2018 Proton Preve appears on official website – 1.6 Executive and Premium variants, RM65k-RM73k

The refreshed 2018 Proton Preve has quietly appeared on Proton’s official website, as spotted by reader Dylan Ch’ng. This means that the updated C-segment sedan will either be launched soon or has already gone on sale, as was the case with the also-updated Exora MPV last year.

Available in just two variants, the new Preve will be priced at RM64,730 for the 1.6 Executive CVT and RM72,510 for the 1.6 Premium CVT – increases of RM4,120 and RM1,193 respectively. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year/150,000 km warranty.

Both models will be powered by a 1.6 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine making 138 hp at 5,000 rpm and 205 Nm from 2,000 to 4,000 rpm, paired to a CVT with a simulated seven-speed mode. Unfortunately for those of you who’d like to row your own gears, the naturally-aspirated manual variant has been dropped for the new model year.

According to an internal presentation that was leaked earlier in the year, the new Preve will also come with a litany of tweaks to reduce the car’s noise vibration and harshness. New engine and transmission mountings, pillar fillings and carpeting have been installed to improve refinement, and there have also been changes to eliminate wind noise and air-conditioner hissing.

Other changes include more compliant tyres for the 16-inch wheel option, a new gearknob garnish, improved radio reception and new fishnet-type floor mats. The new Preve is also expected to feature powertrain updates introduced on the Iriz and Exora last year, including a remapped engine control unit (ECU) and transmission control unit (TCU) for a quicker, more linear response, as well as a quieter exhaust system.

Visually, changes are expected to be limited to colour and trim, as seen on prototypes in earlier spyshots. There will be a blacked-out grille and bootlid garnish, along with new three-dimensional Proton badging. The Premium model also receives a black roof and wing mirrors for a two-tone finish as seen on the latest Iriz, as well as new 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels.

Standard kit includes projector halogen headlights with follow-me-home lighting, front and rear fog lights, a driver’s side auto up/down window with anti-pinch and a standard radio/CD head unit with Bluetooth, USB and AUX-in connectivity. As before, all models get six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, active front headrests and ISOFIX rear child seat anchors.

The Premium model piles on the kit, equipped with LED daytime running lights, push-button start (still no keyless entry, however), single-zone automatic climate control, a touchscreen navigation system, automatic headlights and wipers, cruise control, auto-folding wing mirrors, paddle shifters and tinted windows.

Buyers can choose from five colours, including the new Ruby Red (from the Perdana), Carnelian Brown (from the Persona) and Graphite Grey (previously Silver Moon Dust, from the Iriz), as well as Sterling Silver and Cotton White.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• that old 1.6 turbo thou~~ 138hp so less~~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Low presure turbo tho, but torque is 205nm! Just good enough to accelerate & low cost turbo maintainance..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Benyameen on Apr 04, 2018 at 10:35 am

New Proton Preve fleet for govt agencies & co.

• topkek on Apr 04, 2018 at 4:47 pm

Dun know pulak if most P1 cars on road are belong to gomen. That’s crazy

Topkek

• Something very wrong on Apr 04, 2018 at 8:51 am

There is something very wrong with the drive train of the Preve, Suprima, Exora and Iriz. The Engine and Transmission just dont match… It behaves very oddly in town use and the engine is noisy. Those who owns it will know what I mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • Banglaman on Apr 04, 2018 at 11:35 am

Yes sir. You are right. Tp proton tak mahu dgr ckp pengguna spt you, saya dan ramai lg. So, saya switch aje ke company lain. Settle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • maibatsu_thunder on Apr 04, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Be patriotic guys, Be patriotic..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
        • rally_fan (Member) on Apr 04, 2018 at 2:53 pm

you are not wrong to say that.. hope collaboration with Geely will bring in a new generation of modern powertrains to Malaysian consumers.

