Kia Stinger GT coming to M’sia – 365 hp 3.3L V6 turbo

It looks like Malaysia will be getting the Kia Stinger in GT guise, if these posts on Kia Malaysia’s official Facebook page are any indication. The company had previously teased the arrival of the sporty sedan just a few days ago, and previewed a left-hand drive example last year.

In the most recent FB post, we see engine output figures being quoted: 365 hp and 510 Nm of torque. Those numbers are what you’ll get from the Stinger GT’s 3.3 litre twin-turbo Lambda II V6 petrol engine, which will make it the most powerful Kia in Malaysia. The mill is paired with an eight-speed automatic transmission, although it remains to be seen if we’ll get rear- or all-wheel drive.

The Stinger GT will complete the zero to 100 km/h sprint in just 4.9 seconds and hit a top speed of 269 km/h. As a comparison, a Mercedes-AMG C 43 with its 362 hp 3.0 litre bi-turbo V6 does the same in 4.7 seconds, but is electronically limited to 250 km/h. However, the junior AMG is priced at RM386k even in CKD form, while the Kia should be considerably more affordable.

With another piece of the puzzle found, the only remaining ones involve two important details: when will it be launched and more importantly, how much?

GALLERY: Kia Stinger GT preview in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Leafable on Jul 04, 2018 at 1:09 pm

Holy sh*t! Kia Malaysia not messing around anymore. Well done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • MeToo on Jul 04, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Unfortunately majority of malaysian buy car for image/face reason.

So despite how fast or how powerful it goes, its still a KIA. Not in the same league (perception wise) as a slower/less powerful BMW/Merc/Audi etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
      • komarad on Jul 04, 2018 at 4:14 pm

Perdana 4G63T getting new challenger yo’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • At least it better than the irrelevant Audi and Ii do not view Audi as luxury or premium car at all.

Audi badge is just another Toyota or Honda status ..

• K Kinte on Jul 04, 2018 at 3:46 pm

Kia went into bankruptcy but see, how they overhaul themselves. They decided to work hard and today, they are top seller in the world

I hope Proton wake up from their tido and lepak attitude. They too can reboot themselves if they work like the Koreans. Don’t be like the GLC and Putrajaya workers, expecting bantuan kerajaan always

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 52
      • Rizal on Jul 04, 2018 at 6:51 pm

Why you didn’t enter politics and vying for MP post in the last PRU or become whistleblowers. This is not political website.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
        • He gets his troll basher kupang from his political masters, bro Rizal.

• Mikey on Jul 05, 2018 at 9:56 am

And U get yours from where?? Is it PT bcoz U are here 24/7

• JOACHIM on Jul 04, 2018 at 7:00 pm

Kia hauled themselves by selling itself to Hyundai. What’s so great about that? Even Proton was sold to Geely but luckily this happened before UTURN came back, otherwise we would still be paying for it, just like the Korean population has to subsidise Kia/Hyundai as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • Wilson Ong on Jul 04, 2018 at 9:03 pm

Proton got good hope because they have a good leader from China. What it needs now is more Mainland people into the factory. You will see, Proton will improve by leaps and bounds.

• rally_fan (Member) on Jul 04, 2018 at 8:15 pm

Kia didnt overhaul themselves la.. they went bankrupt because their cars couldnt sell.. and Hyundai bought them over. and Hyundai is the one that overhauled them and turned them into what they are today, using hyundai technology, and cars designed by hyundai’s chief designer. Likewise, proton is being overhauled now by Geely, but only time will tell if they will make a turn around, and definitely will take several years.

• History Bender on Jul 04, 2018 at 10:13 pm

So at last you gave up that crappy fake history that Proton is only 10 years younger than Kia? Good for you, at least you know shame.

• Isobel Chin on Jul 04, 2018 at 11:16 pm

For a while i thought i was in MKini or MInsider site. Looks like just a stray from these 2 sites got lost and inadvertently came here.

• Would u get this or a slower merz/bmw? If it is priced 2xx..

• Hopefully this KIA Stinger does perform exactly like the specs says Many of times most Korean cars always blown up the performance figures but in actual driving conditions you still feel it is still not there yet as the Koreans always claimed..

• Autobahn on Jul 04, 2018 at 1:19 pm

Why paultan so bias in comparing this stinger with a 700k m3? First it is not the same category. It should be compared with 4 series and second. Kia aim this at bmw 440i not the m4. With respect to that, the stinger already proven to beat the 440i even the 640i and the panamera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • Untung Manyak Wang on Jul 04, 2018 at 2:36 pm

Australia, accord 2.4 VTIL AS 44k, stinger 330S AS 49k. :p

• Bernard on Jul 04, 2018 at 6:31 pm

440i anyday! at least no need to park far far away during classmate gathering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • Nenek kau on Jul 04, 2018 at 7:57 pm

4 series ugly and old design

• Nardber on Jul 05, 2018 at 12:51 pm

So your classmates are all brand snob insecure bunch is it?

• Reunion on Jul 06, 2018 at 7:28 am

You sure the jockey will let you park your 440i next to the red stinger at the hotel entrance? I think he will drive it to the basement instead

• Hanapi on Jul 04, 2018 at 1:21 pm

(Like) Kia Stinger 365HP
    (Dislike) Benz C43 362HP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 24
  • holofanboi on Jul 04, 2018 at 1:26 pm

O________O

OH
    MY
    GAWD.

