Road safety council wants mandatory imprisonment imposed on negligent, reckless bus and lorry drivers

The National Road Safety Council of Malaysia (MKJR) has urged the government to look into introducing a mandatory jail sentence for negligent and reckless drivers who jeopardise the lives of other road users, Berita Harian reports.

Council member Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye said that effective laws will restrict irresponsible driving behaviour, especially among drivers of heavy vehicles. He said that currently, Section 41 (1) of the Road Transport Act 1987 provides for imprisonment between two to 10 years and a fine of between RM5,000 and RM20,000 for the offence.

“If the government and agencies such as the Road Transport Department (JPJ) and the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) do not take a firm and drastic action against this obviously visible killer, death from accidents will not end. The proposed radical move can also address the increase in road accidents due to driver negligence,” he said via a statement.

He believed that strict action was necessary to tackle the problem by instilling a sense of responsibility among drivers, especially those operating heavy vehicles. Lee said the proposed mandatory jail sentence was timely as the fate of passengers and the public now seemed to rely on the ‘compassion’ of bus and lorry drivers.

“They need to know that they can be jailed if found guilty of reckless driving and causing death of passengers or other road users,” he said.

He said regular checks should also be conducted. “Inspections should be conducted to detect drivers taking drugs and alcohol, which can endanger the lives of other road users. Previously, there were a lot of random checks made at bus terminals, and roadblocks were often held at night to detect drivers taking drugs or drunk,” he said.

Those driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs causing death or injury to others can be charged under Section 44 (1) of the same act, which carries a jail term of three to 10 years and a fine of RM8,000 to RM20,000.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• drMpower on Jan 09, 2018 at 10:29 am

It has becoming a bit of boring debate here. Its very common these days to see on the road buses and lorries speeding like demons. Lets discard the cars, vans, and superfast myvis.

Everytime a lorry crash into some other vehicle, it will not be a news until somebody dies. Inhumane it may be but this is how things are today. If the nothin serious happen everyone continues to their coffee and biscuits. Nothing to see

If someone dies, coffeing and biscuitting stop. For a while. Then continue. Nothing to see.

How many times already lorries and buses speeding and causing death? I dont need to remind us on the 2007 Bukit Gantanh crash, neither i want to refresh us all on 2013 Genting ravine crash, 1990 Karak crash, Lipid Merapoh 2003. To be honest i could go on and on but what change?

Nothing. Lee Lam Thye can scream all day till kingdom comes down. JPJ and all can say all till pigs can fly. But nothing change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • noticed more & more lorries & trucks stopped by jpj & polis for random checks, steady!

• The problem is, death from heavy vehicle eksiden is one of the lowest causes for the shooting death rate. Its like pipu saying riding on airplane is not safe cuz of a couple of planes went down, but the death count is not the main contributor. JPJ & SPAD shud instead focus on main contributors of deaths.

• Sparcov on Jan 09, 2018 at 11:17 am

How many lorry driver is foreigner?

How many lorry and bus are not road worthy but still can go through the inspection?

How many substandard, recondition tyre, spareparts to be used on commercial vechicle?

How many driver consume drug to stay awake so that they can earn more money for more trips?

How many road blocks but all lorries know in ahead and stop at the roadside or highway to avoid being caught?

How many lorries overloaded?

Despite AES, so called “installed black box”, introduction of safety standard, public campaign. Do you really think the traffic accident statistic actually going down? Those news that not reported before in the news are widely spread in social media. We all know accident happen everyday and fatality getting higher.

I often see a lot lorries tyres burst at the highway, stop at the highway without notice board, speeding on the fast lane.

Is our highway design railguard comply to international standard? do we need to review the design again? as we can see a lot car always end up on the opposite direction.

So, the last 20 years ever, have we done enough to improve public safety?

Enforcement, road user and equipments is always come together and contribute to the disaster.

• Nothing will change until the government get serious about road safety and demand that the police start hitting the driving public where it hurts….their wallets!

The driving in Malaysia is an absolute disgrace. There is no regard for the road rules but the Minister is wondering why the road death toll is so high. Is he serious ??!!

