JPJ summons – 70% off in April, except speeding fines

Motorists can now pay their Road Transport Department (JPJ) summonses at a 70% discount at all of its branch offices nationwide. JPJ deputy director-general (planning and operations) Datuk Wan Ahmad Uzir Wan Sulaiman urged the public to go to the JPJ branch offices instead of Urban Transformation Centres (UTCs), for the latter might not be able to detect all the compounds.

According to The Star, the discount does not apply to fines issued through the Automated Awareness Safety System (Awas). As of December 20, 2017, JPJ has issued 417,684 traffic summonses, comprised of speeding and traffic light offences.

On April 2, Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi announced a 70% discount on all fines issued by JPJ for the whole of April in conjunction with its 72nd anniversary celebration. Since the discounted rate was introduced, several branches have began shutting down before the closing time due to overcrowding.

Those who turned up at a branch in Petaling Jaya were left disappointed when it closed at 3pm. Wan Ahmad Uzir said it was at the discretion of each branch based on the crowd size.

“It depends on the capacity each branch is able to handle. Some have to close their doors earlier to prevent more people from entering. The more the people, the longer the wait. It takes time to clear the summonses of those who turn up as they might have a few compounds each,” he explained.

So, dear readers, have you settled your summonses yet?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Light on Apr 05, 2018 at 10:23 am

One question. Can I assume that this does not apply to PDRM Summons? Thanks in advance netizens!

• 12yrsold on Apr 05, 2018 at 11:48 am

Hahaha, 70% discount. Those who pay diligently must be kicking their own butt. This is one case of better be LATE than early.
    Looks like the early bird got bitten by the worm(snake) instead of catching the worm.

• Kena AES on Apr 05, 2018 at 1:36 pm

AES got discount ?

• Eternalgl0ry on Apr 05, 2018 at 1:49 pm

Malaysia anyhow also can. That is why people say malaysia boleh

I was fine 300$ for speeding 92km /h on a 110km limit highway with no camera photos taken.

Then when i got stop by a traffic police on the side. He told me to give kopi which i refused and he gave me a speeding ticket of 150$

• Hmm.. Much Hmm.. on Apr 05, 2018 at 5:31 pm

It’s undisputed! Our enforcement agencies are teaching us NOT to pay our fines or renew our road tax until they announce a SALE period or gives us a major discount!

• Sangeeth on Apr 24, 2018 at 11:07 pm

How much is the summon after 70% for seat belt…?