• paparadzi on Jul 04, 2018 at 1:27 pm

The road tax for a 3.3-liter engine is RM 3480 per year, irrespective of the value of the car. Not just about affordability, but also the willingness to pay such a tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • At least it’s maintainance & services far cheaper compared to m4.

• Mikey on Jul 04, 2018 at 1:32 pm

I tot only Ferrari looks Good in RED but now I’m having 2nd thought. With 365 hp/510 Nm & top speed of 269 km/h, this car will STING many hot HB or Coupe alike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Bernard on Jul 04, 2018 at 10:44 pm

No resale value. It will sting you until you bleed to death..,.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Conti cars also no RV. Car rm700k can fall up tu 100k for the 5 years or below.

• Bernard on Jul 04, 2018 at 10:46 pm

But the Civic turbo. Road tax cheap. If racing, it will just be 2 cars behind the stinger. No big deal!

• Alibababa on Jul 05, 2018 at 5:51 pm

I beg to differ. More like200m behind. Don’t be fooled thinking civic turbo is comparable to any sports car. Civic turbo type R yes

• Stinger has 50 more hp & 110 more torque. Stinger has rwd or awd. Lagi sedap bawak compared to crap fwd civic type r.

• Its definitely not the most powerful production Kia. That title goes to the Kia K900 with that 420HP 5.0 V8.

• Before people went on bashing about this “K-pop” “K-Drama” car, Former BMW M-division vice president of engineering, Albert Biermann, one of the architect for M3, M4, and M5 left BMW M-division and created this Stinger GT. It has been reviewed by enthusiasts around the world now and they all agreed and love this Stinger GT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • 12yrsold on Jul 04, 2018 at 4:45 pm

Many bashing Kimchi bcoz they jealous : P

• Rizal on Jul 04, 2018 at 6:59 pm

Everything Mat Salleh does they will take it as excellent, avant garde and uber cool. Don’t forget the dieselgate Now even involved Mercedes. Korean already moved with Japanese. China also will matter of time will be there. Don’t forget Vietnam also already improve.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 04, 2018 at 2:07 pm

Buy 12 months later for RM50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
  • Ben Yap on Jul 04, 2018 at 2:13 pm

yawn….. next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 04, 2018 at 2:33 pm

surprised they brought in the v6 and not the 2.0

• Proton oh Proton on Jul 04, 2018 at 2:34 pm

(Like) Civic TYPE R
    (Dislike) Kia Stinger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
    • Civic type r tak sedap bawak. Over 200km/h dah goyang² kereta tu.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 04, 2018 at 2:46 pm

So the Stinger starts at USD32k which is around a typical 3 Series pricetag…hmmm then I guess owners of premium German marques better watch out from behind – you won’t want to be stinged by a KIA on the highway!

• Maybe I should venture new taste. Tired already with hidung babi a.k.a “kidney” since forever.

• thepolygonal on Jul 04, 2018 at 3:07 pm

Coming soon, Hyundai Hornet

• Honda C70 on Jul 04, 2018 at 3:08 pm

Rv drop as hell..with H badge u no need to think about RV anymore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • 12yrsold on Jul 05, 2018 at 9:53 am

People who think about RV won’t buy this. They buy Honda C70

• Jascha on Jul 04, 2018 at 3:54 pm

As I mentioned before, it’ll be perfect if Naza Kia bring in the REAR WHEEL DRIVE version.

• its automatic. its crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • arowana on Jul 04, 2018 at 4:34 pm

yes it’s a KIA.. but it’s a very powerful KIA.. so i give it a LIKE!

• Buy 2nd hand..sure murah one..

• Nice car, but 3.3L… Promo with 5 years free roadtax will be good.

• Sajat on Jul 04, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Orang gila je beli Kia sampai rm300k… LeL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • KontiKinte on Jul 04, 2018 at 8:00 pm

3.3L Minyak mahal maaa future is electric

• Wheelerssz on Jul 04, 2018 at 8:54 pm

Assuming priced at 2xx. Would u fo for a slower merz/bmw or a fast kia? ….

• Afeeq Hasan on Jul 05, 2018 at 1:06 am

Wow, props to Kia to not giving in and deciding to bring the most powerful version to Malaysian It’s unfortunately many Malaysians here only care about resale value. People who buy this car, no matter where in the world, do not put R/V as top priority. Cars are not an investment!

• Faris on Jul 05, 2018 at 10:37 am

I dont get some of the comments. This car looks amazing, performs well and has many great reviews as well but people here dont seem to like it ? I’d like to know why. I am looking to get this or the S60 when they both become available. Oh and whats wrong with the resale value issue. apparently its what everyone on this comment section is concerned about

• If u want European refinement and feels, get S60. If u wanna be ah beng and smoke every traffic light, get Stinger.

• Faris on Jul 05, 2018 at 2:56 pm

Well im guessing you dont like it lol. But wouldnt it be more reliable being a kia then a volvo. i might be wrong here.”Ah Beng usually means that someone is not highly educated, is unsophisticated, and operates within secret societies and street gangs.” – wait what lol

• Another car that will have the same faith with Civic Tyre R. Many people say Wah, Wow, Nice, Good but how many people will actually buy with that price tag. Brand name is very important, or should I say face? No matter how good is that car, driving a Kia is just a Kia. Wheter Kia die hard fans admit it or not, fact is fact. For 300k, no one will buy Kia!

• At least service & maintainance cheaper compared to other continental cars..