2016 Toyota Tacoma breaks cover at Detroit auto show

NAIAS_2016_Toyota_Tacoma_001

As right as a new Ford truck debuting at the 2015 Detroit motor show feels, it would appear that the Toyota Tacoma is the true king of the hill – at least in terms of sales in North America. The best-selling mid-size (no, really) truck in America will go head to head against the Nissan Frontier and GMC Canyon.

Sharing its design cues with the current Toyota 4Runner, the new Tacoma sports a bold, upright front grille flanked by redesigned headlights with projector beam lamps and optional LED daytime running lights (DRL). Moving along, flared wheel arches help pump things up visually along with a range of 16- to 18-inch wheel designs.

At the back, the Tacoma’s aggressive outlook is further complimented via a new locking tailgate which features an integrated rear spoiler. The tailgate incorporates an “easy lowering” feature which slowly lowers the tailgate instead of allowing it to slam down.

2016_Toyota_Tacoma_TRD_OffRoad_010

A tri-fold hard tonneau cover is available on the 2016 Toyota Tacoma for the first time – allowing owners to safely stow away their belongings. On the inside, a “handlebar” design theme is featured on the instrument panel, supposedly for a more “driver-focused” experience.

Interior quality has been improved with “soft-wrapped trim” and metallic accents helping to set a more upmarket ambience. Optional onboard equipment include Qi wireless charging, smart key with push-start button, power moonroof and blind spot monitoring system with Rear Cross Traffic Alert.

If that sounds a tad underwhelming, note that the new Toyota Tacoma comes as standard with a GoPro camera mounted next to the rear-view mirror. Five grades for the Tacoma will be available in both 4×2 and 4×4 configurations – SR, SR5, TRD Sport, TRD Off-Road and the range-topping Limited.

Powering the Tacoma range are two engine options – a 2.7 litre, four-cylinder engine and a 3.5 litre, Atkinson cycle V6 with direct and port fuel injection. While both engines are mated to a six-speed automatic gearbox, the V6 adds on the option of a six-speed manual transmission.

In the TRD Off-Road variant, the Multi-Terrain Select feature enables the driver to select between three modes – loose rock, mud or sand – with the system then regulating wheel spin by adjusting throttle and brake pressure to provide the appropriate amount of traction.

Additional off-road tech are available in the form of an automatic limited slip and locking rear differential, hill start assist, active traction control, Clutch Start Cancel and Crawl Control. The latter allows for a creep mode to be activated at speeds of up to 8 km/h – allowing the driver to focus on steering while the system takes over acceleration and braking.

Toyota Tacoma Limited

Toyota Tacoma TRD Off-Road

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• komarad on Jan 13, 2015 at 5:01 pm

this is one good looking beast from Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • karam singh on Jan 13, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Toyota , so advance outside of Malaysia
      Meanwhile in Malaysia, RV comes first rather than safety
      mehhhh

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 13, 2015 at 9:15 pm

But in Bolehland and the rest of the world, kimchis have no RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • What’s with you Kimchi and RV ? Where you a victimised in your childhood days ? You seem to be having a phobia with RV!!

Get a good DR. Hopefully its not too late! God Bless you !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 13, 2015 at 5:18 pm

I’m kinda jealous with Toyota North America compared to UMW. This is what we call as real truck unlike Sport TRD wannabe Hilux,UMW should add TRD Off Road package instead of TRD sports wannabe. By the way after hearing it has 2.7 litre four pot engine and I guess its suitable to living in Malaysia.

• winwin on Jan 13, 2015 at 10:30 pm

No, definitely not welcomed in Malaysia. Look at the tachometer. It is clearly petrol powered. Malaysians prefer trucks running on diesel. Petrol powered trucks are gas guzzlers. Leave it to the americans.

• Really on Jan 13, 2015 at 7:14 pm

For those thinking maybe the technologies in the Tacoma will trickle down to the upcoming Hilux, good news because the Multi Terrain Select will appear in the new Hilux. The bad news: UMW will spec the new Hilux to the barest minimum, so good luck if even ABS is offered as standard across the range.

• toyota tacoma should available in malaysia but not through UMW…if through UMW, all the good stuff will gone

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 13, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Toyota Tundra is the one to have in Malaysia.

The full sized pickup used mainly in the Mid West of USA

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 13, 2015 at 9:27 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 14, 2015 at 7:58 am

sam loo…when come

• Good looking truck Toyota USA….please bring this truck to Malaysia…..the Toyota Hilux in Malaysia can’t recall how many facelift already. Toyota please bring in 3.0cc Fortuner to Malaysia….your 2.5cc sucks underpower drum brake so dangerous to drive around. In East Malaysia people are slowly shifting to other brand….

• Ong Chee Boon on Jan 14, 2015 at 2:13 pm

I love its frontal design (grille, headlight, and bumper) looking a bit rugged and aggressive, especially when it is covered by mud.

Drivetrain wise, i would still prefer AWD + Manual + Diesel Engine. Off road treading is often treacherous and full of obstacles, so i prefer my workhorse to be as simple and reliable as possible. Torque should be the main concern instead of total output. (Just my two cents)

UMW Malaysia, when you will realise everybody in Malaysia is disliking toyota because of you?

• Gajen on Jan 14, 2015 at 2:49 pm

my fav toyota 4x4s = Tacoma, 4runner, Land Cruiser.
    Definitely not hilus trd sportivo facelift by UMW

• ycslink on Jan 14, 2015 at 6:11 pm

If toyota really wanted to keep old engine, they should upgrade the transmission to 5 speed auto and 6 speed manual same as thai hilux.