SPIED: 992 Porsche 911 GT3 hiding in Turbo clothes

Once again, a 992-generation Porsche 911 test mule has been spotted out in the wild, and this time our spy photographers indicate that it could be the next-generation GT3 hiding beneath what we can determine thus far to be the Turbo body, equipped with the side scoops ahead of the rear wheels.

Compared between prototypes, the GT3 mule here differs from the 992 Turbo mule seen earlier, where the latter was spotted wearing quad trapezoidal tailpipes as opposed to the one-a-side items here that are much larger in diameter. Further visual cues include the centre-locking wheels, which are standard on the GT3 but optional on the Turbo; the 992 Turbo prototype was seen testing with five-lug wheels.

The test mule here would likely be powered by turbocharged engine, according to our spy photographers, and the bodywork appears to be in line with that observation as the separate, twin exhaust outlets on this car are akin to those on the GT2 RS rather than the centrally-mounted exhausts on the GT3 and GT3 RS.

A later test mule should include the GT3 hallmarks of a more prominent front bumper and larger rear wing for model-specific aerodynamics. A GT-class 911 should retain rear-wheel drive, and the now-commonplace rear-wheel steering should feature too.

The move to turbocharging across the board has been confirmed by an earlier Autocar report, and the adoption of forced induction will bring the next-generation GT3’s output to beyond the 500 hp it produces in its current, naturally aspirated 4.0 litre flat-six guise.

GALLERY: 992-generation Porsche 911 Turbo spyshots

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Besi Buruk on Mar 23, 2018 at 12:55 pm

Porsche quality is the best. My dream car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Din u say Posh is just an overpriced VW and shares same parts? Previous u and current u tarak ngam wei.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 29
      • Besi Buruk on Mar 23, 2018 at 10:50 pm

Do you have mental problems john? I have never said such absurd things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
        • Hahaha! The person ur referring to is in the mirror bub.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
          • Rashad on Mar 24, 2018 at 1:09 pm

ignore john. We just dont read what he says anymore

• Darren on Mar 24, 2018 at 9:49 pm

Nope. We all learn to ignore fake dupes such as YOU!

• Rahmat Ali on Mar 24, 2018 at 4:50 pm

This car come here, it will all be snapped up by Putrajaya residents immediately.

• So whats this bollocks about MY pipu being poor when even RM1200 gaji servants can afford for Posh?

• RWD power car testing in snow? Driver must have balls of vibranium

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
  • Isn’t the selling point of the gt3 the NA flat 6?……

• Boxer 6 and RWD.

• stastasta on Mar 27, 2018 at 1:01 pm

in future the main differences between gt3 and turbo, will be a stripped out interior and rwd. drivetrain will be shared.