Singapore International Arbitration Centre: Proton termination of Goldstar JV contract is valid

Singapore International Arbitration Centre: Proton termination of Goldstar JV contract is validBack in late 2008, Proton had engaged in a legal tussle with its ex-partner for the Chinese market. Before Proton went to bed with Youngman for the Europestar range of cars, they actually had a JV with Goldstar Heavy Industrial Co Ltd to sell Proton cars there. Unfortunately there were hiccups along the way and Goldstar could not obtain the necessary manufacturing licenses.

Proton terminated the JV and naturally Goldstar was not happy. They went to court and the suit ended up being in arbitration in Singapore.

The result of the arbitration process is out:

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• infinity on Feb 09, 2010 at 5:16 am

Good News..anyway, how is proton's sales in China??

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:06 am

proton is…disgusting

• nudin on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:48 am

long time ago rite 2008 if im not mistaken

but 1 or 2 billion?

• kimi_ on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:54 am

WHY??? Is nation pride got onto their heads again !!!!!

What a betrayer Proton…

• aaggghh,sound complex ,reconcile is solution

• Paul Tan on Feb 09, 2010 at 7:48 am

Proton has left the Goldstar JV behind and partnered up with Youngman. I don't understand the comments about national pride?

• The China partners failed to get proper licensing, so its only natural for Proton to terminate such contracts. What national pride / betrayal are we talking about?

Lame basher dont even think before posting

• opaque on Feb 09, 2010 at 8:00 am

seems like kimi likes to give comment without reading the article. same like before

• exJAVANESE on Feb 09, 2010 at 8:05 am

to kimi

u're the basherholic…all of thing u want to bash…

such a moron on u….

• anti-morons on Feb 09, 2010 at 9:22 am

Just ignore the comment Paul.. Kimi = moron who jumps out and goes mental everytime 'Proton' is mentioned. Same goes to the Mazda MPS guy which i doubt did not own a Mazda MPS.

• Most bashers are like this:

———-

"Proton is SO stupid that they don't know what are they doing up until now, keep doing hilarious things that ppl don't like! As I saw Proton's name on the title I know it's something baad!! STFU Protonggg!!!"

Err… what was the article about?

———-

Ok if you don't you your job, you'll get fired, that's what exactly you gonna get. Otherwise ppl will say you eat blind salary (makan gaji buta), although there was nothing to eat…

• linear_system on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:15 pm

kimi…u are "super brilliant" :D

• wiraone on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:21 pm

Somehow, whatever you've on Proton .. these S_T_U_P_I_D Proton haters will just left some stupid comments without reading the content .. Kimi & Mazda 3 .. both of you show your stupidity ..

• dejavu on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Blind bashers kimi_ & Mazda3 MPS found ….

Kinda logical n rite to break ties if Goldstar failed to obtain manufacturing licence even after given extra buffer. No point engaging s'one who cant fulfill their promises, rite?

• alpha0201 on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Question here. What is Joint Venture Company? A third party link between PAC & Goldstar?

• gen2lama on Feb 09, 2010 at 5:03 pm

let him lah…'kebebasan bersuara'…he'll stop when he get his wajalancer..hope so…

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 09, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Goldstar is a company controlled by Msian Chinese, whereas Youngman is by China Chinese.

During the selection process, Chery is the right candidate, but Youngman gives the best entertainment plus plus (u know what i mean). So, the team selected Youngman.

Pls do some reading, the numbers wont lie. This is also a blunder to P1.

Youngman order = 30000

Shipment to date = 1500~2000

P1 hidup mati kena tipu sajalah, Youngman tipu, Zagroooosss Kudro pun tipu, PT Tracoma pun tipu, PT Cikarang pun kena tipu…but the best part, despite kena tipu dgn outside market, P1 still manage to tipu rakyat tempatan…..kah kah kah….

Apa cerita????

to "Eyesore" explain laaaaa mankok……

• Tiadaid on Feb 09, 2010 at 5:49 pm

kimi_ said,

February 8, 2010 @ 10:54 pm

WHY??? Is nation pride got onto their heads again !!!!!

