Proton Persona – one man’s tale of love at first sight

For many people, a car is seen largely as a means of transportation, something to serve mobility needs and nothing more. For some though, a car represents something deeper and more personal. To these folk, the choice that was made is an extension of the self – there is pride and joy, and in many cases, there is love.

Where Ku Mohd Azrie Ku Azizan is concerned, there’s no question about the sentiment he has for his ride, a Proton Persona that he bought in 2017– it is affinity, and a deep-rooted one at that.

“I have tested and driven so many cars before, but if you were to compare between the price, handling and safety features that’s being offered, nothing can beat a Proton,” he explained.

“I fell in love with the new Persona the first time I saw the model. It was love at first sight. By just looking at the design, it has a modern touch with bold edges around its face making it look forceful and strong,” said the 28-year-old, who hails from Sungai Petani, Kedah.

The English language lecturer at a local community college in Kedah said that his new Persona doesn’t only help him with the daily chores, it has also made him new friends by helping him connect with other Persona owners all across the country.

“Together with a few other founding members, we created PROVOC officially on November 4, 2016. As a Proton car enthusiast, it has always been my dream to gather a group of people who are passionate about their cars. To me, a club functions as a platform to socialise and share ideas and views. Together, we help find or create awareness to solutions on various issues while we adapt to the modern features of the car,” he said.

Azrie, who had his first experience behind the wheel of a Proton in 2010 when he bought a Proton Savvy from a used car dealership, said he was impressed with the progress made by the automaker as was shown through the Persona.

“When it comes to safety, compared to the previous models, Proton has really improved a lot, especially in paying attention to the smallest details to ensure it builds a car that is fun to drive. I really do love Proton as it is makes good ride and handling cars that drivers will appreciate, whilst being safe and affordable. I like that the company has evolved so much in terms of providing good safety features in the cars it builds,” he stated.

Azrie said that he had always recommended or encouraged people to buy Proton cars. “I have recommended Proton models many times to my friends and even my girlfriend, who is my wife now. What I can say is, all of them are satisfied with their cars,” he enthused.

“My wife is currently driving a first batch Proton Iriz model. The car is not just a vehicle for us, but a little more than that. What’s so special about the car? Well, the Iriz has witnessed the most memorable moment of our journey together so far – I proposed to my wife in front of the car,” he explained

“As a Malaysian, I am proud and lucky to drive a car that is designed and built by our own people. I really do enjoy driving a Proton and will continue driving a Proton in the future. I also hope that other people will also enjoy driving their Proton cars,” he added.

Asked which Proton model he would like to drive if given the chance, Azrie said that he would love to get behind the wheel of a Proton Suprima S with a manual gearbox.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Azman Hashim on Mar 08, 2018 at 8:52 pm

I had nearly every Proton that has come out. From the first Saga 1.5 Istimewa to Iswara to Wira to Waja to Gen2 to Persona and so on. I was once very patriotic and loved my national car so much.

I can tell you one thing about Proton cars….you buy the car for RM50k, in 7 years, you would have already paid another RM50k on repairs. And this is despite the continuous warranty claims.

Then, I changed to Honda City Idsi. In 7 years, my service and repair bills totalled RM5000. That is all. Hardly any repairs. Just service bills

Rm50k vs RM5k

You do the maths. Then you will know why people buy Toyota and Honda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 433 Thumb down 164
    • Firdaus on Mar 08, 2018 at 9:48 pm

https://paultan.org/2017/03/21/more-than-70-of-local-university-grads-choose-to-buy-foreign-vehicles-rather-than-the-national-car-proton/

Lets start with local grads first.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 8
      • Shazwan Karim on Mar 09, 2018 at 6:24 am

local grad don’t want Proton because of this

New Proton RM50k
        3 years later RM20k

New Perodua RM50k
        3 years later RM38k

When time to sell car, have to top up loan. You wonder…what have I been paying the past 3 years?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 17
        • Joe jambu on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:26 am

this Persona fella confirm another PR stunt from Proton Group Marketing Dept.

