Kia Stinger teased on local FB page – launch soon?

We’ve been waiting for the arrival of the Kia Stinger for some time following its first public preview in Malaysia in November 2017. Now, it looks like Kia Malaysia is gearing up to introduce the stunning sedan with this teaser on its official Facebook page.

“They’ve been talking about it. You will be too, soon…#stinger,” reads the caption on the post, which is accompanied by a frontal shot of the Stinger in GT guise. Beyond that, further details like a launch date or the suggested variant line-up are non-existent.

If last year’s preview was any indication, we could be getting the Stinger GT, which is powered by a 3.3 litre twin-turbo V6 paired with an eight-speed automatic transmission – the Lambda II powerplant produces 365 hp at 6,000 rpm and 510 Nm of torque from 1,300 to 4,500 rpm.

Those figures make the Stinger the most powerful series production Kia ever, and the GT will sprint from 0-100 km/h in 4.9 seconds and on to a top speed of 269 km/h. The Stinger GT is available in rear- and all-wheel drive setups, with the LHD unit previewed last year being the latter.

Other available engines for the Stinger include a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder with 255 PS and 353 Nm, as well as a 2.2 litre turbodiesel option that serves up 197 hp and 440 Nm.

GALLERY: Kia Stinger GT preview in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Come and take my money …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Awang Selamat on Jun 29, 2018 at 7:22 pm

Kia and Hyundai are success stories. Both companies are only about 10 years older than Proton and yet, they sell 8 million cars globally per annum

Proton is 10 years younger than Kia and Hyundai and yet, it can only sell 50,000

We have to learn a lot from the Koreans how to run a car business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 59
      • Get your facts right chief. Cheers!

• basherlogic on Jul 01, 2018 at 6:26 am

If follow your logic, Toyota also must learn from kimchi, first car was in 1936, but sales number in 2017 only 10 million

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Sohai on Jul 01, 2018 at 10:15 pm

Mr. Lye, can you pls confirm “all cars in Malaysia must be fitted with ESC by July-2018” is this implemented or Transport Ministar talk syok sendiri only …?

• Chris Chan on Jul 01, 2018 at 11:26 pm

I come to PT to read useful comments but I see john write fake news and kutuk people here.

PT pls permaban him

• Jumeirah on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:25 am

john, come on brother, contribute useful motor related comments. Let us all learn from each other. You can do it borther

• In basher dreamland, P1 was setup by the Brits in 1957 and then passed to Bapak after Merdeka. Meanwhile Wiki recorded that P1 was setup in 1983.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • Hazmin on Jul 01, 2018 at 7:55 am

stop passing misleading facts. Kia started making cars in 1974 making mazda licenced cars.

Kia was founded in December 1944 as Kyungsung Precision Industry and it was only a manufacturer of steel tubing and bicycle parts company

• We know who u r. Stop with the fake news that P1 is only 10 years younger than Kia. Its 36 years younger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Chris Chan on Jul 01, 2018 at 11:27 pm

john, pls give yourself a break. Cukup fake news for today yea

• Andrew on Jul 02, 2018 at 7:55 am

john, you are not bored with your fake news?

• Sathia on Jul 02, 2018 at 8:03 am

Everyone in this site know you john. Why don’t you go and work like all of us?

• Jumeirah on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:27 am

PT readers know who is the BN Cyberbully here….john, tolong taubat.

• Lolz at all the desperado fake dupes! Lolz!

• Simon Lee on Jul 01, 2018 at 8:58 pm

ignore john, we all know he spreads fake news here for 3 yrs already

• Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jul 01, 2018 at 10:42 pm

Nuh huh. We just learn to ignore you and your other dupes. Your comments are just for the lulz.

• Chris Chan on Jul 01, 2018 at 11:28 pm

old timers here ignore him but lately sudah melampau. Gets irritating

• Sathia on Jul 02, 2018 at 8:01 am

New Malaysia John, readers here have no time for your tell tales ie cerita dongeng

• Jumeirah on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:28 am

please give up cyber bullying john. Let us learn from each other

• Mahsan on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:31 am

john, time to give up this effort. Your party already lost. I think you still think they are in power

• Hahaha! I lolz at the basher thinking everybody else is me. In his fairy world, theres only me and him. Lolz!

