J.D. Power 2017 Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index – Isuzu and Toyota share top spot; people love freebies

According to the J.D. Power 2017 Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index (SSI) Study, customers are more satisfied with their new-vehicle sales experience this year. The study is based on responses from 2,130 new-vehicle owners who purchased their vehicles from August 2016 through May 2017.

Six factors – salesperson (19%), dealer facility (19%), delivery timing (17%), deal (16%), delivery process (16%) and sales initiation (13%) – are taken into consideration, which contribute to overall customer satisfaction with the new-vehicle purchase experience.

Looking at individual brands, Isuzu and Toyota both managed to occupy the top spot in the study with a score of 823 points (on a 1,000-point scale). They are followed by Nissan (814 points), Honda (808 points), Mazda (807 points), all of which were above the mass market average of 804 points.

Brands that were below said average include Mitsubishi (802 points), Perodua (798 points) and Proton (793 points). Other brands that were included in the study but were not ranked due to small or insufficient sample size are Ford, Hyundai, Kia and Volkswagen.

The study also revealed overall satisfaction among customers has increased to 923 points in 2017 from 901 points in 2016, with nearly 31% of customers using the internet to research their new-vehicle purchase (27% in 2016). Diving deeper, online searches largely involve pricing and promotions, as well as vehicle features and specifications.

“Customers are taking the initiative to become more self-informed, with more carrying out their due diligence before making any purchase decisions,” said Muhammad Asyraf Bin Mustafar, country head of Malaysia at J.D. Power. This is reflected in the higher percentage of customers who have seriously considered another model (44% from 20% in 2016).

Factors that help improve customer satisfaction include test drives, where those who were offered the opportunity scored an average of 810 points. By comparison, it is just 783 points among those who are not offered a test drive. It’s also noted that the percentage of customers being offered a test drive has gone up from 67% in 2016 to 80% this year.

Receiving additional freebies from the dealer also helped boost satisfaction levels among customers, with most indicating they have been given accessories or gifts with their vehicle purchase. Unsurprisingly, satisfaction increased by 36 points when customers were given any freebies, than those who did not (811 versus 775 points, respectively).

Lastly, faster delivery times were welcomed by customers, and more than 43% customers revealed they experienced a better-than-expected delivery time this year (a 3% increase from 2016). Delivery time reschedules have also seen a decline this year (42% versus 50%, respectively), with customers being more satisfied when no rescheduling of the delivery date is needed (820 points), compared to when there is rescheduling (782 points).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Free gift > safety features
    And we wonder why accidents & road casualty rates in MY is rising.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 80
    • safet 1st on Oct 02, 2017 at 1:49 pm

U mean P1 gips KFC vouchers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 43
      • Boyue goreng on Oct 02, 2017 at 5:29 pm

Bmw is not seen here, may be kill by the poor AB service quality.

• Teearrddee on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:48 pm

No, it is toyota gips useless stickers and bodykits

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
          • R3TARD on Oct 03, 2017 at 10:51 am

Better than Proton CHARGING customers for stupid stickers and bodykits. Remember Saga bodykit for RM1888?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
          • P1 never forced charged anyone for anything thats optional.

• Isuzu on Oct 03, 2017 at 6:10 pm

P1 charges customers for something that is given as freebie(What u said). Isn’t that cheating the customers? No wonder the customers are mad at Proton O.o

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 02, 2017 at 3:14 pm

Geely CEO sure call for meeting today and ask Proton boss and BOD why Proton is the LAST.

For once, Proton is answerable. All their balls going to kecut. Don’t mess with China and Geely. They mean business.

Otherwise, you are sacked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
  • Camry Hybrid owner on Oct 02, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Banzai Toyota banzai!
    Toyota Mazda P2 > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
  • willie on Oct 02, 2017 at 12:44 pm

Funny… the ppl who took survey are based on average daily car ? very suprised mass luxury like merc,beemer is not under the top list or are they part of the survey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Toyota making dinosaur with outdated and boring technology is easier to service with less moving parts . Hence, service need to check less points and easier to be done

On the other hand , compare to more high tech and more enjoyable premium car ( higher end cars ) like merc, Volvo, Bmw,Audi there are more moving parts and hence need a longer time to go thru more check points to be make sure it is safe proof. So only can service a limited vehicles for the day.

In the end , The premium cars are more SHIOK to drive and own compare to the boring Toyota even Toyota claimed to have better service as claimed by many budget Toyota owner JP survey.

Personally , I feel this survey is totally a waste of time and money . Nothing to excite at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 24
      • YB Albert on Oct 02, 2017 at 3:08 pm

The first 3 yrs of warranty….Toyota owners just put the thumbs up,wayang je,even tho they r fed up with outdated models.
        Come the first day when the warranty stopped,they shout !!!####@@@@### n swear they should have bought a Honda instead.Thats why many 4th-6th yr onwards car buyers switch to Honda.
        Good customer feedback does not always translate to improved SALES,alto by right ,it should.
        Honda do not score very high…but look at their record breaking sales!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Most German cars like MERCEDES , BMW , AUDI , VW cannot be top in the JD power survey always.

