First US-spec Honda Civic Type R sells for US$200,000

The new Honda Civic Type R certainly has its fair share of fans, especially in the United States, whereby the arrival of the hot hatch there heralds the return of a Type R-badged Honda to the country, since the Acura Integra Type R in the 1990s.

Recently, Honda partnered with Bring a Trailer to auction off the first US-spec Civic Type R (#01) ever to land in the country. The car (shown here) wears an Aegean Blue Metallic paint finish with black wheels and plenty of red accents. Of course, the most important bit here is the unique serial number below the shifter, with the designation “R-00001,” and VIN plate.

You would expect this one-of-a-kind example to attract plenty of interested parties, and you’d be right. After several days of bidding, the winning bid has been revealed to be an eye-watering US$200,000 (RM855,690), which is ludicrously more than the retail price of US$33,900 (RM145,041).

Of course, this is all in the interest of charity, with all of the proceeds from the sale benefitting the Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation, an organization Honda has supported since 1991. Now, let’s all pray and hope that Honda Malaysia officially brings in the FWD King of the ‘Ring.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Anthony Lee on Jun 16, 2017 at 3:43 pm

Gerard, Malaysia is not the target market for this monster, you know that I know that. But I will still be praying…

• AES snap more pictures on Jun 16, 2017 at 4:00 pm

too expensive lar…
    more over AES memory cards also not enuf to generate the summon…

• Mak Aku on Jun 16, 2017 at 4:54 pm

mak woi, harga tu dah boleh beli NSX oi

• Vincent on Jun 16, 2017 at 4:57 pm

You can get a Ferrari with that price tag!

• Johnson Amigo on Jun 16, 2017 at 5:04 pm

FWD fastCar, renault all the way!!

• Honda Malaysia on Jun 16, 2017 at 6:58 pm

i saw renault fishing at sideway…sadly no fish there…

• funkyMonkey on Jun 16, 2017 at 5:50 pm

with that asking price, better buy a GTR.

• Somebody on Jun 17, 2017 at 5:01 pm

That USD 200K price tag is because the CTR is being auctioned off at charity.You can get one in the US for around USD 35K

• Henry on Jun 16, 2017 at 7:18 pm

It will be no less than 250k if this car ever gets here.

• Cendol on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:36 pm

Suprima R3 > All

• Emir Doha on Jun 17, 2017 at 11:19 am

I rather buy a few of Tesla S P100D instead of this junk!

• Stone hut keeper on Jun 17, 2017 at 11:23 am

Don’t forget to trade your black gold monies for the mouth watering AR Giulia QV as your next collection ok. Sand Camelian LOL

• Somebody on Jun 17, 2017 at 5:03 pm

FYI, the CTR is USD 35K, its 200K for this very first US-bound CTR is because its being auctioned off at charity.Do you even read before comment?

• Zarzar on Jun 21, 2017 at 10:33 pm

This 200k usd CTR 001 will only go higher in the upcoming years. Totally worth it.