Ferrari looking at a ‘utility vehicle’ in expansion plans

Never say never. Ferrari has long been opposed to the idea of an SUV – back in 2008, its former technical director Roberto Fedeli had told this writer that the brand would never build such a vehicle type. This was cemented by former chairman Luca di Montezemolo, who stated in 2013 that there would be no SUV or four-door Ferrari, ever.

That stand has continued into more recent times. In 2015, the company’s design boss, Flavio Manzoni, emphatically reiterated that there were no plans to develop an SUV. “It is not within our DNA and it’s not something we are ever going to look at. Ferrari is not a follower. We cannot make something just because this is the normal trend. It wouldn’t be a Ferrari,” he had said.

Fiat Chrysler Automobiles (FCA) CEO Sergio Marchionne had an even stronger view of the matter. When asked last year if the Prancing Horse would consider adopting an SUV, his reply was succinct. “You’ll have to shoot me first,” he said.

Well, time to bite the bullet then, because word is that something along the lines – if not exactly an SUV in the traditional sense – is on the cards. With plans to expand sales and profits on large scale by 2022, the brand is reportedly considering the addition of a larger four-seat utility vehicle to its model range.

Sources familiar with the matter have intimated to Bloomberg that among the projects being evaluated as part of expansion plans is a four-seat family vehicle that has more space than its current GTC4Lusso. Such a vehicle would appeal to Asian customers, particularly those in China, and good enough to contribute 2,000 units to overall sales annually.

The report adds that the model is dubbed internally as the “Ferrari utility vehicle,” following Marchionne’s strong opposition to an SUV. The sources said that no decision on the car has yet been made, or for that matter if it will be a two-door or four-door design. Yes, you read right with the last one. Four.

The sources also said the company is looking at marketing the utility vehicle as a new industry segment entry, rather than another high-end SUV like the Bentley Bentayga or the upcoming Lamborghini Urus. Such a viewpoint was intimated by the marque’s head of product marketing, Nicola Boari, earlier this year.

“In everything we do, there’s a high expectation that we will do something different and not the same. It’s not that we despise SUVs, per se. It’s just that today, physics is there, weight and rolling and length is there. So, how can we manage the key physics to create something which has the benefit of an SUV but not the bad? I think it’s the right challenging question that we should pose our self, not just, ‘Why don’t you adhere to a specific segment, and then try and make it a Ferrari?’,” he explained.

A Ferrari utility vehicle, imagine that. Maybe even four doors. Never, you say?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Family Guy on Aug 03, 2017 at 11:44 am

Ferrari SUV? Still can’t afford it. Sigh…

• Kelab Kunta on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:19 pm

At least Ferrari also kowtow to the SUV wave. Everybody also moving towards SUV. Don’t know why Proton had to wait until Geely to intro a SUV.

30 years just shake legs and do nothing- marketing team

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • SUV existed 30 years ago? Which SUV was it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
        • Gallardo1988 on Aug 03, 2017 at 4:51 pm

Mitsubishi Pajero Sport SUV Dakar

• Pajeros back then werent known as SUVs. They were termed as 4X4 Off-Roader. U try bringing an unmodified modern SUV thru those terrain that Pajeros went thru with ease. Sure it will sangkut at 1st 100 mtr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
          • Rahim on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:22 pm

What do you call Isuzu Trooper? I had that in 1985. Please dont spread fake news.

• Rahim on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:24 pm

Modern SUV cannot go terrain? I use my Santa Fe Diesel CRDi no problem also. Can do few KM in estates and palm oil plantations.

Where got 100m sangkut? Fake news again?

• Tenom deep forrest. I dare u.

• Rahim on Aug 03, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Inability to understand English? Unable to decipher inner meanings?

• Messenger has inability to communicate effectively, so what to do?

• Family Guy on Aug 03, 2017 at 11:45 am

Ferrari SUV? Still can’t afford it. Sigh…..

• Jimmy on Aug 03, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Now just let me tell you:
      1. Never stain your big name. It took a century to rebuild.
      2. Never lose your Ferrari DNA. It has to be a real Ferrari in every sense.
      3. You do not have to eat your very own words. Who said utility vehicles cannot have two doors? What about a pair of large gull-wings or some other innovative large doors. Your customers can afford complex mechanicals. And, there is something called adjustable ride height, so it can be a typical Ferrari hypercar at the lowest setting, and when you need it, you can raise the height with ground clearance of a Cayenne. What about you study the Ghost (the ground clearance is 208mm which is better than some SUV).

• hazamiey on Aug 03, 2017 at 12:14 pm

Stupid Ferrari. Of course everybody knows , no SUV can match the dynamics of a sportscar or saloon due to physics. It don’t need a brilliant engineer to imagine it. BUyers luv it bcoz of the size, commanding view, etc. SUV do not need to become a sportscar. And by the time the SUV rolling out of Maranello, VW group has already making a lot of money with Urus.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:08 pm

Maybe its a GTC4 Lusso but with extended wheelbase for China market. It will still be 2 doors. Or perhaps adding smaller suicide rear doors to the GTC4, similar to what the RX8 had. Or they maintain 2 doors but opened in an innovative way to allow easier ingress/egress into the car. Cos Ferrari is adamant that they wont be making a tall riding Ferrari.

• MatPrtn on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:19 pm

We wait Proton Boyue SUV

• sabahan on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:06 pm

i thought i heard Ferrari says that they will not produce any other variant other than sports car….

• Felali oso says they wun ditch iconic 6spd gated manual. See what happen now?

• Grammar Nazi on Aug 03, 2017 at 8:30 pm

‘ a utility vehicle ‘ not ‘ an utility vehicle ‘

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:01 pm

Lol, yes, vowel sounds and all, eyes off the ball on that headline. Corrected. Thanks for the spot.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:41 pm

enzo ferrari turning in his grave