TOC Automotive College launches Superbike Technician Course – 18-month certificate, RM36k

In an effort to raise level of professionalism amongst automotive technicians in Malaysia, TOC Automotive College has launched its Superbike Technician Course. This 18-month certificate level course is targetted to school leavers and will cost the student RM36,000.

The course places a strong emphasis on personal discipline and practical work, with students swapping classroom work for practical work experience every three-months. Coursework is graded via modules with 80% being the passing grade, and the module exam only counting for 25% of the total, the remainder of the marks being individual practical work.

The course is divided into three levels which take six months each. During the course, students are taken from the fundamentals of workshop safety and practice before moving on to basic engine work.

Thence, students will move up the levels to more sophisticated motorcycle components such as suspension, braking and engine electronics. After graduation, students will be given work placements in Malaysia Motorcycle and Scooter Dealers Association (MMSDA) member workshops.

During her speech, college founder Adeline Foo said, “there should be fair competency through improved skillsets given to the motorcycle scene, which contributes a large part to the automotive industry.” “The motorsport scene in Malaysia such as the iconic MotoGP is budding with top racing talents and there’s a rising interest for adrenaline fuelled races among young Malaysians,” she added.

In addition, TOC also offers courses in Motorsport Technology, Automotive Techonology to certificate and diploma level, Master Technician and Automotive Customer Service. Courses are held at its Petaling Jaya campus and there are four intakes a year.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• komarad on May 03, 2018 at 5:14 pm

40++ can enroll??

• Desmoquattro on May 03, 2018 at 7:22 pm

I think there is no age limit.

• Wowww!!RM36K is a bit ‘mahal’ for a certificate course..

• Sub_zero on May 12, 2018 at 7:10 pm

Private institutions, you want free or cheap go gomen institute

• how long before you earn back the cert fees with motorcycle technician pay? forever

• superboke on May 04, 2018 at 10:32 am

With that kind of price, better buy a second hand Z800 to work on, a haynes manual, and make friends with mechanics..

• UMW malaysia on May 04, 2018 at 3:55 pm

kampong technican more pro than those even degree automotive engineer

• Petoron Sagu on May 05, 2018 at 7:04 am

Errrr….. Im interested to learn…. About the amoi n cewek tudung tu…… Duit hantaran 36k….. Better than learn mechanics

• Akash on Dec 07, 2022 at 10:19 pm

I want join the superbike technician cuz I love it

• Akash on Dec 07, 2022 at 10:19 pm

I want join the superbike technician course
    cuz I love it