iRAP Malaysia Report 2017 – more than 95% of roads assessed receive safety rating of 3 stars and above

During the launch of the first International Road Safety Assessment Programme (iRAP) Malaysia Report 2017, it was revealed more than 95% of assessed roads in Malaysia have been awarded with a safety rating of three stars and above.

In a report by NST, Transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said the assessment involved four inter-urban expressway networks in the country, namely Kuala Lumpur-Bukit Kayu Hitam, Kuala Lumpur-Johor Baru, Kuala Lumpur-Kuantan and Kuantan-Terengganu.

The stretches were assessed according to five levels of safety, with five-star roads being the safest while one-star roads are the least safe. “This is a positive result after road infrastructure safety improvements were put in to boost the safety level along the 2,370.2-km assessed stretches,” Liow said.

The assessment also showed that the risk of crashes in more than 50% of the assessed stretches is acceptable (three-star and above), and can be further reduced with various short- and long-term programmes. Moving forward, Liow wants Malaysia to achieve its aim of making 75% of travel to be on roads with three-star ratings and above by 2020.

Liow also said iRAP Malaysia will extend its assessment to urban highways, federal roads and state roads, including in Sabah and Sarawak. “This road ratings programme is important as it helps the public know which roads are safe according to its star ratings. It also helps the JKR (Public Works Department) and LLM (Malaysian Highway Authority) to identify road stretches that need to be improved,” he explained in another report by The Star.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• www.irap.org/en/

Must be from MY ni….
    Dah kena deadak ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • fanofthisite on Jul 04, 2017 at 6:49 pm

Syabas! Mari puji iRAP Malaysia

• John Fake News Poster on Jul 04, 2017 at 7:20 pm

Gomen give JKR money but money masuk poket. Now worse Gomen got no money also. All roads got potholes. Even road beside KLCC twin tower also lubang besar besar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • Which road izit, becoz the roads around KLCC that i go around is better than, say, north island tower?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • john otak sotong on Jul 05, 2017 at 9:53 am

You should go to the road that you didn’t go to see the potholes around KLCC then.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 04, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Why should we aim for 3 stars? We should aim for 5 stars. After all gomen already confirmed to us 2 years ago that we are on track to be First World by 2020.

Gomen also confirmed that by 2020, we are also on track to be high income nation with GDP per Capita of US$48k. That means every person in Malaysia will be earning US$4000 (RM18,000) per month.

This is in media. Can google it. Our Ministers confirmed we are on track. So, since we are first world in 3 yrs time, we should aim for all roads to be 5 stars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrrr on Jul 04, 2017 at 9:28 pm

I agreed what you said, i support 3 star basher like you

• 12yrsold on Jul 05, 2017 at 8:37 am

When we reach 2020, I wish there will be no more BRiM. Sad to say, it is just only a wish.

• malaysianz on Jul 04, 2017 at 5:45 pm

true, tolled highway is good, go check federal road and other town road, see if it can get the rating especially federal highway, kl. some stretch even not having a visible road line

• lilytan on Jul 05, 2017 at 9:41 am

Even the thai n indon federal/state roads are far nicer than our federal roads.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Jul 04, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Most of the accident is due to idiotic motorcyclist. Just enforce the GD rules and show no mercy to these M riding on a bike. By then confirm plus endorsement from our beloved G that road accident will reduce drastically.

• My Father's Road on Jul 04, 2017 at 7:21 pm

Look at all those jokers on the emergency lane…Mentality definitely < 3 stars!

• transformer on Jul 04, 2017 at 8:21 pm

hahaha… can 3 stars? does this survey includes roads in JB? Johor Bahru is also known as “Jalan Berlobang”…. try check out Pasir Gudang Highway(most important trade route)

• Pasir Gudang Highway is about as “gud” as Tuas industrial area.

• Then why speed limit is still 110kmh?

• awg1031 on Jul 05, 2017 at 2:46 pm

oh maybe other develop country also like that..

• ex-VGM staff on Jul 06, 2017 at 8:33 am

Answer this first : why car manufacturers don’t dare to do crash test at 100kph? Because all will die. Human bodies cannot take impact at that speed. Even with 5 stars euro ncap, airbag, seat belts and ABS, ESP.

• RicoT on Jul 04, 2017 at 10:10 pm

95% of the 20% Malaysian roads the govt showed to them? “four inter-urban expressway networks in the country, namely Kuala Lumpur-Bukit Kayu Hitam, Kuala Lumpur-Johor Baru, Kuala Lumpur-Kuantan and Kuantan-Terengganu.”

• xoxox on Jul 05, 2017 at 8:40 am

lol, 3 star= 3 portholes/defects every 1km?, 4 stars=2 portholes/defects every 1km? What is the rating for Borneo highway which the only highway after 50+ years of independence WHICH still in construction stage???????

• Mr. Octopus on Jul 05, 2017 at 9:53 am

Most fatal accidents are not on highways. What rating did those roads get?

• DistantStar on Jul 05, 2017 at 10:10 am

Do I detect another PISA test debacle here?

• Sarawakian on Jul 05, 2017 at 11:01 am

Does this rating include Sabah and Sarawak?

• K C NYEW on Jul 05, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Agreed with the rating but can’t PLUS look into widen a few stretches whereby congestion always occurred during peak and super peak seasons i.e. north bound Gopeng-Ipoh, Ipoh-Kuala Kangsar, south bound Taiping -Ipoh, Ipoh-Gopeng?
    the tunnel also is the bottle neck even on normal weekends!