Ford signs MoU with China’s Zotye Auto for EV JV

As deals go, this one makes sense in every way – electric cars and the world’s biggest auto market. Ford today signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with Chinese automaker Anhui Zotye Automobile Co to explore the establishment of a joint venture that will build electric vehicles in China.

The Detroit carmaker said in a e-mailed statement that the vehicles produced would be sold under a brand owned by the new JV, in which both companies will hold a 50-50 stake, Reuters reports.

Zotye, a privately owned company based in Zhejiang province, is described by Ford as the market leader in China’s fully electric small car segment, although it might be more famous outside of China for its Porsche Macan clone. It sold more than 16,000 EVs this year until July, which is a 56% year-on-year growth. With a new CEO in place, Ford is expected to make a big push in the EV market.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Now if only Zoyte can put this partnership to gud use and come out with Mustang clone at same perf level for Rm30k. Otherwise ini mesti salah amerika.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 84
    • Abdul Kadir on Aug 22, 2017 at 11:29 pm

how can caveman want Mustang for RM30k? Myvi oso same price

• Becoz basher caveman been demanding for cheap car or ini salah gov. So why i cannot use their same same logic?

• Syiok Syiok Sendiri on Aug 22, 2017 at 6:49 pm

only a lazy fellow who believes in discounts and handouts will ask Mustang for RM30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 17
    • Wait wait wait. Do u know how long it took me to stop laffing at ur statement? 3 hours, dude!
      Oh, but i will be sure to paraphrase ur exact words. Tenkiu for putting foot into mouth.

• Tenkiu for ur enlightening words. I will be sure to use it till the max.