All existing AES summonses to be written off – Loke

The government has announced that all existing traffic summonses issued under the Automated Enforcement System (AES) will be wiped out, letting all offending drivers off the hook, The Star reports.

Transport minister Anthony Loke said the decision to write off the AES tickets was made following the cabinet’s decision to take over AES operations completely from the two private companies running it now, beginning from September 1.

He said there were 3.1 million unpaid summonses as of May, totaling up to about RM430 million in fines, but added that motorists will not be able to evade any offences committed after September 1. “This is a one-off. After September 1, the road transport department (JPJ) will fully take over the operations of AES and any summons issued then has to be paid. There will not be any more such offers or discounts,” Loke said.

As of August last year, a total of 21 AES cameras were in operation across the country, and it was reported then that another 50 units were to be installed by the end of 2017. It was also said that an additional 100 AES cameras were set to be installed at strategic spots nationwide this year.

The system, which was first announced in 2012, planned to have two concessionares operating 800 fixed and 500 portable speedtrap cameras across 831 “black spot” areas on highways in addition to stretches of state and federal roads, but has been plagued by issues and technicalities, resulting in a number of summons backlogs.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• hondaman on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:46 pm

Gohmen so rich… now we want PDRM to also do the same… write off all pending summonses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • Sapuman on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:51 pm

Tolak GST!
      Tolak AES!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • OMG…AES still got lah…Start on 1/9, u speeding in front AES, u kena…lol

• Sense on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:27 pm

Actually AES should be abolished, instead of keeping cars under speed limit it has kept cars wayy below speed limit. STUPID DRIVERS slow down to 60km/h just to avoid summon on a 90km/h zones or 110km/h zone…This has cause major traffic jam when the highway is busy VERY ANNOYING!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 16
      • Rimau on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:44 pm

Yeah, make no sense. It really cause jam and accident , when suddenly slow down.how bout speed trap under bridge?how about no speed limit like in Germany.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • TokSalak on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Hidup PH! Hidup YB Loke!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 32
  • Veyron Owner on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:52 pm

Gov is saying: It’s open season for all you speedsters and daredevils! Race to your hearts content coz you won’t get fined! May the best driver wins!

My Veyron is ready for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • Sonyman on Aug 17, 2018 at 5:44 pm

Veyron wont kena saman one. Too fast for the camera.

• MANIFESTO DICAPATI on Aug 17, 2018 at 6:09 pm

Sembang kencang saja ada!

Cancel saman AES manada dalam menefesto.
      Kiter nak bayar saman AES lar ! Jangan cancel oii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
      • stastasta on Aug 20, 2018 at 12:31 pm

if you want to pay AES saman , then please continue speeding after 1 september. because AES system will be in effect starting next month.

• Truckers on Aug 18, 2018 at 9:35 am

My heavy truck and unloaded trailer as well. Fear me for I go on all lanes now. Race time. I… am… Speed.

• stastasta on Aug 20, 2018 at 12:31 pm

“veyron owner” has more money than brains. previous AES summons will be cancelled. but AES system will still be in effect starting next month.

• VIKNESWARAN RAMASAMY on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:56 pm

could be due to gov receive partial while the rest go somewhere else…. or many information are incorrect

• Seriously on Aug 17, 2018 at 11:51 pm

Maybe paid to AES company which is highly likely to be affiliated to BN. Or they had a conflict and AES company don’t want to release the data to PH Govt haha.

• Pakulupapito on Aug 17, 2018 at 4:57 pm

So what about all those good citizens who already paid their summons? Bullshit move. Offenders shouldnt be allowed to be free, they broke the rule. Its not like they are wrongly given summons.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 8
    • EDITOR on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:09 pm

Only those who drive high powered cars or don’t mind paying summons (or got jalan not to pay) will speed and caught by AES. So basically, gomen is now subsidising the rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • Bangkang tatap bangkang on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:38 pm

Yep. Its only fair to refund paid AES summons

• Seriously on Aug 17, 2018 at 11:53 pm

Yup. There’s 3 warning signs before the camera. Only those rich ppl will check care n whack. PDRM works differently, they snipe u without u knowing so harder to avoid.

• OMG…I fully agreed with u…This idiot shouldn’t allow this happened at first place because it hurt for those good saman payee…Outsider will laugh at us when this announcement out….I totally can’t believed it can became reality….adui

• Digidigi on Aug 17, 2018 at 5:12 pm

Wahhh … then the accountant lim and old man don’t everydya Come out say our country poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Mikey on Aug 17, 2018 at 5:20 pm

Amat Terima Kasih kepada Kerajaan Pakatan kerana perihatin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
  • 12yrsold john on Aug 17, 2018 at 5:20 pm

Best news today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • JOACHIM on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:22 pm

…if you happen to like breaking the law on a regular basis. This would not fly in Germany.

• stastasta on Aug 20, 2018 at 12:34 pm

AES summons will be fully enforce starting next month

• Waltlai on Aug 17, 2018 at 5:47 pm

Aiya I should have sped on the highway more often

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Stupid move by a stupid minister of a stupid government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
    • Halldisc on Aug 17, 2018 at 9:33 pm

AES will be hand ove by PDRM to JPJ. Thank you.

• New Malaysia menu on Aug 18, 2018 at 11:00 am

Why JPJ and not PDRM? PDRM saman easy to pay at Post Office but JPJ ones need to go to their branches. Really troublesome.

• EL SABAH EL YAH on Aug 17, 2018 at 6:00 pm

Santa Antoni brought xmas present gives u all early…

• azrai on Aug 17, 2018 at 6:38 pm

Wow..they manage to fulfill their ’11th’ manifesto promise on the 99th days!

