Honda Civic Type R launched in Indonesia – RM320k

The Honda Civic Type R has been officially launched in Indonesia at the Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS), and the republic becomes the third ASEAN market to introduce the fifth-generation FK8 after the Philippines and Singapore.

The new CTR is powered by a 2.0 litre VTEC Turbo engine, which is paired with a close-ratio six-speed manual transmission with a rev-matching function. For Indonesia, the mill will offer 310 PS (306 hp) at 6,500 rpm and 400 Nm between 2,500-4,500 rpm. The power output mirrors the Australian (and Philippines) market model, slightly lower than that quoted for the UK-spec car, which is 320 PS (or 316 hp).

There’s a reason for the difference in output and to why the CTR for North America, Australia and the rest of the world has 310 PS. Hideki Kakinuma, the assistant large project leader for the Civic Type R told paultan.org at the launch that the detuning is due to fuel quality considerations in non-Euro/UK markets.

Standard equipment includes 20-inch Berlina black alloy wheels wrapped with 245/30 Continental SportContact 6 tyres, the latter developed specially for the car. Also on, adaptive dampers with three driving modes (Comfort, Sport and R+), as well as a Brembo brake package with 350 mm ventilated and drilled front and 305 mm solid rear discs.

As far as kit is concerned, the Type R comes standard with full LED headlights, keyless entry and push-button start. Also equipped is an Advanced Display Audio system with a seven-inch touchscreen and Apple CarPlay/Android Auto support, and each car comes with a unique Type R serial plate number.

The car goes on sale in Indonesia priced at 995 million rupiah (RM320,100). Four exterior colour options are available for the CTR in Indonesia – Rally Red, Championship White, Brilliant Sporty Blue and Sonic Grey Pearl. Two other shades, Crystal Black Pearl and Polished Metal, will be available from next year.

We’ve driven the new Civic Type R – read our Dresden drive report on the car, as well as the video on it. While Honda Malaysia is still not confirming its market debut here, the FWD King of the ‘Ring is likely to get here at some point later this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Annoynimouse on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:37 pm

Malaysia launch soon…

• BetterbuyBoy on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:20 pm

350k. Better buy Lexus IS200T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • Operation Manager on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Bolehland all talkok ask to take their money but actually they only afford driving Saga/Myvi. Priced here 200k also nobody buy, those real rich buyer will buy MERZ BMW AUDI VW 2.0 Turbo-Charge or EV …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • Otak Udang on Aug 10, 2017 at 5:34 pm

considered affordable car all over the world. In Malaysia, it will cost more than a Merc or a BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Mikey on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:43 pm

Regardless of price, the Civic R is a hard core car more suitable for tracks than on Malaysian pot holes road especially the 20-inch rims with ultra low profile tires while the IS200T is more like a Luxury Performance sedan that is more suited for mature user. Driving anyone of this fine machines will make U smile when U comes out from the car.

• Just japan car on Aug 10, 2017 at 7:25 pm

Manual bro, for 300k plus, outdated technology.. all sport car now should hv auto.. mercs, volks, ferari.. all are with auto all wheels bla2.if in msia this Honda brand with 300 over price taq can say really ridiculous…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
          • Selamat on Aug 10, 2017 at 11:53 pm

How about new porsche gt3rs? Also got manual

• Teropong supporter on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:49 pm

prefer to spec up a new TTS with that amount of money! Many forgotten the race driver is part of the FWD King of the Ring formula, and the driver is excluded from the deal.

• Honda Malaysia, you may have some gatalness to launch this thing here. With the no.1 non-national title, you may think we love our Hondas, but not that much yah.

Regards,
      Honda buyers

• Selamat on Aug 10, 2017 at 11:56 pm

For them not matter sell for untung.. More like their halo car… The cash cow would be the jazz/city/civic.. Those are making them moneys..

• MaderF! So hai! But it proves bashers logic that rupiah is now like USD while Aussie$ like rupiah now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • ingolstadt on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:50 pm

(Like) Civic TR.
    (Dislike) Golf R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
  • Leafable on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:57 pm

Rm300k for a civic? April fool?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:04 pm

great my indo maid can buy this car before me….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • bomoh on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:17 pm

bring it on HM!! we are ready for the R beast

• mr_em on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:47 pm

my best guess it will probably be sold at slightly below rm300k here… may be rm295k… Golf R was RM280k, AMG A45 is RM350k, Focus RS not available here… cant think of any other megahatch…

• Audi RS3 boy on Aug 10, 2017 at 5:08 pm

Before this below 200k..evo and scobby 280 to 330k brand new…now civic already reach 320k…than when intergra cameout how much to put? 450k?? and NSX 1Mil? than after tax sure more expensive than what i said…huhu long live Honda!! Better buy recond Audi RS3, RS6 or GTR..haha

• Newspaper, R35GTR selling for only Rm330k, just 10k more liao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
      • Henry on Aug 11, 2017 at 8:42 am

Get me a brand new one, like the CTR, at this price. I will also give you 1k for your trouble.

• the”bintang” newspaper, Metro section, car for sale, search GTR. Now wheres my 1k commission?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • Henry on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:52 am

Do you know how to read? Why are you comparing a recon GTR with a brand new. Civic Type R?

• R u bodo or dunno how AP system works here? Does ETCM officially bring in GTR?

And AP recond is almost brand new if u know where to looks lah. Dun be lazy.

If u want used, same newspaper oso got for 270k. Apalagi tunggu, wheres my commission?

• syafia on Aug 10, 2017 at 5:19 pm

with this price tag, better get A45 AMG or Golf R.

• timmy on Aug 10, 2017 at 5:33 pm

This FK8 R makes the NORMAL FC look like a pussy car unless given an engine swap from this FK8 R.
    Then only power otherwise puny 174hp from 1.5 turbo.
    Saw one white FC last month, stupid Ah Beng sticking a typeR badge on his FC turbo. LMFAO. Dumbass Malaysian Ricer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • choha on Aug 10, 2017 at 9:40 pm

born to race?

how foolish people has become

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 10, 2017 at 11:06 pm

Funny the spoiler so big, can fly meh? We’re now in 21st century, even Porsche, Lambo hide their spoilers in boot.

• Susukotak on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:41 am

the spoiler ia for downforce not to lift up

• Suppah Rao on Aug 11, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Ok pls explain why you need a freaking big spoiler for a car that will be 90% on city streets? Engineering and/or practical replies are welcomed.

• When Mazda turn to build a powerful rotary engine or Skyactiv-X Turbo into RX model to kill those Type-R? mothertrucker! Honda making joy into all around the world. Wake up Mazda!

• Levin on Aug 14, 2017 at 10:43 am

Price in Indonesia after conversion is around RM320k, but surprisingly its retailed at 2,980,000 pesos in the Philippines which translates to roughly RM250K. Prices in Singapore is at $188K with COE but apparently it has been fully booked/sold out till 2018. If Honda Malaysia sells this car at RM250k, it should sell really well.

To Honda Malaysia,
    Please do a really great launch for this car as it deserves it. Please do invite the local Honda car clubs during the launch and make the event look way more interesting than UMW Toyota’s attempt at Gazoo Racing Vios thingy.