C238 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Coupe launched in Malaysia – E200 and E300 AMG Line, from RM436k

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has officially introduced the C238 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Coupé, and the two-door model, which was revealed in December last year, is the latest offering to slot in to the Mercedes-Benz Dream Car Collection available in the country.

The W213 E-Class based-model represents a shift from the previous-generation C207, which despite having the looks of the W212 E-Class was actually based on the W204 C-Class platform and technologies. The new car is the first genuine E-Class Coupe since the C124 model from two decades ago.

Measuring in at 4,826 mm long, 1,860 mm wide and 1,430 mm tall, the new coupé is significantly larger than its predecessor, and the increase in dimensions translates to significantly improved cabin space for occupants inside the four-seater.

For Malaysia, two variants are available at launch, and these are the E 200 Coupé AMG Line and the E 300 Coupé AMG Line. Both are powered by the familiar M274 DE 20 AL 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder seen in various models in the automaker’s stable, in different output tunes, and paired with a 9G-Tronic nine-speed automatic transmission.

For the E 200, this is 184 hp at 5,500 rpm and 300 Nm from 1,200 to 4,000 rpm, and it’s good enough to get the car from standstill to 100 km/h in 7.8 seconds. The E 300, meanwhile, bumps up the numbers to 245 hp and 370 Nm, which brings the 0-100km/h time down to 6.4 seconds.

Both the E 200 and E 300 Coupé goes on sale here in AMG Line trim, which dresses the car up with sportier front/rear bumpers and side skirts. Wheel design and sizes are different, however – the E 200 rides on 18-inch AMG five-spoke light-alloy wheels, while the E 300 is equipped with 20-inch AMG multi-spoke units, and these are finished in high-gloss black.

At the launch today, a third variant was also introduced, but this will be available in very small numbers – the E 300 Coupé Edition1 is only limited to 555 units worldwide. The variant combines the AMG Line and the Night package with 20-inch AMG multi-spoke allow wheels and an exclusive designo cashmere white magno exterior finish.

The local specification sees the E-Class Coupé coming as standard with Agility Control suspension, which sits the car 15 mm lower than the sedan and features passive, selective damping. As usual, there’s a Dynamic Select system, which offers Comfort, ECO, Sport, Sport + and Individual driving modes.

Inside, the cabin layout is almost identical to the sedan, with the Widescreen Cockpit and its twin 12.3-inch displays and Touch Control pads on the steering wheel and four central AC air vents among the items to be found – the last, however, features a new turbine-style design derived from the Concept IAA.

An AMG Line interior means that the cabin is dressed in two-tone nappa leather upholstery (available in black/classic red or black/deep white), and for the E 200 the trim consists of open-pore black ash wood for accents and the centre console panel, while the E 300 goes the multi-weave and black piano-lacquer route.

Standard equipment includes Multibeam LED headlamps, adaptive highbeam assist plus, illuminated door sill panels, AMG floot mats, Keyless-Go, Parking Pilot, surround view camera, a COMAND Online infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility as well as Qi wireless smartphone charging.

The E 300 adds on a Night Package, a head-up display, a Burmester surround sound system, a panoramic sliding sunroof as well as an Air-Balance package.

Finally, pricing, and the Mercedes-Benz E 200 Coupé AMG Line goes for RM435,888, while the E 300 Coupé AMG Line is priced at RM499,888. The limited E 300 Coupé Edition1 variant, meanwhile, goes for RM534,888. All prices are on-the-road without insurance.

Agility Financing is of course available for E-Class Coupe, with the E 200 Coupé at RM 4,358, E 300 Coupé at RM4,998 and E 300 Coupé Edition1 at RM5,348 per month with a three-year Agility Financing tenure.

You can check out the full specifications of the C238 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Coupé variants at CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz E 200 Coupé AMG Line

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz E 300 Coupé AMG Line

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz E 300 Coupé Edition1

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• najib 2.6b razak on Jul 27, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Overpriced as usual

• Ah Kow on Jul 27, 2017 at 12:39 pm

This is much much more worth it than Lexus LC 500.