• Scirocco on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:40 pm

Adoi Shazwan , don’t be like katak bawah tempurung , compare also Hyundai , Kia , Vw , all these very poor second hand value , please stop thinking like rubbish , nak tunjuk pandai but give a stupid fact

• Ismet ulam raja on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:36 am

Firdaus , show also data how many Local grads bankruptcy because of their foreign car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 75
        • Shazwan Karim on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:29 am

Better to buy foreign car. Less maintenance compared to Proton. Even you pay RM10k more (Almera), at least you don’t pay so much for downtime, SC visits, parts, tow truck etc etc

More likely to go bankrupt this way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
          • 1.5L engine vs 1.6L engine. Bigger engine needs more oil to fill in. And Honda use centralised tank system, means u pay what u use. P1 gips commercial 4L bottle but uses 3.85L. The remainder will gip u back, so no losses there.

Labour charges okaylar, still cheaper than ur Jepunis what.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • Wait a minute. Its same spiel as Sparcov below. Kantoied lettew!

• Shazwan Karim on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:49 am

go and check fully synthetic price in Proton and compare that with Nissan or Honda.

same with labour charges. RM60 per hour….including coffee breaks!!!!

same with parts prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Farid Kamal on Mar 09, 2018 at 1:08 pm

(Like) how many Local grads bankruptcy because of their foreign car.
          (Dislike) how many Local grads bankruptcy because of their ptptn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
      • Mustapha on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:37 am

My waja brand new RM57k. Two years later I sold for RM30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
      • John Gagal on Mar 09, 2018 at 2:28 pm

Sales so poor until need to hoo-ha nostalgic weeping stories.

So sad and pathetic Baoteng.

• Hahaha! Another fake news, just like he claimed P1 majority sales is from fleet customer but PT burst his fake news bubble when they repoted P1 fleet sales is only 2.5%, overwhelming majority sales is from retail end customer.

Din I say P1 has a very loyal fanbase? Hehehe. Now all bashers buthurt.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 20
      • Wanaliza on Mar 09, 2018 at 6:34 am

Proton drink petrol like 6750 cc Bentley. Buy 2018 Perodua Myvi, it uses economical Toyota VVTi engine.

7 years of Ron 95 on Perodua RM$10,000
        7 years of ROn 95 on Proton RM$50,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
        • Reality shows Mivi drinks petrol like 10L engine but performs like an asthmatic lembu.

7 years of Ron 95 on P1 RM$50,000
          7 years of Ron 95 on P2 RM$100,000 (cuz need to tekan more to go)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • yewnz on Mar 11, 2018 at 4:23 am

Masa beli myvi tak pening, lepas beli pening tak dapat 20.1 km/l. Iriz lagi jimat minyak

• Steven Hwa on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:10 am

pdrm alone order 8000 cars per annum from Proton. If Proton sales are 70,000, this alone amounts to 12%

you sure 2.5%????

And this is just one department. Calculate the hundred of ministries and government departments.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 28
        • Jamal on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:21 am

I drive Vios. I also got Waja. My Waja cost DOUBLE to maintain compared to my Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • Talk is cheaper than Vios. Show proof.

• Mivi service is TRIPLE my Gen2 service cuz need to flush engine and replace with new oil.

• Usin bolt on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:41 pm

Another fairy tales story , hahaha

• Hahaha! Change nick again but same ol’ fake news spiel. No need tipu pipu, no need uplike ur comments, PT has all the info https://paultan.org/2018/01/08/proton-sales-result-end-2017/

• https://paultan.org/2018/01/08/proton-sales-result-end-2017/

Read and weep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • Mustapha on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:49 am

another fake news from our resident john

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • Hahaha! More fake accusation and fake news from fake dupe.

• Say what u like lah. U got owned by authentic P1 owners here. Nuff said.

• Kuan Keng Chong on Mar 08, 2018 at 10:11 pm

Owned a Wira for 10 years, owning an Exora for 9 years by August and a Preve 6 years comes July, have never incurred costly repair.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 22
      • AyamDanIkan on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:10 am

To be fair, Wira is a pretty time tested and reliable. Older models like Waja era and older tends to be pretty reliable. Newer than Waja and older than current gen models tends to be more prone to breakdown.

Honestly, Proton is not so bad. I dont really get it why the need to bash so much especially if its not the one they’re currently driving. Your money, your choice.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
        • Steven Hwa on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:12 am

My Wira is 2000 model. Every 3 months I got to spend about RM3k to fix rosak parts. Always oil leak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
          • Malaysian Driver on Mar 09, 2018 at 5:06 pm

No need to disguised as Steven Hwa, I know you are the Kunta Kinte guy who has nothing to do in life but trolling Paultan.

