 24, 2017 at 7:13 pm

got la very small obscured by steering
          https://paultan.org/2017/05/24/2017-kia-optima-gt-debuts-in-malaysia/kia-optima-gt-malaysia-debut-8/

• TheDean on May 24, 2017 at 8:35 am

With 240hp / 350Nm, near-8 secs to the sprint is strangely slow, no? Even the VW Sharan’s mere 200hp / 280Nm is able to pull the behemoth in 8-plus secs. It’d be interesting to spot check where the Kia’s spec peaks…..

• neemfa on May 24, 2017 at 8:42 am

interior looks like a carbon copy of Peugeot 508. not to say it is not nice. it looks ok but too similar. kudos to kia for making this car. a wake up call to competitors.

• KIA KIA KIA.... on May 24, 2017 at 8:54 am

KIA need to change their logo….

• Ben Yap on May 24, 2017 at 9:12 am

RM180K for korean car too expensive. add a little bit more can go for BMW 3 series.

• Tricycle on May 24, 2017 at 9:14 am

Good pricing considering it is sold in Malaysian market.

7.4 sec not bad for daily driving. Also long distance driving. Good for safe overtaking and etc.

Almost completely equipped car, with pretty lot of convenience features.

Not sure about the resale value, because almost all cars now on MudahDOTmy depreciate pretty bad percentage wise. (but would like to buy a used one, since someone pointed out that in 1st year this car can depreciate 60%).

As much as some of the car manufacturers like to give years of warranty. Please make it easy for a car owner to claim warranty when it is due. (As long the car is maintain according to schedule and the broken parts is not due to the fault of the car owner.)

In my experience so far only merc, bm and odi fulfilled their commitment on full warranty with no question asked. Hopefully other automakers would follow suit.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 9:21 am

no use if handling like sponge

• passion on May 24, 2017 at 10:24 am

my worry is handling. let us test and decide. the current ones are terrible. all over the place.