Daihatsu Move kei car receives an update in Japan

Daihatsu Move <em>kei</em> car receives an update in Japan

The sixth-generation Daihatsu Move has been updated for the 2018 model year in Japan, with the kei car gaining some styling revisions as well as an enhanced equipment list.

On the exterior, the Move receives a reshaped front bumper along with a new grille, new taillight graphics and higher variants even come with LED headlights. There’s also the Move Custom, which receives a sportier body kit and distinct wheel designs to match.

The Move’s interior is unchanged here, and depending on which variant is chosen, a variety of different colour schemes are applied for the seats, dashboard and other trim pieces. On the Move Custom, the lower part of the dashboard is finished in black, whereas it is a brighter colour on the regular Move.

Motivation is still provided by a 660 cc engine (following Japanese kei car regulations) that serves up to 64 PS/92 Nm on some variants, while on others, it is 52 PS/60 Nm. A CVT automatic is the only transmission option available here, but customers will get choose between two- or four-wheel drive.

Despite its small size, the Move’s safety kit includes the Smart Assist II suite with low-speed emergency braking system with pedestrian detection, plus a wide-view camera system. Other features include a lane departure warning system, automatic high beam, VSC and traction control.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Meanwhile P2 still moving deathraps & flying axles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 24
    • Kelab Kunta on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:54 pm

At least they have not sucked about RM20 billion of rakyat’s money. And hutang RM1.5 bil and RM1.8 bil still not paid back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 13
      • I prefer they suck money than suck life. How bout u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 30
        • P2macai on Aug 03, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Toyota > All.
          Daihatsu > all.
          P2 > all

• Henry on Aug 05, 2017 at 9:46 am

I am forwarding this comment of yours to
          Perodua. You better have the statistics to prove what you wrote.

• Shafiq on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Nice interior.Maybe can implement on next Axia/Bezza perhaps

Should bring this to Malaysia. Just love the design

• Mini boxes no longer sells well in MY. Just look at Freed & Sienta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • hazard on Aug 03, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Mehh 660cc. Proton Ertiga 1400cc..

• Once P2 removes all safety features and insulation and reduce material quality, power to weight ratio will same same with Er3.

• Bash Basher on Aug 04, 2017 at 8:04 am

This is a Kei car, Ertiga is not

• jinggo on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:48 pm

Ladies & Gentlemen, please welcome the All New Perodua Kenari!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • KuntaSupporter on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:49 pm

berry nice dashboard design by daihatsu! bring here sell 30-40k hotcake!

• hyundai89 on Aug 03, 2017 at 4:03 pm

perodua please bring it to malaysia

• 12yrsold on Aug 04, 2017 at 10:08 am

P2 should bring this Kei car here. With all the latest safety features that is currently lacking in the aged Myvi, am sure P2 will sell even more cars than everybody.

• pls bring in to replace the aging perodua Myvi.

• i miss my previous spacious kenari.

Hope Perodua will bring in this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Nazaria on Aug 03, 2017 at 8:16 pm

U all always bashing produa car. If u want safety so much. Go and buy other car that have safety features that u desire. Spend ur more money u will get all the safety that u want.

• topkek on Aug 03, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Why so worry? if P1 kena bash you dun talk pulak

• These company con their customer becoz people like you who believe that safety is a luxury items. If P2 can provide crap accessories for RM thousand, why not provide a better safety by abolish these crap accessories and transfer the cost for safety equipment. Do full airbags, ABS and ESP cost a bomb? Do Iriz and Myvi cost difference is so huge? Go figure.

• Basher says mivi lousy safety cuz of taxes worr. But basher no explains why mivi & iriz same same price but iriz safety sooo much better. Basher logic cannot persoal.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:39 pm

we want new kenari