AMG CEO Tobias Moers: A35 confirmed – 300 hp!

The last time we heard Mercedes-AMG boss Tobias Moers speak about an entry-level AMG model, he said “we have to have a close look at the competitors and who is going to be our benchmark, then we work out what the task is of the A 35 in setting the new benchmark.” Well, that’s sorted now. According to Car and Driver, the A 35 will compete with the likes of the Audi S3.

Currently, there is quite a considerable gap in the brand’s compact car offering, especially between the A 250 and A 45 – likewise for the CLA and GLA models. The 250 variants get a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo petrol making 218 hp/350 Nm, while the AMG 45 gets a hand-built 2.0 litre turbo that makes a monstrous 381 hp and 475 Nm of torque. With the imminent introduction of the W177 A-Class, AMG plans to fill that gap with an AMG bearing the “35” badge.

Speaking about the upcoming new A-class sedan, Moers said “there will be a new AMG 45, but in addition to that, we will launch an AMG 35 with around 300 horsepower.” Of course, expect the CLA and GLA to receive the same treatment as well.

As for the range-topping AMG 45, Moers won’t go as far as to reveal details such as horsepower figures, but the all-new engine is expected to push beyond the 400 hp mark and outdo the Audi RS3, the latter featuring a 2.5 litre inline-five turbo that produces 400 hp.

Apparently, the AMG 35 will also get a detuned, hand-built M133 engine (not an uprated M260) that’s based on Affalterbach’s one-man, one-engine philosophy. Expect the new wave of baby AMGs to be revealed late this year or sometime in 2019. What’s your take on this, dear readers? Let us know in the comments below!

GALLERY: W177 Mercedes-Benz A-Class

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Yunos on Apr 11, 2018 at 6:35 pm

New gen Proton Suprima R3 300 hp ??

• Azman Hashim on Apr 11, 2018 at 7:53 pm

This will be a big hit. Pity Geely won’t get the technology. Daimler already confirmed Geely won’t get a single technology despite being large shareholder.

Poor Geely, wasted their money on Mercedes and Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • P1 get the Volvo T8 hybrid technology.

• 12yrsold on Apr 12, 2018 at 10:10 am

Geely also not yet get. What makes U think P1 will get Volvo T8 tech !?

• “Geely Borui… The PHEV employs a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine, which is already being used in the Volvo XC40 T3”. Soon.

https://paultan.org/2018/04/03/geely-borui-ge-1-5l-plug-in-hybrid-to-debut-april-9/

• 12yrsold on Apr 12, 2018 at 1:44 pm

@ john. Hehehe. Your comment – “already ‘being used’ in the Volvo XC40 T3” Soon.

Bro, being used & SOON same ka ?! Is T8 & T3 same ka ?! Hehehe. Thanks for the entertainment john. Cheers…

• U ask if Geely got Volvo tech. Here is the proof. Just a matter of time it gets T8. Deswai I said SOON. Boleh paham dik?

• P1, Mesidis, Geely, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck, Lotus > all

• 12yrsold on Apr 11, 2018 at 7:28 pm

This is one very very nice hatchback

• It’s very beautiful especially in real life. The new A-Class is a huge improvement from the previous generation too…

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 11, 2018 at 7:50 pm

I’m in for this. A 35 model for 300k or lesser.

• natasha on Apr 12, 2018 at 12:31 pm

At least its still better than the now weak and slow A250 Sport model which is useless to be put on sale beside the purist AMG A45 model.
    If the person has the money for the brand new Mercedes, why buy a normal boring model? Pointless. AMG is the reason why you buy a Mercedes car. Same case with BMW M models.
    This may sound stupid for some people, but its true la.

• M car owner on Apr 12, 2018 at 11:51 pm

An M model in malayzia will get you about 3 and a half cars of normal “models”. Even if i can afford an amg or m model I would still get a normal boring model to use for chores or going to the wet market etc. Besides only 5 % or less of the population can really afford upper model luxury cars. It does NOT make business sense to cater to just a small market share. What in the world was your real point anyway??? It’s not a stupid statement. It’s an ignorant “don’t know what you are talking about ” narrow minded uninformed statement .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Clearly Natasha is referring to Purists or Diehard AMG and M owners. But she a valid point, what it meant is that there will be no discrimination when it comes to driving a M or AMG model compared to the boring normal models when the person has zero financial problems when it comes to cars including BMWs or Mercedes cars.
        Driving brand new BMW and Mercedes cars in Malaysia clearly shows that the person is Rich due to the extremely high vehicle taxes compared to lets say and ordinary KIA Picanto for example.

• autobahn on Apr 16, 2018 at 8:23 am

we call it choices Natasha. if a person plans to spend 240k on a car then the a250 is the option. some people keep their car up to two generation, others change every time new model comes out. so depends also if he willing to burn his money every 4 years for new cars.

• Ollie on Apr 12, 2018 at 3:35 pm

AMG, sayonara. If Merc can’t respect its own performance badge, why should we?