Kia Stinger GT 3.3L turbo V6 previewed in Malaysia

Kia’s richly acclaimed grand tourer, the all-new Stinger, has made its first public Malaysian debut. It’s the full-blown GT variant, packing a 3.3 litre twin-turbo V6 under the bonnet. As the title says, it’s only a preview, and the model on display is a left-hand drive unit brought in by Naza Kia Malaysia (NKM) for feasibility studies.

In the performance department, the six-cylinder Lambda II unit produces 365 hp at 6,000 rpm and 510 Nm of torque from 1,300 to 4,500 rpm, making it the most powerful series production Kia ever.

Power flows through all four corners (as denoted by its AWD badge) through an eight-speed automatic transmission, although it can be had as a rear-wheel drive in some markets. This setup enables the Korean GT to sprint from nought to 100 km/h in 4.9 seconds before maxing out at 269 km/h.

A less powerful version of the Stinger comes with a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder Theta engine that’s good for 255 PS and 353 Nm, and there’s also a 2.2 litre turbodiesel option. Inside sources say it’s the full-fat 3.3 litre V6 turbo that’s most likely to arrive here.

This is the latest update following a statement made by NKM head, Nazman S.H.C Yusof, earlier this year. “If possible, we would like to bring in the Stinger to the Malaysian market, but it will have to depend on the demand and legibility,” he said.

The introduction of the Stinger here would signal the company’s intention to elevate its brand image into the premium market space, which falls in line with Kia Motor Company’s global strategy to increase its brand value.

What do you think of the Stinger, guys? Let us know in the comments section below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• arowana on Nov 09, 2017 at 1:36 pm

if Naza doesnt wanna bring in this machine, someone from grey import will do so..

• hmmmm on Nov 09, 2017 at 2:53 pm

3.3 litre how much roadtax? any idea..

• Blame JPJ. New big cc engine should better in environment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • I miss Ohwai on Nov 09, 2017 at 6:55 pm

This is a real joke. Elantra Turbo also got ZERO sales and nobody buying. Bring this in and charge RM350k…..who will buy?

Seriously, who will buy RM350k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
          • applegreen on Nov 09, 2017 at 11:08 pm

I see a few ford mustangs on the road so I’m confident there will be some buyers for this beast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Halman on Nov 09, 2017 at 3:19 pm

Rm3k++

• Lucas on Dec 26, 2017 at 6:26 pm

well 3.0l in malaysia is around RM2,1xx so I assume you gonna add another 1.2k roughly since after 3000cc each cc is 4 bucks

• Krish on Dec 29, 2017 at 10:17 pm

Rm3500 per year

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 09, 2017 at 3:11 pm

naza already control grey import…if they no bring nobody bring

• Holofanboi on Nov 09, 2017 at 1:36 pm

Holy! Any possibility of it being on display for public?

• speeder on Nov 09, 2017 at 1:38 pm

very maserati feel…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • 3.3L twin turbo V6. Setakat tengok je cukup lah.

If Kia Malaysia is serious they should bring in the 2.0L turbo if they want to sell more than 10 units a year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • CarBuyer on Nov 09, 2017 at 3:29 pm

If you can afford this (in the UK, it retails at the same price as a BMW 530i), you can afford the RM1500 extra road tax of a 3300cc. BTW, the BMW takes 6.2 seconds for 0-100kph; this mean machine, just 4.9 seconds (Aston-Martin territory).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • myeondong on Nov 09, 2017 at 6:36 pm

true.. shud also consider bringing the 2.0 turbo petrol and the 2.2 turbo diesel with 8 speeder.. that will take some market from bmw 520i or the 520d buyer. btw BMW and Audi shud be very2 scared now….the kia has the top design (ex audi) and performance (ex BMW-M division) running the show on all their line up starting from sorento um to kia optima gt to sportage etc.

• Victor Lau on Nov 17, 2017 at 11:26 am

BMW and Audi have nothing to worry about. This is a Kia, it’s not a luxury brand. Anybody who buys a luxury car will not be looking at a mass market car. There are many mass market brands that performs better than a luxury brand. Take the Ford Focus ST, or the Golf R, they outperform many luxury cars costing a lot more. But are the luxury brands affected? Hardly, if at all. This is targeted at bargain-hunters, i.e. me and you lo who have to go to the showroom to look at cars ourselves unlike others who get the car sent to their door step for them to test drive. :p

• ex-VGM staff on Nov 29, 2017 at 9:25 am

well thats what BMW and Mercedez says when Lexus first made appearance in early 90s. and they were caught peeing in paints in the very first year.