• ….Said underpower myvi driver and p2 SA

• Yeahhhhh on Apr 04, 2018 at 8:37 pm

But you gotta admit it’s fun to drive around with just as long as you turn up the music volume ( currently using Proton Preve iafm+)

• rightwinger on Apr 04, 2018 at 10:38 am

no, just par with some variants of Mitsu’s 4G61T engine (135-145bhp).

• glorified kereta polis..

• Kereta polis in the highways are mostly inspira. I hardly see any kereta polis preve anymore.

• Preve is mainly used by other police departments especially Jabatan Polis Jenayah

• Ahkeng on Apr 03, 2018 at 7:51 pm

Zero design innovation. Such a disappointment by proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 12
    • This is just a REFRESH. What didja expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • John Bolui on Apr 04, 2018 at 8:57 am

If no money for total revamp then Proton should just redesign a bit the rear lights like Audi, that’s all.

• Justin on Apr 03, 2018 at 7:56 pm

Everything is great except the engine… It would have been better to have dropped the turbo engine and just used the Iafm+ mill on both versions… We have a 2014 Preve Executive Iafm+ CVT at home and it has been a problem-free ownership experience so far. Besides being slightly sluggish, the car is almost perfect in every other way… It is only the Cfe engine Preves that are plagued with issues and have horrendous fuel consumption figures… We got our Iafm Cvt Preve for below 60k at that time.. Unbeateable value for a mid-size sedan with 6 airbags, Esc and a 5-star Ancap rating..!! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • Tok ki on Apr 04, 2018 at 5:57 am

Just a liar. Iafm with cvt??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • with the weight of car 1300kg, its need 1.8 NA engine tho.. 1.6 campro iafm not power enough tho.. but campro have no 1.8 engine.. hahah!

• 205nm on Apr 04, 2018 at 12:25 pm

You never have 205Nm torquey driving before?
        You dun need to push pedal hard, unlike those junky jepunis cars

• turbo mill producing only 205nm? lol my junky jepunis NA pushes 10nm more than that..pathetic cfe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • 205nm on Apr 04, 2018 at 4:48 pm

Pushes more? At what RPM? 4000RPM?
            That’s seeeeloooowwwwwwww

• 205nm is cfe campro engine. Iafm campro is just 150nm. Bad accelaration for 1300kg car..

• caveman on Apr 04, 2018 at 4:50 pm

You dun read kah? No iafm normal 1.6l, only Turbo with CVT

• Amran on Apr 04, 2018 at 5:24 pm

Refer justin comment bro caveman

• caveman on Apr 04, 2018 at 5:40 pm

Who cares the past is past, now no iafm 1.6

• Therealmaserati on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:04 pm

Yawn. Same old crap with some new kit. Same crap gearbox and engine that drinks petrol like no tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • basherlogic on Apr 04, 2018 at 12:37 pm

If follow your logic, then even myvi has crap gearbox and engine, cannot even get 14.5km/l

• Sam 'john' Loo on Apr 04, 2018 at 1:23 pm

Myvi good FC, only if mated with manual (but have to live with it’s ‘crap’ and rubbery gearbox). Myvi auto, HarrkkTuii (i rather torture myself driving a manual than driving any cheap local junks with auto gearbox)

• why still halogen~~~???

• 12yrsold on Apr 04, 2018 at 8:57 am

That is bcos P1 do not invest in Led headlights. They think M’sian don’t have taste. Lets hope Geely will introduce Led in Future Protons.

• Anonymous on Apr 04, 2018 at 9:41 pm

Cost. It’ll easily add thousands to a car price, and what do you get for it? HIDs and especially LEDs are more complex to integrate, as each have their own issues. They are also not really a necessity. They are brighter for less power, but are you actually struggling to see in the dark with halogen? They consume much less power and may save fuel, but that benefit is only at night and minor at best. They last much longer, but how many of us here change our light bulbs before we replace our cars?

They will become standard fittings in every car no matter the budget one of these days, but for now if buyers want HIDs or LEDs on a budget car, turn to aftermarket parts.