• Mikey on Jul 27, 2017 at 1:05 pm

He he he, the E200 coupe cost a good RM87k more & you are getting 2 door less. Looks like buying the E200 sedan are more practical than the coupe.

There is no denying that the coupe looks sporty/better for an executive car. The interior looks top notch. With black piano-lacquer finishing on the centre console panel, the E300 sure looks classier than the E200.

Even with a 3-year Agility Financing tenure, I’m afraid Malaysian who earn slightly above RM8,000 would not be able to own a E200 coupe let alone a E300.

Maybe after saving 5 years & survive on Roti/Nasi Kosong & Teh-O Kosong for B’fast & lunch. For dinner, makan at kedai Mamak or tapau from stalls just to save enough to buy one.

Just joking bro. No joke no fun. Please bash as much as U want bcos I foresee there won’t be many comments here because cannot bash an Avantgarde brand. Cheers…

• A high income nation like MY must hv more Avantgarde brand autos OTR.

• Jimmy on Jul 27, 2017 at 10:23 pm

Take home gaji Rm 8 ribu nett per month (after income tax and EPF): the most suitable vehicles for your household are at most City & HRV, or their equivalents; one for you, the other for your wife.
      E-class is for people earning rm 50k and above.
      S-class: 6-figure monthly.

BTW, rm 436k and yet no sunroof, especially in a sporty vehicle, is just plain lame stingy You-Aim-DeView style.

Or should I say Lack-Sirs style; they give zero or tiny sunroof, and tasteless interior.

• 12yrsold on Jul 28, 2017 at 10:00 am

Agree with U on the 1st paragraph. I think U don’t need to earn 50k above to own a E-class. Just 25k will suffice.

If U earn above 50k, U will be driving/chauffeured in a S-class. It’s a question of U really want or not. To each his own.

I think most people who own one of this German machine does not cared if there is a sun/moon roof. Chances is they almost never use it.

I know my father did not even once open his S400 roof & he definitely don’t earn above RM100k per month.

• Periasamy on Jul 27, 2017 at 1:43 pm

What a joke at RM534k. This coupe in the US is hardly USD$58k

How USD58k can jump to 10x to RM534k???

• Dream only! on Jul 27, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Fabulous ! But those digital dash just somehow doesn’t blend with the coupe!

• This is so much better that the 4 series.... on Jul 27, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Merc drivers are all very good one. BMW no good, stupid is like bodoh.

I’m a Mersedit driver. Beemer suck. Buy Mersedit. I already got a lot of downlines in my MLM, my ponzi scheme also working very well. I will buy this for gaya outside.

• Aircon vents looks like vortex grinder

• DPCraft on Jul 27, 2017 at 2:56 pm

Wow you pay 435k+ and only get 184hp… they should sell from the E300 not E200 at that price

• bangsar wan on Jul 27, 2017 at 3:13 pm

sleeper rice boys and mistresses enjoy, get more choice from their lover’s gift LOL

• Wow, with this price can get more powerful V6 C43 AMG sedan or coupe rather than 2.0 four cylinders

• Fenix on Jul 27, 2017 at 8:04 pm

Gross income 40k and above only . For poorer mortals including me , look elsewhere.

• Add A Comment on Jul 28, 2017 at 8:46 am

My A250 can easily smoke this E200 and even E300

– I Hvae Just Added A Comment –

• alicia on Oct 03, 2017 at 10:14 pm

overpriced junk and i can easily trash this car using kia stinger and kia optima gt. Mostly uncle will drive this merc.

• Royce on Oct 04, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Nice first impression. But such a boring car to drive. Comfortable old man coupe.

• NeedForBoost on Oct 04, 2017 at 9:02 pm

Crap review because of a crap reviewer. If Hafriz can’t take criticism and you guys are deleting comments instead, then Paultan is truly are not worthy of being Malaysia’s leading automotive news hub.

Let the others review more instead of this guy. He can’t even form coherent sentences properly. Just what the heck is “it’s not an AMG so you don’t get the head snapping V8 roar”?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 04, 2017 at 9:28 pm

Your previous comment was posted here, buddy: https://paultan.org/2017/08/03/first-look-c238-mercedes-benz-e-class-coupe/

And I take criticisms very well, as I take them on my thick double chin ;)