These problems can be fixed but unfortunately nobody is taking it seriously.

This is one topic I get VERY annoyed about. There will always be accidents of one kind or another, human nature unfortunately, however there would be a HUGE reduction in major and minor accidents if the authorities started to act on inept drivers. It would cost them nothing, as they would recoup any costs in fines. In fact, they would actually increase revenue.

Rant over….for now.

• Wait till u see the protests raged about AES. Even when gov is doing something, it gets shot down.

• Crooked Lady on Jan 09, 2018 at 12:32 pm

Not just the driver, but also the owner of the lorries (privately owned or corporate) and buses should they ever be found to be not road worthy. You think use tayar celup to save cost is worth it? Think again.

• Bernard on Jan 09, 2018 at 12:39 pm

The only thing constant is change but that does not apply to lorry drivers/bus drivers as they will never change…
    The punishment must be death by hanging. That will work.

• victor on Jan 09, 2018 at 12:57 pm

What is the Transport Minister and ministry doing about this?

He needs to

1) Update new traffic regulations ( done during the british time) to suit the present time, present time enforcement , present time penalties most importantly banned or conficates those non complying owners and vehicles immediately to PREVENT

(a) Double vehicles side parking in front of shops
    and residential houses whereby the 45 metre width
    roads that cannot be passed at all in both
    directions especially in KUALA LUMPUR areas
    ( b) Heavy lorries moving in residential
    inner roads with heavy loads and high speed
    (c) illegal parking at road bends , road corners
    ,junctions or intersections at residential areas
    (d) illegal road hugging whereby slow vehicles
    refuse to keep left in allowing other slightly
    faster vehicles to pass.
    (e) Motorcycles especially those below 100 c.c to
    use city roads that does not obey traffic laws
    and hence endanger other motorist and themselves
    too ( like weaving left and right at high speed ,
    passing red lights)
    (f) shortage of large road signs and warning signs
    (g) stubborn and uneducated drivers( cannot read
    road signs and undang-undang) when driving their
    vehicles.

So every car pay road tax except some motorcycles that does not . It is time , we had traffic rules like a first world country should get otherwise forever we are in a third world status and keep bragging to be first world !!..-
    It will never happen if the government does not take the lead now…..no need for whatever WAWASAN then – just talk only for siok sendiri sahaja.

it is time the government act fast ( no deli dali approach with so much talk time wasted but no action)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Victor, I wish I could give you 100 Likes for your post You are exactly right, if the Government was REALLY serious about the driving habits of Malaysians, they would have done something about it.

Even without changing any current road laws, they could start tomorrow and make an impact of how many people drive.

Even the most simple of things many people can’t do:

Indicate when changing lanes.
      Indicate when leaving a road.
      Manoeuvre a roundabout correctly
      Manoeuvre a two lane roundabout correctly (many have no idea what to do)
      Don’t go through red lights.
      Actually STOP at stop signs.
      Park properly.
      Motor bike riders to wear helmets
      Etc, etc., etc.

How many of those above do you see ALL THE TIME, everyday? Play a game while you’re driving and count how many of the above you see in only 10 minutes, you’ll be staggered by the result!

All of the above could be fixed if the traffic police did their jobs. Not enough police, then employ more. The extra wages could easy be paid by the fines recouped.

No more talk, let’s get on with this and start to save lives!!

I always recall a comment I heard a few years ago…..” Malaysians have first world facilities with third world mentality”. Well, when it comes to the roads, you can’t argue with that comment.

Wake up Malaysia, it’s time to change.

• “Be the change u want to see”
        Means pipu shud change themselves instead expecting others. Behavioural change must be primary, enforcement & punishment only secondary.

• Hi John,

Let’s be blunt, if your philosophy had merit for road use, then we wouldn’t be in the situation we are now. In general, it appears many road users are thoughtless, untrained and have basically no idea on how to behave in a vehicle.

We have got to the stage now where something has to be done to SHOCK the inept drivers to behave properly on the roads.