• Darwin Awards on Jun 30, 2018 at 2:14 am

Kia founded in 1944 and hyundai in 1967 while proton in 1983. Hmm..

You did the calculation, but man, you’re bad at math.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
        • Basher maths level is like FM. Alwiz get F

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
          • karam singh on Jun 30, 2018 at 5:01 pm

Agree. Both shud learn frm Ccid amar.

Although he took 3 days to count all Cash & luxury items seized. He got it right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • Correct. He can valued fakes the same as genuine. Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
          • Simon Lee on Jul 01, 2018 at 9:00 pm

PT should ban john, pipu here bored of his attacks on pipu here

• Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jul 01, 2018 at 10:44 pm

You mean how Paultan should ban fake dupes like yours Simon? Or should we say Kunta trooper?

• Chris Chan on Jul 01, 2018 at 11:29 pm

I agree. Paul should permaband john. Too many fake names and fake news

• Andrew on Jul 02, 2018 at 7:56 am

john, why don’t you retire. Or find the missing chocolates for your boss

• Sathia on Jul 02, 2018 at 8:04 am

john, if you need a job, tell me, i can help you find one. At least that will bring you money

• School Teacher on Jul 02, 2018 at 2:22 pm

Better than than the past FM who said he is not aware of his cronies purchase and not aware of the size of his wife’s jewellery stash. He don’t even know how to count 123. How did he became FM for so many years? Are your maths like him, john?

• Rajan on Jun 30, 2018 at 2:44 pm

The company opened its first integrated automotive assembly plant in 1973, the Sohari Plant.[6] Kia built the small Brisa range of cars until 1981,

• Rajan on Jun 30, 2018 at 2:51 pm

Kia started making cars only in 1974.

• Awang Selamat on Jun 30, 2018 at 8:46 pm

ha ha ha ha. See, the basher don’t know how to read. This is what I said, Kia is just 10 years older than Proton

Kia 1974
            Proton 1985

All I can say is Oh wai! oh wai!

• Awang Selamat on Jun 30, 2018 at 8:48 pm

basher got GLC and Putrajaya mentality, unable to understand English, main tembak say Proton was born in 1957

• Chris Chan on Jul 01, 2018 at 11:31 pm

The basher john used to get paid before but now, no more pay also, he still comes and bashes

• Nazri Kemas on Jun 30, 2018 at 9:02 pm

too many fake news by our regular troll here. Dah bosan dengan Malaysia ada petrol paling murah di dunia dan harga kereta paling murah di dunia.

Tolong la john

• Chris Chan on Jul 01, 2018 at 11:34 pm

Paul Tan, pls do our readers a favour and ban john. We come here to read news and not personal insults.

• Arang safety on Jul 01, 2018 at 7:18 am

Awang selamat. Ko tak tahu ke kia nyaris bangkrap hujung 90an? Hyundai rescue Kia.. Telan Kia jadi satu group. Sbb tu dulu Kia share body Mazda.. Enjin Mazda lps tu bertukar kongsi body Hyundai pulak. Cthnya Kia Ceed sama Hyundai i30. Kia sportage dgn Hyundai tuscon. Optima dgn sonata. Skrg Hyundai lain, kia lain sbb dah ada volume sendiri. Tapi fakta yg kau tak tahu ialah.. Kia nyaris bungkus. Bermakna tak semestinya apa yg org lain buat semua betul.

• History Bender on Jun 30, 2018 at 9:32 am

Yes, yes. We have to learn from you how to bend history and change the facts that Proton was setup in 1983 (go Google it!), instead of 1957 (since KIA was from 1947) like you implied.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Awang Selamat on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:23 am

ha ha ha, still cannot understand English. Nobody implied that Proton was set up in 1957.

