Honda Civic Type R launched in the UK, from RM174k

Honda UK has announced pricing for the current “FWD King of the ‘Ring,” otherwise known as the 2017 Civic Type R (CTR), which will arrive at dealerships in July. The hot hatch was first unveiled during this year’s Geneva Motor Show, and is built in Swindon, United Kingdom.

The entry level CTR will cost 30,995 pounds (RM174,127), and for an additional 2,000 pounds (RM11,230), buyers can opt for the higher-spec GT variant instead (32,955 pounds or RM185,349).

Those who opt for the more expensive option will get extra kit such as a dual-zone climate control system, auto dimming rear view mirror, Honda Connect with Garmin Navigation, wireless charging, LED front fog lights and a blind spot monitoring system with cross traffic alert.

Regardless of variant choice, both will be powered by a 2.0 litre VTEC Turbo four-cylinder engine with 320 PS and 400 Nm of torque. Mated to the engine is an updated six-speed manual transmission, now with a new rev-matching function. The new-found grunt (+10 PS) is joined by a revised aerodynamic package, a more rigid and lighter body as well as new multi-link rear suspension on the tenth-generation Civic’s platform.

“As with the previous generation, we are fully expecting a huge demand for the Civic Type R. The order bank is already open and we are experiencing strong interest off the back of the launch at the Geneva Motor Show in March – and this is before our customers have even taken a test drive,” said Phil Webb, head of cars at Honda UK.

GALLERY: 2017 Honda Civic Type R

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Hondafan on May 09, 2017 at 3:18 pm

Shutup Jz take my hinggit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • David on May 09, 2017 at 3:22 pm

RM350k ~ RM400k!

• gti owner on May 09, 2017 at 3:26 pm

Price at Msia : RM174k x 2 = RM348k, Honda Msia, what are you waiting for?

• Sohhai on May 09, 2017 at 5:09 pm

RM348k = RM174k + RM174k Excise duties. Voters, what are you waiting for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Waiting for this to come here, so that can buy better previous gen at even cheaper prices?

• ahmadjohnson97 on May 09, 2017 at 6:08 pm

Latest entry level CTR in UK is RM174k, in Malaysia you can get RM250k for 2015 recond CTR.

• For 250k, its brand new same year. My kaki got 2013/4 FD2R for 130k. Much much better and cheaper than above.

• Focus RS, what r u waiting for? When u will be launched?

• Dylan Ch'ng on May 09, 2017 at 3:40 pm

Last generation took so long to come out. This generation comes out so fast

• Too exp. Better spend less money and get EK9 instead.
    MY got plenty of them at cheaper price than 174k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Fck the EK9 on May 10, 2017 at 12:03 am

EK9 is long DEAD bro. Scrap metal car now. Rusted in Pieces junk car.
      Better buy a NEW FC Civic Turbo and modify like crazy at Sunway. Solved.
      In a few years time, the halfcut scrap units like the engine from this 2017 type R will be available. Swap the engine. Done.

• EK9 is lejen. Unless its total loss, u think owners will just let it rot away? And TypeR purist dun play with tebo, otherwise they alredi go for GTI or Silvia.

Somemore, Sunway real engine tuners rather play with EK9 than chock full electronics FC. Ah beng tuners, otoh, will adjust abit gips u dyno record up 5% and that makes u hepi.

• kirko on May 09, 2017 at 4:19 pm

400 Nm torque.. more torque than heavy SUV.. means this can leave you behind in a blink of an eye..

• Aaron on May 09, 2017 at 4:19 pm

I am a bit confused with this new Type R. Previously there’s a different look version? So which is official?

• Golfer on May 09, 2017 at 5:01 pm

Circa 250k. Golf R Nürburgring

• Zakar Naik Kunta Kinte Turun on May 09, 2017 at 5:16 pm

What’s happening to Toyota? Honda,Mazda,Volkswagen is moving forward but old dinosaur tech Toyota is moving backward. Sales of Toyota is dropping here in Malaysia

• Mikey on May 09, 2017 at 10:05 pm

What’s happening to Toyota? If Toyo is moving backward with old dinosaur CAN still sell 10 million vehicle in 2016, I think I may have to ask U what happen to those who did NOT sell close to 10 million vehicle in 2016??!

I’m not going to name names here. Looks like VW is the ONLY car that is more advance if that is your definition. Maybe U can tell me How did Toyo sell so many cars with old dinosaur?? Sound like “Old Dinosaur” is the NEW technology isit!?

• Hondaboy on May 09, 2017 at 6:57 pm

If we have those price in Malaysia sure I’ll buy 1. Tapiiiii apakan dayaa

• BringThePain on May 09, 2017 at 7:30 pm

If Honda Malaysia price it 30-40k lower than the Golf R, it might sell well.

• homeboy on May 09, 2017 at 8:00 pm

Type-R with fake bumper scoops and vents?? Why!??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Kaizen on May 10, 2017 at 7:07 am

Fake scoop and vent?are u retard?it is all fully functional..come on..its 2017..google it dammit

• Where got fake ‘bumper scoop’ and vent? Everything you see is aerodynamic functional. Not like UMW TRD stuff here.

• One of the Honda dealer in JB tell me HM is bringing in this by end of this year, price 300K. Not sure he bluff me or not

• Jimmy on May 11, 2017 at 11:58 pm

The price would be a competition for the A45