Volvo S90 T8 Twin Engine Inscription for Malaysia – CKD plug-in hybrid spec sheet revealed, RM348,888

Volvo Car Malaysia recently announced it has begun order taking for the locally-assembled S90 T8 Twin Engine Inscription, which will be offered at a special introductory price of RM348,888 (until October 31) on-the-road without insurance.

That makes it RM40,000 cheaper than the base T5 and RM105,000 less than the T6 AWD R-Design, although both these variants are fully imported (CBU). Now, we bring you the specifications of the T8 Inscription, and what you’ll get for that sum of money.

Under the bonnet, you’ll find the same engine as that in the T6 – a 2.0 litre Drive-E turbocharged and supercharged four-cylinder petrol engine that serves up 320 hp and 400 Nm of torque. The mill is paired with an eight-speed Geartronic automatic transmission, with drive sent to the front wheels.

On the other end, a rear-mounted electric motor (87 hp and 240 Nm) drives the rear wheels, providing the car with all-wheel drive. Also part of the plug-in hybrid powertrain is a crankshaft-mounted starter generator (CISG) sandwiched between the engine and gearbox, along with a 10.4 kWh lithium-ion battery located in the middle of the transmission tunnel.

Volvo S90 T8 Twin Engine Inscription for Malaysia – CKD plug-in hybrid spec sheet revealed, RM348,888

Total system output is rated at 407 hp and 640 Nm, allowing the the S90 T8 to accelerate from zero to 100 km/h in 4.8 seconds. The car is also capable of a combined fuel consumption figure of 2.0 litres per 100 km, carbon dioxide emissions of 46 grammes per kilometre and an all-electric range of 50 km on the European NEDC cycle.

As part of the Inscription trim package, there’s a gloss black grille with chrome inserts, 19-inch 10-spoke diamond-cut ‘Inscription’ wheels (with 255/40 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyres), chrome lower side mouldings with the Inscription logo and powered tailgate with hands-free operation.

Also included in the exterior kit are LED headlights featuring the familiar ‘Thor’s hammer’ daytime running lights, plus Active High Beam and Active Bending Lights functionality.

Moving inside, there are linear walnut inlays for the dashboard, leather-clad steering wheel with Uni-deco trim, 12.3-inch digital instrument display, two-zone climate control, Sensus Navigation Pro infotainment system with a nine-inch touchscreen and 10-speaker audio system.

The T8 Inscription also receives 16-way, powered comfort seats with Nappa leather upholstery and memory function for the driver and front passenger. This being a T8, the illuminated Orrefors crystal gear lever is standard, exactly like what you’ll find the in the XC90 T8 Twin Inscription sold in Malaysia.

Safety wise, Volvo’s Intellisafe suite of systems include City Safety comes as standard, which includes intersection support and pedestrian, cyclist, and large animal detection with full auto brake (AEB).

Other systems include front and rear Collision Mitigation Support, Blind Spot Information System (BLIS), Cross Traffic Alert, Road Sign Information, Lane Keeping Aid, Run-off Road Mitigation Support and Run-off Road Protection. The car also comes with a few driver assistance systems like Hill Start Assist, 360-degree view camera, Park Assist Pilot and adaptive cruise control.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Peter on Sep 13, 2017 at 10:19 am

Thanks hafriz for putting and confirming the spec sheet.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 1
    • bionic on Sep 13, 2017 at 5:16 pm

Only the Rich benefited from this hybrid fiasco, the Rich gettin’ richer :((

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 13, 2017 at 10:24 am

digital owners manual? lol so no more proper owners manual…good luck when something happens and ure trying to find the fix

• Cheaper than other countries. Ini mesti salah… ohwai..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Volvo, driver & racer in One.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • (Like) Volvo S90 T8.
    (Dislike) G30 BMW 530i

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 3
  • Leafable on Sep 13, 2017 at 10:53 am

Gerard its 12kWh battery pack on the spec sheet. Don’t think a 9.2kWh pack can’t achieve 48km on a heavy car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 37
  • Car coxk on Sep 13, 2017 at 11:27 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 224
    • Najib on Sep 13, 2017 at 2:36 pm

Lol those brand’s don’t even offer 90% of the features the S90 has. And prestige Really? Volvo is also a prestigious brand. But what can I say , the stupid Malaysian mentality is to blame for. Brand>features/practicality

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 10
      • Porsche owner on Sep 13, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 124
    • Jchong on Sep 13, 2017 at 4:57 pm

Ha, ha, ha

As I mentioned before there is no prestige in a Mercedes anymore.

