GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz A250 Sport now with 218 hp

In September last year, we brought you news of an increase in price for the Mercedes-Benz A 250 Sport, which became RM10,000 costlier at RM248,888 on-the-road without insurance. No changes in specification were provided at the time, but on closer inspection there have been a few detail tweaks made.

Firstly, the M270 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine finally produces the 218 hp it should have made in facelifted guise in the first place – Mercedes-Benz Malaysia initially pulled it back to 211 hp because of our lower fuel quality, so perhaps the company made the new tune work somehow. It’s made at the same 5,000 rpm as before, while maximum torque holds station at 350 Nm from 1,200 to 4,000 rpm.

The seven-speed 7G-DCT dual-clutch transmission has also been given a sportier configuration, as has the engine and throttle mapping; there’s also a sportier engine note to go with the changes. As a result, zero to 100 km/h is now accomplished 0.1 seconds quicker at 6.3 seconds, but the top speed remains at 240 km/h.

Chassis revisions are also in store, with the A 250 Sport gaining AMG speed-sensitive sports steering as well as “Engineered by AMG” sports suspension that replaces the standard sports setup and is 15 mm lower than standard. The electronic stability control has also been modified, presumably to have a lower threshold.

Otherwise, you get the same car as you got in 2016, so there’s still no keyless entry nor push-button start, and air-conditioning is still manual. What you do get is the full AMG exterior kit that consists of sportier front and rear bumpers and deeper side skirts, plus red front and rear accents, “Sport” badging and red-painted brake callipers that set the A 250 Sport apart from other AMG Line variants. The new 18-inch five-split-spoke alloy wheels you see here were introduced early last year.

Also included are LED High Performance headlights with Adaptive Highbeam Assist, a flat-bottomed steering wheel, power-adjustable sports seats with memory, faux Artico leather and Dinamica microfibre upholstery, faux carbon fibre dashboard trim, red air vent highlights, designo red seat belts, a base Audio 20 infotainment system with an eight-inch Media Display, a reverse camera and Active Parking Assist. Safety-wise, there are seven airbags and Collision Prevention Assist Plus with autonomous emergency braking.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ben Yap on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:28 pm

in the hatchback segment, this car is way faster than a myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • patik on Jan 02, 2018 at 4:08 pm

Suprima is way faster than a civic HB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Ha ha ha on Jan 02, 2018 at 5:16 pm

Is no where near the civic pls…

• Yusof Talha on Jan 02, 2018 at 8:10 pm

Mercedes A250 is considered toy car and or a cheapo car in Europe. It is so cheap to rent this car and trash it.

But in Malaysia, it cost RM250k. Considered very very luxurious car.

In Europe, they treat the A250 like dirt and it is known as a rental car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • Tax the rich no problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • Yaaa, ya, the car is from germany, which is part of europe (Heard this from other article by different commenter) That is why it is cheap there. When crossing the English Channel, it becomes slightly expensive. No I know u can get A150d (or maybe A160d, not sure which one) cheaper, in UK too. Have u check the price of A250 in US? It is expensive. Well, currently no A class is sold in US but the next A class will. Dont forget other countries as well. I once ride in a brand new E-class taxi in Germany. Even S-class taxi. Aku x kecoh pon ckp E-class, S-class such a cheapo car in Europe.

• Add A Comment on Jan 03, 2018 at 8:23 am

But you still can’t afford one in Malaysia. So how?

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Chairman mao on Aug 22, 2018 at 7:58 pm

Nope you obviously never been to Europe. They don’t even buy a250. Mostly a160 diesel. A250 is pricey af there. Average Europeans won’t buy it as well. Don’t talk Cock sing song if u don’t know anything

• dimitriy on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:32 pm

Volvo V4’s engine output more or less like this A250 but coupled with 9-speed transmission.

V40 is a looker than this A250. IMPORTANTLY V40 price at 180k OTR (not incl rebate). now Inscription model comes with a famous-THOR Hammer Headlight.

Tokmoh would agree with me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Volvo > all
      Geely > all
      P1 > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
      • Ah Kow on Jan 02, 2018 at 4:12 pm

Volvo S60 T6 Drive-E 306 hp RM238k.

• Small volvo kid on Jan 03, 2018 at 10:26 am

Some small kid only know the horsepower but dont understand what is branding and luxury. Comparing volvo to ither german is like compare Rolex and Citizen

• 12yrsold on Jan 02, 2018 at 4:53 pm

… & they ALL(Volvo/P1) beaten by a small company(P2) in M’sia in terms of sales. Sob sob.

• Agree with u Dimitriy. The only plus point for the A-class is it has autonomous braking, adaptive cruise control at greater speed. V40 only upto 50 km/h called City Safety (no adaptive cruise control), very unlike its abangs and kakaks. Other than that reason, V40 is much better than the current A-class with higher engine output.

