Gov’t to review issuance of vehicle stickers for the disabled, wants to prevent misuse by family members

The ministry of transport (MOT) said it will be working together with relevant parties such as the social welfare department to review the issuance of vehicle stickers for disabled persons (OKU). It said that this is to prevent misuse by family members, Bernama reports.

According to deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi, there will be certain requirements that the disabled will need to comply with to obtain the vehicle stickers. “This is to avoid the misuse of OKU stickers which will affect the benefits enjoyed by those (the disabled) who drive on their own,” he told the Dewan Rakyat.

Among the guidelines that were agreed upon in a meeting of the national council for the disabled was that the sticker application is subject to the modification carried out on the vehicle and that the vehicle was registered under the name of the disabled person in possession of an OKU card.

He said the guidelines for the issuance of OKU vehicle stickers had been adopted at all road transport department (JPJ) branches starting from May 2, 2014.

In 2016, it was reported that fake disabled parking stickers were being sold on the open market, leading to an increase in able-bodied drivers with such stickers taking up disabled parking spots and depriving their use to those in need of these bays.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• MY pipu. When gip gud things, they will almost alwiz abuse it. Topkek mentality. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) on Mar 29, 2018 at 10:53 am

I have only seen a few vehicle with oku sticker in the disabled, the rest are mostly luxury car with dark tinted and sometime have some sort of goverent logo at the plat no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • OKU person on Mar 29, 2018 at 11:02 am

I was at JPJ. Tried to get a sticker.. They said OKU stickers are only given to owners of “National cars” … and they must show the registration card. I drive a 1986 Toyota. I didnt get a sticker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Fake news lah. Ive seen Mesidis and plenty jepunis cars with OKU stickers. Either u seen wrong person or main tipu here.

• longjaafar on Mar 29, 2018 at 11:31 am

Once I told two able bodied ladies who parked in an OKU lot. They calmly said that they have a sticker and walked away..

• Elchino on Mar 29, 2018 at 12:25 pm

Not clear if the special parking lots are for OKU drivers only or whether if we have an OKU wheelchair bound passenger, the able bodied driver can also use the OKU parking lot. In Ikea PJ, the guards allow for both categories

• gigi kuning macho on Mar 29, 2018 at 4:18 pm

We have lots of mentally handicapped ppl in Malaysia. They look normal, but mentally retarded and unable to use their brain esp. when it comes to use of parking spaces.

Symptoms of such ppl including being arrogant, irrational, extreme selfish, self-serving, super thick skinned, syoik-sendiri, etc.

• Andrekua on Mar 30, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Sticker or no sticker, the retarded ones will still park there. Just goto any Tesco or Aeon Big, you will find many fake oku…

Will we have fake oku bill next?

• Frankly, it’s hard to control people who misuse the parking lots reserved for OKU. They will have their due karma, not that they will turn OKU. Rather, it’s the selfish and inconsiderate teaching that will be passed onto their young family members. In turn, this will lower their interpersonal skill with their friends and associates. And, have less opportunity in the society. C mon, who would want to befriend people who are selfish and uncivilised.