PT TALKS: Toyota C-HR – too expensive? BMW X3 and Range Rover Velar – what’s missing for Malaysia?

Our Toyota C-HR review we posted last week has over 100 comments at the time of writing, with many arguing whether or not the crossover is worth the money. Meanwhile, two new premium SUVs – BMW X3 and Range Rover Velar – launched within a day of each other last week garnered a lot of interest over what they offer, as well as what they don’t.

So, in this week’s PT Talks, Hafriz and Matt discuss Toyota’s opinion-dividing model – is it too expensive, and a case of style over substance? Plus, the new X3 and Velar – both have ok specs, but what’s sorely missing in the Malaysian models?

Do let us know your thoughts on these topics, plus any other comments or feedback on our new segment and/or set. Don’t mind the toys and props, though – we’re just having a little bit of fun ;)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Shafiq on Apr 25, 2018 at 10:02 pm

This CHR rides and handles way better than pretty much anything else in the class. Bring it on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 93
    • lotusftw on Apr 25, 2018 at 11:08 pm

Exora handling still far away ahead, sorry to say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 22
      • camtakpro on Apr 26, 2018 at 7:45 am

lol. Exora handling still loses to Alza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
        • Funniest joke of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Proton Iriz 1.4T Crossover

• Tengku Halim on Apr 26, 2018 at 12:32 pm

Our CHR is way too expensive. I don’t know why UMW, being fully gomen owned, cannot bring in the CHR Hybrid.

then with our tax incentive given for EV and Hybrid cars, prices can be far cheaper and prices can even be RM110k.

On hand Government says want to reduce car prices then with the same other hand, through their GLC UMW, they hantam us with super high car prices.

• Same L0rr on Apr 26, 2018 at 10:08 am

I agree with this. Alza far better handling than exora.. good fc, better interior.. exora dashboard design just like 90s..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • p1 fanboy spotted,,am wanna sell my 2015 bold eXora really murah2 coz the chassis now cry loud like a 80y/o granny!! ooo wai!

• komarad on Apr 26, 2018 at 12:37 pm

CHR design is 20 years advance!!

• Guys, nice minor update on your background… But am sure you guys could do better…. How about a nice classic car or even a specialty workshop to host your show..

• loler on Apr 25, 2018 at 10:29 pm

I loled. Deswai chr bmw x3 velar owners hide their cars during gong xi fa cai from family because they know myvi owner will ask them how much the price then when he asks them, Got AEB? They say “no”. What a shame. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
    • Amran on Apr 26, 2018 at 1:49 am

Deswai Tak payah pikir, Tak payah pening. Beli je myvi, ade Smartag ade AEB ade RV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Yawnz on Apr 26, 2018 at 7:49 am

If buy then pening why cannot get 20.1 km/l. Pipu get cheated

• NoWorthAll on Apr 25, 2018 at 10:36 pm

Chr too expensive? Absolutely yes, too too expensive for it class. Can go for cx5, crv, tucson, cx3, sportage, asx, as option for tat kind of price. Hrv wif mugen n modulo kits rm120k much worth it to get. Umwt need to think wise in this. Chr should be around 125k n below. Not everyone willing to pay high price for the design they like.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 1
  • Wastemoney on Apr 25, 2018 at 10:43 pm

Should not mix the chr topic with velar n x3 here. Just talk about chr only can draws hundreds of comment only.
    Chr not worth for it price. Rather opt for crv. Not mind to top up a bit just to get C Segment suv. Should price chr near to hrv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
    • youtakpro on Apr 26, 2018 at 8:39 am

Alza better handling than Exora? Hahahaha that’s the biggest joke I have ever seen. With both car cornering at same speed on a corner, wanna bet which one rolling like crazy?

• Banana on Apr 25, 2018 at 10:49 pm

Umwtoyol try to fool the people with chr high price. U wun beat hrv sale, wun come close.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
  • tokmoh. on Apr 25, 2018 at 10:54 pm

All sohai overpriced, underspecced SUVs.

Volvo, Proton, Geely > all

Malu lah, kereta rm100k can have AEB, ACC, 360° camera, LKA, etc. Toyota should be very worried of Proton X7 soon, and Volvo XC60 simply destroys the BMW and Velar in kits and pricing.

Are you both serious to call them good buy, yet whine all video long about they lack something rm50k myvi also has?

Say it as it is, should the lack of safety systems be a dealbreaker? Yes or no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
    • bshrutd on Apr 25, 2018 at 11:12 pm

They both bashed those overpriced cars without advanced safety gadgets

• tokmoh. on Apr 26, 2018 at 11:15 am

They were trying to justify the CHR not that overpriced compared to the rest of the world. No, UMW marked up too much, it’s a joke trying to justify it.