Mercedes are use as TAXI in europe countries.

If mercedes is your desire then you could be a taxi driver as well.

Maybe UBER suits you better in your Mercedes

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 9
      • Hitler on Sep 14, 2017 at 6:13 am

Just wondering if you have driven Mercedes before. Your post is just too hard sell on volvo. Tell your boss at FA, for volvo to move, the price at RmM210k range for s90 is more reasonable. And yet new Passat can be better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 50
        • Jchong on Sep 14, 2017 at 12:30 pm

I do not work for FA

Why don’t you tell FA Boss yourself if you are working for them?

I am entitle to my opinion and I never dream or ever thought mercedes is any prestige at all.

Just to many Mercedes taxis can be seen operating worldwide including the limousine services

If Mercedes can drop the E class price down to RM 210K then perhaps it will sell like hot cakes

Please tell that to the Mercedes Malaysia Bosses then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
          • Kassin chan on Sep 14, 2017 at 12:48 pm

Hi dude, can share with us if you are using Bentley or any brand equivalent since you are so classy. You must be a tycoon lah. How many drivers you have bang? Share a bit with us on your collection also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 46
          • Jchong ,

I agree with you

Only frustrated mercedes owners feel belittle.

Actually it is true , Most Mercedes in europe are used as Taxi or limousines or fleet cars

I felt that long time ago as Mercedes is no longer prestige status anymore.

Only in Malaysia , some buyers ( not most buyers) feels it is great car but in actual sense it is a crap currently.

• Simon on Sep 16, 2017 at 2:22 am

Why don’t you ask yourself the same question have you own any Volvo before?

The most important part of volvo is safety technology and they even beat and surpass Mercedes and BMW in this area.

Volvo is the safety king

• cool beb on Sep 13, 2017 at 11:33 am

Bye bye bmw 530i e300

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 4
  • Boring brand on Sep 13, 2017 at 11:40 am

This is not a bad car but drivers dont have the kick of driving, it lack of excitement, not yet a true luxury but not a competitive pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 82
  • take my money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 3
  • The Saint on Sep 13, 2017 at 12:02 pm

I really wonder how those buyers of the T5 & T6 would feel now………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • tokmoh. on Sep 13, 2017 at 1:46 pm

Volvo buyers are not obsessed about RV. If you have to, you can’t afford it.

They know what they paid for. Exclusivity of CBU Made by Sweden, and got it way earlier than waiting for this Made by Shah Alam beauty.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 7
      • God son on Sep 14, 2017 at 6:06 am

Mr Tokmoh. I believe it has nothing to do with RV and affordability. It is fact that this car is one or two level below benz and bm and audi. This is just like a coach bag to compare with gucci bag. Both are good but level is different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 45
        • Tahar on Sep 15, 2017 at 10:46 pm

God son,

I agree Mercedes, BMW and Audi currently is one to two level below Volvo, jaguar, bentley too

• tokmoh. on Sep 13, 2017 at 1:43 pm

Volvo > all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 7
  • What is the guess for xc60 ckd price ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Mr. Octopus on Sep 13, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Not a thing. They bought those cars to be the early owners of the S90, knowing well that the T8 is a hybrid and will sell at a lower price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • The Saint on Sep 14, 2017 at 4:20 pm

If I were an early buyer of the T5 and T6, I sure bang balls loh…paying 40k and 105k more for a lesser car vis a vis the T8.

CBU exclusivity? lol……..that’s plain denial. How exclusive is a CBU Volvo anyway????? LMAO…..For that matter, how exclusive is ANY Volvo??????

Early owner? Early by 6 months? One has to be really rich to be paying that much extra for a lesser car just to be an early owner. But then again, Volvo buyers are traditionally not rich.

I suspect there are quite a few ball bangers around, just by looking at the many responses which try to justify paying more for a lesser car…..lol