Tun Mahathir tries out Sepang circuit’s night lights in a Ferrari – return of Formula One likely not happening

Seated behind the wheel of a red Ferrari 458 Spider, prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad officiated the launch of the new lighting system for the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) by taking it out for a lap around the track.

“I don’t usually drive Ferraris. When you press slightly on the pedal the car just shoots forward and makes a nice sound. The lights were very nice and quite clear but the flashing lights of the car ahead of me were very distracting,” he said in a report by The Star.

Nonetheless, the premiere was left impressed by the circuit’s new night lights, which could potentially bring in more revenue for SIC and encourage the development of motorsports in the country. Tun Mahathir initially thought the idea of adding lights to the circuit would be too difficult and costly to be implemented.

“The circuit is still thriving and the people running it have lots of ideas. I think exciting things are awaiting Malaysians. I’m glad to see the people running it have ideas to enlarge it, add more facilities and more sports so that it can become a motor city and everyone interested in motoring and engineering can come here and learn how to move forward in this field,” he said.

In 1999, Tun Mahathir inaugurated both the first MotoGP Malaysian Grand Prix as well as the Formula One Malaysian Grand Prix. When asked if the latter could make a return in the future after previous prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced Malaysia will stop hosting F1 races from 2018 onwards, the prime minister merely replied with a ‘maybe’, as reported by Bernama.

He also noted that the lighting system would not fit the requirements of F1, but would be sufficient for normal races. “If for the F1, the lighting must be much brighter because the present brightness is not bright enough. It will make it difficult to carry out broadcasting work,” said Mahathir.

However, any hope of F1 making a return to Malaysia was dashed by youth and sports minister Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman who said the government will continue to focus on two-wheel motorsport events.

“Cabinet has decided to move away from F1 and focus on two-wheeled sports instead, including MotoGP and other superbike races. F1, it is costly, and we know it has diminishing marginal returns,” said Syed Saddiq, who added that the financial resources needed for a F1 event would be better spent developing the Sepang circuit further.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Why not a Proton? The car can also shoot forward with a nice sound what.

• Sampan 174kmh on Aug 02, 2018 at 3:24 pm

Tun sooo oldskoool oredy…
      Real rich pipu into Luxury superyacht wei.

• Gojeng on Aug 02, 2018 at 3:50 pm

Yup, his family owned a yacht called ‘Puteri Alyanna’ registered in Langkawi. Google it up.

• 12yrsold john on Aug 02, 2018 at 10:33 am

Bravo to Syed Saddiq for saying the financial resources needed for a F1 event would be better spent developing the Sepang circuit further.
    Maybe, just maybe when we are a developed nation somewhere in 2030, we can consider a return to F1 !!

• Mee_kering on Aug 02, 2018 at 11:29 am

Whats Tun lap time? Lols.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 02, 2018 at 11:31 am

Thank you Tun for showing us that a 93 yr old man can run the country well

We are so happy our Government is run well and clean of corruption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Gojeng on Aug 02, 2018 at 3:40 pm

Pehhh dia punya jilat, muntah aku..

On a separate note, besides F1, SIC should also consider E-GP as well which will encourage R&D and interest for alternative modes of propulsion, apart from the fossil derived ones.

That is of course, AFTER the Nation’s so called debt has been reduced significantly la. Don’t la say wanna reduce debt but add more debt by doing more wasteful projects (read: Pro3).

Talking about hypocrisy..

• Testingonly on Aug 02, 2018 at 11:41 am

No f1 come back? So sad. Who to blame? Razlan Razali? He talk like he owned f1. Cannot kena kritik sikit, terus merajuk. Typical mesia, they critic people bukan main. Lols.

• casual rider on Aug 02, 2018 at 11:59 am

right decision Tun. first thing first

• jinggo on Aug 02, 2018 at 12:53 pm

F1 again? Please dont. Waste of duit rakyat. Apa nama…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • We need to support our infant car industry by buying up this new proTiga venture. It will enchance our engineering skills and bring up our economy.

Now watch me drive around in this new Ferrari

• ss427 on Aug 03, 2018 at 10:22 am

Hey Dr M, if you can rebadge the Falarli as your 3rd national car, with everything, esp the drivetrain intact, and sell it for RM70k, I will surely buy from you.

If not, just don’t waste taxpayer money la.

Proton 458 wor….

• Salam sejahtera on Aug 05, 2018 at 2:04 am

Dah tak mampu tu buat cara tak mampu laa. Kesian Berangan sangat nak ferrari