Then X2 was good priced, cheaper than XC60, but without AEB lel. Anyway, he forgot XC60 T5 is priced RM300k, a whopping rm20k cheaper, so that puts the Volvo even for being non-PHEV.

• Volvo best on Apr 26, 2018 at 1:50 pm

You come here talk coxk only. Bmw one month sales equivalent to volvo 18 mths sales. Be a more professional sales man bang. Dont just shoot other brand

• tokmoh. on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:53 pm

Haters like you really no credibility, and compulsive liar.

You go check monthly sales and tell me if Volvo sales is 1/18th of BMW.

Meanwhile for the rest of the world, Volvo on a roll to 4th record breaking sales and profit. German brands should really be worried.

• Turmeric Man on Apr 25, 2018 at 11:15 pm

is hafriz’s other head just as big?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • Ibuyifcheap on Apr 25, 2018 at 11:15 pm

If chr price below rm128k will sell like hot cup cake. Think about it. U know alot mesian crazy abt it, but wif tat high price is a no no. Honda hrv ody sell like hot cake, so when lagi chr if too expensive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Noooooo…… why you both bashed CHR? My ma and pa promised me to buy it for me, if they watch this video they won’t buy it for my birthday! I am in a very emotional and am crying now!

I dun care if my CHR been overtook by myvi or saga. I just want this beautiful car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 53
    • parap on Apr 26, 2018 at 5:50 am

work hard n earn your own money. dont trouble parents. if birthday more suitable 2nd hand proton or myvi for u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Kasimalu on Apr 26, 2018 at 7:49 am

Just buy remote control car lar u little boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • earn urself, buy urself on Apr 26, 2018 at 8:26 am

the car is damn overpriced even your parents know it, wake up please.
      p1 and p2 are not your level? how high class are you? are you tall enough to open the rear door? little boy….. lol

• What if few months down the road when UMW decided to CKD it with cheaper price & better spec. What would those current owner who get a build in Thailand model think…Hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • old dog on Apr 26, 2018 at 8:48 am

UMWT again launch just for the sick of launch but not aim for the market..since long time ago from Wish, Harrier, Alphard, all benefiting the grey market..wont surprise CHR grey importer soon at lower price..
    Velar…Land Rover only position for niche market even car same category as BMW/Merc..so cant shout about it..
    BMW X3 price…most idiot pricing ever…if we can see X3 1 years old at the same price, good luck for X3. Their CKD price should launch at RM 270K to undercut GLC200..and later launch a better spec to challenge GLC250…no matter Merc keep hitting record sale and BMW going down..

• REGARDING RR VELAR, WHY ARE THERE NO DIESEL MODELS ESPECIALLY THE 3.0 V6 ?

• superdriver on Apr 26, 2018 at 9:34 am

Dude, those who buy cars today are people whom are well informed on cars standards, safety and gadgets. To purchase something based on mere brand value does not cut the cake any more which explains the rise of KIA, Gheely and all other Asian brands. We want the whole lot at reasonable and cheaper prices. To over pay for something is grossly bad in taste to all our eyes today. Its 2018, optimizing and being efficient in cash matters represents our generations marquees and human values. Could be spent better on other more important things and solve other problems. Only person who loved this gross mentality is the dealers laughing their asses off all the way to the bank with your money. Do justice for your money. Ask someone or yourself if its worth your money!

• 12yrsold john on Apr 26, 2018 at 9:56 am

Sob sob. The ending part said the Velar at RM500k don’t have AEB while the Myvi at RM50k have.

• Its ringgit..not dolar..ehehe

• Colins on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:47 pm

Why nobody compared the toyota CHR to the subaru Xv. I think they fall into the same segment. Plus i believe the subaru has better pricing with all the related bells and whistles imho.

• Petoron Sagu on Apr 26, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Confirm alza handling better than exora…. Sebab tu tayar selalu tercabut…. Hehehehe . 1 thing proton is good is its handling….. Lain2……. Ke laut

• Aazzx on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:18 pm

C-hr does look more garang and stylish then the other 2

• Makjab on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:20 pm

The c-hr is a CBU. Really unfair to compare directly to its CKD peers

• Bionik on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:22 pm

Not gonna resort to bashing, but just for wishful thinking had a test drive on the c-hr today and boy is it amazing to drive. Super handling and doesnt seem like your typical toyota. They have really stepped up the game here.

• Chairperson on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:22 pm

Cantik yang amat la this c-hr!!!!!!

