VIDEO: C238 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Coupe walk-around tour – new GT to reach Malaysia in Q3 2017

Here we have the all-new C238 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Coupe, which we’ve had the privilege to drive in Catalonia, Spain recently. A full review will be up on paultan.org soon, but for now, here’s a detailed walk-around tour of the new premium grand tourer from Mercedes-Benz.

Expected to arrive in Malaysia in the third quarter of 2017, the new E-Class Coupe is a large departure from the previous-generation C207 model, which, despite having the looks of the W212 E-Class, was actually based on the W204 C-Class platform and technologies (much like the two CLK models before it). This new C238, though, is the first genuine E-Class Coupe since the C124 model over 20 years ago.

Being based on the W213 E-Class brings about plenty of benefits: the new coupe is more comfort oriented, far larger inside and best yet, it has access to the full suite of advanced technologies from Merc’s latest premium executive family. It’s definitely a clear step up from both the outgoing model and the C205 C-Class Coupe, now perfectly befitting of the E-Class badge.

Do watch the video above for a detailed look at the new car’s advancements and highlights, both inside and outside, and let us know what you think of this new BMW 6 Series rival.

GALLERY: C238 Mercedes-Benz E 300 Coupe AMG Line

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 10, 2017 at 1:59 pm

Very good review and walk around. Top Gear must learn from Paul Tan and team how to give a good walk around or review of cars.

Very proud of Paul Tan and team. Straight to the point and factual. Malaysians don’t want tok kok Top Gear style where instead of talking about cars, the trio go mountain climbing, parachuting a car from a plane, using car as motorboat etc. Nonsense and no logic.

Hope Top Gear learn from Driven and Paul Tan how to write or do reviews.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • Goegeous car on Mar 10, 2017 at 2:04 pm

Amg line but not AMG flat bottom steering wheel?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 10, 2017 at 2:21 pm

This car has the AMG Line exterior, but paired with Exclusive interior trim.

• Anonymous on Mar 10, 2017 at 2:53 pm

Harris, who is responsible for the awfully amateurish attempt at the subtitles on the video?

• Mikey on Mar 10, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Hafriz/PT. I’m surprised that You/PT did not edit or correct some mistakes in your presentation. Usually most journalist will edit/correct the Err or mistakes B4 showing it to the audience.
    For that, I salute you for “Dare to be Different”. Overall, very clear video. It must be good to be a journalist for PT.org where you get to go to Catalonia, Spain.

• naros on Mar 10, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Paultan, if you let me do the walk-around tour on this car, in sure im gonna do a better job than Hafiz. Shorter and more interesting. Sorry mate. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Price range should be 500k above right

• Hafriz seems so bloody nervous and cannot keep his composure as if there is an audience around him in the Catalonia, Spain listening to him doing a review of the new e-class coupe and he his voice is so low trying to prevent it, making mistakes after mistakes..whylar ….just be yourself, show those catalonias how we review cars in Malaysia Boleh style….no need put in high flunk words to juice up the review just cause your aboard as your target audience are back in malaysia. “silly spike hair going on …. won’t put it lightly, a lot thinner than myself….” Why put yourself down so much …..so what if your bigger than your average joe … Come on Hafriz you have done way better reviews of cars back here in Malaysia, it should not change when you go abroad. I use to like the way you present your review back here in Malaysia and will still do as you natural and spot on but looking at this fumble of a review, its quite bad and im not saying I can do a better job than you, as I’m not a car reviewer but value car reviews whom are just themselves and straight up with the local lingo in those reviews wherever they maybe. Hope to see some improvements next time, how come Paultan crew did not make it for the Geneva Motor Show 2017, that would have been owesome cars to be viewed and reviewed over there.

• Room206 on Mar 10, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Good effort dude! Is PT hiring? haha