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu IV on Aug 18, 2018 at 9:07 am

Cukurr this not in their manifesto. Rezeki raya lerr

• Ben Yap on Aug 17, 2018 at 6:45 pm

this is a stupidest decision…. all those law breakers are let off just like this…. Loke, please use your brain la.. this is worst than discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
  • Driver's Concern on Aug 17, 2018 at 7:20 pm

What about those summoms from manual hand-carried speed camera? Also be written off?

• Muthu dah keunggulan on Aug 18, 2018 at 1:26 am

LOL saman slip recycled as kacang puteh wrapping paper

• Airbag User on Aug 18, 2018 at 9:05 am

Manual summons not under AES crony,
      Beta Tegap Sdn Bhd dan ATES..

• They said the amount they paid to LTAT ended about RM13 Mil per camera!. Is that expensive for the camera?. If I took that camera and sell it at black market or ebay … can I get aleast RM5 Mil?

• TreeHugger on Aug 17, 2018 at 10:48 pm

Looks like I was mistaken about Pakatan. This is really a bad move and unnecessary.

First, rakyat money has been spent establishing the AES hence in capturing those offences, and yet the offenders who procrastinate are being let off the hook? So, rakyat money now goes into the bin.

Secondly, how is this fair to those good law abiding rakyat who has paid their AES summonses on time? Whose side the government is on? The good guys or the bad guys?

Lastly, why introduce a time gap in which all law breakers are allowed by the government to drive at crazy speed endangering other road users?

What kind of ministers and government do we have here now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Family carguy on Aug 20, 2018 at 12:32 pm

True dat.
      Pakatan cud adopt 50% saman diskaun promo during bulan raya & cuti sekolah

• kobealex on Aug 17, 2018 at 10:54 pm

Really? How can offenders be left off the hook? If this is true then this Mr Loke is just a Joke.

The good citizens who has commited the offense has paid for their crimes but the rest of them…? Whats the logic in this?

I agree with the rest here, those who have paid should then be getting a refund…

• Bad move. I thought we have 1 trillion debt? Got money to spend now? 400 mil? AES cost about there. Shld we not recover at least partial? Why absolve? Imagine how many of our kids education can be funded with that money?

PTPTN waivers up to 1.6 bil??? Really hope top scorers were waived. Sending the wrong message. If u owe people dont have to pay.

I have summons too, who doesnt like not paying but at what expense. ‍♂️ Not finished yet..400 mil if use to pay my kids preschool fees? Sponsor transportation for kids to school? Oh my a lot of money!!!

• This type of minister looks like a gang of school kids, all decision like a primary school kids playing games. Want to set up black shoes rules and abolish AES just in a flick of finger tips, never even think of the subsequent effect. By looking at AES, it is a good tool to prevent accident, but it is too sensitive, even a slight overspeed will be captured, they should.decide to study this, give some allowance to unintention over speed, study the summons issued whether or not the driver was really over speeding, perhaps cancelling the summons with speed of 111km/h.

• stastasta on Aug 20, 2018 at 12:34 pm

LLK learn to read. AES summons will be in effect starting next month. seems like you are a product of previous BN failed education system.

• zainal abidin on Aug 18, 2018 at 8:30 am

Well, after 100 days Ron 95 has yet to go down even 1 sen, so to make up for this , PH government say AES summons will be written off. Very coy.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 18, 2018 at 9:37 am

A Government that condones law breaking. What have we voted in?

• Dunkin Donuts on Aug 18, 2018 at 9:54 am

Understand the need to write them off, probably due to bad management from both private companies.

However, it’s such a bizarre move to announce it now. Why not wait until sept? There is now a 10+ day gap for people to speed to their hearts content. Even worse, it’s school holiday season now…

The best way to curb speeding is to implement what they do in France. A way to determine speed by measuring entry and exit time at tolls. You can travel as fast as you want, but you will be forced to wait before you get to exit or you’ll face a hefty fine.

• Fordist on Aug 18, 2018 at 10:57 am

Speed first then hangout to pass the mandatory time limit at R&R between tolls.

• Mike Khoh on Aug 19, 2018 at 8:00 am

Abolished all ill gotten issues which do not benefit the rakyat. Old gomen didn’t see this coming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Andrekua on Aug 19, 2018 at 10:19 am

It will be hard to please everyone.

Nevertheless, it is good to start fresh. To those who paid, well, you did your part of being a responsible driver. To those who didnt paid, I just think that those who get the free out of jail card would eventually end there pretty soon again, so there is nothing to envy about their luck.

Finally the government is cutting clean with crony companies taking a huge chunk of money for free. Hopefully the money gained from future AES summons would be put to good use to promote road safety and implement interlinked system to blacklist road offenders across multiple system including municipal summons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Apparently, it is that easy to please a mahacai.

Dude, the honeymoon is over.. get off your mahacai mentality and start calling it as it is: a dumb move from dumb minister.

400mil is a huge sum that could very well contribute towards paying national debt, isn’t it? Why wait for “future aes summonses” for this?

• stastasta on Aug 20, 2018 at 12:38 pm

amad oh amad. any AES summons issued before 1 september if paid, a cut would be taken by beta tegap i.e. BN crony company. starting next month, the AES management would be taken over by JPJ . any summons issued after that date, if paid the money would fully go to the government.

• Another mahacai detected!!!

• stastasta on Aug 20, 2018 at 2:23 pm

rob ah rob. if you want to call me macai, at least have the brains to come out with a counter-argument against my facts.

• Fordist on Aug 19, 2018 at 5:17 pm

Good start for all racers out there.

• Tapah to Cameron, speed limit 40kmh, kena saman for rm300, speed limit is a trap, they are making tonnes of money