2016 Range Rover Evoque facelift now in Malaysia – sole Si4 petrol option, from RM430k

MY16_Range_Rover_Evoque_EXT_LOC95_PR_HERO

The 2016 Range Rover Evoque facelift is now available from Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia, which has sold over 1,600 units of the JLR’s best-selling model as of November 2015.

It’s a subtle facelift, which is a good thing as the Evoque is far from broke. There’s a new front bumper and grille design with slim LED foglamps, a new LED daytime running light design, rear lamps with graphics that match the new DRLs and a tailgate spoiler with discreetly integrated third brake lights.

The big news in the cabin is the new infotainment system, accessed via an eight-inch touchscreen, with a new user interface called InControl Touch. It allows users to swipe between screens, smartphone style. The system also includes Bluetooth audio and phone capability and eight speakers.

MY16_Range_Rover_Evoque_INT_STU63

Also new are the front seats, door casings and a redesigned instrument panel with a five-inch display. New soft-touch materials have also been added.

The Malaysian-spec car (SE with upgrades) will also feature grained leather seats with 12-way electric adjustment for both the driver and front passenger – available in Ebony Black, Almond/Espresso and Lunar/Cirrus colours. We also get 19-inch alloys as standard, but the new fixed panoramic roof is an option.

The standard Powered Gesture Tailgate lets the keyholder open the hatch by briefly waving his/her foot beneath the rear bumper. Nothing new, but JLR says that unlike competitor systems, theirs can be activated both from directly behind the vehicle and from either side of the bumper for enhanced versatility.

MY16_Range_Rover_Evoque_EXT_LOC101_PR

Only one engine option, which is the Si4 2.0 litre turbocharged unit with 240 PS and 340 Nm. This is the Ford EcoBoost engine, unchanged from the pre-facelift. Also unchanged is the ZF nine-speed automatic transmission. With this combo, the Evoque is capable of 0-100 km/h in 7.6 seconds and a top speed of 217 km/h. No new Ingenium diesels for us.

The 2016 Evoque facelift is priced from RM430,000 (with GST) excluding registration, road tax and insurance. Buying from the official importer nets you a comprehensive after-sales package, which includes a five-year or 150,000 km warranty, five-year or 80,000 km free scheduled maintenance and three-year roadside assistance.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Range Rover Evoque - US$41k on Jan 08, 2016 at 11:32 am

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.
    He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.
    It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

This car so cheap in the US. In Malaysia, it becomes a luxury item. No logic at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 12
    • Bugatti on Jan 08, 2016 at 4:20 pm

This post is so tiring lah. It works against you after some time you know? Be creative with your messaging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
    • Augustus Ferdinand Liow on Jan 10, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Do you know what they say about people who do the same thing over and over again but expecting different outcomes from their actions? If not just google it.

• FIST (Member) on Jan 08, 2016 at 11:43 am

looks nice

• Daniel on Jan 08, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Only a moron like you keep hoping that Najib will fulfill election promises! No wonder everytime kena conned by BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • neutral on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:23 pm

pricing for JLR products in malaysia is getting worse and worse. I hope the new XE will be competitively priced.

• holymoly on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:39 pm

rm430k for a glorified CR-V!!
    #demson

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 08, 2016 at 2:43 pm

That’s an additional 15k to the pre fl car. This model just keeps getting more exp!

• Wtf with that price wouldn’t the all new Volvo XC90 T8 makes more sense?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • wtf with tht price wouldn’t the volvo xc90 t8 makes more sense?

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 08, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Man these guys are nuts.

Things you lose:

1. 380w Meridian audio (used to be standard)

A RR without the Meridian system sounds absolutely crap. Just don’t even bother.

2. 20″ rims

Visually the new rims for the entire lineup isn’t as good as the outgoing model, so…

3. Oxford extended leather

Like seriously, they want to expect people to pay that price for what feels like fake leather?

Someone needs to send JLRM a tenggiri to use to slap them in the face. What a joke of a pricing. Get a Q5. Get a Macan, heck get the NX. And mind you, this is coming from someone who has one of these. It’s a great car no doubt, but for the price and this spec, gosh you can do better.

• Luckily I have chosen Macan.\Tho I paid around RM517k for a base 2.0 Macan but it comes with high specifications.

• may i also suggest x4

• MrNyx (Member) on Jan 09, 2016 at 11:45 am

Back to the time where Evoque was just RM360k plus, it was really a good buy at that price for overall aspects. Luckily I got one before its price hike. What I don’t have is the 9-speed gearbox and surrounded camera system. Jesus, now it has risen to 430k, excluding what you’d stated of the missing things, definitely gonna kill its sales.

I bet they increase the price due to its demand during the when it was still under 400k. Forex is the problem? Look at Merc and BMW CBU models. The 30k hike is simply unjustified.