I think anyone who is sane needs to spend 3k every month to fix rosak parts will sell the car away, or just scrap it. Because by saving those money, you can get yourself a decent car. You are either insane or love the car so much that you won’t mind spending 12k fixing it every year. But we all know the truth, you are trolling and you make that fairy tale up. Try harder kunta, or whoever you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
          • Colonel Sanders on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:52 pm

Steven Hwa , jual jer you wira , money from your selling wira , you can bring your family makan kentaki fred ciken for 1 months every day , hahaha

• ameno on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:54 pm

Proton for life. The reason i work harder.

• DonalTrum on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:19 am

it’s the branding..

• Shazwan Karim on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:30 am

You are right. Pre Waja is okay. But post waja….Oh NO!

Preve is King of Breakdown.

• Some myvi got power windows problem, but not proton anymore, why ar

• Low Budget on Mar 09, 2018 at 11:02 am

Those who bashed Proton are actually ex-Proton owners who suffered with the quality of Proton in the 90s, may be now Proton has improved but the scars remain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • Nope. Those who bash p1 r toyotaP2 sales. They tremble at the stout and unwavering sapot from P1 owners while they lose market share to others. Meanwhile P1 will administer coup de grace on them starting with Boyue.

• Nope they are p2 and jepunis brand supporters and SA , sked sales number go down the drain

• Royston on Mar 14, 2018 at 11:38 pm

Can’t afford it, then bash it. I guess they don’t even own a car.

• own wira 17 years, persona 7 years. my wira headlight bulb cost me rm9. i must ask if there is golden bulb in market that can cost me 50k for repair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • ku azrie on Mar 08, 2018 at 10:14 pm

i had a rather pleasurable experience with my savvy…in fact the 1st batch preve we had in oir family is still running fine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 08, 2018 at 11:05 pm

I own second gen saga… i oni pay more than RM1k oni once that oso because my mistake..but for sure im not paying RM50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 41
      • Daniel Masilamany on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:24 am

My Exora turbo always spoil. Cost thousands every year to baiki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • From his statement, RM50k seems like total from all the P1 model he owned. Compare to his only one Honda idsi RM5k. Yea..his comparision is preatty good..lol..

• A45 recond owner on Mar 08, 2018 at 11:27 pm

Hahaha , tipu agak agak la bro , baru pakai honda idsi dah cakap besar , i drive A45 recond pun never kondem proton owner , buy la civic 1.5 turbo baru you tahu nak maintenance macam mana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 49
    • Malaysian Driver on Mar 08, 2018 at 11:55 pm

If u have spend 50k repairing a car without even contemplating of selling it, something is very wrong with you. Or, you made up this fairy tale story.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 22
    • tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:10 am

You own so many cars, but still easy to be conned?

Rm50k in 7 years is about rm7k+ per annum. You full overhaul, full repaint your car every year? Or u main convert mivec, add roll cage, go enter rally etc?

Nak tipu tu agak2 la. I also own proton, honestly, yes some bits are crap like power window, door handle reput, but as long as jaga service, the engine, gearbox, etc drivetrain parts are bulletproof and dirt cheap to fix if you’re diligent.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 43
    • What?? on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:17 am

Nowadays you can get free parts and service for 5 years so peace of mind is better for newer models and cheaper maintenance overall.

Also, compared to older Protons especially the turbo cars, the Persona is one of the least problematic electronics and powertrain wise. A lot of common problems are the usual rattling and small squeaks that you would also find in a brand new Myvi. The quality gap between P1 and P2 currently isn’t as significant as some want to believe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • Lalok on Mar 09, 2018 at 6:42 am

Nak gebang pn beragak skit bro.. bapak aku beli satria 2nd hand tahun 2001, tahun beli 2008, sampai skg elok lg berjalan.. repair pn xdela sampai 50k.. ko tukar enjin or modi mcm2 pastu sembang kete proton x bagus itu ini..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • Abg karim on Mar 09, 2018 at 7:21 am

Azman Hashim , you are truly penglipur lara , hahahaha drive all type of P1 , then lost 50k for maintenance then buy City IDSi then puji melambung lambung your cheap City IDSi low maintenance , keep continue bro your fairy tale story , you make my day hahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
    • tiadaid on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:01 am

I owned a 2004 i-DSi Honda City at the same time as I owned a 2005 Proton Gen-2. The Honda City was the only car that I’ve ever in the past 3 decades that required a gearbox change. It’s also the only car I’ve ever owned that required countless wheel bearing changes, countless engine mount changes, countless battery changes etc etc etc.