• What?? on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:09 pm

I’m wishing that this is a farewell update and that this car can finally be discontinued eventually for something a lot better.

A preferred replacement would be using the Geely Emgrand GL platform and components but with a new, completely unique exterior design. Proton can save time on developing the car completely from scratch whilst having some creative input that doesn’t take too long to become a final product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • AkooIm on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:09 pm

Hmmm… its hard to sell dinosours these days, especially with that pricing…

Well, the gomen is their biggest costumer now, so they will be good i guess…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Boring on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:22 pm

Saw 1 in Kuching…. bigger rim… single tone. Black roof…. black bars boot garnishes…

• Abdul Kadeer on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:27 pm

Preve was a failed model. Instead of spending so much of money to revive it, isn’t better to just close the line?

It can save Proton about RM1 million is losses per day just closing one line.

Even Proton CEO said, 75% of Proton’s sales come from Saga and Persona. You can also assume that the remaining 25%, bulk of it is the Government ordered Perdanas.

Preve line just waste of money for the Proton factory. It does not make Proton a sen also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
    • Jinbaitai on Apr 04, 2018 at 7:34 am

Kunta Kinte, Bhagawan Singh, Abdul Kadeer, Fanny Chiew, and whatever name you are trolling with, we all know you’re the same person.

You must have been a very successful person if you use your energy, time and effort into something useful in life. Sadly, you waste so much time trolling in Paultan site with hundreds of thumbs uping your own comment, splling the same shit again and again. If you wanna troll, troll more professionally. Even a primary school kid can easily identify your style of writing, in whatever nick name you put up. And those astronomical thumbs up you give yourself with by refreshing pages after pages doesn’t do justice to make your troll looks convincing either. Try harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Michael Goh on Apr 04, 2018 at 11:36 am

john, tokmoh, basherlogic, notakata and all the hundreds of dupes……pls keep this blog clean. We all have no time for your dupes and kunta dupes in this blog

• kzm (Member) on Apr 04, 2018 at 12:13 pm

I’m pretty sure tokmoh is long time paultan commenter

• stastasta on Apr 05, 2018 at 1:25 pm

i dont believe tokmoh ever used dupes . are you telling lies here ?

• I bought a preve executive in year 2012. This car is giving me endless problem. Very poor quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Proton? I rather choose Perodua. Proton = low quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Sam 'john' Loo on Apr 04, 2018 at 11:31 pm

Poodua = cut corner master. Can simply remove water temperature gauge (most prominent example is new myvi). Maybe they like your car engine get condemned or even burned down due to unnoticeable overheating situation which otherwise can be saved if it’s detected early (by abnormal high level of temperature meter reading)

• At that price, the only reason the Preve is sold is because Proton’s loan approval is very relaxed.

• Gilbert Wong on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:28 pm

The very last of Proton indigenous car. Definitely gonna buy one for own collection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Bernard on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:30 pm

Too expensive! Should be priced below RM50k.
    Also cvt is definitely a no no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Still no leather seats despite the price increase? Thats just pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Pinky on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:36 pm

Actually, I’ve seen multiple different cars in different hues in COSE since two months ago. One of them is even registered.

• Pleease put the fog-lights on the lower bumper and not in both the taillight housing, I’am bagging you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Gearbox on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:55 pm

Gearbox kereta ini paling menakutkan…. Tekan sikit Tak Jalan … Tekan banyak terus lompat ke depan. Reverse gear lagi dahsyat.. Sangat bahaya. Saya jual lepas 2 tahun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Oiliey on Apr 03, 2018 at 8:55 pm

(Like) Proton Preve
      (Dislike) VW Vento

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
      • Mat yeah yeah on Apr 04, 2018 at 8:35 am

Vento B segment.. but much expensive than junk preve.. Better buy B segment Vento 1.2 TSI than Junk C segment Preve 1.6 CFE..