What a betrayer Proton…

———–

Nothing to do with national pride la. Proton didn't get what they wanted to get from the Chinese market with Goldstar, so it's their right take appropriate action to ensure heir business wellbeing. If they continued then they lose money, then you bising2 say why lose money.

Pity Proton, damed if they do, them if they don't

• Eyesore on Feb 09, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Be careful with you allegation of the extra entertainment… you don't want to get sued don't you???

Well before I answer… list down what is the lies that you're talking about…. List them… you don't say what is the lies… i oso dunno what to answer….

unless you dun have any facts or proof to support your arguments… then only one thing.. you make yourself look like a fucking dumb fool bashers who claim he can enter MD office at will…..

• Q? order or target 30,000 units? if really order then that's good businese.

• Mastermind on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:51 pm

at least proton took preventive action..to ensure business expansion run on the right ways……because businessmen from China like to manipulate the foreign partner…..Even the chinese from our land also facing the problems……that is reality…So to people or company who or which like to expand their business to China make sure ur do background investigations first…….

• Funny how such a non-controversial news became so hot. Well, at least it shows that they care enough to read Proton news (or just to find some opportunity to troll).

Having said that, the result of Proton's venture there is yet to be seen or heard, so it is normal for some to jump to conclusion that if they didn't give any news, it must be not good.

I am also skeptical on this venture, with China themselves having their own car-makers & the big players drawing the big guns there. Unless Proton can corner a niche market somewhere, i don't see any huge success but perhaps the target is just to make a presence & just enough profit.

• xu wen chao on Feb 09, 2010 at 8:30 pm

30000 order? is that right? paul please check. if i'm not mistaken there's a previous post about this that youngman promise to sell 30,000 car per year but the order until now is low. but if its true, then its a good business.

to proton engineer, IMPROVE YOUR KNOWLEDGE, FOLLOW CURRENT MARKET TREND IF YOU CANNOT CREATE NEW ONE. get some respect from consumer and to the QUALITY GUY's please make sure only parts of high quality being install to the cars.

• Eyesore on Feb 09, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Still no reply the bloody bangla Hameed Koyakutti (like kutta…)? Trying hard to look for non existence facts?

• S.Roma on Feb 09, 2010 at 8:46 pm

Eyesore said,

February 9, 2010 @ 9:57 am

Be careful with you allegation of the extra entertainment… you don’t want to get sued don’t you???

——————————————————————————–

U thk neg or postive? STUPID !

That is why he said extra entertainment, it could be anything !

• S.Roma on Feb 09, 2010 at 8:47 pm

Dear All,

What proton is doing, is comom sense la. Its all about bisnes. Notin more.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 09, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Eyesore bodoh, u say since DSZ took over P1, the sales figure overtook his predecessor. So where is ur facts now??? Dump Eyesore.

Look up to the original team and compare with the team now…..semua sudah cabut n resign…..sudah kaya maaaa…..bodo eyesore..

• Eyesore on Feb 09, 2010 at 11:37 pm

S.Roma, refer to this comment by Koyakutta, "but Youngman gives the best entertainment plus plus (u know what i mean)". The way I look at it, he's suggesting that the plus plus entertainment is somekind of under the table arrangement… of cuz it can be anything. That's y I told him to be careful with his accusation. Accusing someone taking bribe is quite serious esp when it a big company like P1.

And you Koyakutta… I dun remember when I said that… but it is the truth isn't it?

latest news about P1: market share increase, quality getting better, customer satisfaction index improves…. isn't that improvement? Compared to Mahaleel regime??

And Koyakutta… still waiting for the list of lies that you claimed happen so I can answer your question… still searching the non existence facts? By sniffing like kutta?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 10, 2010 at 12:21 am

proton can and never will be independent

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 10, 2010 at 12:59 am

Eyesore, jawab la.. .http://paultan.org/2010/01/20/perodua-finishes-2009-on-top-of-the-sales-chart/
    4 consecutive years….so bila P1 under DSZ lead the sale figure??

