Proton, Lotus terminate JV with China’s Goldstar

Proton Holdings has terminated its joint venture (JV) contract with China’s Goldstar Heavy Industrial to build and market Lotus cars in China, The Edge reports. Lotus Group International, also a party in the equity venture, has also issued a termination letter to Goldstar. In April 2015, the parties signed an agreement to accelerate the development of Lotus cars in that market.

In a filing with Bursa Malaysia, DRB-Hicom said the contract was terminated because the JV company, Goldstar Lotus Automobile, had failed to obtain the required manufacturing licence in China in time. The deadline to obtain this was September 25 last year, but it was then extended by both parties to December 31, 2017.

The licence was still not obtained despite the extension, DRB-Hicom said. It added that the parties will consider and agree on the next course of action under the equity JV contract, in accordance with Chinese laws.

The new company was established with the aim of producing and selling Lotus-branded cars, engines, parts and components as well as accessories in the republic.

Lotus Cars is of course no longer owned by DRB-Hicom. In May last year the conglomerate announced it was selling off Lotus in its entirety, with the sale to be accomplished in two blocks. In September 2017 it was announced that Zhejiang Geely Holding (ZGH) had completed the transaction for a 51% majority stake in Lotus, with 49% being held by Malaysian automotive group Etika Automotive.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jalalludin on Jan 24, 2018 at 10:53 am

Another big waste of money. Don’t forget also the tens of trips made to China. Big huge rombongan sambil belajar flying Business Class and staying in 6 star suites. Each trip few million ringgit spent.

Such a waste of money. This is why Proton is losing money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
    • Ruslan Bahari on Jan 24, 2018 at 2:45 pm

Sounds like someone is a sore loser. Put it to you this way. No business deal is signed and gets going immediately. What more in a foreign country. Those trips are the CODBs always provisioned.
      And a good businessman cuts his losses. That is what’s being done now. So pipe down and get a real job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
      • Well said, bro. U really put him in his place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
        • jibby v2.60 on Jan 24, 2018 at 4:36 pm

Too many business decisions gone bad. Goldstar, MV Augusta, VW, Lotus, Youngman, Tiara, R3, Iriz EV…. I guess its definitely not Proton mgmt’s fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
          • Not at all.
            Goldstar was a JV which never took off so din incur any losses and it was their fault, MV Augusta pulak was in deeper trouble under AMG – so u mean AMG mgmt taboleh pakai ke?, VW was a huge bullet dodged witnessing what happen during their acrimonious divorce with suzuki, Lotus pulak helped developed P1 cars & P1 ride and handling & Campro, Youngman pulak was quite a profitable venture but YM dropped the ball not P1 fault, Tiara was French car problem, R3- wait, whats the problem there?, Iriz EV too has no problems just waiting for market acceptance for a 80k Bsegment EV hatchback.
            So which is P1 mgmt fault again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Ibrahim Yaacob on Jan 31, 2018 at 3:33 pm

ya, for all these trips, we need to bring our maid, our mother in law, our son, our son in law, our gardener, our neighbour.

yes, you are very right.

• Jalalludin on Jan 24, 2018 at 10:57 am

My advice to Proton, pls don’t waste time with next course of action with this JV.

If China wanted to do business with you, it would have got the approval already. You know China…they work fast. This is a message they are not interested.

Anyway, congrats to Proton for losing Lotus. This is what Geely wanted all along.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • Ruslan Bahari on Jan 24, 2018 at 2:42 pm

What next course of action are you talking about?? Its been dissolved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Losing Lotus? You only lose something if you want to keep it. PROTON was either going to keep Lotus further away from expansion as they didn’t have the funds to put in, or let it thrive under someone else.
      The best call was selling them and getting a keen price as well. At least Lotus now will have a real chance at prospering.

• inderaloka on Jan 24, 2018 at 11:09 am

There goes Proton’s 1.28B market potential. 70k cars sold still bisnes viable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Really? Have u forgotten about Geely?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 24, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Proton Persona LHD. lelong2

• Speaking of Persona LHD, I saw a few when I was in Shanghai last month. Was really proud that time and took lotsa photos there.

• 12yrsold on Jan 24, 2018 at 11:28 am

Now that Lotus is owned by Geely, its no more P1 problem.

• Afeeq Hasan on Jan 24, 2018 at 11:56 am

So is Lotus still partially owned by Proton?

• tokmoh. on Jan 24, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Good. Time to move on. In Geely we trust.

Geely, Bao Teng, Lotus > all

• Tok Kadi on Jan 24, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Kahwin, cerai. Kahwin, cerai.

• Cian p1 kan on Jan 24, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Sejak bilo ada jv ni…kesian proton…asyik cerai je

• Aero (Member) on Jan 24, 2018 at 8:32 pm

This is the second (!) time Proton terminated their JV with Goldstar. Yet again, it happened because Goldstar took too long to obtain a manufacturing license from the Fujian state government.

The last time Proton and Goldstar ‘broke up’ (around 12 years back), Goldstar didn’t take it too well. When Proton ended up working with another company (Youngman), Goldstar actually sued Proton for breach of contract. The whole case was heard in a court in Singapore, which found Proton not at fault, since Proton had given ample time for Goldstar to obtain the license.

That was 7 years ago. Will Goldstar sue Proton again ? I want to feel sorry for Goldstar, but they didn’t seem to have learned anything in the past few years; again, they were given 2 years to get the license, and again, they failed. Proton (and Lotus) gave Goldstar a second chance, but they blew it again. There will be no ‘third chance’ after this.

From Proton’s perspective, things have never looked clearer. Proton will re-enter the Chinese market through Geely, which already has many plants in different states all over China. There will be no licensing issues and unwelcome delays. Unlike Youngman, Geely is not reckless, and unlike Youngman, Geely succeeded in rescuing their Swedish partner (Youngman tried but failed to buy Volvo’s cousin, Saab).

If Goldstar wants to sue Proton (again)… then good luck to them. They’re going to need it. A LOT of it.

• tokmoh. on Jan 25, 2018 at 4:02 pm

Google “forbes Geely” and read “If Any Chinese Car Company Will Take On The World, It’s This One”.

Believe me, it will change the way you look at Geely vs other Chinese car makers. You will understand why I have great faith in Geely family.

Proton is in good hand. In Geely we trust.

• Ollie on Jan 24, 2018 at 8:57 pm

Pitiful business for a pitiful company. Geely products destined for bargain basement garbage bin in Somalia Laos Bolivia maybe. The lowest denominator of car makers. Pitiful for the country to have this company.

• Well pitiful to Goldman but they asked for it. But yeah, i agree with u, pitiful for China to have such a scam company like Goldman. Luckily P1 went with Geely this time.