• dsgsux on Apr 04, 2018 at 12:28 pm

Vento not spacy, higher maintenance, no-no DSG gearbox and lower RV

• But why? When those vios shine their foglamps at Preve drivers, then the Preve can go ahead and shine their fogs ngam ngam at those vios drivers. Let them eat their medicine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • So because of Vioses and only the Vios have dual foglights (which are better placed low down on the bumper, cany be confuse with brake lights) that Preve drivers are to show of their egoistical superiority and do the same. And ultimately annoy the rest of the otherwise innocent and safety cauntious road users?

Seems legit from someone who previously mentioned cares for peoples safety.

• Abdul Kadeer on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:22 pm

If not for PDRM ordering the Proton Preves, Proton will have near ZERO sales on their Preve. Public hardly buys Preve after hearing that it guzzles petrol like mad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 39
  • Boyue fan on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:22 pm

CEO Mr. Li Chun Rong, ur Proton Preve until now also no key less entry technology and still continue using the failed CFE engine. Such a shame for local C segment car ever produced. Pls la..atleast add on the GPOWER engine power plant or newly develop Ricardo engine and reliable transmission and mostly important is hire the new interior designer to redesign the cabin and dashboard on ur facelift Preve. Pls listen from consumer feedback, dun built it for syok sendiri… pls pls pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Some just refuse to read. Why???
      https://paultan.org/2017/06/05/2017-proton-iriz-officially-launched-in-malaysia/

• P1 has the tech but preve is too old to retrofit it unless spend money. Why? Can wait for new model to come what.

• Leafable on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:28 pm

Cant tell the different.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 03, 2018 at 9:31 pm

No row gear no buy. Keep money for other things.

• What?!!! No keyless entry? WTH?!!!! How to sale well? Who wanna buy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Do you know that cars with keyless entry are even easier to be stolen now eventhough it is an uptrend feature now? Pls upsate yourself with latest infos.

• Anonymous on Apr 05, 2018 at 12:25 am

For proton, I would prefer no keyless entry unless they adopt new keyless technology from german then it would be safe enough.

• Samsam on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:04 pm

Premium have reverse camera?

• Bad company is bad on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:35 pm

These proton cars could be sold at 60% of their current prices to Malaysians if the supply chain is properly managed and no money gets leaked into anyone’s pockets!

• ahmadjohnson97 on Apr 03, 2018 at 10:57 pm

It might be too late for now but it should have at least offer a manual gearbox for turbocharged preve and suprima.

• Zaniff on Apr 04, 2018 at 1:07 am

I kind of like your idea but nowadays the trend of automatic transmission has become a “suck it up” options from many car manufacturers in the name of efficiency. Actually I missed the three pedals. Even modern supercars ditched manual transmission.

• Mat yeah yeah on Apr 04, 2018 at 8:38 am

Manual? hahahahahaha!

• Such minor changes are not even worth to be mentioned. This is actually worse than Toyota’s “updates” or “facelift”. What happened to Geely? Why didn’t they scrap such implementation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Donno on Apr 03, 2018 at 11:30 pm

You must be really desperate when even small things like a new cap with ring for the washer tank is highlighted as an improvement.

When you got wrong priority like spending money on unimportant models like perdana instead of properly facelifting your bread and butter preve and iriz. How would people be excited to buy the preve when you can’t even spend a few hundred thousand on a soft tooling (your volume is so low your soft tooling wont even wear out) for a new bumper? Even axia has a facelift after just 2 years.

• Zaniff on Apr 04, 2018 at 12:56 am

Actually I’ve seen this 2018 version of Proton Preve numerous times. But owned by the police force. None of us are aware that Proton has already rolled out the production for 2018 Preve. Looks good but I’ve already owned the 2013 version that still has the CFE badge.

• Zaniff on Apr 04, 2018 at 1:01 am

Wished that they install a revised engine technology or a new ones so that Preve could be on par with Honda Civic tc and Hyundai Elantra Sport.

• Zaniff on Apr 04, 2018 at 1:16 am

It would be nice if Preve equipped with more powerful engine that comes with better gearbox, refined performance, better build, then we could be better or on par with other brand in this C-segment cars.