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:02 am

So mana dia 30,000 unit??? Mana??? Mana???
    http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…

news in 2007

More Proton models for China

By LEONG HUNG YEE

TANJUNG MALIM: Proton Holdings Bhd, which is supplying Gen.2 cars to China-based Jinhua Youngman Automobile Group Ltd, is looking at exporting other models to the country in order to capture a larger market.

Head of China business Teo Aeng Kyet said Proton was negotiating with its Chinese partner to introduce different models in China.

“We have an agreement to supply 30,000 Gen.2 to Jinhua Youngman. We are also discussing with our partner to increase the order,” he told a media briefing prior to the second shipment of 348 Gen.2 to China yesterday.

“A total of 1,600 units of Gen.2 is scheduled to be shipped to China by end of next month in order to facilitate Jinhua Youngman’s sales launch programme in China,” he said.

Proton Gen.2 cars are shipped and re-badged as Eurostar in China.

He added that Proton did some minor modification to the Gen.2 to suit the local market.

To date, Proton has shipped 408 of the 30,000 units ordered by Jinhua Youngman. Proton will continue to ship 1,500 units of Gen.2 monthly over the next 20 months to fulfil the order.

• Faisal on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:04 am

i'm proud of P1!! long live P1!!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:04 am

eyesore, u put on the table now the Customer Satisfaction Index !!! Mana ?? Mana ?? Mana ??

• Mysticmind on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:04 am

Proton should sue Hameed Koyakuti.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:19 am

Mysticmind, read facts above and dissappear. No facts no talk….

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:22 am

Its funny despite all the facts i'd exposed, P1 supporters still defend P1 blindly…..

U all semua tara baca kaaaaa????

• Nerddy on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:57 am

And your source Mr Hameed Koyakuti? Not from other blog I hope…

• Eyesore on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:57 am

Hmmm…

1. I did not say that P1 will overtake P2 sales volume, NEVER.. but what i said the sales are better than the previous management….. r u trying to spin my statement???

2. 30000 units… does he said it will be shipped all those units in one year? Probably 30000 units was total figure for the duration of the contract… 7 years contact maybe… u oso dunno right? And did P1 says they goona sell 30000 units in 2007? NO! so where is the lie?????

• Nerddy on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:59 am

ooo… sorry Mr. Hameed Koyakuti. I should read further down…

• Kita Kawan Tak Mau L on Feb 10, 2010 at 2:58 am

Suda la gaduh2 apa hal… Its still our national car makers if youre not satisfied how they run their business, why dont u offer yourself as a replacement for the current management, see what you can do to turn it around… then again, its saddening to see yet another party(s) able to steal under P1 nose…

• staff on Feb 10, 2010 at 2:58 am

haha… why so emotional this Hameed guy?

You got some internal info, then go to Police station la….

Why mengadu domba? So fedup of dreaming a dream car eh?

• Neutral on Feb 10, 2010 at 4:06 am

sayang usaha dah ada,tapi hasil xberjaya.takpe,usaha lagi. P2 xdapat chance nak jual to international,setakat tu je la maximum volume pun.

kami doakan Proton akan berjaya next time.

• Eyesore on Feb 10, 2010 at 4:18 am

nah… he's just a perodua staff who claimed he can enter P1 MD office at will n look at documents….

sore loser and a bad lier IMHO…

• A'enz on Feb 10, 2010 at 5:00 am

after this he will say.. i only driving my dream car just only… only in my DREAM!! hahaha… so, what is superb about perodua-finishes-2009-on-top-of-the-sales-chart? on 2009 proton didn't sell any car eh?? hahaha…

• tokmoh on Feb 10, 2010 at 5:23 am

On customer satisfaction index:

JD Sales Satisfaction Index 2008: Proton got 747 points http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/articl…

JD Sales Satisfaction Index 2009: Proton got 771 points
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/articl…

~~~

JD Customer Satisfaction Index 2007: Proton got 713 points

JD Customer Satisfaction Index 2008: Proton got 720 points

~~~

Masuk sekolah rendah balik la Hameed Koyakuti…

Orang macam ni boleh buat kerja lagi bagus dari management sekarang ke? Harhar.