Don’t bloody lie.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
      • Bro. U forgotten about replacing 8 biji platinum sparkplugs at 1 go. Many iDSi owners let go of their cars b4 time to replace this. Deswai iDSi veli bad RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • My friend oso has the same issues. Until now oso no solution

• Persona Elegance Owner on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:46 am

I am driving 8 years old Persona Elegance since 2010 which it is my 2nd car. It never incured the RM50k repair cost.
      Make sure you take a good care of your car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Steven Hwa on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:11 am

local grad also don’t want Proton. Somemore from Mara and uITM and local university

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:01 am

don’t u feel tired liking ur own comment that much? how come ur thumb up got so much like but pipu who dont agree with u get low dislike? suppose they got a lot of dislike..u forget to dislike those comment?

• Too many here that burst his fake news, he cant cope with disliking all of us.

• rightwinger on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:25 am

bolocks.

• This guy with countless names (now he uses Azman Hashim, next he will use other name but its always easy to know its him) must be someone with too much free time. Not only he always spread fake news and tell fairy tales, he also have time to ‘like’ his own comments. What a pathetic loser!

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 09, 2018 at 3:39 pm

I have to diasgree with you on this. I too have purchased several Proton cars for the last 30years & still drives them today. I have to say the maintenance cost is very low & good reliability. The reason for this disparity is because mine are all Manual drive NA unlike the CVT & Turbo models. I can’t say for Perodua Manual car thought as it’s way below my expectation with high maintenance cost given that it’s only a year plus old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Bro Middle Age Driver. This muppet complaining about high prices of service is none other than the same ol’ basher with another name change. Just ignore him cuz, he alredi got owned by other REAL P1 owners here. Cheers.

• persona on Jul 20, 2018 at 9:33 am

penipu..i only change my power window twice at Rm140 for total of repair RM280 over 7 year ownership..

• old dog on Mar 08, 2018 at 9:04 pm

sorry dude, get a used “ultimate driving machine” car and get a spin, then you see what is real driving..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 36
    • davidletterboyz on Mar 08, 2018 at 9:42 pm

An ultimate driving machine like what? A Vios? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Sure. Then when he gets the maintenance bill for it, u can see a real man cry compared to his P1 service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • Steven Hwa on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:14 am

I got Proton. My wife drive BM, company car. Trust me, Proton bills are higher than BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
        • Why shud I trust u when my 2008 Gen2 never got higher than Rm400 per service (major)? Now outside workshop, Rm200 pun tarak sampai. Stop the fake news, we all know who u are.

• As Middle Aged Driver said, we all know WHO u are and ur fail-ry tales.

• HukAloh on Mar 10, 2018 at 3:12 pm

Dah2 la menipu..

Proton quality is relatively inferior..

Buy overall the upkeep cost is cheap.

• Loler on Mar 11, 2018 at 4:29 am

Lol this is joke of the year!!

• ku azrie on Mar 08, 2018 at 10:13 pm

okay man i will try that

• tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:01 am

You will also know why people call it Banyak Masuk Workshop memang Banyak Makan Wang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • Woman day on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:05 am

You mean volvo? So much of mechanical and electrical problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2018 at 1:10 pm

Fake news. Where got people associate Volvo with unreliability, only Germans get that honour.

People hear Volvo, people think safety, comfort, reliable (by Conti standard). World record for car mileage is held by a Volvo.

People hear bmw, vw, topkek, workshop become your second home.

You are racist and jealous cause Volvo is Chinese, you jilat angmoh junks like a pathetic spineless coward you are.

• Rachel Malinda on Mar 10, 2018 at 12:08 pm

If volvo so good why no RV and cant sell ah? Buyers i think blind oh?

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:17 pm

Older Ultimate Driving Machine (BMW) like (3Series) E30/36/46 aren’t as refined as the newer E90/F30, some would say “raw” but that is what made it fun to drive. You aren’t as isolated to feeling the road as newer E90/F30. Hence the newer tagline “Sheer Driving Pleasure” to newer models.

