VIDEO: Volvo S60 Polestar clinched Nurburgring lap record for road-legal four-door car…secretly

When a carmaker breaks a lap record at the Nürburgring’s legendary Nordschleife circuit, it is usually followed by a huge hoopla to trumpet the accomplishment, complete with a barrage of videos and press releases. What Volvo did was keep it a secret – for an entire year.

The story goes that after the conclusion of the WTCC Race of Germany at the Nürburgring last year, the works Polestar Cyan Racing team stayed on to conduct a secret test with a Volvo S60 Polestar. The team wanted to see how far it could push the road car from a performance perspective, and incorporated its two decades of racing knowledge into the car you see here.

Although not originally part of the plan, the team inadvertently broke the then lap record for road-legal four-door cars, with a time of 7 minutes 51.11 seconds. In typical Swedish fashion, the feat was kept under wraps until just days before the 2017 race, because of the important lessons learnt from the test – which will be fed back to both the WTCC race cars and future Polestar road cars.

As you can see, the car used to set the time has been modified, with the visible changes being a vented bonnet as well as blistered wheel arches and bumpers to fit the wider track – so this isn’t exactly the S60 Polestar you can buy from the dealer. Still, it’s quite some achievement, eclipsed only by the Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio last year.

The standard S60 Polestar features a 2.0 litre Drive-E turbo- and supercharged four-cylinder engine that develops 367 hp and 420 Nm of torque, mated to an eight-speed automatic transmission and all-wheel drive – resulting in a 0-100 km/h time of just 4.7 seconds. To keep all that performance in check, there are stiffer springs, Öhlins dampers and 371 mm slotted brake discs.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Suddenly Volvo is the star (Geely got nothing to shout about)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 26, 2017 at 8:13 pm

Soon our Protons also will use Polestar technology. Syukur lah Geely has given life to our failing Proton.

Terimakasih China. Thank you for helping Malaysia

• Tuu dia…Perdana3 Popstar! Woooots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • What’s definition of a road-legal four-door car? New Civic Type R FK2, which clocked a faster laptime, is also a road-legal four-door car though?

• davidletterboyz on May 26, 2017 at 2:36 pm

?? You mean FK8?
      First, the Civic Type R FK2 is an old model and it’s a 3-door, not 5.
      Second, if you read properly, the article mentioned “then lap record”, which had already been beaten by the Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio.
      Lastly, the latest Type R FK8 that broke the FWD record is not the fastest production five-door car. That one still belongs to the Alfa Romeo. That car is an RWD though. That’s why it does not compete with the Civic Type R.

• FK2 is considered 5 doors cuz of the hatch.

• Primus on May 26, 2017 at 1:55 pm

New Civic Type R Nurburgring lap time was 7 min 43.8 seconds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • civic tested is in hatchback form but s60 tested is a four door saloon.

see the difference and watch the you tube carefully as it was mentioned fastest 4 doors saloon not fastest 4 doors hatchback

• Primus on May 26, 2017 at 10:02 pm

Noted, but the civic tested is almost similar to the production version while the s60 here is heavily modified 367hp vs 310hp for the regular polestar

• Gaviny on May 26, 2017 at 2:06 pm

Volvo has best design rims

• Honda Mugen Spoon will come out with something same same at half the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • tokmoh. on May 26, 2017 at 2:13 pm

Cukur, Volvo merendah diri. That’s why they grow stronger year after year.

Volvo > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Better wait for honda. Soon coming out same same at half the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
  • Semi-Value (Member) on May 26, 2017 at 3:17 pm

next s60 will be epic

• Volvo shud make d s40 rear wheel drive….
    N a coupe to follow suit

• Mikey on May 26, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Bravo to VOLVO. The brand is known to be Safety first & Foremost. U have always known to be Conservative, Humble, Honest to Goodness family car producer. Keep up the GUD work.

We know U have always practice a Stringent Testing Regime Second to none. I believe your participation in WTCC have benefited more than we think. U have shown that U can compete with the best & win some races along the way.

Looks like it’s about time to show the world what stuff U are made of in the new WTCC season. Hope U can make a more affordable smaller car/SUV for M’sian who are beginning to see the beauty of your products. Cheers…

• Geely owns Volvo, so what is your point?