Toyota Hilux to get an early facelift in Thailand?

A mid-life refresh is due for the eighth-generation Toyota Hilux, according to a report by Thai website headlightmag. The report indicates that Toyota is pushing for a market introduction of a revised Hilux Revo in Thailand as early as next month.

Apparently, the changes will largely be focused on visual enhancements, primarily with an updated face that will bear a greater resemblance to the Tacoma in a bid to give the pick-up a more rugged and muscular appearance. No mechanical changes will reportedly be made – currently, the Hilux is available with a choice of two engines – the 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV and the 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV.

Back home, the Hilux was just recently updated with better kit, although the number of variants have dropped down from eight to six. Prices start from RM87,200 for the Single-Cab 2.4 MT 4×4 to RM130,900 for the Double-Cab 2.8G AT 4×4.

For a more detailed look at the local Hilux and its specifications, head on to Carbase.my and click here for the full price list.

GALLERY: Toyota Hilux 2.8G with optional Tough Package

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• David Kam on Oct 19, 2017 at 6:52 pm

When will toyota start realizing their design and technology sucks and stop being arrogant?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 19, 2017 at 7:02 pm

Once you realised that your honda brv is actually a third world car and you are still trapped in a third world mentality….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
      • William Tan on Oct 19, 2017 at 7:32 pm

Is BRV a third world car? Then it is your Gomen that allow the sale of third world car. It got MITI approval and also Honda DRB is GLC.

So, why your gomen allow sale of 3rd world car in Msia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
    • This facelift is long overdue since the second they launched the new Hilux here

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 19, 2017 at 10:54 pm

Bro there’s a reason why Toyota can be the no.1 seller of vehicles in the world surpassing VW group which has about 10 other brand names under its umbrella and it’s because that people trust their technology. Toyota unfortunately partnered with UMW here in Bolehland and the rest is history.

• Eternalgl0ry on Oct 21, 2017 at 2:10 pm

Malaysia Toyota is actually the worst out of so many other countries.

In boleh land you get deducted things with high price.

• Bernard on Oct 20, 2017 at 10:25 pm

Aduhai mahalnya… macam ni bankrap …

• Eternalgl0ry on Oct 21, 2017 at 2:08 pm

Thailand gets euro4-5 engine emission standard while ours still euro 2 rated. We already have euro 5 diesel hello umw?