Is it an end of the “booth babes” at motor shows?

Formula 1 isn’t the only thing that is saying goodbye to the supporting cast of ladies that have been a fixture at its events over the years. The auto industry looks set to follow the route taken by motorsports – which is ending the use of its “grid girls” from this season on – by moving towards discontinuing the use of female models as display props at motor shows, Bloomberg reports.

According to the business news agency, a number of car companies will not be utilising “booth babes” – usually dressed in titillating fashion – as part of their display operations at the upcoming Geneva Motor Show, which takes place next week.

The response taken by establishments and automakers look to be very much dictated by the growing global #MeToo movement against sexual harassment, and looks to be marking a change in perspective in an industry that has long pandered to male customers by using attractive women to sell cars, the report adds.

Korean automaker SsangYong is one of these companies – it said that it will be switching to male and female models dressed in sportswear to promote its vehicles. Lexus, meanwhile, confirmed that it will not be using any models altogether at the Swiss show, and Fiat Chrysler Automobiles (FCA) has reportedly canceled contracts with several female models over concerns about being criticised on #MeToo.

Not every company is ditching the gals wholesale, but they will certainly be cutting back on how things are presented – Toyota and Nissan said that that their girls won’t be dressed in flirtations fashion. “Times have changed. It makes more sense to use product specialists because we’re selling cars,” said Nissan spokeswoman Sara Jenkins.

This approach is also being taken by FCA, which stated that its Maserati, Jeep and Alfa Romeo displays will feature both men and women, the latter in less flesh-exposing garb than in previous shows.

The switch away from the norm highlights the ripple effect the #MeToo movement is having on industries well beyond its Hollywood roots. More importantly, the move away from this perceived sexism should go down well with the auto industry’s changing customer base, as more women become car buyers.

According to the report, the percentage of women owning a car in the UK jumped by 66% in the past decade as of 2016, while in Germany, Europe’s biggest car market, women constitute about a third of all new car customers. The figure is slightly higher in France, at 37%.

All this, of course, in Europe and the US. Closer to home, it will be interesting to see if changes will come about in Thailand and Indonesia – if it does, it will mean the end of Danny Tan’s seminal show-ending posts. What do you think of the move to slowly do away with the “booth babes?” Do you think that that not having ladies around will take away from the charm of a motor show?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• It would surely Make the Car Show less Entertaining.

Beauties are to “Relax” the Eyes after seeing Cars with 4 wheels here ,there and everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 40
    • Parks on Mar 02, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Male and female beauties should be hired.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 02, 2018 at 10:05 pm

u want to relax ur eyes just go out of city n see nature

• BS lah you. Auto shows should be more inclusive, families make trips to these kind of events too. About time they stop using ‘booth babes’, perhaps the models can switch to better careers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Of course. I never heard someone buy certain car due to booth babe attractiveness. pretty salesgirl maybe.

Proton used to hire miss universe from few countries as duta. Looks how things have worked out so far for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 42
    • John Lebai on Mar 02, 2018 at 6:36 pm

Yes Miss Australia did promote Proton Preve years ago. Sales tetap teruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • Hotbod on Mar 02, 2018 at 7:01 pm

Even Miranda Kerr can’t save P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
        • Jamaluddin Jaafar on Mar 02, 2018 at 7:53 pm

I suggest Proton use Ladyboys to promote their cars. This will attract more ladyboys to buy the Iriz.

Real men buy macho cars like 2018 Perodua Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
          • Saw a 2018 Perodua Myvi totally smashed in a eksiden at Connaught hiway yesterday. Real macho men but sucky driving ethics. I prefer safer ladyboy drivers instead.

• Miranda who?

• sam123 on Mar 02, 2018 at 6:56 pm

A true car fan wun attend motorshows simply becuz to ogle at babes. Hope there r more like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
    • Jamaluddin Jaafar on Mar 02, 2018 at 7:45 pm

This was the biggest joke ever. This is how money was wasted. At the end of the day, sales kosong.

Even our own neighboring country, in 2016, Proton only sold a grand total of 1 car. But maintained showroom and staff amounting to millions of ringgit in cost.

• Kuntak on Mar 05, 2018 at 9:39 am

Errr… What’s this is all about again???

• Ya ya. As compared to ur toyota using Super GT girls yet lost 50% market share in 1 year. Lolz!

• digidigi on Mar 02, 2018 at 4:10 pm

support, bad news to those showgirl however, they have less and less income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • If the models are smart, they can get jobs based on brainpower instead of body measurements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Jasonx on Mar 06, 2018 at 9:50 am

It’s exactly the lack of brainpower… That they use body… Duh. If got better paying job who will want to go let a bunch of wolves ogle at

• Typing Driver on Mar 02, 2018 at 4:11 pm

The girls need to make a living. Bring the jobs back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 15
    • Go work in fast food, or airlines, or banks, or any other million types of jobs. Don’t imply that is their only career choice.