Anyways, great car to drive but own only if you can tolerate going to workshop regularly as this car is manja. Something small that isn’t rectified/replaced may cause another (major) part to be affected. Find a really good specialist mechanic that has the experience, knowledge, special tools & diagnosis computer. Kedai bawah pokok will say “all car same one, I also can fix” is hogwash. Be prepared to spend time & money on this baby. Caveat Emptor.

• u-Tun on Mar 08, 2018 at 9:33 pm

Well done boy. I had a fair share of love stories with P1 before but now I’m already moved on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • “If you were to compare between the price, handling and safety features that’s being offered, nothing can beat a Proton”.

Then you see the Iriz’s boot floor which is just a piece of MDF Board with a thin fabric material on just one side. Not to mention the faulty DRL on many Preve. How can LEDs be faulty on a relatively new car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
    • jinggo on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:22 am

Try la drive sekali long distance Proton Iriz tu bro.. dijamin selesa & puas hati. Ride & handling terbaik la Iriz ni. Tak padan dgn harga.. seriously. Well, kalau dah benci apa bole buat… hadap je la myvi sampan tu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • About faulty LEDs, Toyota owners know best. That is because the DRLs on Vios, Altis, Camry and Hilux fail frequently. And the taillight bulbs on Toyotas also very prone to early failure.

• Since when Preve have DRL? Urs? Where u bought that Preve?

• Book Nuts on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:49 pm

Nampak sangat tak tahu pasal kereta proton, sampai Preve ade DRL pun x tau.

Brother, Preve has been having DRL since their first launch lah.

Kalau x tau jgn lah berlagak pandai nk comment. Adui….

• About faulty LEDs. Mivi r well known to have either one side rear lights and 3rd brake lights kaput within 2 years. P1 never had that frequently fast failure.

• I m few gen proton owner. I had great time but some bad experience with proton. My young passion n love for car period all spent with proton. If i had the money, i think i will have much more fun with vtec at that time.

Now i m japanese car owner. No more problem, touch wood.

From bottom of my heart, hope proton can shine again with its new boss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • Bernard on Mar 08, 2018 at 9:54 pm

Well what can I say other than beauty is in the eye of the beholder but honestly I don’t know what to make of this….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • It always good to have Proton as first car fro fresh graduate or fresh man who just start to work. After that, please move on from Proton. Overall handling is good(feel solid and planted), but the built quality and cabin refinement really worst, some more FC on higher side. Depreciation value to the max (fact).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Depreciation is not bad cuz its affordable to begin with. The money u saved instead of buying Jepunis means it alredi offset whatever depreciation it incurs.

• it.man on Mar 08, 2018 at 10:01 pm

Some pictures the plate number are censored and some are not….ermmmmm

• Mr Azrie was sloppy when censoring. Probably he din care whatever breach of privacy he will incur. PT style of censor is blackbox.

• No fake dupes posting fake news. No bollocks. No uncle’s grandma sister’s cousin fren’s story.

Just the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but truth straight from the owners words and pics. Mr Azrie’s kind sharing of his cars has just demolished every single crap that bashers kept copy pasta.

Tenkiu Mr Azrie, tenkiu Anthony, and tenkiu PT for posting this wonderfully of a man’s love for his P1s.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 20
  • Lim Jason on Mar 08, 2018 at 11:48 pm

Dude u have never driven a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
    • Better cars will cost 2X. So whats ur point? That P1 is value for his money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • lilytan on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:21 am

Spot on. Proton at least on paper is not that bad. But when it comes to owning one the difference with other OEM is just like night and day.

• Correct. Compared to other OEM, P1 still cheaper to own and maintain.

• CarBuyer on Mar 08, 2018 at 11:55 pm

Talk about having a blinkered view, it looks like Encik Ku Mohd Azrie Ku Azizan has an extremely serious case of it, and could benefit greatly by widening his horizons somewhat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Sulaiman akhlaken on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:07 am

If just can afford cheap Honda City kotak & Toyota vios dugong , please don’t comments like a rubbish , about P1 , Persona 2016 handling much better than my wife 2017 Honda City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
  • tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:21 am

Well done Mr Azrie. A true man of culture who puts safety above all.

Yes, the persona has good soundproofing, comfort level, spacious interior and boot.

