Foreign workers and expatriates who repeatedly commit traffic offences run the risk of being deported

The immigration department is mulling a proposal to deport foreign workers and expatriates who repeatedly flout traffic rules. It is hoped that the move will curb errant driving behaviour and ensure that foreigners who are in the country abide by the country’s laws, The Star reports.

According to immigration department director-general Datuk Seri Mustafar Ali, the department had received a proposal by the road transport department (JPJ) to deport foreigners who continuously commit traffic violations.

Common traffic offences committed by foreigners while in Malaysia include speeding, running the red light, driving without a licence and utilising a vehicle without a valid road tax.

“We were told that there are some foreigners who are repeat and habitual traffic offenders. This needs to be dealt with seriously. We cannot have people come to our country and flout our laws,” he said, adding that the department had the authority to make such a move.

“Before we issue a repatriation order, we will get the JPJ and prosecutors to present their case. If they have a strong reason to ask the Immigration to revoke the person’s visa or permit, then we will,” he explained. He added that while the number of offenders was still low, the matter was nonetheless being viewed seriously.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Well said. But what about enforcement by the authorities? Action speaks louder than words.

• Banglaman on Feb 13, 2018 at 12:10 pm

My countrymen always follow traffic rules. We understand we not immune from enforcement by the authorities. Malaysia Bolih!

• Albert Yong on Feb 13, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Mat Rempit problem also still cannot solve.

Federal highway motorbikes using car lanes also still cannot solve. Every thousands of motorbikes riding on car lanes and blocking cars.

Now they want to go after foreign workers? Basic pun tak boleh, want to hunt down foreigners?

• This article clearly not targeting Bangla. It is targeting at rich Singaporean drivers who think money can solve everything. I would suggest whipping instead of fine.

• pxp154 on Feb 13, 2018 at 4:27 pm

Agree, nothing much by authorities on this, just talk, talk & more talks… set an example

• How about locals drive suka suka ?
      apply the law on everyone please!

• jayevar on Feb 13, 2018 at 11:59 am

this is a big problem in penang. i hope state govt can also do smthg

• Also please prosecute many other using retrofitted High Beam Lights and dark tinting which is getting more of a nuisance these days.

• khyeoh on Feb 13, 2018 at 12:28 pm

Dear Mr JPJ
    Please enforce, we are sick and tired of listening to all these. Take dractic action and not finding fault with the public over small small issues.

• Bernard on Feb 13, 2018 at 12:30 pm

How come you cant take the same strict approach with regards to Mat Rempits who have been flouting the law for decades?? You can easily identify them, throw them in prison and destroy their motorcycles. Can?

• awg1031 on Feb 13, 2018 at 12:31 pm

I greatly doubt this..everyday offences in broad daylight also don’t want to catch..blah la

• Zuchie on Feb 13, 2018 at 2:31 pm

Tough job for authorities to hide in monsoon drain & flyover to do enforcement..

• That serious?

Maybe they should consider better traffic management approach first before taking such drastic measures.

I am sure most of us have noticed the “new” bicycle lane in KL city centre. the cycle lane goes in and out of the road to the pavement and at some places from the left side of the road to the right side and not forgetting the tight curves that you have to take between the trees at some places. appalling !!

• Once they flash a 100 SGD or 50 USD note…they will just say ‘ Next time don’t do it ya…’

• What about Mat Rempit?

• just heavily fine them or impound their vehicle. NO need to deport for common offence. If this happens it will be another world record for Malaysia!

• komarad on Feb 13, 2018 at 3:10 pm

risk only no certainty yet…

• Ben Yap on Feb 13, 2018 at 3:45 pm

deport those big investors and they pulled out from malaysia only our government regret the actions. we need these people to drive our economy.

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 13, 2018 at 3:51 pm

Local rempits are the biggest repeat and habitual traffic offenders, why exclusively to after foreigners? Low hanging fruits?

See rempits on a daily basis run red lights, weave in & out of lanes dangerously, speeding, illegal parking, illegal U-turn, dangerously overtaking, riding more than 2 persons, threats & intimidations of other road users ….

Jangan lah asyik buat dunno ngan rempit. Asyik ketuk pemandu kereta akan, kami pun rasa macam anak tiri. Kami serba salah tapi anak kesayangan si-rempit, serba tak bersalah. Macam ayah tak langsung sayang kami.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Feb 13, 2018 at 4:56 pm

You know when the economy is bad, everyone is doing their work and enforcing things now ;)

• Meaning to say SG economy has alwiz been bad, huh?

• YJ Chia on Feb 13, 2018 at 10:16 pm

How do u claim the economy is bad? Highest EPF dividend in two decades, since 1997!! Local economy in outperforming!

• barry on Feb 13, 2018 at 6:31 pm

is JPJ on drug or dreaming? it has been going on for years and still on going. i tolong you, you tolong i , semua setel. apa enforcement?

• whatevar on Feb 14, 2018 at 8:29 am

vep pun tangguh 10 kali…sembang