SPYSHOTS: 2018 Proton Preve spotted with updates

Following the first sighting of the updated Proton Preve at a petrol station last month, reader Sathia Roga spotted yet another model undergoing testing on the KL-Seremban highway.

You can clearly see the blacked-out bits this time around, starting with the tailgate trim. The roof is also in gloss black, matching the updated Iriz and Exora. Proton’s new three-dimensional logo, which debuted last year with the new Perdana, can be seen too.

A new colour option (Ruby Red here) as well as larger 17-inch wheels are also present, rounding up the very minor visual update. Behind the familiar looks, you can expect improvements to be made with regards to noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) levels (both Iriz and Exora received the same updates).

Last August, it was reported that the 1.6 litre CamPro IAFM (Intake Air-Fuel Module) engine on the Preve will be discontinued, leaving buyers with the sole option of the 1.6 litre turbocharged CFE engine.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• anonymous on Oct 13, 2017 at 5:15 pm

oh my XXX, unpainted garnish bar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Oct 13, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Proton is a joke with no marketing research at all. The last Preve was an utter failure. Sales were so bad that Preve brand collapsed.

The only way Proton kept the Preve brand alive was its supply to PDRM. I think 90% of all orders came from PDRM.

My question is this….if the PReve had failed so badly the last time, why does Proton invest so much of money to do one with updates?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 28
      • Mark from Predator XR on Oct 13, 2017 at 8:34 pm

There’s also a reason why Proton are having the new CEO and they’re improving any certain older models of Proton. Although the raykat won’t give any interest into these old models nor buying them but I’m pretty sure they’re selling these in the ASEAN region.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
        • Wow cool bruh, updated Preve…again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
          • hisham on Oct 14, 2017 at 6:35 pm

I look at Preve, so outdated and old desgn and tech, I cannot stop laughing when I think they said it was the BMW of Asia and it is better than BMW and Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
          • Sam tow truck on Oct 15, 2017 at 10:37 am

Volvo and bmw owners are my regular customers, dun buy p1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Cave fact on Oct 14, 2017 at 8:26 am

From where did you pick it up? Sky?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • Rightwinger on Oct 15, 2017 at 10:40 am

You think, so therefore you’re right? Show me where you got that 90% figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 15, 2017 at 4:06 pm

Mid-life update ke? 7 more glorious years of Preve to go. Hahahaha.. like Wira days, 14 years product cycle.

• camtakpro on Oct 15, 2017 at 8:43 pm

This update is just to sell off existing unsold units staying in the warehouse for years.

• cause that the one they can do now to up sale for this model…they cant do facelift..cant do rebuild this model since got no money and no ROI…just change simple thing and perhaps some blind people will buy it..

• Here is the cheat sheet for the new Geely Malaysia CEO. Do this and the car company will surely sell more annually than whatever they end up selling this year.

Saga – discontinue and junk the old platform
      Persona – rename to new Saga and put in a 1.3 engine
      Iriz – market it as the hatch equivalent of the renamed Saga. Find a way to create a B-segment crossover as well.
      Ertiga- get rid of it and don’t ever think of making something like this ever again
      Satria – discontinue and junk the old platform
      Exora – find a donor Geely vehicle to replace with
      Pervert – rename to Waja and make it default C-segment sedan offering
      Suprimau – rename to either Satria or Persona with or without alphabets behind, default C-segment hatchback
      Pondana – kill the original designer then replace with donor Geely vehicle
      Tongsan – make sure the new SUV is less than RM100k baru orang beli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 38
    • Sinister on Oct 13, 2017 at 11:54 pm

Really terrible engine this Preve 1.6 turbo. Very noisy and drinks petrol like water. Cannot even overtake Honda City at high speed. Total junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 51
      • Cool story brahhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Muthusammy Loo on Oct 14, 2017 at 4:44 pm

Only if Preve got 1.6 turbo with 6-speed manual gearbox (until now, habuk pun tarak, CVT for me, puik), there is a chance to even overtake the overrated Civic FC 1.5 turbo at highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Selipar on Oct 14, 2017 at 7:10 pm

Duh. I have the new city..nothing to brag..my old wira se still can tapau.

• Selipar on Oct 14, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Forgot to say city at least have better acceleration then new vios

• dude what? this car is ancient. should just discontinue this and focus and brand new models leh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • 7yrsold on Oct 13, 2017 at 6:32 pm

Ancient but like fd2 it is still look good unlike new crab one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • Geely has so many models to choose from to rebadge, and yet they decide to continue producing old stock. Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • All of Geelys models is left hand drive. With signal stalk at left. Can u handle it, bub?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 27
      • loler on Oct 13, 2017 at 9:10 pm

Old is gold. Rofl

• Rightwinger on Oct 15, 2017 at 10:50 am

If you’re referring to the frame, it is. proton could do what VW did like the MK6 Golf which used the MK5 frame but with a serious makeover inside and out to address the MK5 flaws, while retaining its best attributes. That would cut down development costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • ex-VGM staff on Oct 16, 2017 at 9:35 am

same platform, body is all new. Mk V golf is timing belt. Mk VI Golf is timing chain, electric water pump etc.

