PLUS spent RM1b on highway maintenance in 2016

Highway concessionaire PLUS Expressways spent RM1 billion in 2016 for the maintenance of 5,000 km of highways under its care, according to Bernama. The company conducted more than 10,000 inspections and asset monitoring across all of its highways, said PLUS chief operating officer Zakaria Ahmad Zabidi.

Around 1,000 personnel are tasked with the inspections and maintenance of the 5,000 km of highways under PLUS’ care, comprising engineers and technical executives who carry out upkeep of mechanical and electrical equipment, Zakaria said.

The maintenance involves the highways containing 7,000 slopes and embankments, 500 bridges, the 800-metre Menora tunnel, 114 interchanges and 24 rest and service areas, 24 hours daily. High gross weight vehicles (HGVs) contribute around 25% of total traffic on PLUS-operated highways, and are found to be the main contributor to the deterioration of road surfaces.

“We have also invested a huge amount of money to preserve pavements, which is our key highway asset,” said Zakaria. PLUS’ highways were considered matured assets as they have been in operation for almost 30 years, which was why “a lot of maintenance initiatives have to be carried out to keep it in good shape.”

The latest statement lines up with the annual expenditure of RM1 billion as stated by the company’s previous COO, which made up 74% of its annual budget in 2016.

PLUS practices a three-pronged strategy for maintenance which comprises routine, remedial and preventive maintenance, Zakaria said. Routine practice includes grass-cutting and cleaning of drains, while the second includes restorative maintenance such as road resurfacing and structural repairs for slopes and bridges in order to ensure the assets’ fitness for service.

Meanwhile, preventive maintenance is aimed at minimising defects and deterioration, which is planned to ensure that the highways are restored and maintained for service beyond its projected lifespan. “We ensure that highway maintenance is in line with international standards, and compliance to strict standards is enforced by local authorities, he said.

Additionally, PLUS has developed the Traffic Monitoring Centre (TMC) for the collection and redistribution of traffic information in real time for better traffic management, while coordinating assistance for road users in need.

The Real Time Monitoring System has also been developed to prepare real-time information via instrumentation at 90 stations or 79 strategic locations along the North-South Expressway. As a result, the PLUS technical team will know the status of the highway in order to carry out initial investigations and routine upkeep.

Robots have also been developed for the remote inspection of 5,000 sewers, half of which are too small for examiners to access and ensure that the sewers’ structures are still sturdy and in good condition. The highway concessionaire is also exploring the use of drones for traffic surveillance during festive seasons, and for the monitoring of hills and slopes.

Stagnant water is the greatest foe for engineers in the construction and operation of highways and roadways, and can lead to an increased risk of road accidents, Zakaria said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• 1 bil vs how much toll you have collected again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Henry on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:15 pm

Yes, why don’t they tell us how much are collected every year.

• Yusof Talha on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:27 pm

Malaysia is the only country in the world where to make 1Km of highway, it cost over RM100 million. And that also, using super cheap Bangladeshi labour and NO land acquisition.

Even Mat Salleh country also don’t cost this much despite using orang puteh labour. I hear even the UK also, just a few million ringgit per KM

So, our hero concessionaires tell gomen it cost over RM100 million PER KM and they want 60 years contract to collect tolls with every few years increasing the tolls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
        • lafofo on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:30 pm

If you change to usd … we are still cheap UK or If you change to usd … we are still cheap Bangladeshi … …kah kah kah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Rm385mil/km > Rm100mil/km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
        • Same L00 on Jan 02, 2018 at 4:53 pm

How much really spent on the road and services? This is the core question!

• Safety 1st on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:37 pm

Agreed…look at autobahn…their road works continue throughout the year…just like cleaning high rise windows…never stop. Which is why their highways is one of the best in the world….and that using local german labours

• Gargantia on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:39 pm

Kudos to PLUS Expressways albeit higher spending mean lesser profit. Lower EPF dividends.

• Stevie on Jan 02, 2018 at 1:40 pm

But still there are surpluses in your coffers..