English oh English

Every article you keep on saying that people say Proton was set up in 1957. This is wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Kantoied but Still Wanna Defend on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:30 pm

History Bender didn’t say that, you did above.
            Enough with your fake name and fake history and fake news. Do you seriously think we can Wiki all these facts?

• Simon Lee on Jul 01, 2018 at 9:02 pm

Pls keep PT clean. Enough of personal attacks

• notakata on Jun 30, 2018 at 9:45 am

Jepunis have to learn to learn from bolehland how to assemble airbags

• Awang Selamat on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:20 am

ha ha ha, you cannot say the date it was founded. See the date they first manufactured cars.

Geely was found long ago as a fridge company but only in 1997 they started making cars.

Peugeot was founded 50 years before it started making cars. It made other stuff

john oh john, always twisting facts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Kantoied but Still Wanna Defend on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:28 pm

Got kantoied by so many readers. You really don’t know the existence of Wiki, do you? Such a dedak-addled brain.

• Chris Chan on Jul 01, 2018 at 11:32 pm

I just wiki the news and it says Kia made cars only in 1974. Looks like you are the one giving fake news here john

• Raman on Jul 02, 2018 at 8:08 am

I am a lecturer at UPM and this is why I fail so many students, they don’t research in detail. This is why local thesis is so low in quality besides English being so poor

john, i will fail you on the spot

• S.Ibrahim on Jul 02, 2018 at 10:41 am

I just googled the lecturers list in UPM and no one by the name of Raman. We can be assured that this is just another fake persona from the same fake new troll.

• Kegagalan mamat ni dalam Sejarah dan Matematik memang tahap Megatron.

• Basher fail kaw Maths and History. Hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
        • Awang Selamat on Jun 30, 2018 at 8:50 pm

basher from Uitm also fail maths and history as Kia first produced cars in 1974….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jul 01, 2018 at 10:46 pm

Basher from SJKC don’t seem to know how to use Wiki. Is it because its in English?

• Darren on Jul 01, 2018 at 7:59 am

I google and saw Kia started making cars in 1974.

Like Nokia. It started first first making toilet roll paper.

We better learn to read whole articles before shooting instead of first liners

• Gabriel on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:01 am

Nothing to get excited about. Looking at the likely launching prices, guaranteed just end up as internal company car for management usage.

Just see how many Kia Optima GT they’re selling. I haven’t seen even one on the road so far.

• Autobahn on Jul 02, 2018 at 10:35 am

Becos many prefers accord and camry with 150hp 220nm cvt…instead of 245hp350nm 6 speeder….as long as got rv

• Kia4life on Jun 29, 2018 at 5:16 pm

My dream car

• John May 9 Nangis on Jun 30, 2018 at 12:31 am

Just 15 yrs ago, people in Malaysia used to laugh at Kia Sephia and Kia Spectra.

Today, Kia is a world leader doing extremely well

Advice to Malaysians – Work hard and you will succeed. Lepak and tido, you will flop in life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
      • Awang Selamat on Jun 30, 2018 at 8:52 pm

that is true. Time to work hard like the rest of Malaysians. No more special privileges and bantuans

• Is that the reason why Takata made killer airbags?

• Ben Yap on Jun 29, 2018 at 5:17 pm

after 1 year, a used stinger is even cheaper than the base model 1.8 civic FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 69
    • Undergrad 93 on Jun 29, 2018 at 5:41 pm

I save this comment until next year as prove

• Really? on Jun 29, 2018 at 6:09 pm

Malaysia is moving forward but with people with such mentality like you, I’m really shaking my head. Resale value is truly important but if you’re gonna place so much emphasis on that, where’s the joy in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
      • Bro, if New MY got macais like above who trying to change history with his fake history, how can MY move forward?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Nazri Kemas on Jun 30, 2018 at 9:01 pm

john dah kena kantoi. Tolong jangan sebar fake news ye

• Then go drive your ah Beng civic/vios with neon underglow and ricer stickers. Nobody cares.

