SPIED: FK8 Honda Civic Type R spotted in Malaysia!

Earlier this year, Honda Malaysia (HM) announced that they will only launch four new cars this year, but later revised the figure to six. Rumours were rife about the sixth model being the company’s halo car, the one and only Civic Type R in its latest FK8R form. When HM invited us to sample the car in Dresden, Germany, things seemed to be pretty much set in stone.

Just earlier today, reader Galvin Tan spotted a mysterious half-wrapped vehicle on a trailer with its sides completely covered in an attempt to shield contents from prying eyes. At a glance, it could have been anything, but the asymmetric trio of tailpipes and the dual-tone rear spoiler were dead giveaways – it has to be the Civic Type R. The trailer was spotted at the KLIA toll plaza.

To recap, the CTR made its debut just earlier this year at the Geneva Motor Show before making a third ASEAN appearance in Indonesia last month. Power comes from a 2.0 litre turbocharged VTEC making 320 PS (ASEAN models somehow get 310 PS) at 6,500 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 2,500 to 4,500 rpm. It’s paired to a six-speed close ratio manual transmission, sending drive to the front wheels.

The Indo-spec CTR receives 20-inch Berlina black alloys wrapped with 245/30 Continental SportContact 6 tyres that’s specially developed for the car. There’s adaptive dampers with three drive modes (Comfort, Sport and R+) and Brembo brakes with 350 mm ventilated discs up front and 305 mm solid rear discs. There, it’s priced at 995 million rupiah (approximately RM320,100).

Well then, it seems that we’re getting close to the official Malaysian launch of the new Honda Civic Type R. Would you buy it? If so, how much are you willing to pay for it? Read our full review of it and comment below!

GALLERY: FK8 Honda Civic Type R

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express excitement and anticipation for the FK8 Honda Civic Type R's arrival in Malaysia, with some noting its impressive design and performance appeal. Several comments compare prices to past models, highlighting concerns about high pricing, especially citing around RM350k, and some believe it’s overpriced compared to other sporty cars like the Nissan GTR or German hot hatches. There’s nostalgia for previous models like the FD2R, with comments noting the increase in car prices over the years due to the weak ringgit. Some comments mock or criticize the car's design details, such as the exhaust, while others emphasize the importance of manual transmission and driving experience. Overall, the sentiment is excited but tempered with skepticism about the price and value proposition.

• Hondaman on Sep 27, 2017 at 6:37 pm

Woohoooo my ride is here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • All said wanna buy Manual Civic only tokok, actually preferred driving auto and only capable of driving saga/satria/myvi/axia… I wait & see how many “manual” civic sold after …? Might 2018 still clearance 2017 stock, & 2019 still clearance 2017/2018 stock…

• many buy “manual” CTR then convert auto.

• Muthusammy Loo on Sep 28, 2017 at 10:58 pm

Nothing new la. I even saw kancil/viva 660 and wira 1.3 convert from ori manual to auto’shithole’box

• Sri Suhaini on Sep 28, 2017 at 7:39 am

9 years ago, the FD2 was around RM200k new. This time, this car will be RM350k.

We have to thank our gomen cause currency dropping like crazy. Ringgit tak ada nilai lagi. How Singapore currency can strengthen the past 10 years? But Ringgit going down, down and down

Ringgit oh Ringgit….why are you dropping so much

• dredd on Sep 28, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Malaysians earn RM8143 average per month so can afford..

• Pig nostril exhaust is deal breaker

• gti owner on Sep 27, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Smell my pipes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Either HM or AP mari.

• Boris Poong on Sep 27, 2017 at 7:06 pm

I would say Civic Type R is very stunning look. I would rather buy Nissan 370 GTR rather than Civic Type R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 40
    • Rightwinger on Sep 28, 2017 at 6:28 am

To each their own. I still prefer the BRZ- hi rev na, manual, rear drive, coupé…

• JustaCarGuy on Sep 28, 2017 at 9:34 am

What is a 370 GTR ? New model from Nissan is it?

• What do you smoke man? What do you trying to say?

• Counter Basher on Sep 28, 2017 at 11:32 am

Go and fix your English before buying either one. You will be an embarrassment to the Type R or 370z community.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 28, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Nissan 370 GTR?

