See an abandoned car on the roadside on your way to work every morning? Apparently, that car will be gone if the Natural Resources and Environment Ministry’s new policy comes into being, according to The Sun.
Minister Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar told the press that he intends to solve the problem of abandoned vehicles being left to rot, because in addition to being an eyesore they also become a breeding ground for mosquitoes and rats.
He also mentioned that it’s important to rectify the issue even though it’s a tedious task to develop new policies, adding that gaps between authorities such as state governments and local councils have stymied similar initiatives in the past. “We learn from the previous failed initiatives. This time we will engage all relevant stakeholders to tackle the problem,” he said.
They talk big. The recent car near Subang Jaya Federal Highway was there 3 months. Polis, MPPJ, MPSJ just pass it everyday. JPJ also just pass it everyday. Nothing is done.
Biggest culprit is PDRM. Go to every Balai, especially the PJ Balai, got so many accident cars there parked in the parking lot for years. So many aedes dengue nyamuk.
Polis see everyday also, do nothing. Polis supposed to look after the safety of the rakyat but they see the abandoned vehicles everyday. Go closer you see larvae swimming happily.
Simple………….
No one make a report, so they cannot take any action.
That simple !
Abang police kenot make report?? hmmmm
The patrol officers can put up report in their routine rounds. Departmental follow-up to be followed up accordingly. This procedure is the same with any government enforcement agency. Bottom line is, extra work for everybody…
The police they do their work. But if the same car is not reported stolen or involved in crime, there is pretty much nothing they can do. Its either the banks (financier), owner or local council to take action
Well said. U know who to blame? MPSJ & MPPJ & MBSA, all of them repot to who?
repot to who?
MAC..oh wai
look at Government departments. See the majority workers there. No point reporting also
Car scrapping policy nw !
When a vehicle is abandoned and left unattended for more then period, just tow it away to the scrape yard for recycling.
Why so difficult ?
Can I tow the car, if I like it? Maybe dismantled and sell used part. The body sell as besi buruk
Anyone feel like selling besi buruk, just hire a tow truck, and sell the useless car. Can make a quick buck, esp economy is bad now. At the same time, doing some community service.
A besi buruk motorbike can fetch RM150, now imagine a junk car?
No need to waste time to report to Authority this and that, see this officers, fill in various forms, follow-up, etc…and nothing probably done anyway.
Self Service,
the vehicle has owner. they can put it there to wait for ppl to tow it away, but when you tow it away and scrap it, it become polica case.
they can report to police and insurance that car got stolen. They can do it purposely to trap you.
On the other hand thief can go around towing car away saying it has been abandoned. You can make money easily.
So in most cases, the police and city council refuse to take action as it involve many legal matters and may complicate issue. Until we have a law to deal with this issue, there is nothing much that will change.
It’s not so simple as people think it to be to implement. Ownership here is critical. To ratify the law to deal with repossession of property is very difficult, it is the very same law that protects owners from indiscriminate repossession by authorities. It’s a double edged sword. Despite being abandoned, it is still recognized as private property. Even if it is abandoned, to what degree do we define abandonment?
Action speaks louder than words. Show us the results (independently verified) in six months..baru percaya….
I think this is a good policy and act if implemented. I have seen many abandoned vehicles on roadside, housing areas, and even shopping mall parking zones. Not only concerning aedes this implementation of policy could also help police and authorities to resolve crimes and reopen past cases by tracking vehicle registration number and using cctv footages in certain places. It can also solve issues of stolen cars which are abandoned.
this is a good action taken and you guys still blaming bla bla bla some more…….aiyaaaaa….
when you park your car at forbidden spot/road side … The authorities will issue a summon ticket if they spotted your car or even worst , tow your car away.
But , abandoned car at forbidden spot or road side , you will still see the car even for a week or weeks..
because they know , they can’t collect fines from abandoned vehicles.
This is the problem when you employ lazy fat employees who like to zzzz. Lazy to think. Lazy to drive tow trucks to remove the abandoned cars – who not only pose an imminent danger to motorists but their kins too.