MITI increases minimum age limit for classic car AP to 35 years – new guideline begins from July 1, 2018

The government has announced that effective July 1, 2018, it is introducing a new guideline for applications involving the importation of classic vehicles into the country. Issued by the ministry of international trade and industry (MITI) via its website, the new guideline will see an increase in the vehicle age requirement to obtain a classic car import licence (AP, or approved permit).

Currently, the age requirement for a vehicle to qualify for a classic vehicle AP is that it has to be 25 years or older, but this will now be increased to 35 years and older from the start of next month. A vehicle’s age is determined based on its year of manufacture, effectively raising the new cut-off point for the classic car AP to vehicles made in 1983 and earlier.

The existing guideline for a vintage vehicle AP, which stipulates that the intended vehicle has to be 50 years old and above, remains unchanged. As it was previously, vehicles must be certified as a classic or vintage by a recognised body from the exporting country, to eliminate fraud.

The new rule will have an impact on importers and classic car collectors. Messages from importers have been circulating about lamenting the increase in the age limit, which effectively removes an entire generation of iconic JDM models from the equation – to put the extra 10 years into perspective, even the first examples of the first-gen NA Mazda MX-5 wouldn’t qualify for import via the classic car AP route for the next six years.

Word from the grapevine is that June 29 will be the last day MITI will accept applications for classic car APs under the old guideline. The revision has no impact on open APs, which will continue as is. What do you think of the decision to increase the age limit for classic car imports? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• New gomen punya hal. Anyway, this only impact certain people. Majority dont care about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • jalil on Jun 27, 2018 at 6:05 pm

Previous gomen to ban kapchai in KL.

https://paultan.org/2017/01/16/kuala-lumpur-to-ban-kapchais-from-entering-city/

• Awang Selamat on Jun 28, 2018 at 9:38 am

This what happens when you are pampered and want everything free for life.

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Jun 27, 2018 at 5:33 pm

Time to scrap the AP altogether. AP is a waste of time. Let the buyer go straight to the Ministry and apply the AP from the Ministry. Pay the Ministry straight. Then Ministry also can provide a shipping company as side revenue for MITI for buyers wanting shipping.

We have seen with the New Government, the middle man always marks up prices by 10X. Just like our healthcare.

How long will this AP tongkat go on? Time to work hard like all of us in the public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
    • Padulkamikup on Jun 27, 2018 at 5:40 pm

Dream on as we are in BN 2.0 government. Change skin only. Other than that all same.

• AP Queen dah tolong Bapak so cannot kolos cuz need to get remunerance now.

• Sick&Tired on Jun 27, 2018 at 10:32 pm

Agreed. Why should AP’s be allocated to a selected few only? And the selected few are already millionaires! They don’t need help anymore! The government should allow people to apply for ap directly from miti. If possible, before doing that, pls remove all the deadwood from miti.

• commenter on Jun 28, 2018 at 1:36 am

Classic AP can be applied by general public already. You can apply direct to MITI. But not the General Normal Recond AP tho.

• tokmoh. on Jun 27, 2018 at 5:37 pm

Not cool.

• Mohd. Azahari on Jun 27, 2018 at 6:31 pm

I support high tax on cars so the government could collect more income. This should be good for our country. Let the rich kiasu people pay the import tax if they still want to drive their dream car. Want a BMW? Pay more tax. Want a Merc? Pay more tax lah. Even not so luxury car like Accord and Camry taxes also should remain high like today. People will still buy it anyways.

I wish the government will revise down basic necessity cars categories segment like CKD A and B segment cars for example (premeum A Class, Golf, 1 series etc etc should be high tax) .

These small economy cars are the kind of cars that new young family will buy. Consider this as basic necessity. More than basic should be consider as luxury. You want luxury? pay tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Yebwoy on Jun 28, 2018 at 10:10 am

Are you joking, thats a discriminatory policy. Not every rich person con their way to the top. Rich people already pay more income tax, now want them to pay more car tax ah? come one get real. I hope god bless you with millions so u can see how stupid is your statement today LOL

• Mohd. Azahari on Jun 28, 2018 at 9:38 pm

Yebwoy, when someone support high tax on luxury items, you should’nt assume that, the person is poor. I am not against ppl who earn a lot of money here.

Ironically I’ve seen so many people in Malaysia who is actually poor, driving Mercedes and BMWs. They choose to pay more tax to the government. We all have choices in life. Pay more taxes or less taxes when comes to luxury purchases. Luxury is a choice.

I think our country policy is fair enough. We tax rich pople more. That is how it should be. We all have responsibilities to the country.

Again. Me as saying this, you shouldn’t assume how much tax I’ve paid to the government anually.

• stastasta on Jun 29, 2018 at 10:22 am

rich people not neccsarily will be taxed more. if you dont spend then you wont be taxed. just buy low end cars and spend your riches on other things.

• car price should be normally taxed, and in order for one to buy car/ automobile one will need to procure several permits on yearly basis. Ownership, parking, roadworthiness etc
      that would be fair to people of all walks. more cars pay more only. luxury items will be already expensive because of the price tag times whatever percentage new gov will want to charge. beside it will curb other problems such as abandoning of cars and etc.

if you specifically targeting on people on consuming luxury cars, more problems will occur. besides you are looking at one off taxation where people will just get the money,pay the car and continue the problem, subscription based will make people think otherwise, less bankrupt case as before you get a loan you need to settle all the permits which will last for x amount of months /years. and it is not cheap, since parking permits will be linked to your property XD

• Bernard on Jun 27, 2018 at 6:39 pm

Scrap AP! And if any middleman involved,terminate immediately! The new govt must take cognizance of this…

• Changing the limit to 35 years is not going to make much difference to the economy or new car sales. Its a very small community and most avid fans of classic would have to wait extra 10 years now. Imagine those who have retired and already have plans to purchase one. Now they have to just forget dreaming of owning their dream car which long time ago they couldn’t afford back then. MITI should just change it back to the old ruling. They have no right to suppress peoples passion and hobby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Stupid ppl on Jun 27, 2018 at 7:33 pm

V stupid rule…the most stupid from ph yet…no bloody other tgs to do ah..

• Why??

• commenter on Jun 28, 2018 at 1:39 am

New Gov, just want to show theyre doing work. But nonsense work. Dumb move, #malaysiamemilih.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 28, 2018 at 8:57 am

sigh…then reduce new car price la

• Yebwoy on Jun 28, 2018 at 10:11 am

Yea, suprised PH didnt mention car price at all. But with all their income chopping, they still need to make money somewhere

• Leonardo on Jun 28, 2018 at 11:28 am

Just as I was thinking of getting the original Miata.
    Not a smart move by the new Government.

• Farid on Jun 28, 2018 at 3:11 pm

Yeah and those rich who bought classic car are also eligible to get discount 80-90% for roadtax. A Rolls Royce 6230cc roadtax worth RM49,615 then can pay about RM4.9K only…. untung jadi org kaya kat Malaysia ni. Naik 10 tahun pun marah2

• Really shit this time. Those who have the r32, NSX price will skyrocket

• Dr M loves classic cars. Lol.

• I can’t see any good reason why the government want to implement this new rule. I don’t see how a 10 year shift could affect the country’s car industry economics except to make some old age pensioner frustrated and die earlier due to stress. How stupid can u be
    Let those who want to drive older perhaps cheaper car have a choice. It won’t hurt the government