BMW 1 Series Sedan launched in Mexico, from RM99k

It was only a matter of time before the F52 BMW 1 Series Sedan arrived in markets outside China, with Mexico being one of the recipients of the model. The booted 1 Series was first launched in February last year and uses the front-wheel drive UKL platform shared with the X1 SUV.

For Mexico, there are two variants being offered, both fitted with the Sport Line trim package. The first is the 118iA that is priced at 489,900 Mexican pesos (RM98,844), and comes with a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine.

The mill outputs 136 hp from 4,400-6,000 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,400-4,300 rpm, which is sent to the front wheels via a six-speed Steptronic automatic transmission. According to BMW, the 0-100 km/h sprint time is 9.4 seconds and the car will hit a top speed of 212 km/h.

At the top of the range is the 120iA which gets a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-pot with 192 hp from 5,000-6,000 rpm and 280 Nm from 1,350-4,600 rpm. An eight-speed Steptronic auto (with launch control function) is paired to the engine, allowing it to get from 0-100 km/h in 7.5 seconds. Still front wheel drive, the 120iA will hit a top speed of 235 km/h and is priced at 569,900 pesos (RM114,984).

Depending on the selected variant, the equipment list includes a leather-wrapped sport steering wheel, Sensatec leather upholstery, 6.5-inch infotainment display for the iDrive system, halogen or LED headlamps (with LED DRLs), 17-inch alloy wheels (Style 549), 40:20:40 split-folding rear seats and a panoramic glass roof.

With the 1 Series Sedan now on sale in more markets, would you welcome such a model to Malaysia?

GALLERY: BMW 1 Series Sedan, China-spec

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Yebwoy on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:05 am

Waiting for people who never owned a BMW to comment about the maintenance LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Passing by on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:13 am

LOL indeed

• Oh wai on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:33 am

Cheaper than Boyue?

Like: BMW
        Dislike: Boyue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • Maintenance and running cost will kirr u unlike Boyue. And comparing sedan to SUV is the height of stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • BMW Owner on Jun 27, 2018 at 5:51 pm

A BMW is actually quite reliable machine. Its engine and transmission have fewer problems than Proton. Plus, BMW offers free service compared to Proton. Only when Proton starts to sell its cars similar to BMW pricing is the height of stupidity.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:54 am

BMW Malaysia offer Free Scheduled Service yo!

• Abg karim on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:28 am

no need own BMW to comment about maintenance , go to fb bmw owner , lots of good statement , hahahaha

• tomatsu on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:41 am

exactly! they always thought beemer is cheaper than Merc to maintain, really LOL

• Mikey on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:55 am

Yo Bro, what makes U think ALL BMW are expensive to maintain?? The normal service(oil/air-filter/plugs) are almost the same if U compared with an Accord, Camry, Mazda6, CRV. X-trail or CX5.
      It’s more expensive if U are using the 6/8 cylinders. I think the parts of the Volvo/Audi/Merc are higher. I’ve just change my E250(W211) timing chain that cost almost RM10k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Khalid on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:31 pm

Not True feeling BMW

Just a cheaper version and the lowest rung in the line up.
      ( cheap entry level )

Nothing to cheer about to own !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Yebwoy on Jun 28, 2018 at 10:24 am

Very true about driving dynamics part, but i dont hate this car. Give more options to the people. Before A-Class how many people thought they could afford a brand new benz?

• asdfghjkl on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:11 am

BMW, Now everyone can drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:25 am

Provided you can foot the bill if something happens! Just got my car back from AB with a hefty bill to replace the vacuum pump, seals, o-rings, cylinder head gasket and some coolant pipes were leaking also needed to be replaced. Not cool for a car that is only 5 years old with 59k mileage on it.

• digidigi on Jun 27, 2018 at 1:55 pm

Within 4 years still under warranty

• I could definitely understand how that feels. Bought a jap reconditioned ’10 e70 which was the biggest mistake of my life. Kept it for the past 2 years and the the countless issues that came up in succession, including the jammed e-brake, leaking pneumatic suspension bladder and water seeping into the rear computer modules through the rear light seals. Finally I’ve had enough 5 months ago and traded in for a brand new one with the 5 years of service and warranty. This new one though has been a joy to own and hopefully it stays this way!

• Sk8terboi on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:47 am

Reach here. BMW 1 Series Sedan, from RM 199K

• hanssen on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:11 pm

1 series now 188k, the sedan could tear your pocket for another 50k

• Winds From Heaven on Apr 23, 2019 at 10:11 am

Hmm, i believe if it comes in to malaysia will be cheaper than hatchback cars.. sedan cars always cheaper than hatchback cars.. so i assumed right now 1 series hatchback is 188k.. maybe when comes in as sedan would be around 160k..