He’ll be prouder now Proton is part of the mighty Geely family. Together, we will achieve greater glories that are destined for us. The world will tremble before our might, they already are, you can feel it in their words and actions. Resistance is futile, and in the end, we, shall be victorious!

Geely, Volvo, Volvo Trucks, Mercedes, Lotus, Polestar, Lynk & Co, London Taxi, Proton > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • johnissohai on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:26 am

i own few few proton b4, just like my parents did, but sorry, no more proton for me from now onwards, going to sell mine soon..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
  • Ksatria on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:26 am

..what can I say.. after many fender benders, 2 overhauls, 3 gearbox changes, I still own my beloved 1996 1.5(A) satria till now.. just recently crossed well over a million on the odo..
    Proud to own this UK spec model one but not a big fan of P1’s product..
    ..& Azrie…on your right…

• azrai on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:36 am

…”Yes, Persona is my pride. Since I cannot afford a new Civic. For 40% of the civic price what i can a get is Persona or Myvi. But Myvi got no boot. But if I got Rm120 k I’m sure go for civic la instead of this Persona”..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • And if i have 300k I go for Merc or bimmer not those jepunis junks, even proton is worth more

• Royston on Mar 15, 2018 at 12:05 am

Comparing B to a C segment?? Persona vs Civic. LoL

• Sparcov on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:46 am

I still have proton satria made of year 1996, already 22 years. No issue other than I have to jump start the car everytime i want to drive due to most of the time the car kept in garage.

I also have preve made of year 2012. 6 years on. No issue on repair other than lack of power, gearbox lagging and always replace H7 headlight bulb.

Proton is like any car manufacturer. It is quite reliable. I do agree for routine maintenance, Proton Preve serviced at Proton SC is more expensive compare to any honda,toyota or nissan. why? look at the bill, where honda charge full synthetic oil for RM 130 while Proton Full synthetic charge Rm 205. Labour cost for Honda is around Rm 100 while Proton charge approx. RM60/hour.

I also don’t know why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • 1.5L engine vs 1.6L engine wei. Bigger engine needs more oil to fill in. And Honda use centralised tank system, means u pay what u use. P1 gips commercial 4L bottle but uses 3.85L. The remainder will gip u back, so no losses there.

Labour charges okaylar, still cheaper than Jepunis what.

• azrai on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:29 pm

That’s why new CEO want to cut 30% cost.

• Jason on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:08 am

I had a Satria 1.3(m), Wira1.5 A (LE), Savvy (m), a Jazz Hybrid before. I love every moment when I had those 3 Protons.
    Never had any grievances, except for wear & tear. Really look forward to Proton’s new models now that they have new partner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 20
  • 12yrsold on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:26 am

I-Say-Man. Every man is entitled to his view & opinion. If U ask another guy who think a Honda is the Best in the world like Ben Yap, U will definitely get different results or answers.

If a man is happy with a Kancil, let it be la. Why does anyone care or get his butt hurt !! To those who happen to be born better off than others, no need to KUTUK la.

Drive what U can afford. Don’t drive something that is beyond your mean or bcos your girlfriend want U to. To each his own bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • BOYRACER on Mar 09, 2018 at 4:39 pm

One of the best comment so far and it comes from a 12 year old.No sarcasm intended.

• johnnas on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:55 am

It’s not a Persona! It’s a sedan version of Iriz. Give it any other names but Persona! It’s like handing in a paraphrased version of other people’s asignment and pass it off as urs!

• passion on Mar 09, 2018 at 9:57 am

Proton, our joy and pain!!!

• Shafiq on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:09 am

My first Proton car was 1996 Satria 1.6 Auto. Bought 2nd hand in 2008. Sell the car 3 years later. Great car and easy to maintain. No hassle except the window’s railing. Lol

2011 bought brand new Saga FL. Change the radio 6 month later. 2017 change the engine (younger brother drove the car, didn’t realize temperature risen up, engine gone). Change to 1.6 Campro from Waja. Other than that just a normal maintenance and wear&tear.

But not the extend of RM50k worth of repairing. Haha

• this is the good comment we look forward to see more. thanks bro shafiq.

• Harap tak tertipu dgn article paul tan ni.saya pun dah banyak pakai model proton..last sekali pesona,terlalu banyak benda yg nak di koment..,minyak makan kuat..percayalah

• Ben Yap on Mar 09, 2018 at 10:49 am

overall the proton persona is looks good except for the high roofline which totally spoils the entire look of the car.