• Ghornon on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Lets hope they CKD here. Had a great time driving the car last week i didnt want to return it

• ChanKW on Apr 26, 2018 at 6:24 pm

One heck of a looker. Saw one pass by me on Federal highway and boy was everyone looking. Now, where do i sell my kidney…

• fugley on Apr 28, 2018 at 6:47 pm

Cool story brah. Oh, even if it was true they looked because it is really ugly

• What could be a super game changer if only it was CKD

• Regardless of its pros and cons, a car or suv or whatever we name it, have their own lovers. Its like a fashion.. some will say its amazing, some will say normal while others might say its tasteless.. well kinda subjective isnt it? So, if u like it, go for it. If u dont, go for others that u like. Its pointless to compare unless u owned both. So, be more positive or at least neutral.

• yongwun on Apr 27, 2018 at 10:31 am

I am Malaysian staying in China since 2006, just my 2cents comparing this 3 car and also the upcoming Proton Boyue that eveyone is talking about.

In china, CHR has been rebadge/license/CKD to two local manufacturer (just like the HRV). Both of them have some tweak but almost identical ==> With a 2.0L NA engine, No AWD/4WD, No Hybrid, No TRD. TopGear china just wrote a review on this for Beijing AutoShow yesterday, the comment was ==> No FishBall, No Noodle, but they have the LOOK. So CHR is selling the look and not others detail at this point of time. Price is expected (Not yet announce) to be around RM70K (Not RMB). The target is the young generation.

For Velar, they are price at around RM 400K for entry model but discount are given, the normal sales price are RM300K. JLRC are famous to sell at 70% – 80% recommended price in China due to their poor sales for the past few year. Velar is not a CKD … is imported. Nice looking but not worth the price in china, so many car that could be chosen (e.g. GLC300 with high spec). The price in Malaysia is definitely overprice, I could buy a X5 + another car. LR imported version are famous on not doing that well in ASIA country due to the climate condition (Too humid …), a lot of small small issue will happen.

For X3, it will be a CKD but not a “L” extended version in China. This make the X3 and X1 very close in terms of size. Everyone is looking at how BMW is going to price it. Still it will be cheaper than the old X3 in China as it was a CBU. They will have a issue competing with China CKD GLC200 which pricing start from RM 220K. I recently was checking out the E class and BMW 5Series for my family in Malaysia, just realize that the biggest advantage of BMW is their free services model (5 years included and could be extended to 10 years) compare to Benz (only 2 times …). So X3 is going to be competitive compare to GLC. BTW, GLC 200 without 4Matic and X3 sdrive is not really a SUV…

Back to Boyue, it is only popular in 3rd/4th tier city in China. Seldom saw it in Shanghai/Suzhou/GuangZhou/Shenzhen/Beijing …. People in small city wanted to look for big car with lower price and a lot of spec. The two complain about the car is build quality and the fuel consumption (Combine is about 9km/l, china fuel price for RON 92 is close to RM 4, you imagine how crazy it is in KL with a 80% traffic jam). The 1.8T engine sucks big time and the car is too heavy.

• ALVIN on Apr 28, 2018 at 10:23 am

I think the main reason why your review on the C-HR raised so many debate on the price, is because of one thing I still feel I would hold responsible for on your review content.

You wrote & I quote, “Now that we’ve got the elephant named ‘Value’ out of the room, let’s talk car. The Toyota C-HR isn’t the straightforward competitor to the Honda HR-V (and by extension, the Mazda CX-3) as most think.”

You are wrong. You are so very wrong. Out in the global market the C-HR is pitted against the 2 named here, and none, not a single other reviewer shares your opinion, that the C-HR is of a higher category. And saying that itself indirectly creating a distance that the C-HR is from the different segment. It isn’t a higher segment or a higher class of car from their selling point of view. It is what it is. And to use the car’s platform as a point of argument is itself another bias. It was entirely Toyota’s own executive decision to use something from the higher segment for their compact crossover, because initially they wanted to sell C-HR into a luxury brand as well. Come on, some of your readers are car enthusiasts too. We follow car development news just as well and closely.

This, in itself is the biggest bias and therefore, the whole elephant you called “value”, you conveniently avoided and mislead the readers by not comparing it the actual competitor.

So if you asked my opinion, is the value the biggest problem for C-HR? IT IS. It is overpriced over its’ competition and there is no denying it.

I’d expect PT to be more centered and unbiased, and provides review and opinion as it is.

• Shooh on Apr 28, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Buyers here dun value cars that way, if pricing good they buy, if not can bungkus and go back to lala land. Understand?

• Don’t know why this Toyota chr car can’t sell in Malaysia, hrv is rm100k, this car is rm135k, maybe the price too ridiculous,