• kimi_ on Feb 10, 2010 at 6:11 am

tokmoh said,

On customer satisfaction index:

JD Sales Satisfaction Index 2008: Proton got 747 points http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/articl…

JD Sales Satisfaction Index 2009: Proton got 771 points

~~~

JD Customer Satisfaction Index 2007: Proton got 713 points

JD Customer Satisfaction Index 2008: Proton got 720 points

~~~

Masuk sekolah rendah balik la Hameed Koyakuti…

Orang macam ni boleh buat kerja lagi bagus dari management sekarang ke? Harhar.

——————————————————————–

I dont believe on the figure really….

Proton claimed the Saga BLM can get 16km/liter but the reality is how madly i try and gentle on the pedal also consider lucky if i make it on 10km/liter………

Tokmoh, you also need to go back primary school to repair your "ROJAK" language !!!!!!!!

• bmpower on Feb 10, 2010 at 6:40 am

sohai koyakutti.

balik india la deyy!

• bashbash on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:07 am

u tak percaya u punya pasal la..

i also dun believe the savvy fuel figure..

until i test it..it actually better than what they stated in the brochure..

tipu punya proton..kata save skit rupanya save minyak lagi byk..

• oldwira on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:20 am

Dear Anyone who Stupid,

At least Proton already exported 2000 units to China, and sold about 20k units annually in more than 30 countries globally, kinda they are a global player though still small. But how many units Perodua exported abroad, how many sold in Singapore and Thailand? haha what a jerk…

• nudin on Feb 10, 2010 at 10:52 am

bring back the post..

The deal involves a minimum of 30,000 Proton GEN2 CBU cars that wil be rebadged in China under the brand EUROPESTAR and eventually Youngman and Proton (through Lotus Engineering) will be developing a new range of EUROPESTAR cars together. This supply contract is for a period of 20 months from the date of the first delivery of vehicles.

just check with port klang or port that manage the shipment

and koyakutta u will know the figure if y curious to know

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 10, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Kenapa lah Eyesore ni bodoh sgt???

"1. I did not say that P1 will overtake P2 sales volume, NEVER.. but what i said the sales are better than the previous management….. r u trying to spin my statement???" – so show when does the sales volume is better than previous mgmt??

2. "…..And did P1 says they goona sell 30000 units in 2007? NO! so where is the lie????? – kenapa kau ni bodoh sgt, its a 20 mths contract, not 7 yrs….

eyesore, pls dissappear fm this blog n mingle with high level ppl…….

u summons blind basher to dissappear, i summons blind supporter like u (eyesore) to vanish…..

FYI, i cannot enter P1 MD office, but i like to read published n unpublished report, that's how u get infos…..

Nudin, hv u check with Port Klang report?? What they say???

• Eyesore on Feb 10, 2010 at 4:22 pm

sorry late to reply on the customer satisfaction index…but since Tokmoh already did that… thanks….

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 10, 2010 at 5:55 pm

tolol ka lu dua orang, dont know how to read the JD survey report ka???

Every year the criteria taken in consideration changes. So, any incremental in the index does not reflect a true increment in customer satisfaction.

JD survey needs to be read by comparing current year index minusing the industry std. Yes, total y-o-y index for P1 increase but if u minus the industry std, P1 no improvement.

Haiyaa, bodohnya tokmoh n eyesore, suka cut n paste but dont know the meaning….

….and pls dont bring up Frost & Sullivan figures coz they are the service provider for P1. They claim that their figure is without prejudice and independent, but for the sake of argument with me, pls dont use their figure yaaaa….

• nazri on Feb 10, 2010 at 6:18 pm

orang malas cam ni la..

1: bila tak dpt beli kereta salahkan gomen, kete mahal.. semua mahal…

2: bila T jual facelift kete mahal salahkan tax

3: bila p2 takde export kete salahkan org lain juga..

4: bila pedal minyak sekat salahkan tikar getah

bila nk salahkan diri sendiri??

