Zotye SR8 – Porsche Macan clone with same interior

No, that’s not a Porsche Macan. Remember the Zotye T700? Yes, the Porsche Macan clone that we saw earlier in blue. Well, it seems that the model in question is now known as the SR8, as posted on Car News China’s website. It’s now seen getting ready for an appearance at the Beijing Auto Show.

To compare sizes, the SR8 measures 4,744 mm long, 1929 mm wide, and 1,647 mm high. The Macan on the other hand, measures in at 4,692 mm long, 1,923 mm wide,1,624 mm high and has a wheelbase of 2,807 mm. This makes the SR8 a little larger than the SUV that it takes after.

The latest to appear, is the interior of SR8. As expected, it looks exactly like that of the Macan, but with fewer buttons and a manual gear lever. Meanwhile, the copying continues with the steering wheel, instrument cluster and air vents all looking alike.

More identical features include the parking brake beneath the gear shift and the clock located on top of the dash. If you’re wondering what else has been ripped off, well, the seats too are in the exact same design.

Power-wise, the Macan twin, will be utilising a “4G63S4T,” a 2.0 litre turbocharged mill with 190 hp and 250 Nm, paired with either a five-speed manual or a six-speed dual-clutch transmission. For your information, the engine is a Mitsubishi unit that’s manufactured in China and sold to Chinese automakers. It’s also the same one that powers the Landwind X7 – the Range Rover Evoque clone.

It’s way more affordable than the German SUV of course, carrying a price that starts from 130,000 yuan (RM82,280). While imitation may be the sincerest form of flattery, we believe the folks at Porsche won’t be flattered at all. So guys, what do you think of this photocopy SUV? Leave your comments below.

The real Porsche Macan

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Leafable on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Whats the news? It’s in China. No one give a shit about copyright.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
    • Betol tak? on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Better than that Rm140K clone Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 61
      • Ya. Malaysian pipu says they rather proudly tell their kids to copy bulat-bulat their smart frens homework than to do themselves and get a few mistakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • Veneno on Mar 15, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Perdana is not a clone, you goddamn moron.. it’s a product of joint venture.. Two different things.. One with permission and the other one is without.. Stupid basher can’t differentiate between these two things.. Sigh.. I’m not a Proton’s macai but I just want to give a clear definition of clone and not a clone to a basher that don’t know what the hell is “clone” and “licensed product”..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • alldisc on Mar 15, 2016 at 7:33 pm

Perdana is not a joint venture. Not a rebadge. It’s not exactly platform sharing either as it came from a Honda model developed some 10 yrs ago.

2 things I wonder.
          1. Will proton ever reveal it’s Cd drag factor?
          2. Will the perdana get crash tested and evaluated by ASEAN NCAP?

• Azahari on Mar 15, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Actually it looks better than the original Macan.

• Kancil Hybrid on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Macan VR4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • albag on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:32 pm

looks good… wont mind to get one if sold here with reasonable price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 11
    • Henry on Mar 14, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Malaysia signed an FTA with China. China made cars are coming. Your wish may come true very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • Will not come to our shore. Our country has strict copyright law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Black Dog on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:32 pm

for 82k, we can drive a Macan Angin, lebih gaya and powderful than a Vios. Ynot?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 4
    • I’ll buy this car if I live in China. 190hp and 250nm is powerful enough for everyday driving plus cheaper roadtax

• who care on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:33 pm

bring it over..with the price, dont mind driving it in kampong road to transport kelapa and sure ppl there will thought it’s porsche im driving .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
  • Daylight robbery assisted openly by the authorities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • azrai on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:41 pm

Bring it in Malaysia, SAF Macan.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:48 pm

I hope they didn’t copy the Macan’s excellent AWD (but with a rear bias) chassis too. The rear of the SR8 is different from the Macan actually, because it looks like the Cayenne! Hahaha. The Macan has its rear plates on the bumper itself, which necessitates the button to open the rear hatch to be located just below the base of the rear wipers. No such oddity on the bigger Cayenne, which has number plates in between the rear lamps (above bumper level).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • thepolygonal on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Mari rebadge into Proton Baja Hitam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • kapchai on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Its interesting how they are still recycling old Mitsubushi’s old engines in China, including 4G15s. Even Proton has stopped doing it already.

• Oh mak lu cina on Mar 14, 2016 at 11:30 pm

4G15 that they use is a new generation 4G15 as from the colt CZT, not your bangsat megavalve 4G15..

• Mak Lu Sengal on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:31 pm

LOL! 4G15 single cam bangsat? Let’s see how fast is your modern day engine fares in Sepang Drag Race compared to the bangsat engine. 13 seconds can you do it?

• altimatesss on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Made by and for low-lifers.. this is sickening! Imagine the thousands of hours spent by the people @ Porsche to produce that Macan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Really on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Don’t worry. They can only copy the looks, not the engineering that gone into making Macan a good car. Drive this and Macan back-to-back and you will feel the bigdifference. Chinese carmakers like this usually caters to those cheapskate posers that only want the looks but can’t afford the real deal. Kinda sad, really.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • Eterna on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Equally sad also to those who cannot afford to buy original Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
        • Lau SP on Mar 15, 2016 at 12:41 am

And lancer.. XD

• stasta on Mar 15, 2016 at 2:12 pm

current honda accord 2.4 after discount is only 15X k. if u can afford proton accord u most certainly can afford the genuine item.

• When it comes to cloning, nobody beats Proton.
    It has been doing it for 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 50
  • -BigBalls- on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:26 pm

In China people call it a clone, but in Malaysia Accordana it’s called innovation, top notch engineering and result of 100++ millions of R&D

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 27
    • Really on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:12 pm

You think you can easily clone something without spending anything? Proton openly admits they are rebadging the Accord because the predicted sales volume is not viable for a completely new model. On the other note, Perodua also spent huge amount of money just to rebadge Myvi and Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
      • alldisc on Mar 15, 2016 at 7:35 pm

Stupid isn’t it? To make something that you know cannot sell well.

• c.p.mohan on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:44 pm

When something is priced high enough (worthwhile) because of it’s name/brand, cloning or copying is bound to happen. It only means that “Now everything can clone”.

• Looks better than the real macam.. Added some Maserati headlamp looks.. Hnngh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Low2215 on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Ok woh
    For the price i dont mind buying it !! sorry man . i am a poor man but dream to drive a porsche.. hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • looking forward for china made ferrari and lamborghini model

• will bought one if it comes to malaysia. and change the logo to porche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • wow! i want one!

• Jason on Mar 14, 2016 at 6:42 pm

RM82,280 is before duties & freight….

• Lance on Mar 14, 2016 at 7:48 pm

Well at least with this car Porsche stand to gain a lot from their logo sales as many will just swap the logo.

• Plug n Play on Mar 14, 2016 at 10:21 pm

First thing to do is to change to Porsche logo.

• adilzz on Mar 14, 2016 at 11:41 pm

It’s looks like GTA5 cars

• Fuel Cell Phone on Mar 15, 2016 at 1:00 am

Wonder if they clone the buggati chiron.. will they put speedometer up to 500 km/h

• Nazifi1403 on Mar 15, 2016 at 8:41 am

I don’t mind… If it’s cheap… I will consider to buy this car with extra change to the badge of Zotye to Porsche… haha

• Veneno on Mar 15, 2016 at 12:46 pm

I will choose to ride a bicycle in our hot weather rather than being seen in this piece of crap..

• Atanofumi on Mar 16, 2016 at 9:41 am

Its remembering me the name of tiger species. Macan in java dialect/language. Btw, its not too strange to see clone brands all over the world in china. The biggest market and the largest population in the world.