I am very passionate abut this topic because far too many people have been killed, maimed and became disabled or handicapped because of reckless driving. Expecting people to do some soul searching to make the change will not work, they need to suffer consequences of their driving actions.

Can’t recall if it was in the UK or Australia but they had a slogan quite a few years ago….. ..”Having a driving license is a privilege, not a right”. I totally agree with that sentiment.

If you don’t obey the road rules and refuse to drive in a sensible manner you lose your license. Then they may start to think your way when they have to earn the privilege of driving on the roads.

Thanks for the interaction.

• The problem with SHOCKING MYpipu now is, they will lash back and the internet/kopitiam fury (not to mention political sapot from other side), can turn uncontrollable and disadvantage gov. Just look at the AES hub bub.
            So its not surprising gov prefers status quo and not break the impasse. I prefer gov do it like Scandi countries, teach the kids to shame the parents when they see bad driving behaviour.

• Imelda on Jan 09, 2018 at 11:15 pm

John,

People will never behave obediently if the enforcements and laws are not strict

This is human nature !! Why first world countries people behave obediently and respect the laws ???

Answer is simple: The enforcement and laws are efficient and strict at all times to see that no whatsoever wrong doings occured at any times of the day

In Malaysia , it is always tidak apa attitude unless something happened. no proper efficient enforcement and upgrading of traffic & road ordinances currently since the British time.

• Strict? Really? Maybe in SG, yes, but if u see Scandi countries, u try to be strict and u may be the one ending up in jail instead. No, what worked in their countries is mindset change.

The ironfisted approach which worked in the past is no longer useful with “human rights”, “polis state”, “abuse of power” being shouted constantly and liberally. Mindset change is the only method that works in 21st century, unless all pipu agree to gip up some of their liberties in exchange for clamp down on any lawlessness.

• John,

I’m really struggling to understand your logic. Sorry.

You mention….“human rights”, “polis state”, “abuse of power”….nobody is advocating any such measures. All many people want, in my opinion, is that the road rules be obeyed and if any drivers flaunt the rules, as happens endlessly daily, they be fined or for repeat offenders to lose their license for a period of time.

There are laws currently in place to do that. Those laws need policing, that’s all.

You mention human rights. What happened to the rights of those who were either killed or maimed by drivers who didn’t follow the road rules?

Police the current road rules, surely that is not too much to ask for. Then start to see the gradual change in driving standards.

Thanks for the interaction.

• Drust on Jan 09, 2018 at 1:36 pm

Not only lorries and buses. Please don’t forget about spending and tailgating cars.

• Not only the driver on Jan 09, 2018 at 2:17 pm

It is not only the driver that should be blamed, many of them performing long drives with minimal rest to maximise their income.

The companies should also be liable, to ensure not to over work their drivers. The bus/lorry companies must also be liable for the maintenance and upkeep of the safety features of their vehicles. So many times I’ve seen lorry/bus tires blowing up because of the usage of re-threaded wheels!

There is this one fine example in South Australia. A lorry driver died in a crash downhill because the brakes of the lorry was not working, causing it to be out of control.

The company was found to be negligent and the owner was sentenced to 2nd degree murder.

• TheDean on Jan 11, 2018 at 8:29 am

Truthfully, the companies that run/rent out these heavy vehicles should be held accountable. There are way too many units that are horrendously unfit being driven on the roads like time bombs. In lieu thereof, penalties must be fiscally severe. The drivers should be charged by the government and optionally, the companies that hire them. Finally, there are still way too many heavy vehicles driving on the 3rd lane on NKVE at speeds above 110km/hr when their limit is a mere 80/90km… where’s the enforcement?

• TheDean, I agree with you 100%. I’m also sure that anyone who reads your post will also agree. There is no rational argument to disagree!

As you state….”where’s the enforcement?”. What percentage of these law breaking drivers are actually being picked up and booked? Obviously not enough, otherwise the flaunting of the law wouldn’t be going on at these high levels.

It actually amazes me that there is a debate about this issue. JUST ENFORCE THE ROAD RULES!

Surely that’s not too much to expect from the appropriate authorities.