• Ajerul on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:37 pm

Side advert, 2014 Benz A45 AMG 360hp and 450 Nm… same price 249k. Homaiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • timmy on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:09 pm

Who the hell wants to buy this underpowered and basic A-Class when you have and AMG 45 available for sale example like the now useless and outdated TC-P Civic and FK8 Type R.
    If the driver can afford a Mercedes-Benz, money was never a problem, directly buy the AMG A45 or Type R. Go straight into the Halo models. Nuff said.
    Mercedes should instantly kill off all their non AMG models now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 18
    • My goodness. The gap in logic in your argument is large enough to swallow an entire Mount Everest whole. So much, that my eyes simply hurt from reading it.

From the way you talk about A45 AMG, i take it that you are a fan. I am too. But to say that Mercedes should stop making this “Base model” and go straight to A45 AMG is simply ludicrous.

As to your Merc buyers should jump directly to A45 AMG because money is never a problem, so by your logic, this means all BMW 3 series buyer should straight away buy an M3 and BMW should stop selling all other 3 series? Lets don’t stop at cars. Lets talk houses. I presume you are old enough with proper payslips to qualify for a home loan. Rather than buying a Semi-D in an upscale neighborhood, one should just buy the biggest bungalow in the most upscale neighborhood in town, regardless of space requirement?

You obviously don’t understand market segmentation and the needs of different buyers, assuming everyone is after what you are after. Open up your mind a little bit. You will be surprise with what’s out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 35
      • dennischua on Jan 03, 2018 at 3:02 pm

Bro, Houses are houses. Different object totally.
        This is an automotive blog, no one cares about home property here or clothes.
        Frankly, No one cares about market segmentation when it comes to cars if you are a purists.
        Just stick to what you can afford based on your basic salary. Cant afford AMG or Type R models, better buy car models with no Full Spec High performance models like Mazda CX-3 for example. Even better in fact. No offence to everyone here. Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • I have to disagree.
          Ideas are ideas. The same idea applied to car purist can be applied to home buyers. Or clothes buyers. Its called analogy. Not meant to be taken literally but figuratively.

And in this case, the idea is since somebody can afford a merc/BMW/car/certain brand of clothes, he should only buy the most expensive variant, rather than base/mid variant. Car makers should not make those variants too.

The ability to make an good critical argument does not depend on whether a person is a purist or not. By saying a purist does not care about market segmentation is a pure sweeping statement. There are purist who understands the need for it, and purist that doesn’t. What bugged me is the mind boggling way the argument was framed. I guess I call a spade a spade.

Let’s agree to disagree here, and enjoy the car and news for what it is.

• Add A Comment on Jan 03, 2018 at 8:25 am

No wonder you still can’t afford a Merc….with this kind of mindset….sigh….

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Ah Beng on Jan 03, 2018 at 2:54 pm

If you are car fanatics, I am sure many of you are here in this blog, Mr Timmy has a totally Valid point. If you are a Mercedes A-class or Civic purist, no financial troubles at all, just pay up and get inside the AMG A45 or FK8 type R. No need for slow, hideous and underpowered base and middle spec models. Car purists like us readers here generally avoid these models unless we can’t afford them.
        Done, no more arguing around like children about low spec and high spec, engine hp, bodykits this and etc.LOL.

• leonken on Jan 03, 2018 at 9:22 pm

Yeah bro, you are right. Too many Kedai Ah Beng bodykit, exhaust and crappy cheapo fake Type Rs Civic FCs and Mercedes AMG wannabes out there.
          Remove the hood, ordinary junk engine underneath only. Bodoh punya driver. LMFAO.

All show no go. Better drive normal City,Vios, Iriz and Myvi better la.

• nitrousox on Jan 03, 2018 at 2:44 pm

Totally true and makes perfect sense. Its basically called discrimination. Like myself, I bought a TC-P Civic like you stated but unfortunately its completely outclassed by the Type R FK8 today.
      Non AMG Mercedes owners and non type R owners should save up more and wait for the right time to buy the halo Real AMG models instead of useless base models or snap on Ah Beng Bodykits from Sunway. Totally pointless to have them on sale.
      Its like MYVI Advance and base spec Myvi.
      Crappy Golf TSI and mighty Golf R.
      Huge difference but Hey if Money is never an issue,you can afford a brand with top of line spec models, jump straight away into Halo models. Case closed.
      No more feelings of unhappiness and looking stupid on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Discrimination?

Could you please elaborate?

On a different note, your point is a golf buyer should straight away buy a Golf R, rather than Tsi or even Gti? Even though the buyer is a family man and does not need a car with that many HP and the harder suspension that typically comes with cars with higher HP or sportier intentions?

• Dear Paultan.org. You partnered with Petronas. Can u find a way, to talk to them to compare the Petronas Ron97 vs any other brand of fuel from let say Singapore (or any other country) of their Ron97? Heck, i dont care if u want to compare our other brands (Shell, Petron or even Buraq oil), just make sure Ron97 vs Ron97. I always hear of lower quality of our fuel. Is this applies to our Ron97 as well?

• hayenadeblue on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:38 pm

Wallaweh, 2006 W203 even have auto dual zone aircond. Even the C180 Kompressor with 6 speed manual tranny.

• A 250 standard on Jan 03, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Own it. Love it. Next target – A Class Sedan