• ben yap bodo on Jun 30, 2018 at 8:23 am

oi honda fanboy …jangan bodo please..

• Moron spotted on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:51 am

If it’s really that cheap I’ll buy 3. Genius.

• Isdanzar on Jun 30, 2018 at 7:19 pm

Yes..true..ONLY in Malaysia..because of people who only knows Toyota n Honda has higher resale value..mentally block

• Mikey on Jun 29, 2018 at 5:18 pm

It’s a car, no, it’s a sedan, no, it’s a sports sedan in sheep clothing. Hehehe, cheers… to the STINGER.

• Since Korea WC triumph over the mighty Deutschland, the Stinger looked more stunning and menacing than ever yo’

Shut up Kia and take my money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • JOACHIM on Jun 29, 2018 at 6:06 pm

Problem is, both of them WENT OUT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Mikey on Jul 02, 2018 at 10:54 am

No doubt both went out but the south korean can claim a win over the former champion & top them in the group too. That’s bragging right too

• Zac Zic on Jun 29, 2018 at 5:31 pm

Nice car too bad about the authorised dealer, sooo many reported issues and horror stories on Kia and Peugeot….. I’ll pass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • at least Kia is reliable so unless you’re really bad luck seldom need to deal with warranty claims, and there’s a selected few service centre which have good reviews from owners

• Rizal on Jun 29, 2018 at 8:09 pm

I don’t encounter any single issue with Naza Kia Service Centre @ PJ. My UB Rio still functions well into it’s 6th years of ownership. Just follow the 6 month / 10k mileage service schedule.

• They are launching in 1 to 2 months time.
    The launching price a bit of a letdown tho, RM22xk to RM29xk. Thought the price could be comparable to the to-be-launching Mazda 6 2.5T.

Superb looking car

• sew chang wei on Jun 29, 2018 at 5:39 pm

wow. the price of civic type R.

• Autobahn on Jun 30, 2018 at 3:14 pm

Value for money right sew chang..price same type r..but more powerful, and luxurious than the type r

• Let's be pedantic on Jul 01, 2018 at 10:24 am

The Stinger 3.3 V6 will accelerate faster from 0-100 kph than the CTR and to a higher top speed, all the while comfortably seating 5 adults in a luxurious GT-like cabin. With the Stinger V6 and CTR around the same price, I think the Stinger is a good value for money.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 29, 2018 at 6:29 pm

If the rumoured price is correct, then its not so bad. Cos it will most probably be CBU. Just worried about the aftersales service.

• Arshad Ismail on Jun 29, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Got resale value or not. After 7 years 10k. I kena oledi with kia. 3k jual last last.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
  • Malaysians: So what if it’s good looking and fast? RV > all, Toyota/Perodua/Honda > All

• Deswai Bapak says MY pipu r uneducated lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Simon Lee on Jul 01, 2018 at 9:04 pm

Bapak did not say that. Stop spreading fake news

• Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jul 01, 2018 at 10:52 pm

When asked by the media why he chose to take on the role of education minister, Tun quipped, “Because many people in Malaysia seem to be uneducated.” Did you just woke up or something?

• John's Fake News Sdn. Bhd. on Jul 02, 2018 at 2:48 pm

But in the end, he did not become education minister becoz he realized many people are educated, just some people who likes to steal from the country are uneducated(morally).

• Haha. Brother, he said that AFTER winninglah. You sure he wasn’t sleeping the whole electionkah? So who was uneducated? The rakyat? him? Or peeps like you spreading fake news?

• Jumeirah on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:26 am

oh my oh my what English is this….did you just woke up?

• English Teacher on Jul 02, 2018 at 7:52 pm

Sentence structure failed. You don’t start with a small letter. It should have began with ‘O’.
            Punctuation failed. It should have a comma in between the 1st ‘oh my’ and the 2nd ‘oh my’.
            Grammar failed. You do not chain multiple questions with a single question mark.
            I would suggest you go back to school and learn proper English before lecturing others in their English.

• Oh my, basher got schooled in English lesson by a teacher. Lolz!

