FK8 Honda Civic Type R confirmed for Malaysia – 310 PS hatch on preview this weekend at Sepang F1 race

The 2017 Honda Civic Type R is now in Malaysia, being previewed at the Formula 1 Malaysian Grand Prix at the Sepang International Circuit. Honda Malaysia (HM) has confirmed that the hot hatch will be launched in our market, and has opened order books for the fastest front-wheel-drive car on the Nurburgring (it lapped Green Hell in 7 minutes 43.80 seconds).

The arrival of the FK8 Honda Civic Type R is not a surprise. The car was recently spotted on a trailer in Malaysia, and we have driven the car at its international media drive programme earlier this year. HM also has a history of bringing in the Civic Type R – Malaysia was the only market outside of Japan to officially get the previous-generation FD2 Civic Type R.

The FK8R is powered by a 2.0 litre VTEC Turbo engine with 310 PS and 400 Nm of torque. That’s 10 PS less than the European-spec CTR we drove in Germany, but still plenty of ponies and a big jump from the FD2R. Enthusiasts will be happy to know that the sole gearbox choice is a good ol’ six-speed manual.

Aside from the European version, the UK-spec model also gets 320 PS, but the CTR for North America, Australia and the rest of the world, including us, has 310 PS.

There’s a reason for the difference in output, as explained by Hideki Kakinuma, the assistant large project leader for the Civic Type R. He told paultan.org during the Indonesian CTR launch at the Gaikindo Indonesian International Auto Show in August that the detuning is due to fuel quality considerations in non-Euro/UK markets.

There are three drive modes that also control the adaptive dampers – Comfort, Sport and +R. Also in a trio are the distinctive central exhaust pipes, which serve a purpose and is not merely for show. Ditto the extravagant body styling, which serve aero and cooling purposes. There’s real downforce generated, not just zero lift.

The new Civic Type R is imported from Honda’s Swindon plant in the UK, and its engine is produced in the US. It won’t come cheap of course, and no indicative price has been given, but we’re pretty sure HM will sell whatever limited allocation they have. The car will be on display at SIC’s mall area from today till Sunday, if you want to have a closer look at it. We only have one colour option, and that’s Championship White.

Order books will be open from October 1 at 21 selected “Honda Sport Dealers”, appointed authorised dealers that will sell and service the hot hatch in Malaysia (full list below). What’s the new Civic Type R like to drive? It’s supremely capable, but slightly different from the traditional Type R experience – read our full review.

GALLERY: FK8 Honda Civic Type R in Germany

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the blog post about the FK8 Honda Civic Type R in Malaysia express mixed sentiments. Many enthusiasts celebrate the car’s performance and design, appreciating its functional vents, aggressive look, and being a true petrolhead’s delight, especially for manual transmission fans. Some predict high prices due to currency exchange and fuel quality, estimating around RM280k to RM330k, and express excitement about its arrival. However, there are criticisms about its looks, high cost, and comparisons to other performance cars like the BMW M, Audi RS3, and Ford Focus RS, with some calling it “ugly” or “space ketam.” Off-topic discussions about fuel, taxes, and local automotive culture also appear, but overall, the comments show enthusiasm tempered with skepticism about pricing and practicality.

• Oh wow my Honda dealer is listed. Hopefully there will have a unit to have a look in the future. Probably be about RM280k given that its imported from the UK (not sure how the £ is doing against the MYR) and not from Japan like the FD2R.

• My england is bad on Sep 29, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Same money. Better buy CLA45

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • I guess to rich people RM280k(my prediction for the CTR) is the same money as a RM404k Mercedes Benz CLA45 AMG.

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:02 pm

Ringgit drop so much compared to Thai and Indon currency too. This is why even this car will be RM300k.

How Singapore Merdeka same time as Malaysia and yet, SGD is 3.3 to Ringgit DESPITE Singapore got ZERO natural resources

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 25
        • U obviously dunno the history of Malaysia and Singapore. Pls go back skool and read more b4 come here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
          • Khalid on Sep 30, 2017 at 2:05 am

yes, we know. One hardworking people and another lazy people.

• 7yrsold on Sep 30, 2017 at 4:59 am

Malaysia dedakracy and Singapore meritocracy.

• MY EPF make billions
            SG CPF loose billions

Now wonder pipu in one lives stressfree while the other going to 14th floor.

• Basher logic on Oct 01, 2017 at 12:33 pm

You dun count COE 10X plus very high cost if living there. By your logic, pipu there must be living in big bungalow with several luxury cars.

• Ohwai on Sep 30, 2017 at 2:58 am

Bolehland still has higher currency exchange thn tomyamland and indomeeland

• Rightwinger on Sep 30, 2017 at 9:14 am

If you like it there so much the gtfo.