• ProTun on Oct 13, 2017 at 5:37 pm

Design outdated already…and the power is so-so only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Oct 13, 2017 at 7:18 pm

Instead of wasting money on this Preve, better for Proton to give VSC on the Saga. At least, that will save lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 42
      • Saga alredi has ESC. Ur Mivi bila lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 20
        • Shahril on Oct 14, 2017 at 11:02 am

please give evidence that all Saga got VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Salmah on Oct 14, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Yes, Saga has VSC, just like how our car insurance is subsidised by the Government, according to you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • Muthusammy Loo on Oct 14, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Like that hor, i can say Biza also has VSC, wait a minute, it’s only available for topkek spec variant, furthermore Malaysian carbuyers prefer ‘special GearUp package to neraka’ rather than VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • kiddd on Oct 13, 2017 at 5:37 pm

Facelift or just minor makeup??

• P2MACAI on Oct 13, 2017 at 6:33 pm

If makeup oni go for p2.

• nemesis on Oct 14, 2017 at 12:36 pm

gloss black roof? come on proton… leave that cheap gimmick to after market shop like subi design or something.. no manufacturer in the world does this.. u want black roof, give us the glass roof.. then people will take you seriously

• kiddd on Oct 14, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Maybe..
        that is real glass roof..
        so that, we can call it facelift..
        haha, tapi jangan harap..

• what kind of face lift? there is no difference at all! ppl can do better job from accessory shop la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • It probably was a good car if launch in 2000, but bro, now is almost 2018. It simply no match to other competitors in the same segment, except price. Even with cheaper price, people rather get those lower segment more expensive option. must revamp the whole line up to survive. Wonder how to clear the existing old stock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Facto on Oct 13, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Lower segment vios got 2 airbags only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Problem is even 2 air bag kosong spec still beaten you up for sale, meaning must be serious problem with this preve or this brand. Consumer no confidence at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • Alyaniff on Dec 23, 2017 at 2:34 pm

No, suckers for stupid imports like you who are willing to pay so much cluttered malaysia with stupid overvalued car.

• Superb proton, so this is the outcome of 1b+ r&d.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • P1 has more models than that. Pls come out of cave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 60
      • “Come out from cave, come out from cave….”

The only people that need to come out from cave are Proton’s clown… you should accept that most Malaysians hate Proton. And stop thinking that Proton diri sama tinggi as other marque because they are living on life support from public fund.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 75
        • My england is bad on Oct 14, 2017 at 8:31 am

But till got sales, what hate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
          • Don’t talk about selling cars which they end up at this sorry state. The are selling the company at a faction price of the soft loan and grant they received recently.

Don’t forget. This is the company that blame Malaysian public for their low sales figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • Shahril on Oct 14, 2017 at 11:04 am

ioma, why waste time arguing with a person who says malaysia got free parking and cheapest petrol in the world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 24
          • If u said it, just admit it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 24
  • Mr. Loba Loba on Oct 13, 2017 at 6:08 pm

FFS, it looks exactly the same like the current model

• Dont dare to call it facelift if theres no updated rear fugly light and hid headlight as standard. Also fix the stupid cvt or just buy cvt from mitsu

• halldisc on Oct 14, 2017 at 10:25 am

the right word is update. or minor change.

not the usual facelift.

• Stefan on Oct 13, 2017 at 6:29 pm

That is a phathethic excuse of an “update”. The newer axia has gone through more “updates” than that preve!

• Smokey on Oct 13, 2017 at 6:30 pm

I just want the rims.. please sell me the rims

• Jky8787 on Oct 13, 2017 at 6:32 pm

Facelifted? Another SV version just like those persona and saga flx..

• Unknown on Oct 13, 2017 at 6:43 pm

Seems like proton’s idea of facelift these days are blacken the trims, different trim and fabric on the interior and different alloys

• This is update, where you read the facelift word?

• Alyaniff on Dec 23, 2017 at 2:48 pm

P1 haters dont know to differentiate between word update and facelift; you think they have ever drive a preve before? I doubt it.