• Myeongdong on Jan 16, 2018 at 11:45 am

Victor…when the performance and the quality matches the those of the luxury brands..then it is a luxury/premium product without the brand heritage. And mind you those RICH people dont buy entry level 316/320/520/520d /c200 model la…they get the halo model…

• Myvi Lagi Power Lagi Best on Nov 09, 2017 at 1:46 pm

with the price of Petrol going up, do yourself a favour, buy the new 2018 Myvi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 40
  • Sgt Scoop on Nov 09, 2017 at 1:51 pm

I want one. The only issue is the price.

• Uncle Lim on Nov 09, 2017 at 4:24 pm

The only issue is not the price but your pathetic income. Work harder, don’t be complacent with your life lol 3-4 jobs a day won’t kill you lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Better than new Myvi

• Speechless on Nov 09, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Awesome car. But 3.3 GT variant for our market?! I hope they”ll bring in the 2.0 or I ll have to look elsewhere. Think NKM!! Think!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • sabahan on Nov 09, 2017 at 2:15 pm

wow…. this is a very good looking kia!

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 09, 2017 at 2:15 pm

Where is it on display actually? Would like to see and touch.

• norah on Nov 09, 2017 at 2:38 pm

This can sh*t on most mercedes AMG

• Better than the upcoming Honda Civic Type R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • thepolygonal on Nov 09, 2017 at 3:28 pm

I see some plastics… leather wrap the whole interior please if you are pushing for upmarket sales.

• KIAmak on Nov 09, 2017 at 3:35 pm

only one problem with tha car…..the badge…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • i have no problem with the badge and also love the design, but went it came to high performance car.. they so new to it. In fact they don’t really win any legendary race like Le mans, wrc, dakar, super gt and so on that can back up their product. Maybe this is the first step toward that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • itaewon on Nov 09, 2017 at 6:40 pm

yup they just make a short cut by employing the bmw m head division… you know the bmw m heritage now is carry on to this car dna… so no need le mans race and what not.. this car is developed in nurburgring btw

• rider on Nov 09, 2017 at 3:37 pm

Korean muscle car…looks damn nice!!!

• Kia Domination on Nov 09, 2017 at 3:38 pm

Hell yeah

• oh mak lu on Nov 09, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Hyundai elantra turbo also nobody buy. Stinger ar? sell 90K maybe got few people buy hahahahahahah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 28
  • Maria on Nov 09, 2017 at 8:36 pm

They should bring 2.0 tgdi and trusted 2.2 crdi diesel engine to malaysia with GT spec.. friendly roadtax

• shogun on Nov 10, 2017 at 6:03 am

spoke to Naza salesman at MAEPS yesterday. They said Naza unlikely to bring 3.3L V6 engine option. They might bring the 2.0 and 2.4 for Malaysian market. Expect RM200k++ for it. But seriously, the car is gorgeous and super handsome when you see it live!

• Stingray on Nov 10, 2017 at 8:05 am

Naza should seriously reconsider bringing 2.0T instead of 3.3T. The roadtax is killing, its 3480 vs 380. Almost ten times more expensive. They rather offer a 2.0T full spec since 2.0T 0-100km is around 6sec which is already pretty decent.

• I’d literally trade in my A4 B8.5 2.0T for this if they bring in the 2.0T full spec. Looks gorgeous. If they bring in poverty 2.0T spec, might as well just stick with the Germans, sigh.

• Paul Ng on Nov 12, 2017 at 6:34 am

Naza pls bring in Full spec. Spec for 2.0T lots of things missing. :( for sure!

I’m waiting this since January.

• Jascha on Nov 12, 2017 at 10:14 pm

If Naza really want to bring in the GT 3.3 model, please…please bring in the RWD.

• gilerkia on Jan 12, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Friend of mine just returned from Seoul and was stunned by the presence of quite a few of this beauty on their roads, and they made heads turn. Am so gonna get the 2.0 if that variant comes here….she’s a beauty

• Firdaus Salam on Jan 22, 2018 at 1:56 am

Definitely bring all variants in! I am very keen on the 3.3L. The design is smoking hot! I will buy if it is in!

• Masul Abdul on May 04, 2018 at 10:41 am

Stinky Korean car

• if perodua came out with a myvi 2.2l engine i think perodua will be op in malaysia market

• mahudm on Jul 12, 2018 at 10:23 am

similar look like Optima

• Adam Muhammad Nadzir on Feb 07, 2020 at 10:38 pm

The Kia Stinger GT should have an optional AWD as well as the 2.2 CRDi GT-Line.