Recently revealed to be a one-time ‘Ring record holder for four-door cars, Volvo’s Polestar performance division is set to get a helping hand in chassis development from British sports car maker Lotus. The Swedish automaker will be the latest entry to a long list of set-up and consultation work Lotus has provided for other manufacturers, according to a report by Australian website Drive.
Volvo’s parent company Geely’s majority stake acquisition in Lotus comes at the same time as the former’s acquisition of a 49.9% equity stake in Proton, and the Lotus-Polestar link is intended to influence work on a wide range of products, from affordable hatchbacks to executive sedans and high-performance models, in the vein of the Mercedes-AMG approach.
“I don’t see any problem using their knowledge.i think it is pretty applicable all over the board,” said Volvo vehicle dynamics engineer Roger Wallgren, adding that Lotus expertise “would be appreciated” in that area. “Lotus Engineering is pretty big,” Wallgren noted, also saying that parent company Geely has “a lot of ambition” for future models, including more investment into the Polestar brand.
However, Volvo has not laid out firm plans for the use of Lotus engineers, although Wallgren said the Norfolk-based manufacturer is well-respected in the automotive community. Having said that, “Polestar is a brand that’s going to be used – we are not going to let it sit there and do nothing. Sooner or later you will probably see something,” Wallgren said.
GALLERY: Volvo S60 Polestar
- Foto: Patrik Lindgren
Tuu dia…Lotus Ride & Handling.
we are not going to let it sit there and do nothing.
topkek
This only telling us one things, now you see the master plan & execution even before acquisition, see the different between Proton Top-Management & Geely Top-Management; included driven from mai.maa also miti towatds Proton…??? The sleeping culture & nasi lemak teh tarik breaks time in-plant inside Proton, make what Proton capable as of today after 34yrs.
This is how fast China works. That is why Geely can make USD$30 billion in 2016, USD 26 billion in 2015 and USD24 billion in 2014
May I remind you USD30 billion is RM135 billion.
A car company that just started in 1997, 13 years later than sleeping Proton, can make RM135 billion in 2016. Proton on the other hand can lose RM4 mil per day the past few years!
I really don’t know whether Proton can run fast when Geely tells them to run fast. The marriage is a shaky one cause one lover is hard working and focused whilst the other lover is lepak, rilaks and minum teh 8X a day
They have a very big market there. If you want to say China cars are good, even Malaysian Chinese avoiding from buying Cherry cars as well as Haval. Geely is neither better as a car maker. They just have the cash.
Last time bashers said all P1 owners got nothing to do with lotus handling, but now? All kena tipu one, but now?
Stealing other user nick is not cool
Topkek
Ex-VGM, I agree with you that they are not a good car maker, not yet but growing.
To add on, they not only have cash, they have this most important ingredient in every business, which is the “business driven mind” itself. If got cash, but don’t use brain, business will still fail. Geely got the brains and cash
Here comes the real purpose of Proton deal: Geely want Lotus technology.
Buying Proton is just a collateral price tag to pay, like you buy new car must also buy car insurance.
Shots fired. Shots fired.
Volvo + Lotus = Perfect!
Votus.
Geely’s luxury performance marque.
Cukur, Polestar becomes better and better.
Volvo Polestar > all
Lotus > all
Aik. Ari tu bash P1 for lotus ride & handling shiok sendri. Apa kebangangan ini?
Bcuz proton didn’t get the basic priority right.
Meanwhile, Volvo edi get the basic priority right, that’s why 3 years in a row break sales record. Improving handling is icing on the cake.
Looks like Lotus Ride and Handling will appear on Volvo.
Waiting for bashers come says Volvo syiok sendri for using lotus ride & handling
fuh….volvo coming at BMW
Holy , v40 with 250 horsepower, lotus tuned chassis for real not just a badging and below 200 k
I think Volvo and particularly Geely is very smart because they know what Lotus is good at. They will benefit from this partnership and it works both ways as Volvo can also provide safety features for future Lotus cars, if needed. This can’t be said about the relationship between Proton and Lotus where Proton had nothing to offer to Lotus in terms of engineering and Proton just exploited the Lotus name to put its name on their cars. Honestly, even with the so called Handling by Lotus tag, Protons doesn’t really handle very well, does it?
If you can tell me which PROTONs have Lotus input, and that you owned them, I will take your criticism. Otherwise, as the Kelantanese minister says, “shut up”.
Not all PROTONs have their handling tuned by Lotus. Very few in fact. Some do have handling designed by Lotus but within the expectations of the target market of the model.
Just read reviews, good P1 cars handling is coming from where, from sky? They learn it not all sleeping and nakan kuih lapis and tea 8x times la bodoh
Definitely handle much better than Vios/City and some other cars. Vios/Almera handle like a yatch and City is just so-so without being excited compared with the likes of Preve or even Persona. But thats it. Nothing else better in other department which is a pity.
While those takata airbags in non-P1 cars are easy to go to afterlife faster
To be honest, Proton Neo’s chassis is very good. Very solid and well engineered chassis.
Ever drive a proton before? I’ve driven a vios before and it’s shitty compared to proton’s Preve handling that’s costs less than a vios.
undeniable the handling is good.
The engine and gearbox is still far behind !
I still own the preve IAFM CVT, so i can talk !
Meanwhile some jepunis engines here are not even Euro 5 compliant
U have to ask urself, why is there no vios rally car, hmm?
They do have lightweight chassis technology from lotus
I’m not sure Toyota has lightweight chassis technology from lotus… But I know that they has Lotus all-aluminium engine technology from lotus.
In early 1982, Chapman came to an agreement with Toyota to exchange intellectual property and applied expertise. This initially resulted in Lotus Engineering helping to develop the Mk2 Toyota Supra. The engine was the familiar all-aluminium, DOHC 2.2 L Lotus 912 Slant Four (which was used in the Lotus Esprit S3).
Since then, Toyota has improved the engine and developed new engine as well, including the 3.5 V6 found in the Evora and the Exige.
This statement of yours shows that you’ve never driven any Proton car with Lotus Handling infused in it. Go test drive one and then come tell your story
Hello Geely, after U Kahwin with P1/Lotus, do not forget poor Rakyat of M’sia OK. If U cheat M’sian, we will sembah U with Telur Busuk sampai ke Tong San.
Got bashers here puji P1 with geely, before kutuk P1
Boooooooooooooo
Later Volvo will steal dashboard design from Proton. Becareful.
Butthurt p2 macai, sian
Volvo has polestar tuned by lotus, meanwhile P1 under Geely has proton setar tuned by lotus soon…
Potong Setar lol
Last time proton – handling by lotus.
Now Volvo – handling by lotus
Last time proton – handling by lotus.
Now Volvo – handling by lotus
Now we know why Geely wanted to buy Proton. It’s Lotus they wanted – not our Proton!! Anyway, they bought Proton cheap because the agreed sales price will eventually be offset by our philanthropist BN government’s reimbursement of R&D grants to Proton to the tune of RM1.1billion.
we knew it long ago, and also Tanjung Malim plant….
They don’t buy proton because of its brand, they buy because of its assets.
They want Proton plant for their ASEAN expansion and cheaper volvo for asean.
Roger Wallgren – butthurt
Ni target Geely. Sure dgn ride & handling lotus, Volvo akn tapau Merc, bmw, Audi dlm 2 tahun dr segi jualan. Lotus sendiri pun mgkn akn di push jd saingan Utama Ferrari Lamborghini