These German cars are mostly problematic and especially need time to get parts to service and repair with long queue and waiting time.

The waiting and booking time makes most of their customers very unhappy and costly hence cannot make it to the JD POWER TOP list.

• talldisc on Oct 02, 2017 at 2:44 pm

not enough sampling, or in a separate chart.

• roti john on Oct 02, 2017 at 12:54 pm

Wow! Proton no. 1. No. 1 dr blkg. Mmg patut pun sbb tak boleh ditegur. Kalau tegur, tuduh org basher. Hahaha. Padan muka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
  • Nazee on Oct 02, 2017 at 1:09 pm

Funny, I used to have a toyota for 8 years. Never felt particularly satisfied. Though I am not unsatisfied either…the best day was selling the car. The RV made me raise my eyebrows… in a good way lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Disclaimer on Oct 02, 2017 at 1:51 pm

Lol unsatisfied…You’d rather own a proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • May I asked , is the RV very fantastic

for example higher than other makes by a whopping 30% to 45% or just higher by 10%?

Remember cheap used car can sell easier because of affordability so in this case , the typical cheap and reasonable used car price of Toyota that attracts the wallet of the next buyer , right?

Is this the good way?

• Lynx Ghia on Oct 02, 2017 at 3:01 pm

(Like) Reasonable used car price of Toyota.
        (Dislike) Spanking brand new Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
  • How come Proton is last? I thought Proton better than Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 30
  • Proton oh Proton on Oct 02, 2017 at 1:25 pm

Why Proton in the last place :(
    sales and service need to improve proton.

• old horse on Oct 02, 2017 at 1:53 pm

JD powers joke continue…year after year..

• Here’s what we want from Proton customers:

1. Accept our most advanced single VVT engine as the best fuel saving engine, better than P2 although we copied from them

2. Learn to like our state-of-the-art Punch CVT which provides additional noise and jerk to feel the PUNCH

3. Love our signal stalk left. No question!

4. Get our life time warranty on power windows that no other car makes provide

5. Show patriotism sikit lah even if u dun like the car

Fulfill all the above and Proton surely can top sales satisfaction index

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 33
    • Here’s what Proton gips to customers:

1. No dinosar engine like Toyota dual-VVTi fuel guzzler.

2. No ancient noisy and selowpoke gearbox like Aisin Toyota gearbox.

3. Keep the signal stalk left, as its more intuitive.

4. Reasonable warranty & servicing unlike unrealistic & stupid basher demands.

5. New chief designer. Preferably NOT copycat Schreyer.

Fulfill all the above and Proton surely can top sales satisfaction index

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 60
      • john reloaded on Oct 02, 2017 at 6:44 pm

Lol! More BS coming out of john’s mouth:

1. Pls prove that Toyota dual-VVTi is more fuel guzzler than Proton’s single VVT engine. Give figures

2. Toyota gearbox has been updated a long time. Pls update your cavefacts

3. Debatable but right hand people will find right signal stalk more intuitive

4. Lifetime warranty for power windows is said by Proton, not basher

5. At least Peter Schreyer won awards for design before. Before you accuse him of copycat, what award does your Proton designer has?

Do not need to fulfill all the above also we know why Proton is LAST in customer satisfaction index. Still dreaming to top sales satisfaction index with your syok sendiri attitude?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 33
        • Try to counter this if u can:

1. Dual-VVTi has lower HP, NM, & response than P1 engine, therefore to reach optimum speed need to press harder & more down which results in more fuel use.

2. U mean Toyota not using Aisin GB anymore? Then what brand did the lousy response, jerking, & extra noisy GB came from?

3. Im right handed, and right handed pipu usually use dominant hand to control. Such as steering wheel. Which leaves left hand free to signal. Unless u dunwan to signal like those a-holes.

4. Agreed, lifetime warranty is stupid. But so is demanding for whole car lifetime warranty and lifetime free servicing, no?

5. I never said P1 won any awards. But I did say theres better designers than Mr Copycat, that P1 can hire.

Ur much touted P2 is not far off from P1. So why?
          And I rather have a gud overall car than a lousy car that needs “gud” attention. I buy a car to drive, not to enjoy the svc ctr hospitality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 28
          • john reloaded on Oct 03, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Challenge accepted:

1. First of all, you never give figures, just more mindless bashing from your part to create a myth.

2. It’s been updated to ‘seven speed sequential’ CVT if you don’t know. “Lousy response, jerking, & extra noisy GB?” What crap are you talking about? Is it from your own Proton? Review from PT:

“Back to the transmission, it works terribly well – far better than you’d think a CVT has a right to. The ‘seven-speed’ CVT handles the available power fantastically, fully exploiting the engine’s limited flexibility in a tremor-free way. It barely feels like a CVT unit, in fact, running a well-simulated shift pattern by default.

The rubber-band effect expected from a CVT is non-existent here, replaced with a feel that’s no less direct than that of a traditional torque convertor-type automatic transmission. It has a sophisticated working pattern too, with a dynamic shift programme that deduces from your driving style when you want to stay in lower gears for longer.