• no better upgrades, proton? all these mods can be done easily at most accessories shop… lol

• Viosfan on Oct 15, 2017 at 1:52 pm

Better than useless stickers that can be found at pasar malam

• walaoeh on Oct 13, 2017 at 6:52 pm

Come on! Better upgrade ur proton ertiga la. At least put in a VSC. It’s a joke when ur newer model doesn’t have this safety feature.

• I thought it is without VSC since launched. Ertiga is not new model. It is rebadged suzuki

• walaoeh on Oct 14, 2017 at 9:51 am

ya, it’s a rebadged Suzuki and it was first launched without VSC. but I do believe proton has technologies and engineers to do it other than just rebadging. Most of their previous models/variants already fitted with VSC but out of nowhere this newer model was launched completely without this safety feature. LOL!

• And plus donor company might not want it to be changed much in the agreement.

• oh mak lu on Oct 13, 2017 at 7:00 pm

Again black roof? Do you know black roof will make your interior hot and you will have to up your AC. This will end up with higher fuel consumption? If at all, the best color for roof would be white or silver. Go to a black/white roadside curb under the hot sun, you will realize the white section you can step with your bare foot, try it on the black section…. It is that big of a difference in temperature!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Fugley on Oct 14, 2017 at 9:01 am

Black or silver will make it fugly

• ex-VGM staff on Oct 14, 2017 at 10:28 am

the designers looked at BMW M3 CSL.. and thought.. black roof is nice.

and then they looked at Jaguar XJL in 2011 and thought again.. black roof is nice.

and so they decided to give proton cars the image of either carbon fibre roof (like M3 CSL) or twin panoramic roof.

when it is neither of both.

• Cost down changes i guess. But they shud replace stinger antenna with sharkfin at least.

Sunset changes to soldier on for another couple of years pending Geely codevelopment, but it was a solid workhorse success for P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
    • 2015 Preve owner club on Oct 13, 2017 at 9:24 pm

Lega…heppi…
      Nasib baek design maintainn fuhhh

• Shahril on Oct 14, 2017 at 11:07 am

If success, how come Proton is bankrupt? and have to lelong to Geely?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Lil Cupacabra on Oct 13, 2017 at 7:07 pm

Proton -Dare to make NO change??

• Applegreen on Oct 13, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Turbo and preve text not align. Totally fail in basic designing

• Obviously u havent seen how a developmental car looks like. Ever seen those conti zebras?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Bernard on Oct 13, 2017 at 7:56 pm

What upgrade?

• What upgrade? Better get kia rio then proton :((

• Crappy Outalingam on Oct 13, 2017 at 11:28 pm

Please lah Potong a.k.a. Proton….6 year old auto design for Preve too damn long edi…methinks I should draft my 2-dimensional design and show it to them and I DO NOT MIND BEING BLASTED OFF….

• David on Oct 14, 2017 at 12:22 am

Apa ni…update kebenda nye cuma tukar colour dan saiz rim je..body design cikai lah..tukarlah design baru mcm honda city ke kia cerato ke..just paint with black makin panaslah kereta serap haba bnyk2 bawah matahari..owner preve lama pun dapat buat mcm tu just paint black roof n tukar rim..hurrmmm..proton2..dengarlah pandangan pengguna..jangan main ikut je kehendak bos ke apa..pengguna yg tentukan jualan..design lawa mainkan peranan penting dalam jualan.search google rendering preve facelift lg lawa..harap dpt hasilkan mcm tu end product..kalau setakat minor improvement xpayahlah.buang masa je ketingalan zaman design.aku sokong proton sebab mampu milik n besar.kalau mcm ni sama updated model.kena fikir 2 3 kali nk beli.bayar kereta bkn sekejap esok pakai terus tukar dlm masa 4-5 tahun..7-12 tahun pakai pun masih org guna..nnt cucu cicit tgk kereta datuk legend n updated style walau ditelan zaman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Charles Chan on Oct 14, 2017 at 3:24 am

Terbaik tu bro..cukup bernas dan konstruktif. kami smue rakyat mesia mmg pernah dan tetap sokong kuat proton, diorang wakil negara gak…macam lawan kat final thomas cup. perlukuat berdaya saing luar. tapi tiap2 kali kuar produk indah kabar dr rupa, susah we all nk amek balik proton. renung2 proton

• 7yrsold on Oct 14, 2017 at 9:06 am

Design baru is called new gen.

• Nosushi on Oct 15, 2017 at 12:14 pm

Pakai 12 tahun keta jepun je sbb tak canggih

• David on Nov 01, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Dah angkat honda city fl 2017 dah..tunggu dtg je..nk tunggu preve mcm takde perkembangan terkini..aku mmg minat proton preve facelift render mcm di google tu..tapi mcm senyap je xda info terkini utk new facelift.last2..bila dah test drive persona,vios,almera,ertiga,preve dan city..last2 honda menambat hati..maybe next time ambik proton.teruskan usaha proton..selamat maju jaya.