• DonkeyKong on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Of course there’s supposed to be surplus. EPF is one of the stakeholders in PLUS, it’s a business that needs to return profits and dividends to it’s stakeholders. Only stupid people think that PLUS should be a charity organization that does everything for free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
      • Tin Kosong on Jan 03, 2018 at 1:29 am

I strongly agree with DonkeyKong. Unlike the fake Yusof Talha above, only know how to bark.

• 12yrsold on Jan 02, 2018 at 1:50 pm

Anyone want to guess why Plus spend RM1 billion on maintenance in 2016 ?? GUD chance to open the floodgate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:03 pm

no need to guess, just read the article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Lol! gud one bro!

• Faildah on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Zakaria said PLUS tasked with inspections and maintenance of 7,000 slopes and 500 bridges

• Much of the monitoring now is done by remote sensors but even then still need intensive inspection teams to survey surrounding geography which cant be detected. Otherwise a rockslip what happened near Bandar Sri Damansara interchange year ago, will happen again.

• 12yrsold on Jan 02, 2018 at 4:10 pm

That is usually a precursor/gud reason for Plus to increase toll charges & U say Gud one !! No problem for U bcos U don’t pay tolls is it !!

• And yet, PLUS has just removed 3 tolls from its revenue. Yes gud one!
            And no, i use PLUS regularly up and down yet i can say the toll is fair value for the smoothness of travel. Double gud one!
            And i belip only users must pay for it, instead of others like in Sabah & Swk. Triple gud one!
            Ultimately, public transports > all. Quad gud one!

• 12yrsold on Jan 02, 2018 at 4:05 pm

He he he. U think by just reading this article will tell U the whole picture. If I call U naive is an understatement.

• To prevent catastrophic geo-failures like those that happen in past which closed off critical stretches of the hiway for months?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Yusof Talha on Jan 02, 2018 at 1:55 pm

Haiyaaa abang abang, spend RM1 bil also but still got lubang and uneven roads.

Have you PLUS guys gone to Europe? Highway got no lubang, pot hole or uneven stretches.

Our highways are a disgrace. Half the accidents are cause by drivers trying to avoid potholes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • hondaman on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:08 pm

care to inform the exact locations of the lubang? Uneven stretches i agree but lubang i don’t agree

• Kevin Henry on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:58 pm

You give maintenance contract to sister brother parent company and now complain? You don’t choose the best compnay for the job why complain now!!!! Dunggu

• Ekceli maintenance of PLUS is top notch, far far better than certain CAT states.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:09 pm

PLUS Bhd reported 2014 revenue RM2.61 Billion, after tax profit RM8.4 Million.

Still make RM8.4 Million profit, bising apa?

• 1b is nothing compared to the toll they collect from us.. the road is okay now, but wish they spend more to improve the road for better and safe drive

• Ben Yap on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:23 pm

so got make money or not? i bought PLUS shares and I don’t make me lose money enough already.

• Seremban and Senawang exit and entrance STILL cause slow traffic.

• I think that u must ask the PBT. Traffic light just mere meters from the toll booth in the busy street not in Plus jurisdiction.

• Mex highway boss already commented that PLUS pay many times more than what mex highway pay their maimtenance contractors. One of the reason why mex used to buy PLUS.

• aaaaa on Jan 03, 2018 at 9:45 am

Real Time Monitoring System AKA WAZE?
    If you have a good system then why don’t you promote it? I have use your app before and its totally crap, most of the CCTV is down and live feed is showing acc/heavy traffic ahead… so what can we do? We will stuck in the jam as there isn’t any alternate route to divert the traffic… think out of the box Plus…

• hamba allah on Jan 03, 2018 at 2:19 pm

we still dont see “spend” on NSE at north bound, still got wavy road, holes and bridge gap loose and holed

• IGP mom on Jan 03, 2018 at 3:42 pm

PLUS, please do away with your promo gimmick during festive season. When I check early, you said it is not in yet, when check after a few months, you said expired, no cashback. So where did all the discount gone to? You reported these during parliament sitting, and said how much cashback and discount given, but eventually only a few offices beside toll, so hard to get the cashback. Please if you are serious, direct deduct from TouchNGo card, while need to rely on manual system and that put customers at disadvantage?