If you’re in the mood, it can be fun. That’s more than what you can level at, say, the Mitsubishi Lancer’s highly restrictive and noisy transmission. The engine is wonderfully smooth and quiet too, whatever the pace, in a way that the Honda Civic never is.”

3. As i said, debatable but most people would use their left hand to change gears and hand brake leaving the right hand free to signal in a RHD. And you are suppose to hold the steering with BOTH hands, not only the right hand, no?

4. Then why did Proton provide a lifetime warranty? Are they stupid?

5. The one you are calling “Mr Copycat” is an IF Design and Red Dot Design winner. If he is a copycat, how did he win those awards? Better use your brain to think before accusing someone. Proton can hire any shiet local designer like the current one for all i care but pls don’t act like an arrogant company with multi talents if you’re not it. All of Proton’s design is a mess and non of them win any awards. May be Proton is only good in rebadging like the upcoming Boyue?

I never touted P2 is not far off from P1 and i never mentioned P2. You can say P1 is a good car but it’s a lousy car in the consumers eyes as evident by getting LAST in their satisfaction. Before you create more myths to bash, i hope you can back up your facts else you should shadap for good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
          • nosushi on Oct 03, 2017 at 1:29 pm

1.Bashers oso no figure, oni made up stories

2.Torque converter more power loss. Jepunis cars crawl like snail.

3.Mostly cars here auto trans, so…

4.You got lifetime warranty on jeounis cars?

5.Dugong, catfish, frog, rhino etc designs are “best” in the world, kudos to jepunis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
          • Nosushi has eruditely countered basher argument. So can basher still counter his argument?

• john reloaded on Oct 03, 2017 at 6:03 pm

That’s your counter, john? In the dupe of nosushi? Ok, i’ll bite:

1. You are the one claiming Toyota dual-VVTi is fuel guzzler, so you have to provide the figures

2. Hahaha. “Torque converter power loss. Jepunis car crawl like snail” What kind of counter is this? From 3 years old ah? You are saying PT review is wrong?

3. What does auto trans got to do with signal stalk?

4. No, but john already mentioned lifetime warranty is stupid, so…

5. What are all those things you mentioned? I never said jepunis designs are the best but at least they don’t discriminate like P1 do

Honestly, i’m disappointed with this counter of more mindless bashing lol

• Pipu ady knows Iriz Persona is more frugal than Vios.

• komarad on Oct 02, 2017 at 2:51 pm

not much different P1 and P2…

• P1 is on the rise or perhaps P2 owners found out about their car’s secret axle detachment function built in by jepunis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Ben Yap on Oct 02, 2017 at 3:30 pm

yes, consumer like freebies. they like free 6 airbags, free VSC, free ABS and free autonomous braking without adding a single cent to the price tag.

• After sales service more important lah on Oct 02, 2017 at 4:34 pm

JD should also survey the after sales service including technical reliability and warranty issues which is more important to vehicle buyers

• TOYOTA THE KING OF KINGS ORI on Oct 02, 2017 at 5:01 pm

They done tht dude…and Toyota won!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Audi Fans on Oct 02, 2017 at 9:02 pm

Off course , Toyota is the clear winner selling dinosaur and outdated technology to customers who does not know anything about car but RV only

• ex-VGM staff on Oct 02, 2017 at 5:27 pm

its there. pls do some research before commenting. it is called JD power CSI. this year, Toyota is top (number 1) while Honda is dead last.
      the survey has been around for over 10 years (in Malaysia)

https://paultan.org/2017/08/01/j-d-power-2017-malaysia-customer-service-index-toyota-takes-top-spot-improvements-across-the-board/

• 7yrsold on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:05 pm

That’s on selective survey, but in real world it’s different story

• After sales service more important lah on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:48 pm

The CSI done only for period of TEN months. It does NOT consider technical, reliability, FC, spare parts n warranty issues. Many vehicles nowadays come with five year warranty. Obviously there would be very minimum issues with a TEN MONTH OLD VEHICLE.

https://paultan.org/2017/08/01/j-d-power-2017-malaysia-customer-service-index-toyota-takes-top-spot-improvements-across-the-board/

BTW my brand new Toyota Hilux 2017 had an aircon issue on the very first day which the SC took TWO WEEKS to rectify!!!!!!!!!! NO REPLACEMENT VEHICLE TOO…. TOYOTA BOLEH

• Those who were at Sepang circuit on Sat last weekend to witness the local support race would attest to this. The top 10 cars are Hondas, mostly Civics. The last 6 cars were all Vios! The brand new Vios were much slower than the mid runners, Suzuki Swifts and a Satria Neo.
    But the best part is, when the safety car (the same Merc AMG safety car used for the F1) was deployed due to an accident, all the Vios was left far behind and could not even catch up with the safety car!!
    But the Vios was very reliable. They all finished the race, almost half a lap behind the first car.

• Fanofthesite on Oct 03, 2017 at 1:44 pm

Come on. Why so many P1 fanboys getting butthurt that Toyota gets top spot for sales satisfaction? Does it concern you? Or is it bcoz Proton gets the last spot? Get a grip people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Disclaimer on Oct 03, 2017 at 6:20 pm

P1 fanboys unsatisfied lol. Always get last position, how to satisfy?