• Mat yeah yeah on Apr 04, 2018 at 8:20 am

I wanna buy refinement Suprima S, hope have keyless entry like Iriz one.. if still slot in key fob.. nope.. Will go for Vento 1.2 tsi..

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Apr 04, 2018 at 9:54 am

That Vento 1.2 TSI doesn’t have keyless entry, either.

• 12yrsold on Apr 04, 2018 at 9:02 am

Despite this Preve is Bigger & supposedly more powerful & safer, most M’sian will still buy a smaller but more reliable Myvi. Why john why ??!!

• applegreen on Apr 04, 2018 at 9:06 am

This facelifted model is about NVH am i right? So the logo is not about tiger with open mouth, how about proton makes the tiger mouth shut?

• not proton fan on Apr 04, 2018 at 9:19 am

Bezza looks even better than this…
    Please proton check your calendar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • tonggek on Apr 04, 2018 at 12:32 pm

Bezza look disproportionate, it looks high and tall but narrow

• Ahmad on Apr 04, 2018 at 3:07 pm

But better build quality than proton..

Perodua win at quality product, but lose at performance.?
        Proton win at performance, but fail at quality, imagine proton car with perodua engine & cvt toyota.. perfect car for malaysian..

• tonggek on Apr 04, 2018 at 4:54 pm

Those engine and gearbox are sluggish, dun even need review, I mean myvi

P2 SA so worry hahahaha..oh what quality it has? Frugal? Nope. Reliable? Nope. It is not same with jepunis passo, malu betul

• johnissohai on Apr 04, 2018 at 6:07 pm

P2 SA worry?..about what?..too much sales?..

ever wonder why p1 so hard to sell???despite having your so called “good quality”

LOL

• Amran on Apr 04, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Campro engine far sluggish than dual vvti.. ahaks!

• hahaha on Apr 05, 2018 at 8:54 am

Oh no, they start to tell everyone that the purpose of dual vvti is to make car faster like turbo!

Hahahaha!

• Campro vvt? Eev engine? No. Powerful engine? No.. Hybrid? No. So what kind of engine is campro?

• full spec now comes with leather seat meehhh,,and the 17 inch only silver colour,, not the two tone one

• zainal abidin on Apr 04, 2018 at 9:24 am

A switch to a reliable cvt would be better. And the present headlights are just not bright enough.

• passion on Apr 04, 2018 at 9:58 am

its 2018 already. why is this car still here. we have enough police cars running around.

• This model is a failure. Get over it. Doing the same thing again and again won’t change the result.

• Ben Yap on Apr 04, 2018 at 10:43 am

The graphics show that the car has 18” rim. In real life much smaller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Malai on Apr 04, 2018 at 1:08 pm

I have been using proton preve since Feb 2013.. positive : well equipped car, smooth, comfortable , no major problems thus far with the exception of wear and tear. negative: noisy and petrol consumption is not at par(at all) with cars of the same class. Would it consider buying proton again: definitely as they have improved tremendously.. more to come..

• Wow they waited 6 years to do this when it shud be done before it was even introduced. Great job Proton

• BbalingBiru on Apr 04, 2018 at 2:40 pm

Hmmm this is indeed ironic! After squeezing 30% from vendors, the new owner of Proton still increases its car price.

• Not Imprezzed on Apr 04, 2018 at 2:45 pm

Here’s an idea Proton, put a 1.8L engine with 6-speed auto. Not that hard.

• rally_fan (Member) on Apr 04, 2018 at 2:55 pm

the car represents great value actually, and is a good size. the biggest problem is, it is not as refined as it can be. powertrain wise, as well as the overall design both in and out.. there are many things when examined closely, come across as unresolved. the preve could have been so much more. I guess we will have to wait for a new replacement thru protons collaboration with Geely to solve the issues the preve had.

• When I was in the market for 50k-70k car last year, I bought a 5AT. If only preve using conventional torque converter …..