Touch n’ Go – 10% surcharge at providers’ discretion

Decisions on applying or removing the 10% surcharge for the use of Touch n’ Go pre-paid cards at places such as shopping centres or parking buildings lies solely with the service providers, according to prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak.

He said that while Touch n’ Go was in discussions with service providers like car park operators to negotiate with them to absorb the cost of providing and maintenance of the TNG (Touch n’ Go) system, the decision to place the service charge for the use of TNG cards lies within the evaluation and discretion of the service providers, theSundaily reports.

This was in a parliamentary written reply to a question by the Lembah Pantai member of parliament, asking whether or not using the Touch n’ Go card as a medium of sales and purchase will incur additional cost via a service charge being levied on customers. Many TNG system providers do not impose additional charges for the use of these cards at places such as toll booths and for grocery purchases, he said.

“Nevertheless, there are certain service providers like car park operators who place a surcharge for the use of TNG. This is to bear the operational and management of the facility at certain locations which offer the TNG facility. Yet, there are also service providers who choose not to place the additional charge on TNG card users and absorb the cost of operating the system instead,” Najib added.

In May, Touch n’ Go said it supported a no-surcharge-fee business model and that it was negotiating with service providers for the waiving of the surcharge, and that the surcharge was intended as a cost recovery mechanism mutually agreed upon by parking operators, building owners, system integration vendors and Touch ‘n Go.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Tong Hoi on Nov 21, 2017 at 1:16 pm

Alipay, rewards points & no surcharge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • camtakpro on Nov 21, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Ditch TnG and use Alipay.

• Abdul Kadir Latiff on Nov 21, 2017 at 4:42 pm

Touch and Go make hundreds of millions from unclaimed money. So many people have their cards suddenly blacklisted.

Then we are told must go to KL Sentral HQ to sort out the matter.

But how many of us go? KL Sentral parking alone is RM5 per hour. By time we settle the matter, at least 2 hours would have gone. So RM10 just on parking alone.

So many of us just buang the car or just let it be.

I had RM50 in my card. Suddenly one day stop working. I go to touch and GO counter at toll both, they tell me blacklisted and must go KL Sentral HQ to sort it out.

This happened to me 3 times and nearly everyone I know.

All of us just let the matter go and buy new card cause we are too busy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Gila. Surcharge sama harga parking. Di ijn dpt rm1 park complimentary utk patient tp caj jd rm2+ sbb surcaj tng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Rufus on Nov 21, 2017 at 1:38 pm

Monopoly. How about open the market for Visa wave, Samsung Pay, Ali pay, Apple Pay, Debit card, etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • Ah Kow on Nov 21, 2017 at 3:24 pm

Because not everyone owns an iPhone or Samsung, Apple Pay & Samsung Pay is out from the list. Unless you want to clump the parking machine with these nfc scanners, go ahead, no issue for me as long as I am not paying that stupid surcharge!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
      • protonsucks on Nov 21, 2017 at 5:17 pm

when the world is moving forward and advancing toward technology. we have old fashion stubborn people like u who wants still use film camera, pay bills at pos office and check your balance account at the bank branch. its either u move forward or u are left behind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • Ah Kow on Nov 21, 2017 at 3:35 pm

VisaWave or Mastercard Paypass should be the way to go since everyone with a bank account will have either of these providers on their Debit or Credit Card.

But the downside, parking booth without proper supervision might lure credit card thieves to plant their own RFID scanner to steal info from your credit card.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • It’s just like the extra 2-3% some shop charge credit card user la… Wat can be done?
    None

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Theres always cash option…

• I personally don like to carry so much of cash around. If alipay kind of thg go full fledged, I will b happy

• chewke on Nov 21, 2017 at 3:36 pm

It’s actually against the MC/Visa policy to charge surcharge. You make complaint to MC/Visa and they will take action.

• chewke on Nov 21, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Oh, but got loop hole. Some now call it convenient fee, which is not a surcharge technically. Some sort of service charge or something.. Kns..

• Shanghai Boy (Member) on Nov 21, 2017 at 2:01 pm

How much is the fee TnG charge to the service provider? The question about asking service provider to absorb the fee is irrelevant – the could just increase the price.

• orang biasa on Nov 21, 2017 at 2:25 pm

If both parties wave the surcharge 10%, that will be huge thumb up from us. But worry, will have new tax to replace that surcharge….

• K C NYEW on Nov 21, 2017 at 2:58 pm

Stop the monopoly game, then no issue arises!
    give me a licence to operate, see what will happen!

• Ah Kow on Nov 21, 2017 at 3:40 pm

You may partner with NETS Singapore. :) NETS in SG parking got no surcharge. Bring NETS to Malaysia

• NETS is GLC there. Of cuz got no surcharge. Once come here, diff story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Psyduck on Nov 21, 2017 at 3:09 pm

In Penang, there are 2 malls which adds on 10% + 6% GST on top of the parking fee – convenience comes with a price!

• So much for saving the planet by going paperless.

• Parking at KLIA. kena 2 hours RM8, but because of this, kena RM8.85. Jahanam betul. 85c can get chewing gum to chew while driving back to KL

• Mokmok on Nov 21, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Parking provider and users both have their own pros and cons. Parking provider doesn’t have to get their booth with ticket dispenser and tickets itself but they have to provide a terminal with screen to display remaining balance in TNG card. Users need parking spaces but don’t want to pay for unnecessary fees. Instead of charging 10% of parking fee why not charge users with 10-30 cents per entry added up to the fee. 10-30 cents are not a big deal rather than RM10 fee plus RM1 for surcharge. I frankly felt robbed after using these services at parking.

• Ben Yap on Nov 21, 2017 at 7:10 pm

If there is another competitor for T&G, definitely T&G will make sure that their providers will not impose surcharge.

• unhappy customer on Nov 22, 2017 at 7:50 am

Surcharge?

How about Surcharge + GST?? Many places are doing that already !!

• Andrew Lee on Nov 22, 2017 at 1:12 pm

Doesn’t Touch n’ Go have their own PR team? Why is our PM speaking on their behalf?