• tokmoh on Feb 10, 2010 at 6:41 pm

kimi_ : How ignorant can you be? Those figures are results from independant studies by 3rd party, JD Power Asia Pacific.

Well, whatever. Too lazy to further this pointless argument.

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Whether it is Motoring Industry, Manufacturing, Mamak-ing and et-cetera, all follow the Construction Industry methodology. There's a Client, Contractor/Supplier and there's this what we called as "middleman" (tongkat ali baba) that makes money from thin air.

Maybe option A did not comply to "middleman" needs.

But, option B willing to collaborate, so they won it.

Simple as that. There's no concept of "earnest" living (honest living) in this world anymore. Halal or haram, everything goes. Got it?

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:40 pm

Owh yeah, recently I visited a no-tax land of Langkawi and Labuan. Even the "kampung" folks over there can drive Mitsubishi Grandis CBU, Mitsubishi Lancer GT, BMW 3 series and only the really-really poor folks drives Proton or Perodua. Guess what, they only work "hard" as government servant and open some small restaurant that works "hard" in the afternoon only. You see, when the country's resources is manage properly (without misuse and bribery), everybody is making money. Poor people over there can still drive a car, that's a huge difference in KL where poor people have to drive kapchais (motorcycle), get it? Hahaha, and the rest of the normal "professional" and "executives" at KL drives Proton and Perodua. Meanwhile, those super rich "professional" can only drive Honda or Toyota or BMW while in fact they could have own Buggati Veyron, Brabus and Ferrari.

Plain ignorant people (as shown by some comments above) will have a hard time understanding some of these economic logic and explanations.

• Eyesore on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:57 pm

well… tokmoh there's no point argue with ignorant and bias ppl like kimi n koyakutta…

even survey from independent 3rd party like JD Power also said to be wrong… what else to be said… later they'll say P1 paid the JD power ppl to give good ratings.

So Koyakutta… based on your so called right way of calculating the Customer Satisfaction Index… whats P1 marks and whats P2 marks? Figure….. not just a statement like P1 no improvement p2 a lot of improvement… that will be baseless and sounds dumb…

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 10, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Aikkk, u started with presenting JD survey report, now u are questioning their criteria…??? apa ni???

Eventhough i am also against P2, but if u look n xperience P2 service, u'll notice the diff.

I'm not bias n i'm not ignorant, my argument is based on facts…facts… and i present my case n arguing yours….

of coz u r lazy to continue the pointless argument becoz your argument is pointless and baseless…if u calculate the index VS industry std, the improvement will plot n M chart, which explain – no significant improvement + no consistency + naik turun

• Eyesore on Feb 10, 2010 at 10:55 pm

Lol in your dreams SY0H…. It's No-Tax land… obv those cars will a lil bit cheaper… duh… you thought govt server dun earn much eh? With recent increase in salary for the gomen ppll… they gaji r even higher than starting salary of a fresh graduate engineer… so apa nak heran the can buy merc or mitsu at no tax??? Without tax ppl in Kl can by Ferari n Burgatti Veyron??? I wonder what kind of wet dreams you r having now?? With Tera Patrick n Baby Rina in it???????????????

• FarredBurn on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:43 am

Hameed Koyakuti oooo Hameed Koyakuti

improvement + achivement = Proton

2000-Waja (first 100% designed by our local people)

2003- first engine Campro

2008- Campro CPS (125hp)..compare wif Mazda3 laaa

2009- first Malaysian mpv

Perodua = 0

nothing to be proud of

(=.=)"

• mcm ni laa org kita ish3…

bru pkai avanza ngn myvi dah mula nk hina proton ish3…masing2 bjet dorg Jimmy Clarkson ish3….

haish…kalu la proton xde…org kite gak yg susah….ish3

kcian proton…xwat enjin kata xinovatif bila da wat kata underpower

ak rasa org yg bash2 ni ckp berdasarkn khabar angin jee laa…ish3

• Victim on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:12 pm

Proton? Owh nooo!!! please…