• Bernard on Mar 02, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Do away with the cars, bikes, guys but please retain the girls….just my opinion:)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 7
    • Vincent Ang on Mar 03, 2018 at 1:53 pm

May God Bless your kind soul man.

• Sgt Scoop on Mar 03, 2018 at 7:48 pm

Hahaha, have a girl show with a few sexy cars?

• BS, you are not even fit to comment here. Not a true car fan and a horribly misguided misogynistic commentor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Teoh Wei Yang on Mar 02, 2018 at 4:51 pm

Not just Anna Kendrick, we all have #MeToo.

• Rooney on Mar 02, 2018 at 4:57 pm

Feminist politics at play here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • hotwheels on Mar 02, 2018 at 5:08 pm

sign….it’s a sad day guys…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • My mind says yes..but my heart is saying NO!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • 12yrsold on Mar 02, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Motor shows without the babes is like eating Spaghetti without the sauce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 16
    • Peter on Mar 02, 2018 at 7:47 pm

Just like many guys prefer taking crowded LRT

• Motor shows without babes but still attracting high attendance means everyone is 100% focused on the cars, which should be number one objective for any motor show. Also, saves more cost for automakers during events.

• Vincent Ang on Mar 02, 2018 at 5:47 pm

The automotive world just came to an end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
  • melcos on Mar 02, 2018 at 5:55 pm

just put the girls back..nothing wrong, men just want to buy car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 14
  • MusangKing 2 on Mar 02, 2018 at 8:00 pm

No need beauties. Save the money…..This can avoid jealous girl friend incident.
    We guys are there for the cars. The girls are just obstructing the view of the entire car.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 02, 2018 at 8:38 pm

one minute say no job opportunities…then next minute u reduce job opportunities…apalagiwanitamau

• DonkeyKong on Mar 02, 2018 at 9:24 pm

There are women who enjoy being models at such events. Tell those unattractive undesirable feminist slobs to hug their cats and go cry in some safe space somewhere and leave testosterone-charged events alone.

• Meh wan on Mar 02, 2018 at 9:28 pm

Do you think in Thailand auto shows they use ‘female’ models?

• put male model…i like guy

• Drew Peacock on Mar 03, 2018 at 8:20 am

What’s the world coming to ~~~??

The majority of people attending car shows are men. The majority of men like to look at pretty ladies. It merely adds to the overall enjoyment of the day. There is nothing sleazy about it at all.

Another win for the “anti enjoyment” movement.

• johnnas on Mar 03, 2018 at 10:31 am

Bad news for fappers..

• Jobless on Mar 03, 2018 at 11:12 am

Those #MeToo just killed other people jobs and rights. What’s wrong with those ladies make a living to show off their beauty?
    Can I say I want my job back, and #MeTooJobsBack.

• This is what you get when you bow to feminist and sjw.

• Love the babes but understand the concern for them being exploited and the potential negative effects on sexist attitudes and actions. What if they wore more modest clothes and trained for and given the role of promoters/sales rep who actually know stuff about the vehicles? It will be a win-win for all. Being beautiful and being respected for substance can exist together. Just need someone to find the middle ground on the issue here and make it work.

• Sgt Scoop on Mar 03, 2018 at 7:52 pm

It all seems a bit old fashioned to me. I wonder about the economics of it. If the girls help to attract buyers, they are doing their job. The question is; do they attract buyers?

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 04, 2018 at 12:28 am

Well, if the leftist, politically correct brigade, feminist has anything to say, then sadly, Yes.

• Holofanboi on Mar 04, 2018 at 12:53 am

Im gonna miss the girls thats for sure. Oh well.

Time for ripped, muscly manly man in tight thongs to flex next to an AMG!!!

“You may not be able to get 6 packs like me, so why not drive a V6 for the ladies?”

Wonder if we’ll have harassment issues from the ladies instead…

• Holofanboi on Mar 04, 2018 at 12:55 am

Oh and thanks to paultan crew for the uploads! Those heavy make-up may be puke inducing, but tits be tits!

*Frantically saves selected images in ‘veeeery private’ folder*

• We should replace them with robots… Sexy Female robots!!!

• Who’s the guy dude so jelly the girls making a living out of modelling at car shows making up all these #metoo ni??!!!

• Disgruntled Iriz Driver on Mar 04, 2018 at 6:47 pm

It’s okay, most of you only see Booth babes at Thailand motorshows, and many of those were men anyway.

No real loss here! people go to the events to look at car features, the Life and Hometown are ‘side’ priorities at best (props to those that catches the latter parts of my sentence)

• LOK CHYI YEU on Mar 04, 2018 at 8:04 pm

This models and model company just loose more jobs. Thanks to the so call social justice warriors.

• Alex Temple on Mar 06, 2018 at 1:53 am

“Booth babes” are a neanderthal idea that should be consigned to the dustbin of history. No surprise that 3rd world mentalities support it though. Such people are still in the dark ages. Sad.