• passion on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:23 am

even if the price is only 99 by some great miracle. banyak masuk workshop will be the order of the day! and price of spare parts just like the so called cheap vw polo!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • digidigi on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:39 am

don’t u know bmw offer 5 years unlimited mileage warranty?

• Black Sheep on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:26 am

Well that is true, I am driving a Polo too. The maintenance and other running costs for an European car can be substantial. Service costs for VW, even for an entry-level B-segment Polo can go beyond thousand easily.

Don’t forget to take these running costs into account when buying an European car.

• How about your Perodua Kelisa? Still alive?

• You are on the WRONG Forum , please pass “GO” and exit into Perodua Room for your average discussions .

• hondaman on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:23 pm

BMW Msia offers 5 years free maintenance & warranty… after that, sell it off la.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:36 am

If BMW Malaysia can bring in this new 1-Series as a CKD model, and keep pricing close to the RM150k mark… confirm 101% best-seller.

• the only reason we can see this 1 series come down to 100k mark is first – allow toyota and honda etc to sell their b segment models at 40k, along with proton persona. the corolla and civic will sell at 60k mark, camry and accord at 85k.

the one way to make that happen is lose the 75% customs excise duty, maybe lower it to 15% and dont allow price settings any more to protect national cars.

but max loan period must come down to 5 years too. otherwise intallment for the toyota vios will be RM105 per month.

• stastasta on Jun 28, 2018 at 2:19 pm

in 2017, the pre-reg bmw 118i was sold at discounted price of 150k. limited units were available.

• John is Kepala pisang on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:46 am

Should bring this here, try to price it at 100k

• Ben Yap on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:53 am

with this price, it will definitely kill all japanese cars in malaysian market.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:54 am

tak nak fwd bmw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Front wheel drive?? Noooooooooooo……

• JohnSucks on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:16 am

When BMW come up a cheap car that people could not complain the price, and then people will starting saying the SERVICE would expensive. Feeling Meh…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Yebwoy on Jun 28, 2018 at 10:30 am

What you expect bro, malaysian. Later if you comment about it htey start whack you “not everyone rich like you/your father/your mother/your grandmother. Then after that, their famous one “Ha come RV time, u wish u bough toyota” LOL

• Abg karim type r on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:24 am

RM 99k , sure Honda salesman crying

• AkooIm on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:27 am

Yes… please bring it in to replace that pathetic 316i & 318i…

• Mikey on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:44 am

What, a BMW from RM99k !! The closest thing to a BMW at this price is a Bas Mini Wilayah that I can find.

• bieight on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:54 am

sadly if come to Malaysia the price won’t be under 100k

• Perlisian on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:58 am

If only 99K, I definitely will buy one and sold in the 6th years of ownership (free service and warranty only 5 years, Lol!!).

HOWEVER!!! if BMW Malaysia decided to sold this model in Malaysia, the price is likely to bump up to 160-180k plus all the taxes and 0% GST.

• i thought this 3-cylinder FWD junk only make for China market?
    Most Chinese are smart now and don’t want this junk, let see whether M’sian are smart or not…lol

• nazri on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:28 pm

so cheap ?? for real

• Not for servis and parts thou… the running cost will kirr u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Jonn Dol on Jun 27, 2018 at 12:44 pm

Why not? This model is highly welcomed.

• Bernard on Jun 27, 2018 at 1:08 pm

Just buy Toyota, Honda or if poor, Perodua.
    You will have nothing to worry about.

Bolehland is not a place where you can buy a BMW and not get a heart attack when something goes wrong!

• walaowei…..at 99k or up a bit rm120k…i will straight away buy

• Aramis on Jun 27, 2018 at 7:55 pm

why a poor country like mexico can enjoy 99k bmw
    while malaysian cant enjoy a cheaper car price?

• The 120i will be a hoot to drive if its RWD paired with a 6 speed.

• Sold My A250 on Jun 28, 2018 at 1:49 am

Apa mau risau. Warranty + Free Service 5 years. On the 4th year jual la. Then buy the latest model.

• Yebwoy on Jun 28, 2018 at 10:37 am

Aiya all you T/H/M fanboys damn funny laaa. You compare maintenance bill for BMW to THM? Ofcourse la bmw lose gila. Asian car cheap to maintain in Asia? no duhhh. My Abarth 500 maintenance bill in UK vs Malaysia was very different but that doesn’t make it a bad car, just an expensive car to maintain in Asia.

EVEN if they came from same place, you comparing different spectrum of the car world la dei. Not everything is gonna cost as much as a Vios to maintain.

• Henry yap on Jun 28, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Poor Malaysian cannot afford more cheaper BMW, if sold 99k in Malaysia no doubt I will buy it. Having 70k to maintenance and fuel also had left.

• stastasta on Jun 28, 2018 at 2:21 pm

mini cooper is sharing fwd chassis and 1.5 engine with this 1 series. but why mini uses 7 speed dual clutch while bmw used auto ?