Nissan has revealed that its second-generation Leaf electric vehicle is set to be launched in seven markets in Asia/Oceania over the course of the coming year. The vehicle will be introduced in Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Hong Kong, South Korea as well as Australia and New Zealand.
The announcement was made earlier today at a Nissan Futures symposium in Singapore, a three-day event engaging in various discussions about how to create a sustainable future through vehicle electrification and how to make advanced driving technologies more accessible, under the theme The Future of Mobility – Electrification and Beyond.
According to Nissan regional senior VP Yutaka Sanada, the introduction falls in line with the automaker’s aim to bring the second-gen zero-emission vehicle to as many markets as possible. He added that the company is studying demand in Indonesia and the Philippines for the vehicle’s next launch phase.
For Malaysia, the Leaf is expected to make its way in towards the end of Q4 this year, reaffirming the announcement made late last year that the EV was to be launched here in 2018.
Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) sales and marketing director Chris Tan revealed to paultan.org that the plan is to give the car its first public showing at the 2018 Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show (KLIMS 18) in November, with pre-sales events set to follow after that.
Pricing has not been determined, and it remains to be seen how much it go for. As previously mentioned, the Leaf would have to be locally assembled in order to qualify for incentives under the current Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) scheme, so ETCM would either have to invest in its assembly plants to build the car as a CKD, or work out a deal with the government to avoid a hefty price tag that a CBU electric vehicle would be strapped with.
To recap, the new Leaf features significant gains in performance and range over the first-gen model, with the electric motor now producing 38% more power and 26% more torque at 110 kW (148 hp) and 320 Nm respectively. A higher-capacity 40 kWh lithium-ion battery also increases its operating range on the New European Driving Cycle (NEDC) to 378 km from the 195 km of the original (later, 250 km).
Domestic Japanese deliveries of the Leaf, which was unveiled in September 2017, began in October last year, followed by the US and Canada in January. The car is set to be launched in in Europe this month, and will eventually be available in more than 60 markets worldwide.
GALLERY: Nissan Leaf at Nissan Futures symposium, Singapore
Hmm.
A US mari Treeletrik at Rm66,000
or
A Jepunis Leaf at RM280,000
Definitely at the Kuala lumpur International Motor Show
all new Sylphy 1.8T
First generation Leaf came in at RM200k. This is despite Gomen then pushing people to buy EV and Hybrid.
No logic. Gomen pushing people to buy Hybrid and EV but they don’t give ETCM special pricing to sell the car cheaper.
I hope gomen is sensible this time.
Other countries, Gomen even give subsidy for people to buy EV Leaf. Nearly half the car is paid by foreign gomens.
Why gov need to subsidise the rich? Nanti u complain pulak. Oh wait.. i see what ur game is…
If poorfag, this is perfect for u https://paultan.org/2018/02/06/treeletrik-t-mv7-electric-lorry-priced-from-rm66000/
Nissan Note e-Power is more interesting one. Should seriously considering it to bring in here.
I have the same mindset but… TC seems not interested :(
don’t be so sure…….cause you will find yourself in for a pleasant surprise….
Yup, im waiting for tis model too. E-power lools promising.
“the Leaf would have to be locally assembled in order to qualify for incentives under the current Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) scheme, so ETCM would either have to invest in its assembly plants to build the car, or work out a deal with the government to avoid a hefty price tag that a CBU electric vehicle”
Picture if you’re Nissan, and you want a centralised multi-million dollar production hub for making your electric cars in ASEAN and you can choose one, would you choose Thailand? where the EEV policy is clearer, market demand is bigger, and labour cost are on average, lower. Or you could choose Malaysia, where EEV policy is as clear as Genting after a morning rain, market demand is roughly halved of that of the land of smile, and labour cost are on average, 20% higher (2016).
Well thats up to debate, but Nissan has two CKD plants versus only one in Thailand so Take That! Mr Sawadikap. Also if all else fails, Ever glorious Geely and China will create everlasting prosperity into our land, pouring rivers of RMB into peoples factories across the Peninsula.
Too expensive to own 1.
If it’s price below 100k I’ll buy 1
Heres just perfect for u https://paultan.org/2018/02/06/treeletrik-t-mv7-electric-lorry-priced-from-rm66000/#comments
If that has a exterior of a Nissan leaf I don’t mind. I get the treeletrik chassis and u sponsor me nissan leaf body?
No problem. Heres some clay, u can mold whatever body u want.
wow, if Tan Chong can CKD and sell this for less than RM120k, it will sell like hot cakes.
Sure can. CKD version will be on sale in 2050.
Range of 378km ia still way too short unless Nissan invests in more charging stations. Nissan needs to reach European standard in range such as 600 km and above. It also needs to ensure European standards of charging time (<30 minutes). Otherwise this car wont sell well. Imagine driving from KL to Penang and you run out of charge midway? What do you do? Does it come equipped with a mobile charger? All these are important factors besides just the price. Hope a Tan Chong cyber trooper can clarify this?
Wait a minute European Standard? Not American?
The only European EV to boost better range is the Reault Zoe, by 50km. The rest are all dominated by American made Teslas and Chevy Bolt.
KL to Penang is 293km. With the new Leaf’s range of 378km, you’ll easily make it, and still have enough charge for a drive around the island.
Can TCM tahan till end of the year? No replacement/facelift for their current lineup as far as I can see…
The new Nissan Leaf goes on sale in Japan in October, priced from 3,150,360 yen (RM123,222)
Century sprint 10.8 second
Top speed 152 kmh
Oh yes please more electric vehicles is needed to kick-start the electric revolution. I only come to paultan just to check on news about electric vehicles in Malaysia. Too bad so little of the articles can be found.
Also when is Malaysia government gonna give a serious take about electrification? I have heard no policy or plan whatsoever. Or maybe I haven’t dig enough? I mean, I can already start seeing news on the web about India and some other countries going full electric by 20xx, when’s Malaysia?
If they haven’t even planned for this, implementation is gonna be much much later than that. I really hope my 6 years old myvi can hold on till I get an electric car under 100k in a few years. Yes I’d totally be ok if a sub 100k electric car in Malaysia gonna have small battery and mileage as a start. Coz if you never start, don’t even mention progress!
Right now its up to car brands to push at their time. Our market not big enuff to force them switchover, but its coming rapidly.
Gov has initiatives for them to CKD hybrids/EV/PHEV and working with Greentech on private cars. They oso starting to use more EV buses althou mucho exp.
Charging infra is another problem, but Mesidis has opened their stations to other brands now. Hopefully others r just as generous.
And for below RM100k, its not so soon. Market havent fully accepted hybrids/EV cuz they see RV like shiet so even if can get <100k, may not be hot enuff to sustain. But u can get this https://paultan.org/2018/02/06/treeletrik-t-mv7-electric-lorry-priced-from-rm66000/
So far I have seen 1 Renault Zoe in my housing area and yes… it’s zipping here and there… morning breakfast, lunch, supermarket, dinner… mostly close by areas. Unfortunately the price is ard RM145K++. Maybe he / she got it at a discount. This Zoe would have been a great success if it’s sub 100k. It’s basically the closest thing to a Myvi electrified version so far.
Is there a current Leaf owner that can share on how much his / her Leaf is doing like in terms of RM XXX per KM in Malaysia roads because I can’t find any comparison chart of Leaf against lets say a normal 1.8 L engines. If Paultan.org can get one of those fellas for a comparison usage and cost maybe it should put a clearer picture to us all on how much savings we can get from an EV or are petrol cars here still cheaper to run and maintain?
Anyone who can & willing to spend that much on a ETCM Leaf wun be around here.