• Too expensive? on Sep 27, 2017 at 7:27 pm

9 years ago, the FD2 was around RM200k new. Let us guess how much isthe FK8R. Let me go first: I say around RM350k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • Finally fk8 here

• HM bring in the Civic Type R for niche market but left a big pie for the normal C-segment hatchback market currently dominated by Golf, 308, Focus and Mazda 3? What an idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • PowerOfDreamM on Sep 27, 2017 at 7:55 pm

Wow!!, dah sampai, nasib baik tak beli lagi Honda Civic Baru. Akhirnya, Type R kembali…boleh continue menabung nak bayar deposit Typre R baru..yahoo!!. Terima kasih Honda Malaysia. Sekarang duk pakai Civic 1.6, dah sampai Type R, sebat yang tu ah.!! go go go!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
    • Rightwinger on Sep 28, 2017 at 6:21 am

If u can afford it, go for it man. No one’s stopping u.

• RichBag on Sep 28, 2017 at 3:29 pm

Kau tu miskin, buat cara miskin. Pakai je Viva, nanti maintenance susah asyik pinjam duit dari kawan. Buat semak je!

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 27, 2017 at 8:03 pm

No money to buy lah boss. But happy for Honda that they’re launching the Type R here.

• WT Fuchhhh on Sep 27, 2017 at 8:06 pm

Bring it on Mama !

• wkaka on Sep 27, 2017 at 8:06 pm

RM180k would be great!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • kiddd on Sep 27, 2017 at 8:16 pm

Auto trans please..
    our highway always jammed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
    • Malaysian Driver on Sep 28, 2017 at 1:25 am

If you can’t drive a stick with three pedals, you don’t deserve to drive a Tyre R.

Honda had NEVER make a automatic Tyre R and this one is no exception. This car is definitely not for the uninitiated who doesn’t drive a stick since their driving school.

• Auto is for puss.

Real men drive 3 pedals.

Go back to your driving course

• ahmadjohnson97 on Sep 28, 2017 at 12:48 pm

If most of time you drive in jammed areas, you are wasting your time buying a type r. Just get a regular civic.

• sonyman on Sep 27, 2017 at 9:11 pm

habis lo toyota, ketinggalan zaman, as usual lah… not surprising.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • koochai on Sep 27, 2017 at 9:13 pm

who need a kidney?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Abe V on Sep 27, 2017 at 9:38 pm

Yeay but i’ll stick to AWD golf r

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Aji Wan Nas on Sep 27, 2017 at 10:02 pm

Personally prefer more on sedan form rather than hatchback… the previous FD2R still hold its glory

• Knightrider on Sep 27, 2017 at 10:25 pm

Rm200k minimum….byk syok ooo…

• Mohd Nizam on Sep 27, 2017 at 10:31 pm

Rm280k

• Sorry…overcook design.

• David on Sep 28, 2017 at 1:58 am

It would be around RM299k

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 28, 2017 at 8:07 am

Welcome back CTR. It’s been a long time. Was there at the FD2 launch way back then, and what a car that was, and still is. But now it’s a hatchback and its from the UK, instead of Japan. And it looks even crazier than the restrained sportiness of the FD2.

• eVaz88 on Sep 28, 2017 at 8:39 am

Rupiah convert to MYR already cost RM320k minimum.
    I would say HM plan to price it at RM350k minimum.
    Good luck selling. For that price i can purchase A LOT better and more luxurious car.

• run run on Sep 28, 2017 at 8:42 am

eager waiting for new megane rs or hyundai (i30 or volester) N1

• sorry but thanks. i would buy myvi over this.

• CBU? if yes, take my money!!!
    if CKD, meh…honda malaysia assembly quality sux!

• Matjava on Sep 28, 2017 at 9:23 am

Among the R type, I prefer R8

• Mr. Octopus on Sep 28, 2017 at 9:25 am

Somehow that exhaust reminds me of that Angry Birds game…

• passion on Sep 28, 2017 at 9:37 am

pricing matters. HM please price it right.

• honda-lalabeng on Sep 28, 2017 at 10:13 am

omg the ultimate lala chao ah beng car is here!!!!

• Placeholder until the Megane thoroughly outperforms it…

• Matjava on Sep 28, 2017 at 10:50 am

Among R type, I prefer R8

• DonkeyKong on Sep 28, 2017 at 11:44 am

Still nothing but an Ah Beng car. As it’s name says, “F#%* It”.

• I would buy it…given got the moolah

• ahmadjohnson97 on Sep 28, 2017 at 12:51 pm

It will be nice if the backseat got proper seat for 3 adults instead of two.

• nemesis on Sep 28, 2017 at 2:13 pm

Civic 1.5T = civic ketam
    Civic Type R = Space ketam

• ah Beng dream riced trash car

• Lu Suka Lu Beli on Sep 28, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Ricer car with fake air intakes at bumper….
    so, it is double ricer now….

• Lawrence on Sep 28, 2017 at 7:47 pm

F1 is coming. A CTR roadshow perhaps?