2018 Suzuki Swift launched in Thailand – 1.2L CVT, 23 km/l Phase 2 eco car, priced from RM62k

The new Suzuki Swift has been launched in Thailand. Like the previous-generation Swift that we’re familiar with, the 2018 Swift is an eco car in the Kingdom, which means that it’s powered by a 1.2 litre engine and is affordably priced.

The K12M “Dualjet” engine makes 83 PS and 103 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. The MPI engine with auto start-stop is E20 compatible and is mated to a CVT automatic gearbox – there’s no base manual option.

That’s less power than before, but the new Swift is a Phase 2 eco car that meets the more stringent 23 km/l fuel economy and 100 g/km CO2 emissions requirement. The previous model was a Phase 1 eco car that had to meet 20 km/l and 120 g/km levels. The Swift is a featherweight B-segment hatchback, weighing in at 875-910 kg.

In Thailand, the Swift will take on fellow eco car hatchbacks like the Mazda 2, Mitsubishi Mirage, Nissan March and market leading Toyota Yaris. Four trim levels are available – GA, GL, GLX, GLX-Navi – priced from 499,000 baht (RM61,762) to 629,000 baht (RM77,836).

That’s a fair bit more than what Perodua charges for the Myvi, which tops out at 1.5 litres and comes with more equipment than the range-topping Swift. Begs the question of whether Malaysians are as deprived as we seem to think, car-wise.

Speaking of equipment, the base Swift GA is rather sparse – two speakers, no vanity mirrors, no rear hand grips, no rear power windows, no central locking/remote, reflector halogen headlamps, steel wheels – although there are two airbags ABS and ESP.

The 609,000 baht (RM75,373) GLX is more like it, with things such as leather wrapped telescopic steering, steering audio buttons, cruise control, keyless entry and push start, auto air con, six speakers, meter LCD panel, fog lamps, LED DRLs and projector LED headlamps as standard, among other goodies.

The GLX wears 16-inch alloys (an inch larger) and a sportier exterior with a red line on the grille. Going all the way to the GLX-Navi will net one a seven-inch touchscreen head unit with navigation, Apple CarPlay and MirrorLink.

No chance of the new Swift (and the freshly turbocharged Swift Sport) coming to Malaysia of course, with Suzuki having left our market in 2016.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• (Like) Suzuki Swift.
    (Dislike) Daihatsu Sirion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
  • 1.2L and smaller hatchback alredi RM62k.
    Meanwhile 1.5L much bigger Almari can get RM65k.

Who says MY is exp must be hallucinating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
    • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 09, 2018 at 3:30 pm

Just because you are rich and think RM62k is small money, does not mean it is the same for others.

Many even find RM20k a lot of money. We don’t have easy paying jobs like you. Just go online, write stuff, can earn so much of money

Many of us hope cars can be reduced by 30% as promised to us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
      • Such unbelievable bollocks! How anyone gonna reduce car prices when its alredi cost Rm62k?
        U want an immediate price down? Easy. Get a Rm42k Iriz. Theres ur price reduction. So stop complaining.

• https://paultan.org/2017/03/21/more-than-70-of-local-university-grads-choose-to-buy-foreign-vehicles-rather-than-the-national-car-proton/

• Peter on Feb 09, 2018 at 3:47 pm

Local grads prefers to get Jazz and City 80K above. Honda ma..

• So whats this nonsense about cars being exp? Thats just fake news!

• Hmm you must be forgetting that Jazz, 208, Fiesta all retailing in Malaysia for sub RM75k to RM95k if we compare apple to apple. No price reduction since 2013 promise:)

• https://paultan.org/2017/09/07/honda-city-hybrid-over-rm100k-without-tax-breaks/

• Samuel Nata on Feb 09, 2018 at 3:53 pm

Lol, of course cannot compare with our weak ringgit now. If you were to make it 1:1, it is actually about RM50k for the base model. We used to enjoy over 1:1 exchange rate until oil price dropped and the 1MDB scandals broke; Ringgit never really recovered. Car increased in Thailand? Actually is our ringgit weakened!!!! DRB Hicom can prove otherwise by reintroducing Suzuki in Malaysia maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • kzm (Member) on Feb 09, 2018 at 7:47 pm

weakened? don’t u read new for the past year?

• Weak RM? Pls reset ur timezone to Feb 2018. Rm is now <3.9. As PT has wisely put it: "Begs the question of whether Malaysians are as deprived as we seem to think, car-wise."

• 12yrsold on Feb 09, 2018 at 4:14 pm

Thanks but no thanks. I’ll stick to my Myvi that is cheaper & better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • “Begs the question of whether Malaysians are as deprived as we seem to think, car-wise.”
    Words of wisdom, Danny. Thank you Paul Tan for proving one by one that all those bashing comments r FAKE NEWS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Thank you Paul Tan and team for doing so much research and proving that all those negative comments r fake news.

Let us always spread truth. Lets celebrate the triumph of light over darkness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • Bernard on Feb 09, 2018 at 6:41 pm

The Swift is a far better car than Myvi even with less equipment. Hence the higher price.

• Sick&tired on Feb 09, 2018 at 9:55 pm

I am not sure if it’s done intensionally, but you failed to mention that the Thai bhat is doing much better compared to the ringgit. That’s why car’s in Thailand are more expensive compared to Malaysia. At one time, the ringgit was higher than Thai bhat. How I miss those times.

• Kuinosan on Feb 10, 2018 at 3:22 pm

Suzuki new model Swift you say? Open your eyes guys, it’s the same old model for the past 2 generations. Suzuki just tweaked the lights and some superficial cosmetics from the original model all through the years. Yet they are charging at these ridiculous price. They must have already achieved and exceeded their economies of scale by now for this model, and should be selling them at much much cheaper prices.
    Come on smart car buyers, stop buying these junks. We have the power to make these lazy and greedy carmakers offer better cars by buying only new and modern models. When the foolish buying stops, they will stop producing recycled models over and over, just like The Vios!

• Small car with high price even good specs but price almost almira

• vejoyce on Oct 18, 2018 at 12:07 am

model 2018 swift