• ReadNdigest on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Yet Singapore is in recession and Malaysia GDP 5.4%

• lala land on Sep 30, 2017 at 6:40 am

one ugly little thing this is… if only honda spend the same amount of time perfecting the chasis n engine to designing the look of the car

• no matter how fast u can run, if u put a A250 and type R infront of a girl, obviously they will pick benz

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
    • pengayuhbasikal on Sep 29, 2017 at 1:43 pm

Deswai proton tak laku…all pick Honda abangs lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • My england is bad on Sep 30, 2017 at 2:59 am

Patut la hujung bulan kena tarik coz you buy car for gaya

• off coz benz a45 Amg can outperform this manual lousy honda any time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • Honda fan boy will tell u, this type R break record what and what, bla bla bla hahaha

• Saiwada on Sep 29, 2017 at 4:12 pm

That means you guys are not petrolheads. It’s for the enthusiasts and we shall make the manual live again. No offense though.

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:27 pm

Will they get Alonso and Vandoorne to be at the launching here, as did Hamilton and Bottas for the E63 S? Though Alonso would probably rather burn the car, if he could.

• Honda Fan on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Based on objective criteria, the focus RS and A45 is faster both on the drag strip and track. No I’m not a Honda hater.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Honda Fan on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:36 pm

Based on objective criteria, the focus RS and A45 are faster both on the drag strip and track. No I’m not a Honda hater.

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:02 pm

The Audi RS3 is probably faster. And the inline 5 sounds amazing. Of course all these cars have AWD while the CTR is limited to FWD.

• But both when kaput you will have big hole in your pockets

• Henry on Oct 02, 2017 at 5:12 pm

Those who can afford to buy this car can afford the big hole in the pocket. You need not worry for them.

• Continental Car Powerful on Sep 29, 2017 at 10:35 pm

Power-wise u cant compare Type-R with Focus RS and A45, they are AWD and weights heavier, while Type-R is lighter with FWD.

• tokmoh. on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:37 pm

GP2 engine!

*runs*

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Congratulations Honda Malaysia.

Surprised Sumber Auto Edara (Section 13 PJ) not Honda Sport Dealer.

• Those blocked out hamster cheeks dun serve any aero and cooling purposes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Bchan on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:51 pm

Typo error in paragraph 3. F2DR should be FD2R?

• mango on Sep 29, 2017 at 1:06 pm

i foresee we gonna have alot of ah beng racer wanna be tailgating all the big cars including R35.

• Henry on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:32 pm

Ah Bengs cannot afford a car costing around 300k.

• ToHellWithPlagiarism on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Hmm. I foresee a lot of vw golf owners will smoke whatever car they c including a lorry, motor or fk8r. They drive n show off like they own a Ferrari or lambo. That made me sad than those wiralutions or modded vios who turns out a lil better than em.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Henry on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:23 pm

They are always in a hurry ……. to nowhere.

City traffic is the great equaliser. You will find him/her waiting for you at the next traffic light. LOL.

• Ong Chee Boon on Sep 29, 2017 at 1:27 pm

No doubt it is very fast and capable. And i like its aggressive design and beast-like feel, from an angle of a car enthusiast.

However, it will depend on the pricing in malaysia (and comparisons will be done accordingly of course, price wise and performance wise)

But boy i love that minimalistic gear knob design!

• Black on black man ..come on! on Sep 29, 2017 at 1:30 pm

if there is no black color, m not BUYING OK!!!

• Honda Sport dealers?

is that a subtle hint that we might be getting the NSX as well in the future?

• Myvi fanboi on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:01 pm

Myvi ‘lagi best’ will kill this beast instantly on highways for sure meh. Yellow and blue myvi = king of msia highway

• TQVM Honda Malaysia for bringing this in! My guess is that it will be around RM280k, below RM250k will be heaven!

• I want my s660

• passion on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:22 pm

the new civics are just so pretty. love them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • That fake air vents screams Ah Beng right in everyone’s face. Why fake vents? Why can’t it have smaller but functional vents? Those vents doesn’t look 300k to me

• Levin on Oct 01, 2017 at 2:44 am

The FK8R doesn’t have fake vents, please get your facts right. All of its vents are functional such as hood vent, bumper vent and fender vent.

• Mr. Octopus on Sep 29, 2017 at 4:21 pm

The Type R is THE CAR that everyone loves to rave about, wishing they owned one, dream of driving it on a circuit and boast about it endlessly during TT sessions at the mamak and at the end of they day all drive home in their VW Golf GTIs, BMW 320i, Mercedes A250 & Audi A4 because at the end of the day practicality & comfort is what its all about, not just pure performance.