• thepolygonal on Jun 29, 2018 at 5:49 pm

Next… Hyundai Hornet.. coming soon.

• Bernard on Jun 29, 2018 at 6:05 pm

The brand, road tax, insurance, price and poor resale value will deter anyone from buying it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Rimau on Jun 29, 2018 at 6:56 pm

Is this better than mustang, Camaro / srt hellcat?

• Yebwoy on Jun 29, 2018 at 7:06 pm

Aiya damn sien la people always talk about RV.
    1) You all never buy something because you like it ah? Never buy yet already talk about selling. You see angmo culture keep car how many years? Wake up and enjoy life la people. Buy things you like. With this mentality, when you millionaire also you still drive Camry even though you wish for a Benz

2) RV is determined by market demand. FD2R how old already still high RV. 9th Gen civic RV is crap compared to normal FD, why? No one want mah. When Malaysian too chicken to try new brands of course la RV for that brand bad aiyaaa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Hadi75 on Jun 30, 2018 at 9:39 am

Malaysian buy with the intention to sell maaa… haven’t buy already thinking about selling.

• Fortegees on Jul 02, 2018 at 8:05 am

If Malaysian can change government, now it’s a right time to change mentality when buying car. Malaysian open your eyes & your mind, Korean car is worth for your money than Japanese car. Too shame if you if still think about RV which always be manipulated by Car Salesman.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 03, 2018 at 9:20 am

Malaysian are concerned about RV because most of them take long term loan. If depreciation outstrip your loan then die lor. 9 year loan is unheard off.

If you can really afford it, RV is no big issue. Just buy what you like. The problem is Malaysians are buying over thier affordability bracket so RV becomes important.

I like high depreciation cars. That is because I only buy lightly used 2nd hand cars. I grew up where cars were cheap and disposable. Putting this much for a new car makes little sense to me. My money could be better used elsewhere for better return.

Yes, it sucks for us in Malaysia, but when life gives you lemons, you make lemonade.

• arowana on Jun 30, 2018 at 8:35 am

nice.. when this Stinger arrives, i bet it will increase the brand value/perception of KIA.. no doubt this is considered a performance car.

• The Stinger will basically serve as the halo car for Kia since it is the first true performance oriented car Kia ever built.

• Itik-kankang on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:56 am

Many tauke/ah beng/ahmad will praise this car manyak gooding. End of day they are not willing to pay over 200k just for kia. Example brand like lexus/infiniti. People can afford these will go to German for sure.

• BENZS on Jun 30, 2018 at 5:39 pm

Nice to see and nice to feel its power. Malaysian still doubt with Korean cars, but that’s normal. However, Korean car has improved gradually. But Malaysian still prefer JPN cars. Mentality and generation pass down experience. Malaysian prefer hassle free and easy to find parts vehicle. While most family member who wish to buy car, I can say old auntie, uncle, family relative and so on will say. Japanese Car only you can choose, you see during our younger time. We drive Nissan Sunny, Toyota Corolla, Mitsubishi Lancer, Honda Civic and so on because its Very good quality. Thats the issue that trigger us to buy Japanese car. JPN car this days, only Honda and Mazda seems to keep on improved while others not really at all. Toyota, Mitsubishi and Nissan is falling behind.

• stastasta on Jul 05, 2018 at 2:28 pm

japanese car your head la. in malaysia stinger 3.3 is competing against germans not japs

• How come i already saw it on 30 May 2018 in Selayang?

• sampan 250kmph on Jul 03, 2018 at 11:18 am

KIA should seek expertise from Geely Lotus to fine tune its sport cars improvement on ride and handling since it drew many poor rating from car reviewers.

• Yebwoy on Jul 05, 2018 at 1:46 am

Why would they? I mean they could consult but they dont really need any help do they. Expertise? Do you even know who is leading their performance development now? Does it get any more expert than the head of freaking M-Division. Trial and error process buddy, KIA is one of if not the only marque in asia putting out exciting stuff for the masses