• suhaimi on Oct 14, 2017 at 2:21 am

P1 management trying hard to clear 2016-2017 stock piling up and no where to park.
    CEO will have a heart attack when he sees the amount of unsold units and yet production is still business as usual,
    so R&D dept comes up with this brilliant idea.
    Mr CEO time to put your foot down and chop off the low volume brands P1 keeps producing.

• Sell it at RM50K with 5 years and unlimited mileage free services, then i will consider to buy.

• sam123 on Oct 14, 2017 at 9:08 am

Proton should clear all old stock with lower lower lower price, not with updates face or accessories.. no body will want it.. kereta zaman dinosaur minum air kuat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Jepunis car FC tipu , JC08 is only done on short distance, of course got better FC while in real world pipu got trapped on long distance for much longer time.

• My england is bad on Oct 15, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Patut la in real world fc P1 lagi bagus dari jepunis

• Ben Yap on Oct 14, 2017 at 9:46 am

the silhouette of the preve is dated with the design of the tail lights.

proton need to do a facelift to that and at the same time increase the power output. 138hp from a 1.6 is no longer competitive. it should develop at least 160hp and 240Nm of torque.

• Faris Ariffin Bin Mohd Azizan on Oct 14, 2017 at 9:50 am

I wish they’d change the real look of the car .

• p1, pls streamline ur model

while saga & persona in diffrent segment, they r too close. pls kill persona

saga – iriz
    kill persona
    preve – suprima (rename to satria)
    kill perdana
    bayou – exora

• Saga3 & Persona2 has their unique selling points althou priced quite close each other. It depends if buyer can stump up another RM10~15k or not for Persona2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Lawson on Oct 14, 2017 at 2:33 pm

What about the Petronas engines that Proton bought over? With car makers hopping, at least, to hybrid engines to make the transition to full EV cars (which happen within 10 years or so) are the Petronas engines turning into still born?. If so the RM200 to RM300 million or so they laid down will be wasted.

• ex-VGM staff on Oct 16, 2017 at 9:43 am

while Persona is a B segment (Almera is B+ segment – look at the wheelbase), the Saga is A segment competing with Mitsubishi Attrage, Kia Picanto and the likes.

• hisham on Oct 14, 2017 at 6:37 pm

I went to Proton showroom today and checked, Saga got no VSC.

Another fake news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • https://paultan.org/2016/09/29/2016-proton-saga-specifications-by-variant/

Sigh. Some pipu is just incapable of reading nor understanding. Simple, the mind is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 37
      • Majid on Oct 15, 2017 at 8:24 am

Another lie. Only top model got VSC. Majority of buyers buy not the top model. Pls don’t lie to readers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 51
        • Nosushi on Oct 15, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Noone said all models got VSC except bashers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 37
        • Pls read what u write la. U said “Saga got no VSC”, and now u said “Only top model got VSC”. So which is which?

Stop contradicting urself. Putar belit too much u din realised u bite ur tail kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 70
        • Najadi on Oct 16, 2017 at 9:27 am

ha ha ha. john kena kantoi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 33
  • Kunta Kinte on Oct 14, 2017 at 8:34 pm

Has proton changed that atrocious headlights. Please make it wider and redesign the ah Beng DRL. It’s also stepping too much at the back with a high waist line resulting in a chunky boot

• Nicholas Ng on Oct 15, 2017 at 12:32 pm

You think Geely is whole heartedly committed to Proton? They already wrote off the USD500 million as cost to buy Lotus. The real brand revamping and expansion of range will be for Lotus. It is more potentially viable to factor in the cost of buying over Proton and hedge that in Lotus.

• Pls bring the TGDI engine into this preve and Jatco transmission. That engine has launced 2 years ago/

• Annoynimouse on Oct 16, 2017 at 8:52 am

Besides NVH refinement and CVT noise reduction, I’d like to see a revised and updated rear lamp design. Interior-wise the dash texture has to change. And of course, we normally see revised bumper designs in facelift models of all other makes. So, it make sense to have that as well (especially the rear) rather than launch this facelift model only to update it agaaaaain a couple of years then.
    Facelifts are planned early…

• john is otak batu on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:39 am

Proton horror shows continued….

• Alyaniff on Dec 23, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Just stick to being kena tipu by overpriced imports, will ya?

• Protiga on Oct 16, 2017 at 11:31 am

A strip of led light and we call it updated version

• toyotafan on Oct 16, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Why not, P2 changed bumper only they ady called it facelift!