• Owned a Satria neo for about 9 years until 2016…the first 2 years were filled with warranty claims..such as leaking shocks (first 2 weeks)…busted fuel pump (1 year) and a few suspension and electronic niggles that were not major and eventually corrected through claims..then itvcontinued to give me on average one major (for a recent graduate with a starting salary these things are expensive) problem per year (warped discs, aircond, exhaust etc) for the next 8 years but it was generally reliable as they were not one after anonther.. and it was fun to drive so i kept going..

Then towards its 9th year..while going about 140 (which is illegal but it will happily cruise at) …the engine shut off completely..no hickup..no cough..just OFF…luckily I’m a decent driver(at least I think I am) and I nursed the car to the side after quickly losing power to the brakes and steering..it was harrowing and made me completely lose trust in the car.

Turns out it was a crank sensor cable..apparently, Proton cut cost on a fail-safe in case this goes bad…but this part is designed not to fail according to various mechanics in the first place..

The reason I’m telling this story it because from my ownership..i realised there wasn’t anything wrong with the engineering of these cars.. they are quite decent.. ..

The failure happens when these designs are sent out to ‘untouchable’ vendors and they skimp on material or produce faulty parts together with the shoddy way it’s all put together that has led to how Proton is perceived today..

I then took over the family first generation Mazda 6 which is about 12 years now..had way more miles on the clock and at least on paper costs more to maintain…but owning both these cars in parallel at home showed me Proton has a long long way to go…the only things that have failed on the 6 was the starter (Last month!)….we have since imposed a no Proton policy as it could have cost my life…

it’s not a question of patriotism here..the family has owned a couple of p1 and p2 over the years..my mum still has saga BLM that is due to be replaced..but once the trust is gone..it’s gone..whether they are Protons, Lexus or anything in between.

• Jim Carey on Mar 09, 2018 at 8:01 pm

If like that’s , as a friend , i suggest you should buy myvi , more reliable , low maintenance , good fuel consumption , the most important when day myvi suitable for daily used car , when the night come , Ferrari owner also respect , very laju at highway

• Well said dude. How abt the new Perdana, its a Honda underneath. Not Protons, Lexus

• Royston on Mar 15, 2018 at 12:18 am

That new perdana is just an old man with a new set of shirt, pant and shoes. Haha, oh ya and new sun glasses too

• Saint. on Mar 09, 2018 at 11:43 am

Owned wira for 18 years. No major problems, except wear and tear parts. Sold it because it start rusting at the glued panels.

• johnissohai on Mar 09, 2018 at 12:02 pm

i see many proton hardcore duped here..probably made by john himself…trying to glorify proton till the end…hahah..if proton is so good, it wont go into deep trouble till the point need to sell to chinaman la..LOL

• Katalah apa pun. Saya pun guna Proton. Tak komplen pun. Kereta ok saja. Saya beli pakai duit saya. Sekian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • johnissohai on Mar 09, 2018 at 2:27 pm

once this Mohd Azrie Ku Azizan drives a better japanese car…he wouldn’t say the same thing anymore

• P1 with regret on Mar 12, 2018 at 8:06 pm

Very sorry la….P1 tak bole pakai…..no matter how deep my love with P1.

After my past experience with P1, it is better off driving a Jepunis or kimchi. Better resale value, less maintenance headache and higher class than P1….

I love my pocket better than P1

• No more Proton on Mar 19, 2018 at 10:11 am

Better go for Perodua.. If compact city car go for Myvi/axia/bezza, if MPV, buy Alza. If wanna C segment sedan car, go for Civic, elantra or cerato. But please dont buy Proton, VW, Ford & Chevrolet.. you will suffer for 5-9 years!

• zainal abidin on Mar 19, 2018 at 2:45 pm

Its’s time for front and rear tube type LED lights and rear discs brake for this Persona.

• Shaan on Jul 02, 2018 at 11:29 am

I bought my New PERSONA last year June(17).

Please advice.

what things I need to be make sure to maintain my fuel consumption low ?

• Aries on Sep 11, 2018 at 1:08 pm

May i know from proton engine expert which a petrol car advisable to use it 97 or 95, my car persona 2018.