Only the very select few will be willing to bring themselves to choose the Type R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Golf R > Type R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Just Standard A250 on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:05 pm

Love the specs.. But not the look

• Honda Ah Beng Boss on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:18 pm

This FK8 will definitely attract lots of attention from
    1) Malaysian Ah Bengs who modify their Now pityful, outdated and slow FC TCP Civic with stupid stickers and other junk parts on them.
    2) Car thieves will definitely love to steal this new model and sell of the spare parts.
    3) The Malaysian Ricers who love to show off their rides at car meetups and smoke, vape until they die of severe lung cancer anytime.
    4) Ah Beng and Abang workshops will be full of these Type Rs. Modify nonstop for weeks until the engine etc explodes. The Bomba will come and help. LMFAO
    No offence readers, especially to all Malaysian Honda Ah Bengs. I drive old 2015 honda city full spec only. Lousy car with slow engine right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • timlee on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Totally Agree with you interesting comments Mr boss.
      Yup unfortunately, I too drive the lousy and outdated SOHC City Spec V like yours. LOL. My bank loan still have another few years left.
      This so called FK8 is for the upper middle class Malaysian drivers who are Honda purists, Hardcore manual drivers only. Niche market Halo Honda car.
      But, if you are a rich Ah Beng why not buy both this Type R FK8 and the AMG A45 or AMG CLA 45. Case closed bro:)

• Jimmy on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:51 pm

Cheaper to maintain than a BMW, with better resale value, and ah-beng look.
    Suitable for samseng, ah-loong, etc.

• RicoT on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:53 pm

If Mclaren Honda F1 fail in Malaysia weather, this Civic Type R won’t get good sales. Honda F1 engine has proven to be unreliable and uncompetitive this year.

• lolpanda on Sep 30, 2017 at 6:50 am

with the strength of the Ringgit today, no surprise if it sells for over RM320K, considering that’s the price in Indonesia and cars there are typically cheaper than they are here as it is.

• Cheaper? Hardly.
      Based on their level of affordability, its NOT CHEAP.

• Kuinosan on Sep 30, 2017 at 8:40 am

CTR is a car for the Honda petrolhead and it doesn’t matter whether there are other so called premium brands offering their own performance hatch models. It’s more about self preference and that special Type R treatment. Dollar for dollar, there are not many hot hatches out there offering more fun and more bang for your dollar.

• nemesis on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:50 pm

hyundai i30N would make a balance between a driver’s car and still have a good sophisticated european looks than this ugly space ketam

• potato on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:35 am

Petrol Heads would buy Subaru Imprezza WRX STi over CTR, power wise it might not be as powerful but 4WD & handling will outperform CTR anytime.

• oh no!!!
    soon we will see alot of honda civic sedan with red honda badges ^^

when they gona launch the hatch version?

• Walauweh. Booking already asking 3k. good luck Honda Malaysia

• Henry on Oct 02, 2017 at 8:14 am

What is the problem if you are really buying the car? The 3k will be part of your downpayment.

• sohai on Sep 30, 2017 at 10:28 pm

As a type r fan, I am truly dissapointment with the turbo setup. I have always adore type r for the control, manual, and the 9000rpm redline. To me, these are what defines the type r range, be it civic, integra, or NSX. I have accepted that it will never be as powerful or having enough torque as the turbos. the high rev engine was just so addictive.
    if I had wanted turbo, I would have long followed the EVOs or WRX bandwagon…
    now, the type r is playing other people’s game… sad.

I would rather honda bumps the cc up abit to compensate for the lag of torque.

• Chume Tomo on Oct 01, 2017 at 12:04 am

Not even one spotted in Japan nor the sedan..

• RicoT on Oct 01, 2017 at 12:44 am

Euro 6 compliant engine? Our Euro 2M and 4M fuel will foul it up in no time.

• Rizal on Oct 01, 2017 at 1:50 am

Shut up!!! Take my money!!

• Ah seng on Oct 01, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Fugly

• potato on Oct 01, 2017 at 8:32 pm

Such car are only good if you plan to drive spiritedly a.k.a dangerously.

Even with Comfort & Sports mode, i don’t think it will be much comfortable.

If you don’t plan on constant spirited drive, better just buy the Volvo S90 T8. price won’t be big difference, service cost would probably be as expensive. But hey at least you get the luxury, comfort, premium & most of all Safety on the S90. Looks great too.

• Zeecque on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:00 pm

the reason why ASEAN & other region type r model that got 310ps engine is because of our low octane fuel rating. The requirement for this engine fuel is atleast 98 RON. So, that’s why 320ps engine is available in europe or other selected regions because of their high octane rating.

• AllHailTypeR on Oct 03, 2017 at 6:58 pm

So many whiner and poor fellow have no money to buy and compare type r to other vehicle.Just stick your Proton and work harder.

• bb_boy on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:38 am

Nice setup, pot holes, sad.