Arizona state suspends Uber’s self-driving car tests

The state of Arizona has called time on Uber’s self-driving car test programme following a fatal crash that took place on March 18 in Tempe. This was confirmed in a letter from Arizona governor Doug Ducey to Uber CEO Dara Khosrowshahi, via 12 News reporter Bianca Buono.

In the letter, Ducey wrote, “On March 21, 2018, Tempe police released video leading up to the incident. I found the video to be disturbing and alarming, and it raises many questions about the ability of Uber to continue testing in Arizona.”

The video mentioned showed the self-driving XC90 driving on what looks like a dimly-lit road before hitting 49-year-old Elaine Herzberg. Meanwhile, an interior camera captured backup driver 44-year-old Rafael Vasquez’s actions prior to the crash.

“As governor, my top priority is public safety. Improving public safety has always been the emphasis of Arizona’s approach to autonomous vehicle testing, and my expectation is that public safety is also the top priority for all who operate this technology in the state of Arizona,” Ducey noted.

“The incident that took place on March 18 is an unquestionable failure to comply with this expectation. While the incident is currently under investigation by the National Transportation Safety Board and that National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Arizona must take action now,” he continued.

“In the best interests of the people of my state, I have directed the Arizona Department of Transportation to suspend Uber’s ability to test and operate autonomous vehicles on Arizona’s public roadways. Arizona will not tolerate any less than an unequivocal commitment to public safety,” he ended.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Richard Tido on Mar 27, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Humans trying to replace God’s given gifts with robots. Tak boleh lah

• Young Dumb on Mar 27, 2018 at 1:34 pm

God create humans to do everything by their own.. not for human creating jobs for soulless thing to be in charge.. lesson learned after silly mistake..

• Naz01 on Mar 27, 2018 at 1:10 pm

Nothing can replace human especially in congested Asian road. Blind zone not tally with arithmetic control. That not include car going mad by sensor failure due to impact from others.

You can only autonomous in confined and control zone. In KL Uber failure as GPS run out always creates rider- driver fights.
    That why I quit uber driver last time -GPS not always correct

• Repot just in. Uber was found to have disabled the Volvo safety system of THAT car. This is serious shit and Volvo shud sue them til bankruptcy for tampering and misrepresentation of Volvo brand.

• pencen on Mar 27, 2018 at 10:35 pm

No la dummy, no tampering involved. You cannot test your system if the default system is on. Uber was testing their system not Volvo’s. You 12 years old ka?

• (Uber Technologies Inc disabled the standard collision-avoidance technology in the Volvo SUV that struck and killed a woman in Arizona last week, according to the auto-parts maker that supplied the vehicle’s radar and camera.

“We don’t want people to be confused or think it was a failure of the technology that we supply for Volvo, because that’s not the case,” Zach Peterson, a spokesman for Aptiv Plc)

Tu lah. Tak baca berita terkini, hanya tgk Mkini.

• stastasta on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:57 am

you should walk to work every day instead of replacing your legs with vehicle transport.

• stastasta on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:59 am

bodo, of course uber disabled the volvo system while testing their own system. obviously the car cannot obey 2 autonomous brains at the same time.

• Why la on Mar 27, 2018 at 5:18 pm

When will we see Grab self driving cars mowing over rempits in Malaysia!

• Me WHo? on Mar 27, 2018 at 5:44 pm

who else here have the same thought that the mistake was on the cyclist instead on the motorist? just wondering why the cyclist was brave enough to cross the road without any light AND without waiting until it was totally safe to cross?

• Err nobody. Pedestrians have right of way to cross in US. Vehicles must be the one to stop instead.

• stastasta on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:59 am

dont tell lies here. pedestrian only have right of way at zebra crossing.

• Ikr. Was thinking the same. That’s the cyclist fault for crossing while a car is already nearly approaching.