The introduction is just beginning to many global markets, including the United States, but there are already plans in the pipeline to spawn variations of the new Honda Civic Type R, so it goes. According to an Automotive News report, Honda is aiming to introduce additional versions of the Type R in an effort to broaden its consumer base by spreading its appeal over a wider range.
“We’re hoping that by gradually putting out more [variants] that we’ll be able to maintain a more stable sales volume,” Hideki Matsumoto, chief engineer for the Civic model range, told the publication.
On the cards is a more hard-core version of the Type R. Supposedly, there’s going to be more horsepower – the 2.0 litre Honda VTEC Turbo four-cylinder engine currently develops 320 PS and 400 Nm, so one wonders how much more is going to be shoved in.
Also on the list is a version “focused more on the grand touring aspect,” which would broaden the car’s target market, and an all-wheel-drive version could also come to be, in a bid to pitch the Type R against the likes of the Volkswagen Golf R and the Ford Focus RS.
GALLERY: 2017 Honda Civic Type R
- 2017 Honda Civic Type R sets new lap record at the Nürburgring
I can buy 50,000 unit of this Type-R anytime
A lot of people miss the Lancer Evo and the WRX STI is quite lonely. How about a Civic Type R AWD sedan?
1 Pink diamond can buy 50,000 unit of this Type-R anytime
In hills and tracks with a lot of corners, the Type R still no match to our 86. Admit that
The 86 was designed as a fun drive not fast. Don’t be so confident.
The Type R was designed to be fast. I’m no honda fan, but this Type R will run rings around the 86, stock for stock. Even in the twisties.
The type R may have not been the legend that fanboys make it as, but slow it isn’t.
Golf R > all
Jackie Chan LMP2 > all
Sama L00 : if we can, would AE86 admit its engine beyond compatible to it? Oh ya…. You are at the wrong page, bro.
This is Honda, so f@&k o££!
You want fast, better take bike!
When it comes to handling, cornering, Type R pale for sure. FF vs FR. Everyone know the result, Type R is nothing much but a hype.
The 86 is designed for further modded, when the engine is modded. Type R can only smell smoke.
Honda purist is FWD, others r heresy.
Add a CVT gearbox and a lot more traffic warriors will be happy.
Come to Malaysia sure over RM300k. We can only dream
Isnt that what Honda is all about, the power of dreams?
Problem is, u dun go out and achieve it but stay in ur cave and continue to rant. So pls keep on dreaming while we make our dream a reality.
my pet dog follows me everywhere..
Like a British Bulldog, once bit never let go, never back down. We will defend in the net, in the medias, in the PT blogsphere. We shall never surrender.
Work harder Kurap.
Previous generation Civic Type R (not reacon or grey import) priced RM199K (CBU). So expected this new Type R around RM200k.
ringgit already depreciate by 20%-30% from the past 2 yrs and you prediction to the price is not logic.
it lacks one thing compared to the golf R and the focus RS. 4WD
Are you sure
it lacks one thing compared to the rivals. 4WD
it lacks one thing compared to its rivals. 4WD
looking forward to the AWD version
Is this a Ah Beng/Ah Lian car?
Dun put this in same catagory is vios type R sunway version.
McLaren P1 has proven with the electric capability able to increase overall hp and Honda used to have IMA technology. Perhaps Honda could work something from it.
This is not a TESLA dude
McLaren & Honda? Ur gotta be kidding.
Both the EU cars r AWD. This just cant compete.
Nice TYPE-R……but why, why the fake bumper vents?????
Oso, why not use Civic coupe as base for TypeR like what it used to do?
Wow, that’s really milking it to the max. Are you guys at Honda gunning for double digit growth in top line?
The new Accord uses 2.0 T engine from the R and a new 10 speed gearbox. Since the combo works well albeit different tuning, why don’t introduce the 10 speed auto as well in the type R? Though it will dilute the raw experience a bit, it will have bigger market share especially in the US and Asia where everybody prefers auto-box for their daily drive. Honda will be less-smart to not venture into this.
The Civic Type R maintain it’s tradition. Always manual transmission. Designed for track, race & drift. Same like WRX STi always manual. Addition information: even WRX S4 has e-brake but in STi version comes only manual brake. But glad that Type R comes with e-brake.
Please Honda. Bring the Civiv Type R sedan version with Honda Lanewatch & sensing system.
All that safety system wun allow it go fast as it was designed. So how leh?
Wagon version please. And some Super Handling All Wheel Drive from Acura, along with the NSX’ 9 speed dual clutch.
But Civic SI got that feautures. But lack of LED headlights & navigation system.